Customer reviews for Latitude E6400

Latitude E6400

Latitude E6400
3.778 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 186 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
11
1 Star
17
3.8
 / 
5
(186 reviews) 170
56 out of 9162%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E6400
Review 1 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ASmith2
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Lots of available features, but fair performance

PostedSeptember 24, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell really needs to do something about the software that comes preloaded with this computer. I believe it may be the source of my boot up problems. Something is really wrong with the user environment in this computer and its loses functionality because of it. I am seriously considering wiping the whole hard drive and installing the minimal set of drivers required to run the hardware in the computer. I am very disappointed in its usability and its poor performance. This computer would be great if you never have to close the lid.
Pros:I purchased this model because it had many of the high end features I was looking for. I purchased a model with vista ultimate, P9500, 250GB 7200rpm hard drive, DVD burner, 2GB ram, Bluetooth, LED upgraded monitor, Nvidia graphics, fingerprint reader, glowing keyboard, 9 cell battery. I thought it would be nice for the type of work I perform.....data analysis of large data sets. I thought fast processor and eSata port to transfer the many gigs of data I have to analyze would be great on a laptop. The black model looks nice and has clean lines.
Cons:The performance is very sluggish. It takes a very very long time to load vista from a normal boot and can take even longer to wake up from hibernation. Frankly I was shocked by how poor this system restarts after hibernation. Even waking from hibernation with no running applications can take longer than a boot up from shut down. I have vista ulitmate on other computers with less impressive hardware as my new E6400 and they reboot from hibernation in seconds. My E6400 can take minutes to get the log on prompt from hibernation. The security software has major problems. The fingerprint reader stopped working and I had uninstall and reinstall the dell security software which took about an hour. The Dell web cam software drains CPU time and I had uninstall it and when I did it had no effect on webcam function using live messenger. The smart card reader is currently in limbo and I am scared to set it up because of all of the problems I have had with the Dell security software. It failed along with the fingerprint reader previously. The laptop is very heavy.... It weighs about as much as my 15.4 Inspiron 6000 with a 9 cell battery I bought about 4 years ago. The bottom panel of the laptop does not fit snug with the main body of the laptop. It can suck in corners of papers and fingernails. The bottom panel also feels flimsy and I worry is the weak point of the laptop. I generally wonder about its construction and if can take a slight bump into a wall or table leg without cracking while inside my bag. It also has an SD card reader slot, but did not have an option for an SD card reader so the slot is filled in with a piece of plastic. It would have been nice to be able have the reader. It gets quite hot. I cant leave it on my lap for very long even with notepad as the only application open. With all of the fancy battery saving technology I dont understand how it can get so hot. That is a lot of power being transformed into heat.
+148points
166of 184voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cneenan
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very solid laptop for business use

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've just recently started using this E6400, having come from the smaller line of Latitude laptops.
The speed of this computer is phenominal. This is truly the first computer (let alone laptop) that keeps up with me, no matter how many things I want to have open and work on simultaneously. Alt-Tab is now an even greater friend knowing that my laptop can handle it all.
Battery life is insane. Going over 8 hours on a single charge is incredible. I'm used to about 2 hours, so that was a huge surprise.
I haven't had any accidents (nor plan to) to test the durability, but it's definitely a solid piece of hardware. Opening and closing the lid seems very tight and sturdy, but easy to do.
Additional pros: backlit keyboard, great port access on both sides, ventilation.
Cons: Haven't found much. Is a bit on the heavy side, but definitely not a problem given that I plan to use this on a desk much more than with travel.
Overall, HIGHLY recommended.
Pros:sales, Travel, heavy communications
+67points
74of 81voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Welder
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice compact notebook

PostedDecember 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Speakers are very "bright" and not full sounding. Some may like this. Visually, when open, this laptop just looks cool! I mean, a very clean and uncluttered look, but still somehow high-tech looking. The red is a bit over the top though (I would get black myself).
Pros:Nice compact size, good "middle" weight. Solid hinges on the lid. LED backlighting is very even and bright (dim is very dim too, which is good!). It comes with non-glare screen, a plus. Keyboard backlighting is excellent, on par with MacBook Pro backlighting (a good thing). Keyboard itself is excellent, the white on black is extremely easy to read. Clasp on lid is small, better than the old Latitudes with the ugly hooks. Lid is easy to open, button is well-placed. With the solid-state HD, performance is excellent. Boots to login screen in 15 seconds, makes no noise, very rugged. Auto-illumination works well. BIOS is full GUI, so you can point and click, very nice. Cooling fan is fairly quiet, and does not usually run unless there are many CPU intensive tasks running at once.
Cons:9-cell battery sticks way out of the back. Only supports old-school PC cards, not the newer express cards. Battery life isn't as much as expected... With the 9-cell battery and solid-state HD and LED backlighting, can only manage 3-5 hours depending on load. Ordered in red; the color looks like it was done with a spray paint can... very blotchy. The finish is nice, but the color coverage is far from even. Track pad is rather small, buttons are recessed a bit too far into the case, you have to "poke" your thumb into them. E-port is exposed, and although it seems well recessed, it is prone to damage from foreign "stuff" (i.e. dirt, liquids, dragging it over a sweater, etc).
+52points
55of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:xraydj
(Brooklyn, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Close but not quite there

PostedFebruary 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm mostly happy with this computer. They got most of it right. The screen color reproduction is most disappointing part--I've recently started shooting in RAW with my Nikon D80, and the RAW image manipulation really requires good color reproduction on the screen.
Pros:-XP -Seems fast enough to me--handles many programs at once with no problem at all (winamp, IE, Firefox with 5+ tabs, OneNote, Word, IDL, Pidgin). -Screen is very bright -Keyboard is very nice, and the backlight is especially nice. -Video card easily handles dual screen (laptop screen plus external 1920 X 1200) -Streaming video through Netflix and other sources works very well.
Cons:-Though bright, the screen has a very narrow range of usable angles if you are interested at all in accurate color reproduction--There are significant color gradients across the screen when sitting directly in front at the "normal" typing position. -Finicky bluetooth connection to phone for tether (previous computer had no problems). -Both mice are difficult to configure just right; in the end I just ended up settling for a suboptimal configuration. -Dell Control Point software is evil--my computer was constantly crashing until I disabled most of the DCP "features", but still have some arbitrary crashes. -The Caps Lock button is somehow especially easy to hit on this keyboard; it drove me nuts to the extent that I had to disable it.
+42points
43of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Novorca
(Minneapolis Minnesota)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Realistically

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Realistically
I received my E6400 overnight as promised. This computer worked flawlessly right out of the box.
I have done one upgrade since: and that was adding 2 GB more memory. Adding the memory was about as simple as anything gets: one screw and the back plate lifts off easily. The DIMM slots are right there on top and the new stick snapped right in. The computer recognized the additional memory and XP booted up happy as a clam.
Beyond that, I have found that this laptop meets and exceeds all of my expectations for a laptop in this price range. The criticisms I have read in other posts are in my opinion - a bit exaggerated. For example: the complaints about the speakers are amusing. If you are expecting this laptop to sound like a premium car stereo I have no sympathy for your disappointment. Seriously, what are you expecting?
The touchpad works as good as any touch pad I have used on laptops costing $3,000 or more.
The lit keyboard is really sweet.
The wireless connection found my router immediately and I was connected to the Internet without any goofing around.
Regarding the cosmetics and the propensity of this computer to show fingerprints and smudges – how about just wiping them off? (works for me). Besides, if you are going to be eating lunch over your keyboard you haven’t learned a basic lesson about how to take care of your computer equipment. I guess we all get to learn sometime.
Overall, this little laptop is everything I wanted and expected. For less than a $1,000 and free overnight shipping with easy business credit solutions available – nobody is going to compete. You might find something at a big box retailer which is just as sweet as this deal but then again you have to find a parking spot first. No seriously – great laptop.
Pros:mobile computing
+48points
51of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lex3001
(San Francisco, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Big improvement from D630

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over the last 6 years I have used the D600, D610, D620, and D630.
I have been very happy with the E6400. I love the feel of the new keyboard. I also love the backlit keyboard option, which I almost didn't get. If you get this laptop and you ever work under dimly lit conditions -- airplanes, buses, trains, the living room, bedroom, etc., then I would HIGHLY recommend the option.
This laptop does not get nearly as hot as the D630. I can full-screen Hulu or other video content. The laptop's overall performance is much better than the D630.
The wake up from sleep with Win7 is amazingly fast. I am logged in and working again within seconds.
Minor issues:
Waking from sleep, sometimes I need to pop my PCMCIA Aircard card out and back in again to get it to register.
Sometimes coming back from sleep, the mouse doesn't work - logged w/ Dell.
The volume buttons seem to make Hulu etc. think I am typing and they go out of full screen mode.
The touch pad causes the mouse to randomly jump around sometimes, just like on every other latitude I have owned.
I wish Dell would ship w/ Virtual PC and XP Mode preinstalled -- had to enable in BIOS & install manually.
The vent where the hot air blows out of the laptop is on the left SIDE. The PCMCIA card slot is on the RIGHT side. So if you put your laptop in a backup for a few minutes while it is still on, you have to do it the vent at the bottom of the backup if you have a PCMCIA card in. E.g. if I am connected to AT&T with the Aircard, I will do this. I wish they were both on the side so the laptop could vent through the opening in the backpack.
The built in cellular card was not an option for Windows 7 64-bit.
Also, the USB charging plug works when the laptop is off, but the Apple iPhone does NOT work with it. Thanks a bunch for that, Apple & Dell. Maybe Dell could patch that up in a future edition.
Another difference is that the battery goes in the back instead of the front like the D630. I bought two 9-cell batteries and they have fantastic battery life. They do not act as a keyboard rest like on the D630, but that theoretically makes it easier to use the laptop in a cramped space like a plane. You cannot use batteries from the D series. Note you can't use D series docking stations either.
Keep in mind that you will probably want to always use 90W power supplies with this laptop. When you use a 65W power supply, the battery might take days to get a full charge if the laptop is turned on. So you might not really get good re-use out of older power supplies.
Lastly, the laptop does not have a standard HDMI port, which would be nice so you don't have to buy a special cable.
It would be great if Dell would have an option for a 7200 RPM 500 GB hard drive. I bought one as soon as I got the laptop and it has been working well. I also upgraded the RAM to 8GB with RAM from newegg.
Overall I am really happy with this laptop, and I personally like it much more than the D series.
Pros:software development, streaming video
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UnhappyFranklin
(Franklin, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

How To Ruin A Good Computer

PostedJune 14, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is a shame how the CRAPWARE called Dell Control Point and Embassy Control Suite can absolutely RUIN a good computer. Excluding the crapware, this is a really awesome computer but unfortunately the amount of time that you have to spend fighting with the crapware more that ruins the user experience. I am dissapointed in Dell for allowing this to happen. What makes things even worse is that it is virtually impossible to get any updates to the crapware without having to pay $49 to the Embassy security company. I would not recommend this laptop to ANYONE unless you can confidently and completely uninstall this crapware.
Pros:School
+51points
58of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tigger321
(St. Louis, MO)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great Hardware, Buggy Software

PostedNovember 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
After reading some other customer reviews (and based on my own experiences), I decided that the crashes must be driven by the Dell pre-installed software. But, just uninstalling the Dell software didn't fix the problems. Only after I completely reinstalled Windows Vista from scratch along with all of the drivers and software (minus Dell's software!) were the problems resolved. I haven't had a problem since, and the laptop works great now.
I see that Dell has released some updated versions of their software on support.dell.com, so I'm thinking of reinstalling it on the hope it works now... but I'm very hesitant to do so without first creating a backup. It's also possible that the new buyers won't experience these problems. (I bought my laptop in late October).
Pros:The laptop itself is great. Very well built, with lots of great features. It's the perfect for both getting work done on the road and being my primary computer at home.
Cons:The Dell software (for controlling security access, battery usage, sound, etc.) that comes pre-installed is very buggy. I initially had a lot of computer crashes, particularly when running Dell's software. There were a lot of other odd problems as well... E.g. Microsoft Word would always lock up when trying to close the program, and iTunes was crashing as well. It was very annoying.
+40points
43of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bwperrin
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Solid 14" laptop, love the backlit keyboard

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this 4 months now. It's a database programming workhorse - I couldn't care less about games, movies, etc. I run WinXP.
Love:
* Size - I wanted noticable relief from the more massive 15"-ers - this fits the bill.
* Battery life - to help save weight, I decided on 6-cell batteries, and I get nearly 6 hours a piece! Two 6-cells are more than enough even for a full day on the road. (Tip: if you're tempted to get a 9- or 12-cell, read the reviews first)
* Backlit keyboard - wicked cool and extremely useful. You can even adjust the time after inactivity before the light fades.
* KEYBOARD LAYOUT!! - unlike virtually every new laptop you find with the Ins/Del/Home/End/PgUp/PgDn keys inexplicably strewn into an extra far-right column, in a fit of common sense they preserved the old tried-and-true layout! Rejoice!! They did remove the "R-click menu" key which almost broke the deal for me, but I discovered I can Shft-F10 instead - whew!
Like:
* The utility apps are great! Power management, touchpad, backlit keyboard, wireless config, etc. all have very nicely-done apps with a lot of options.
* Display is crisp and can be adjusted VERY bright or dim. (1440x900)
* Keys are a pleasure to type on - not cheapie.
* It runs pretty cool (I think) - I use my lap most of the time and seldom wish for a heat shield. The fan doesn't grab much attention when it does pick up.
Complaints (nits):
* Case is slippery - you don't feel like you can trust your grip picking it up.
* The lid latch is still a bugger to hit just right to open the lid. I don't see why they needed a latch at all.
* The pointer stick just gets in the way - I often type a "silent B" (hit the stick instead). I'm a touchpad guy, although I have to say...
* the touchpad is not as nice as on my E1505. I feel like I have to fight to get it to scroll.
* If you like the pointer stick, prepare for a bit of a workout - clicking the middle button (for scrolling) is not enough - you have to click and push firmly with no obvious engage threshold. But the stick itself seems very solidly built.
Serious complaints:
* GOBLINS! Until you figure out to enable the option to ignore a touch to the pointer stick while typing, you text and caret will often vanish while typing. This is happily a thing of the past.
* Good thing I don't care about movies - the sound absolutely sucks. I didn't think it was possible to buy a machine these days with sound this bad.
Btw, I love a lot of pixels and was really worried about downgrading from 1680x1050 - I seem to be doing fine with 1440x900 (though I'm sure I would hate 1280x800).
Pros:programming, personal
+36points
38of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cgennari
(boston)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

slow and difficult

PostedJune 3, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
was supposed to be an upgrade to my lat D820
very disappointing...... wireless functionality extremely difficult and frustrating to set up...conflicts between dell proprietary s/w and windows XP..
i get a constant error message that the power supply that came with the unit is wrong voltage....
have loaded on MS office on system and its incredibly slow to boot up....trying to go thru start up and remove unnecessary start programs loaded at factory....
very disappointed....spent $1600 and got a technology downgrade !!
Dell better fix this kind of stuff or will go the way of GM alot sooner
Pros:Finances, Presentation
+59points
71of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:flowzero
(California)
Title:

E6400 really rocks! Thinkpad T Series got a run

PostedSeptember 5, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Great build quality Crystal clear Ultrasharp LED Display Better viewing angle Metal hinge Great Keyboard Long Battery life
Cons:None so far
+44points
51of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ValBaca
(Texas Tech University, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Glad I got it

PostedMarch 24, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm a student dual majoring in electrical engineering and computer science so the computer I use is very important to me. I was upgrading from a Macbook and chose this over the Lenovo T400. I am SO glad I did.
This laptop is supposed to last me until graduation from grad school (~4-5 years from now) and I'm confident that it will.
Pros:Solid state hd, comfortable keyboard, very bright, backlit keyboard is cool, good # of usb ports, Completely silent when doing most tasks, feels very sturdy
Cons:fan can blow hot & loud (granted it only blows out the left, I have the T9600 2.80 GHz processor, and it only does that when I'm running a virtual machine along with several programs, so this is expected), keyboard is easily smudged (don't use while eating),
+36points
41of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sailon
(Seal Beach, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Can you handle the Truth

PostedOctober 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Can we add say a tutorial to understand some of the options?
Pros:This thing feels great. Its hands down the best laptop Dell has to offer. Keyboard has no flex to it. Has plenty of power. Skip the other models and enjoy this computer it has the basic display that looks simply perfect. Watched a Ice Age on it and I couldn't believe how good it looked. plenty of port options and connections to suit any mans needs. Battery life is over 3 hours easy without any power management intervention. Total control over most of the features makes this a wonderful machine. Came with all the drivers disk, loaded with XP with Vista waiting in the wings when I need to make the plung. It has no junk loaded. No software is asking you questions or requesting registrations. even Dell has nothing to bug you with. I don't even know if I have to register this dude WiFi manager makes it easy to get connected at all my favorite coffee shops
Cons:Could have done without google desktop No manuals...but easily downloaded them from dell would have been nice to have a tutorial for all the new gadgets. No cup holder
+31points
34of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeffSea
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this laptop since they first came out. I ran Windows XP, and then I reloaded it three months ago with Windows 7 RC 64-bit and three weeks ago with Windows 7 RTM 64-bit using the Vista drivers. I'm an IT administrator at my company.
I've had no problems at all with this laptop. I really like it, as do the 9 other people at my company we've given them to.
The only complaint I have is with the Dell ControlPoint software. I recommend against buying this option, or to uninstall it if you have it. I bought it to control the encrypted hard drive, but found the software cumbersome to administer (the encryption works great, though). Instead, in the BIOS you can set a hard drive password and to erase the drive if you have to call Dell for the hard drive unlock password (works on any hard drive--doesn't have to be the encrypted model). That's good enough for us. Dell tech support is very untrained on the encryption software. I'm sure Dell will phase it out or else go with a different vendor.
Pros:business
+29points
32of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CJDJ
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Absolute WorkHorse! Awesome Computer!

PostedMay 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS:
I just recently purchased a refurbished Latitude e6400. 2.53ghz 6mb cache, 2gig ram,160gb HD 7200.
I was very skeptical purchasing refurbished, but when this laptop arrived It was brand spankin new!
I use this laptop to run Serato Scratch live a very CPU intensive DJ program. Most of my colleges are using Macbook Pros for this program and they are shocked at how well this Dell performs against there Macs! Not only did I save major $$$ ove a Mac but this thing is bullet proof! Ive read some other reviews on this with people complaining of slow issues but I feel that's Vista not the Computer itself. Im running XP with no problems. No over heating issues,long battery life all around great unit. The lighted keyboard is excellent for dark venues. Its just a sexy looking laptop if a laptop could be sexy!
The build is solid nothing cheezy. A+ Dell
CONS: Speakers could be better.
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tabaplar
(NYC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Not worth the effort

PostedAugust 13, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, the design and construction of this laptop is very good. The case is very solid (although also heavy), and the hinge feels extremely sturdy. The LED screen is bright (although has fairly limited vertical viewing angles). The lighted keyboard is great, and something that all laptops should have.
However, this computer has been a problem from the start. The trackpad is bad to the point of being unusable....unresponsive, sluggish, freezes up constantly. Dell support have tried their best to resolve the issue to no avail. This is clearly a major design flaw. It sounds minor, but it makes using the computer almost impossible at times. I didn't know that a trackpad could be so bad.
Other issues include excessive heat, mediocre battery life, and poor audio. This is one of those products that the more you use it, the less you like it. I discover new annoyances constantly.
I would strongly recommend buying any other brand or model.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, work, web surfing, media
+31points
37of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Justwippet
(St Pete, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not a Step Up from the D630

PostedMay 18, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm configuring my 5th E6400 for our law firm and, so far, I'm not terribly impressed. The build quality doesn't feel as "bullet-proofed" as the Latitude D series and the display area is not as large (or at least doesn't seem to be). The overall speed of the laptops is very good. BUT - the single worst aspect of the new series is the Dell Control Point software. Get rid of it all immediately and you'll be much happier with these machines. I never understood why laptop manufacturers (especially Toshiba) feel compelled to replace the existing Windows control panel applets with their own bloatware that merely adds to the complexity of the OS.
All in all? It's not a bad laptop but it's certainly not a huge step forward from the D630 which it's meant to replace. I think the majority of mobile users will be happy with this laptop as long as XP is installed. I can't recommend Vista under any circumstances.
Pros:compact size and drop in weight from the d630, fast processor and runs great with xp pro
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Samiamu2
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice laptop-don't get the docking station

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We got this computer because it was the only one we could still get XP installed and the reviews were ok. The laptop has been fine and we did order with a docking station. I like the screen, like the weight and has worked well for how we sized it and applications I run. Some of reviews say the Dell Control Point is a pain, it has it moments but it is a preference thing. We and have developed an issue with the system not shutting down, it hangs on the final blue screen when the laptop is not docked all seems to be fine. Contacted Dell they sent out a tech right away after some phone debug (and our corporate IT help) to swap our the docking station with no luck and then tried motherboard with no luck. There seems to be issues with the E model’s and the E docking stations for hot and cold docking, some video issues, some overheating, some startup and some shutdown (based off research on the web and Dell community forums). I have only had issues with shutting down while docked and I do have a little issue with the video while docked nothing major but I can see if you dock and undock a lot this could be an issue. If I did not have a docking station all would be good and we are waiting to figure out what Dell is going to do. Laptop stand alone is fine,I have always liked Dell but do not get the docking station in this E-series.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GaryR125
(Boston)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

What's not to like?

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
About six months ago, I decided to buy the E6400 as my personal computer, after managing 15 D630 Latitudes for a couple of years. Those have proven to be workhorses that have been sturdy, reliable and able to support heavy business and programming use. I ran one (Vista) as a server non-stop for a year, without a problem.
I got the 6400 with Vista Ultimate, 4GB of memory and backlit keyboard. I run multiple business, database and programming programs, as well as use it as a local server while I watch movies or streaming video. I've been able to do all this at the same time, and have never had a failure or lockup.
I took the advice of many and didn't run Dell's Control Point software, and have had no problems. The keyboard's nice to type on and the backlighting is great.
I use a 22" (1680 x 1050) external display that looks great. Vista boots to a usable state in about 75 secs. It's no heavier than the 630, and the 9 cell battery seems to last about 4 hrs.
I use an excellent MS wireless Bluetooth mouse, which works great. Computers were never designed to be used with touchpads or sticks, but mine works better than any I've used in the past.
The only thing I think could be better are the speakers, but I use earphones most of the time anyway. Unlike the D630 which was completely silent, you can hear the white noise of the fan, but I don't notice it anymore.
The black *painted* (advertised as 'brushed metal, which it is not) finish is hard to keep clean and shows fingerprints. Yes I do wipe it a lot. The latch is not only useless, it's awkward to operate. I like the smooth, rounded clamshell shape of the D630 better than this square boxy design, but I like the power and advanced capability of the 6400.
Pros:business work & play
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fantomex
Title:

E6400 - worst notebook from Dell ever developed

PostedJune 30, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Buying this notebooks is the worst thing our company ever did. We have bought 10 of them in the first phase and we won't buy any more. Never. Excessive sound problems (cracking and clicking even after half a year they did not solve conflicts between SATA drivers and sound!), instant FSB overheating (we are able to overheat a brand new taken out of the box - not to take in count ultra-fast fan degradation due to dust). Never ever again. The NBD service is great, but they would never be able to solve design problems this notebook has.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, Travel, Music & Movies, Finances, administration
+26points
33of 40voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5