Customer reviews for Latitude E6400

Latitude E6400

Latitude E6400
3.778 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 186 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
11
1 Star
17
3.8
 / 
5
(186 reviews) 170
56 out of 9162%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E6400
Review 1 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sAmasha
Title:

Poor design !!!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm working at BMC Software (Israel branch),
now currently I'm using Dell E6400 (laptop from BMC) , and I have a macbook pro 13 at home ,
There's no way to compare those two laptops ,
If I give a mark I'd give macbook 5 and this Dell 1 ,
main problem for me with Latitude series is the track-pad ,no one in the whole BMC could use this tiny , hard to use track-pad ,
DELL you wast your time and money with this track-pads !!
Hope anyone from DELL listen to this ,
USER EXPERIENCE !!!!!!!
Pros:software development
-20points
3of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mmun
Title:

not so good

PostedJune 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my latitude for just less than three years. One hard drive replacement and numerous calls to software support
Time for a new one.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DeborahR
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Freezes often

PostedDecember 8, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed in this model, I have had problems from the very beginning.
The screen brightness does not stay consistent, it will go ultra bright (white) for a few seconds periodically.
The system will freeze forcing me to reboot and often lose data I am working on.
It also has a mind of its own and will beep often and loudly for no reason.
Pros:business, Travel
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shuvendu
(Bhubaneswar, Orissa)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Good Laptop

PostedMay 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
After many years of Laptop ruling, DELL launched this Latitude series.I have been using this Latitude E 6400 over a period of One year and found this a true one with world class facilities.
it sould have been more better if there was a web cam attached to it.
Pros:routine office work, web browsing
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:herbside
(Decatur, GA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent workmanship, power and weight

PostedApril 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like everything about this comptuer except that I like to occasionally play games, and the optional graphics card in the E6400 is really designed for the business user.
Mine has a Core2Duo P8600 and 256mb NVIDIA Quadro NVS-160M graphics card. I have the backlit keyboard, which is excellent except for the fact that the light turns off if you stop typing for a few seconds.
Pros:it support, rare ocasional gaminig, watching movies, email and internet
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Imran
(Sydney)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Latitude E6400

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like my new E6400, it has a good monitor size and good battery life. recomment to anyone.
Pros:word, email
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cneenan
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very solid laptop for business use

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've just recently started using this E6400, having come from the smaller line of Latitude laptops.
The speed of this computer is phenominal. This is truly the first computer (let alone laptop) that keeps up with me, no matter how many things I want to have open and work on simultaneously. Alt-Tab is now an even greater friend knowing that my laptop can handle it all.
Battery life is insane. Going over 8 hours on a single charge is incredible. I'm used to about 2 hours, so that was a huge surprise.
I haven't had any accidents (nor plan to) to test the durability, but it's definitely a solid piece of hardware. Opening and closing the lid seems very tight and sturdy, but easy to do.
Additional pros: backlit keyboard, great port access on both sides, ventilation.
Cons: Haven't found much. Is a bit on the heavy side, but definitely not a problem given that I plan to use this on a desk much more than with travel.
Overall, HIGHLY recommended.
Pros:sales, Travel, heavy communications
+67points
74of 81voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CpuSage
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Solid Laptop

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I rely heavily on this computer to get my work done and I have never had a problem with it. That, to me, is huge. I was slightly tentative about going to a Windows 7 platform but I’m glad I did since I have had absolutely no software incompatibility issues and Windows 7 has a lot of great new features. Aesthetically, the computer has a simple, professional look. Plus, the backlit keyboard feels very well made- a feature that not every laptop can boast. I run dual monitors and use a docking station for the majority of the time, but when I’m working remotely or at a meeting, everything from the pointing device to the wifi card have worked seamlessly. As far as the pointing device goes, it’s handy that the machine has both a touchpad and small joystick (little button integrated into the keyboard) for people who have different preferences.
On the whole, the E6400 doesn’t leave much to be desired (it doesn’t make me coffee). It has every feature I need to get my work done and then some. It’s a well-made, business class machine with great overall performance.
Pros:Travel, data analytics, ms office, work remotely
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Samiamu2
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice laptop-don't get the docking station

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
We got this computer because it was the only one we could still get XP installed and the reviews were ok. The laptop has been fine and we did order with a docking station. I like the screen, like the weight and has worked well for how we sized it and applications I run. Some of reviews say the Dell Control Point is a pain, it has it moments but it is a preference thing. We and have developed an issue with the system not shutting down, it hangs on the final blue screen when the laptop is not docked all seems to be fine. Contacted Dell they sent out a tech right away after some phone debug (and our corporate IT help) to swap our the docking station with no luck and then tried motherboard with no luck. There seems to be issues with the E model’s and the E docking stations for hot and cold docking, some video issues, some overheating, some startup and some shutdown (based off research on the web and Dell community forums). I have only had issues with shutting down while docked and I do have a little issue with the video while docked nothing major but I can see if you dock and undock a lot this could be an issue. If I did not have a docking station all would be good and we are waiting to figure out what Dell is going to do. Laptop stand alone is fine,I have always liked Dell but do not get the docking station in this E-series.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DarrenWatson
Title:

Almost Perfect Business Laptop Computer

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have recently purchased an E6400 Latitude (2.53GHz, 250GB HD, 4GB RAM, 14.1” matt LED screen, back lit keyboard, windows 7 pro 64bit, MS Office pro, integrated web cam). Overall I am very please with it.
Dells method of allowing you to specify the build of your new machine on line is a big plus. I am sure this is a big part of the reason why I must be happy with the machine I specified!
Compared with my last laptop (an HP 2510p at 1.7kg) it is a tiny bit on the heavy side but the performance if far better. And anyway, this is a compromise that I knowingly made and frankly I am getting used to it. When lugging my case around I don’t really notice the increased weight so it doesn’t bother me (Dells estimate of the product weight was just about right as well).
Battery life is nowhere near as good as the HP but it is a different computer and I have to say is pretty decent. It varies with usage but in general I can get 2 hours out of it without feeling the need to plug in. I will get another battery for it though so the bag will be heavier to get like for like up time.
The overall performance of the machine is very good and it is very nice to use. Glide pad and keyboard are excellent and feel solid. Base of the computer is very solid. It looks nice and the materials used are durable for a work horse and the inevitable rough treatment it will get. The screen performance is excellent, but the web cam end of the screen/lid feels flimsy and the whole of the top end of the lid assembly near the web cam creeks every time I close or lift the lid. A business contact in another company also has the same laptop and he has a crack in the lid near the hinge. My assessment is that, as “horses for courses” go, this is the only real issue with the PC.
I must say I was very disappointed with the delivery side of the purchase and the customer services after the sale had transacted. The product was ordered, manufactured in China and landed in the UK all within about 8 days. It then sat in a UK hub in Hinckley for 7 days before being despatched, even though I had paid £17 for delivery. Delivery was held up as this was dependent on the courier reaching a threshold limit for my area to allow despatch? I had been encouraged to take a spec change on the RAM to avoid a 10 day delay in delivery because needing a PC for my business I valued getting the PC quickly as a plus. I found it impossible to get anything done about this and had no response from the manager that sold me the pc. Because of my experience with customer service I am uncertain about what would happen if I had a problem with the PC and needed to call upon the 3 year warranty.
If the lid was less flimsy and I did not feel bruised over the customer service experience and reticent about any future interaction then I would give the whole deal a 10 out of 10.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NoMac
(Quebec, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Latitude E series, not really Latitude

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to have a Latitude D830 with T7700 processor, NVS graphic card and 1920*1080 LCD and I was really happy with the quality. My wife also has a D410 for more than 4 years with no problem and she really likes it. Anyhow, when the E series came out, I decided to sell my D830 on e-bay and get the new 14 inches lighter latitude. One other reason was the problem that I had with D830 graphic card that didn’t play the online HD contents (and somehow SD contents) well.
The new E6400 is more beautiful, the keyboard backlight is nice, and although the LED (1440*900) is not as sharp and crystal as the previous antiglare LCD, I’m happy with that. The main problem is the build quality and particularly the black paint. The black coating on the left speaker was completely chipped off after 8 months and I asked the Dell support to change it. They had done that, but just after two months, the paint on the new speaker mesh is chipping off. The black paint of some keyboard keys are washed out, the Dell logo on the back of the lid is loose and briefly, it’s falling apart! The problem with NVS graphic card still exist and I didn’t gain anything by changing my laptop. This is not what I expected from Dell Latitude. If this is the business class quality, what would be the home and office?!
Pros:university, music, video
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lester
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not a good laptop to recommend

PostedFebruary 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This notebook look cool, eveything is nice except a few thing i found very annoying.
Love
1) Good performace
2) Good LED screen
3) Backlid keyboard
4) Good battery life
5) Good price
Hate
1) The built quality look so solid and have a kind of da metal feel, but infact easy to get scratches.
2) Sound is poor
3) Touch pad is sluggish
4) Wireless signal is so poor and disconnecting
5) DellControlPoint is not functions well.
6) Keyboard problem, the cursor ramdomly reposition itself while you're typing. This is extremely annoying.
+14points
24of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Saad
(Mississauga, ON)
Title:

The Latitude E6400, first stable system in my life

PostedJanuary 8, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
• Chose P9700@2.8GHz over T9900@3.06GHz because it consumes 28W(Intel site)Vs 35W.20% less power consumption,longer battery life,less heat dissipation, more stability
• 8GB RAM
• Win7Ultim 64-bit with Media
• 1440X900(LED=less power consumption,longer battery life,thinner,lighter)
• No Modem,Fingerprint&Intel vPro(unnecessary,extra weight)
• 2MB camera&mic.Pictures&videos R captured@1600X1200
• 256GB Encrypted SSD(Samsung PB22-JS3-FDE)220/200MB/S read/write.78% lighter Vs HDD(80g Vs 365g).Power consumption 1.5W Vs 3.86W on HDD(Samsung site).Encryption:if your laptop is stolen,your files can't B viewed even if the SSD is moved2another computer
• Blu-Ray writer.Next generation of HD camcorders will B using Blu-Ray media.25/50GB of storage Vs 4.7/8.5GB on DVDs
• 256MB nVidia with Express slot.Useful in reading CFcards(CF 2 ExpressCard54 adaptor required) &portable ExpressCard mice
• 6 cells,backlit,pointing stick that controls the speed of the cursor by tilting it harder,easyer 2 quickly close a window
• Bluetooth 370,Wi-Fi 5300,(WWAN 5530 with GPS from eBay)
• 5 pounds exactly
• No Dell data backup, anti Virus,Works
• 3 Years complete care
• Cost CAN$4850 and CAN$3,650 after discounts
THE 1. I didn't have2uninstall any software.Added all my programs including trading platform,Office 2007&Norton Internet Security2010.All worked perfectly well&extremely fast,no crashes.My start time is 40s.I'm shocked how stable the system is.The WWAN 5530 connected 2 my provider(Rogers)with only 1 driver from Dell.Hinges R great.Speakers R far better than the XPS m1330 & Studio XPS 13.Blu-Ray writing is just like a DVD.I tried it on a BR-RE,with Roxio Deluxe 10.3.Playback on HDTV was easy via the DisplayPort (DisplayPort 2 HDMI adaptor required).DisplayPort supports both Video&Audio.The external playback on a full 1920X1020HDTV was less than perfect.Movement sometimes jump a little bit but not noticeable.Changing the settings of Power DVD 8.3 might've resolve it.I'll give the playback a 98%.Body is durable&solid.Keyboard is great with large shift keys on both sides.No right click button anymore.Size of the upper row of keys is a little bit small.Location of the LED indicators R great,plus another2when the lid is closed4battery&Power.Both Battery LEDs blink in orange if it goes down.Left speaker has a tiny shock when being charged,probably because the AC charger is a two-pin wire instead of three.Heat sink location&mic/headphone R ideal on the sides.Power socket has a STRONG grip of the plug,badly located on the back(might break if the laptop is lifted from the front while being charged).Touchpad,buttons&stick R great.The LED screen is far away from the keys leaving no marks on the screen.I've disabled the light sensor,not a fan.No D partition4recovery.Battery life is ok.Easily3hours with maximum performance settings.
If U want a DURABLE, RELIABLE, SOLID system that will last4years,the E6400 with these specifications is 4U2 pick,keep,enjoy
Pros:trading, reading, browsing, blu-ray player / writer, ms office applications, finance, studying, sleeve: incase 15"
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WArens
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Decent

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
As laptops go this is a good machine. But for government work that requires the use of a common access card (CAC), I would keep looking. While the reader works, it turns out there are some authentication issues with it especially where java is involved, that is unless you use an external USB smartcard reader. The keyboard is not my favorite I still miss the old Latitude C640 keyboard, I could type really fast on that beast. And the shell material on the C640 was better. The new glossy plastic of the E6400 shows grease and worn spots to my discontent. And so my laptop is very high maintenance with its appearance. And the paint seems to be peeling off the speaker grills on the side. Finally the trackpad, gets in the way at times causing the mouse to jump around the screen or place the cursor in an unexpected place causing a typing rework that impedes productivity. Maybe it is the driver, maybe it is the OS, or maybe it is not their fault, but it sucks.
So other than the look and feel of the laptop, and the smart card reader not universally working, requiring me to use an external reader, this is a pretty good laptop.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Abhijeet
Title:

Rock solid performance

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you need a business yet powerful laptop, Latitude E6400 becomes one of the serious contenders.
At just less than 6 pounds, the E6400 is a bit heavier than some other 14-inch laptops I have looked at recently, but the solid metal construction gives it an impressively dense feel, and feels like it could stand up to some serious abuse.
The 14.1-inch wide-screen LCD offers a 1,440x900-pixel resolution
With a T9500 processor under its hood, gives it enough power to breeze through most of the demanding applications.
Has an inbuilt SD card reader, which is not of much use to me as I use xD. A multi-card reader would have been nice.
Looks wise Latitude has got a good makeover from the traditional gray look the the new black brushed metal design.
This Laptop also has the option to connect a slice battery which can extend battery life to almost 11 Hrs.
Cons
At the price what I paid one would expect an inbuilt mic and webcam. But alas....
Pros:infotainment
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GaneshShankar
(Dayton, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent E6400, I am extremely satisfied

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased E6400 (Config:P9700- 2.83GHz,4GB SDRAM,160GB HDD). The laptop is amazingly fast and simply superior to any other brand. I wish Dell would have given me the opportunity of choosing 500GB HDD.
Pros:software development, part time collge studies, Travel, office work other than s/w dev, home use, admin, small business use
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lex3001
(San Francisco, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Big improvement from D630

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over the last 6 years I have used the D600, D610, D620, and D630.
I have been very happy with the E6400. I love the feel of the new keyboard. I also love the backlit keyboard option, which I almost didn't get. If you get this laptop and you ever work under dimly lit conditions -- airplanes, buses, trains, the living room, bedroom, etc., then I would HIGHLY recommend the option.
This laptop does not get nearly as hot as the D630. I can full-screen Hulu or other video content. The laptop's overall performance is much better than the D630.
The wake up from sleep with Win7 is amazingly fast. I am logged in and working again within seconds.
Minor issues:
Waking from sleep, sometimes I need to pop my PCMCIA Aircard card out and back in again to get it to register.
Sometimes coming back from sleep, the mouse doesn't work - logged w/ Dell.
The volume buttons seem to make Hulu etc. think I am typing and they go out of full screen mode.
The touch pad causes the mouse to randomly jump around sometimes, just like on every other latitude I have owned.
I wish Dell would ship w/ Virtual PC and XP Mode preinstalled -- had to enable in BIOS & install manually.
The vent where the hot air blows out of the laptop is on the left SIDE. The PCMCIA card slot is on the RIGHT side. So if you put your laptop in a backup for a few minutes while it is still on, you have to do it the vent at the bottom of the backup if you have a PCMCIA card in. E.g. if I am connected to AT&T with the Aircard, I will do this. I wish they were both on the side so the laptop could vent through the opening in the backpack.
The built in cellular card was not an option for Windows 7 64-bit.
Also, the USB charging plug works when the laptop is off, but the Apple iPhone does NOT work with it. Thanks a bunch for that, Apple & Dell. Maybe Dell could patch that up in a future edition.
Another difference is that the battery goes in the back instead of the front like the D630. I bought two 9-cell batteries and they have fantastic battery life. They do not act as a keyboard rest like on the D630, but that theoretically makes it easier to use the laptop in a cramped space like a plane. You cannot use batteries from the D series. Note you can't use D series docking stations either.
Keep in mind that you will probably want to always use 90W power supplies with this laptop. When you use a 65W power supply, the battery might take days to get a full charge if the laptop is turned on. So you might not really get good re-use out of older power supplies.
Lastly, the laptop does not have a standard HDMI port, which would be nice so you don't have to buy a special cable.
It would be great if Dell would have an option for a 7200 RPM 500 GB hard drive. I bought one as soon as I got the laptop and it has been working well. I also upgraded the RAM to 8GB with RAM from newegg.
Overall I am really happy with this laptop, and I personally like it much more than the D series.
Pros:software development, streaming video
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MichelM
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great all-round business laptop

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop has everything a business user generally wants:
- Exceeds performance expectations
- Great battery life
- Integrated webcam and mic
- Solid frame
All in all, this is a great laptop for people who don't need extreme graphics to play games, but want enough power/portability/features to get the job done efficiently.
Pros:video conferences, email, office suite applications, web browsing
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bigalak
(Alaska)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Keyboard problems

PostedNovember 18, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like everything about this machine except for the annoying problem of having the cursor ramdomly reposition itself while you're typing. This is a major design flaw which Dell does not appear willing to be willing to address.
+15points
31of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E6400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JTK27
(Atlanta)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great business laptop

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had originally ordered an XPS Studio 16, but after deciding it was too shiny, and not solid enough to serve as a business laptop, I ordered the 6400. I have had absolutely no problems with the computer after owning it for about 3 weeks now. It works well with the dock, it stays cool, and the power is more than adequate (P8700, 4gb RAM, 256mb Quadro) for any business tasks. The only downside I can think of is that the screen looked pretty washed out when I first got it, but I tweaked the settings using the Nvidia control center, and it looks great now.
Highly recommended.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5