Customer reviews for Latitude E6500

Latitude E6500

Latitude E6500
3.564 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 160 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
14
1 Star
22
3.6
 / 
5
(160 reviews) 150
47 out of 9450%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E6500
Review 1 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanieleB75
(Brescia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Many promises, few actions

PostedJune 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Laptop does not live up to expectations for professional use.
Many failures. Support rough and shallow.
Many promises, few actions.
Never another Dell on my desk.
Pros:project management, software development, hobby
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MmmDee
(Southern California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great laptop

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've used the E6500 for a year or more and love it, find it hard to believe the negative reviews are talking about the same computer. Admittedly, I use it connected to a docking station at work (hard) for 8 to 14 hours a day, 4 - 7 days a week, then quite often take it home to another docking station. I've probably had the lid opened only a dozen times and never really used it that way so I can't really comment on speakers, display, hinges. I can tell you, connected to the docking stations, it performs quite well on Microsoft Office products and work-related software. The USB, SD slots, DVD/CD burner work perfectly. Mine doesn't have bluetooth or a modem.
As a (portable) desktop replacement, the E6500 exceeds my expectations, it's certainly up to the task of "heavy" office work.
Cons:
The SD card slot is a touch too recessed. CF slot is a waste. It would help to have a "guiding" ridge on the lower edge of the smart card slot to assist blindly inserting the card. Sitting on a tabletop, the left side vent can get mighty warm, is rear exhaust a design option?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DEMojica
(Chicago IL USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Just Too Heavy

PostedMay 3, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The E6500 is overall a great machine if I was just going to leave it docked at home. But, I travel 80% of my time and after 16 months of flying around the world with it, I just ordered a tick-out E4310. I ran across a E4310 and couldn't believe how light it is and made up my mind that I was getting one. Ordered it Sunday and will be getting it Wednesday, can't wait for my next trip later this week.
Going to use the E6500 as my home machine.
Don't get me wrong, the machine is 5 stars, but because of it weight problem had to drop it to 3.
Pros:autocad, office 2010, Travel, web stufing
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Chephyr
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Poorly designed and frustrating to use.

PostedApril 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
There was an obvious lack of input from human factors when designing this laptop. The mouse trackpad tends to jump around or is unresponsive. Dell should implement two-finger scrolling, so you don't have to feel around for the "scrolling region". If the majority of people are right-handed, why would Dell put the headphone jack on the right side, so the headphone cable can get in your way, unless you have a 8-ft cable and wrap it around the back of the laptop, where it gets caught in other cables. The brightness doesn't dim as much as it should, and thus probably burns out the LCD screen faster. There are unnecessary lights flashing while using it (why have a WiFi, bluetooth, etc light when those are already indicated by the presence of an icon in the tray on Windows 7?). The laptop sits high, so typing on it for long periods of time can be uncomfortable to your wrists. The physical switch to turn on the WiFi card doesn't make sense, since it's the monitor that uses most of the energy, you can turn on WiFi from the computer, and it this switch is easier to hit than the button to open the optical media bay, i.e., I've repeated turned off my internet access when trying to open the DVD drive. The access points that are most likely to be used by users (USB ports) are the furthest away. The rubber "feet" on the bottom fall off. On the plus side, the internal hardware hasn't given me any problems and the monitor is large, but it should be large given how heavy this computer is. There are better designed laptops out there, and they don't have the word "Mac" on them either.
Pros:business, programming
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:e6500poorcomp
Title:

Worst Laptop Ever Owned

PostedNovember 8, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is THE worst laptop i have ever owned or used. I believe I got a lemon but regardless it is an awful computer. Within one year, had to replace the hard drive 3 times. The battery died and the computer cannot be used unless it is plugged in. Have to buy a replacement that is not cheap. Mouse pad is weird, it often has a bad delay and clicks on items when I am not even touching it. Yes, it is very sensitive and I have tried adjusting it but it clicks on things numerous times and I know I am not touching it. Speakers are awful. Construction is awful. Cheap plastic parts have come off. Bluetooth does not work anymore. I really cannot think of any positive features this laptop has. There is a microphone but not a camera, to me that's like having a set of car keys no car to drive. I would never recommend this to anyone.
Pros:business
-7points
16of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AllenF
(Nashville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop. I have used several other Dell laptops in the past, all for work. I am a heavy user of Photoshop and Acrobat as well as other memory/CPU intensive apps. This thing rocks. I am leaving my current company and have tried in vain to buy it. I guess I'll have to buy myself a new one. Without question it will be an E6500
Pros:software development, graphics, pdf editing, photo editing
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MDB914
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Fairly Good Notebook

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
The E6500 replaced an aging Dell D505. It runs quietly, stays cool on the lap, and feels somewhat sturdy in the hand. One of my main issues is the crevices around the keyboard. I have owned several notebooks and I find that dust, crumbs, fingernails, and any other debris drive you nuts when they can lounge around the keyboard. Dell put two Grand Canyons next to their keyboard by way of the speaker panels. Make sure you have plenty of canned air around.
Pros:cadd user
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CBogdan
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very poor

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm using it for more than a year and this is one of the worst laptops I've ever worked with.
Some of the most annoying problems that I have are bluetooth is not working anymore, the paint of the speakers is wearing off, under Windows Vista Business the mouse is going crazy very often (as if the left button is clicked and moving around), Windows gets to rediscover my HDD every now and then, and also the graphic driver crashes a lot.
My coleagues experience similar problems with their machines. So this is by far the worst laptop I've ever used and it really is a pity.
Pros:software development, Travel
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sfree
Title:

Where is the quality controk

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
After my initial good experience with Dell, I upgraded to the E6500. BIG Mistake. The first laptop crashed 2 hard drives and required numerous other repairs, all within the first 10 months of ownership. So, Dell replaced with a refurb of the exact same model...5 months later hard drive crash. I have owned many laptops, I have a family of 7 (5 kids) and each have their own laptop and this by far is the worst of the worst.
Pros:business, personal, School
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TomPetner
(Northern New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

E6500 laptop a total disaster

PostedAugust 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes when I ordered my Latitude E6500 from the backlit keyboard to the robust battery life. It functioned well for a couple months and then turned into a total diaster. Over the course of the past year, I have had to install not one, not two, but three hard drives. Now I'm trying to deal with a "unmountable boot" error. I've been a customer of Dell for almost 20 years and now rethinking whether to continue after this experience with this Latitude.
Pros:posting regularly online, website development, article writing
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:max
(Brisbane)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

shar edges

PostedApril 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like the solid feel and elegance of this laptop. The only thing that lets it down is the somewhat sharp edges around the front edges which digs into your forearm. If they simply sounded it a bit would have made for a perfect little laptop
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hsgsports
Title:

Dell Latitude E6500

PostedApril 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my machine about 3 weeks ago. This is my 3rd Dell Latitude in the last 12 years. Each machine served me well over the years. My last, a Dell D610, is still running - bought it in 2005, but it was time to update.
The reviews were helpful but in my case I didn't agree with many of the reviewers. I love the machine! I am a high school computer teacher and also a database developer and rely on a laptop that I can cart around every day to school and also to side jobs. This laptop like my last Dell is doing great.
One of the things that was criticized in reviews was the latch/hinge for the screen. The screen is a little harder to open than other laptops but I feel this is a design feature that helps give the machine a rigid and durable opening that should give added protection as time goes on. Another reviewer commented on the speaker quality, I feel it is good for a machine of its size.
My machine is configured with Windows 7 64 bit edition and 4 GB of RAM. The Windows 7 is performing well.
Do not be afraid of purchasing this machine. I think it is well designed and well suited for travel.
Pros:database design, majors software applications
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:parelli
Title:

A downgrade from the Latitude D820

PostedApril 13, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Disappointed in this laptop and would go back to my D820 if it were still available. Dell ControlPoint software is useless, it was clearly not tested sufficiently before being released. I spent the first few days disabling it and going back to Windows wi-fi management.
This model has large speakers, but they seem to be worse than the small speakers on the D820. The 1920x1200 display is much brighter, that is one positive improvement. And the external charger is thinner and lighter.
I thought the laptop had an HDMI port, and it turns out to be DisplayPort, a royalty-free HDMI clone that I haven't seen supported on any TV or projection system. I had to buy a $10 adapter to use the system with a digital TV.
I couldn't get the USB port that is supposed to always be available for charging to work. The extended life battery that protrudes from the back is bulky and overall the laptop is very heavy and not good for travel.
Hard disk had annoying clicking noise that sounded like it was going to crash; finally solved that with a firmware patch. Not sure how this manufacturer defect made it out the door in a Dell laptop, appears that testing was not sufficient.]
System seems slower on boot-up than the D820 even though it is three years newer (P8600, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, XP SP 3).
+22points
26of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JGalt
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Feh...

PostedMarch 9, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Using the E6500 since Feb 09. Startup seems incredibly using slow fingerprint security compared to identical E6500s with the ControlPoint suite uninstalled. Fingerprint security s/w also interfered with proper function of our multiple display software (I know it seems unlikely, but it's absolutely true - was same on the D830 models). We ended up uninstalling ControlPoint on all our E6500 laptops. I preferred the D830 series styling/case design and ergonomics over the E6500. E6500 keyboard feel and build seem sub-standard. Sharp corners make it a hassle to slide into laptop carry bags, and the relatively sharp edges are uncomfortable during long use when typing without being docked with an external k/b. "Battery reaching end of usable life" popup is annoying and the Dell techs I talked with didn't know how to stop the popup other than uninstalling ControlPoint System Manager. Button that releases the entire modular CD/DVD drive is very poorly placed, and prone to being accidentally pressed instead of the disk eject button. Doing this when the system is reading the CD caused us to have to run a Windows repair on one E6500. Other than that, the speed is decent.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bnkr
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best Laptop I've Had

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had My E6500 for about 9 Months:
My Use is primarily business related (Normal business apps), dreamweaver, and maintaining several websites - often from my car or client offices.
I was a little unsure about the purchase with the P8400 CPU (so low end that they don't offer it for the E6500 on the regular site). I was expecting it to be too slow, thinking I was going to either return the unit or to have to upgrade it immediately.
However, I Can't complain a bit about the speed, as it easily handles more than 80% of my needs.
Upgrading to 4 GB of Ram helped, and If I can get the right deal I may consider replacing the CPU (Not needed, but would be nice).
I find myself using it more than my main computer (2 Hyper threaded Xeon 2.0Ghz Dell Precision 450 and 24" monitor).
What I don't like:
Had to reinstall the OS (Thanks to a pile of preloaded software that slowed it down).
Corners should be rounded - to lower risk of damage.
With the 9 cell Battery, the Weight is a little much. (A little over 6 hours - could do better if I optimized the power settings).
Wish there was a "System Restore" (had to partition the drive and ghost it).
In Short:
I've been using Dell computers for close to 15 years and I've never had a problem or complaint with them.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TStelecom
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

poor lid latch

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
good laptop overall
It has been just over a year after purchase and the lid latch broke. Poorly designed "cheesy" latch.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ThomasEDuke
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Lattitude E6500 Is a rockstar of a notebook!

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is by far the nicest notebook/laptop I've ever owned. I've owned three previously, had about 20 corporate issued laptops in the past 15 years and worked on about 100+ in various capacities.
This machine is fast, solid and elegantly designed. This is the first time I've layed my hands on a Windows notebook that feels as cool as a MacBook/Apple Laptop; but not tragically hip like others that have tried to be cool.
Pros:graphics, financials, geeky stuff, social networking, movies, music
+28points
42of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:exflexer
(Pittsburgh)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

E6500 Powerhouse

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought E6500 to replace D series laptop and what an improvement. Improved keyboard, screen, chasis, and port setup. Biggest complaint about the d series laptops were the docking problems but with the E series all those issues have been resolved. The E6500 is very sturdy and doesn't have that cheap and flimsy feel of other series laptops. We have been running Windows 7 ever since the beta stages with no issues or conflicts.
Pros
Hi-def screen, backlit keyboard, chasis, port availablilty, new E series dock.
Cons
Built-in speakers are junk. The sound is okay at low volume but once the volume passes 50% they start to crack. The DVD drive is noisy at times which can cause an annoying rattle.
Pros:Travel, desktop replacement
+30points
33of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HerrRogers
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Who designed this?

PostedDecember 28, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
My company is an avid Dell fan. Rightly so. We've had great customer service and machines. However, I am so thoroughly disgusted with the E6500. The hardware specs are good but the design is terrible. Not only does it run hot and is noisy but it just looks bad. It doesn't fit in my small computer bag that I used for my D820 (which was great). I suppose this is because of the 9 cell battery I got for it. It has a lot of strange angles. I'm not sure why as they don't seem to add any more room for components.
As a laptop, it stinks. Like I said above, it looks bad, isn't super portable because of its size, and it's hot. As a desktop it rocks. I love the docking station, which is why I gave it two stars and not one. That's the major seller for my company. We love to dock the laptops and have all of our devices including the dual external monitors hooked up. I don't understand why Dell can't add this option to their other laptops. Even the Vostro looks better!
If I knew what I know now I wouldn't have purchased this machine.
Pros:streaming video, software development, note taking
+3points
19of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E6500
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:raine369
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Really nice laptop

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like the ruggedness of this laptop. Most have fragile feeling lids, but I'm not afraid to just grab it up.
I have had several Toshibas in the past and I much prefer this one. The lighted keyboard is especially great.
I often have several programs open as well as many IE tabs, when I am doing research. I like the placement of ports on the side back. The only thing I don't like is the the pointer in the middle of the keyboard. I am always inadvertantly bumping. Fortunately I'm usually at desk and use a usb keyboard and mouse.
Pros:computer troubleshooting, web development, streaming audio and video
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5