Customer reviews for Latitude E5400

Latitude E5400

Latitude E5400
3.851 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
3.9
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 44
20 out of 2871%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E5400
Review 1 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nick
Title:

Excellent Build Quality

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
We are a small company with a high proportion of mobile users and having recently replaced 6 laptops with Latitude E5420's I can say that the build quality is really excellent.
Performance matches our extensive multitasking office needs - Autlook, Word, Excel, Access & Draftsight all multitasking beautifully.
Pros:office
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GL
(Penang)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Recommended

PostedMay 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have being using this laptop for the last 16 months. I love it. It allows me to use Window XP. It is really FAST. After 9 months of use, the screen start to blink non-stop. After my call, it was replaced within 24 hours. Perfect support.
My only wish is that it could be lighter for me to carry around.
Pros:trading software, microsoft office
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ALHOU
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Cheaply Made

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This model is definately a downgrade from previous models. It is very cheaply make with bulky plastic and not at all suitable as a mobile lap top.
Pros:Travel, everyday use, engineering design programs
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Welder
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good business laptop with bright screen

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
First off, to the poster who said the screen is dim: When the brightness mode is set to Auto, the Maximum brightness is very low. Simply turn off the Auto Bright feature, and you get full brightness... the screen is incredibly bright! I had to instruct our users how to do this, as many complained about the same thing.
This review is for the E5400 with 2.26GHz, 2GB RAM, Win 7 Enterprise 64bit, and 64GB SSD.
Pros: Fast boot, runs multiple apps quickly. Extremely quiet, no fan noise during normal use. Quiet, solid feeling keyboard. As mentioned above, awesome screen brightness, but will adjust down to a nice low level if you work in the dark. 4 USB ports, 2 on each side. The no-nonsense, no chrome all-black look is great for business; looks professional. Runs cool - the bottom doesn't get hot like many laptops, so you can actually put it on your lap without burning your legs.
Other: Case is all plastic, so it seems kind of cheap, but it's actually pretty solid. Fairly lightweight thanks to the plastic. Battery life is 'normal' for this type of laptop. Single access panel on the bottom makes it easy to get to all the parts such as memory, HD, Wifi cards, etc.
All the plugs are on the side, including the power plug, so they tend to stick out a bit. I guess this could be a plus if you like to push the unit up against a wall.
The trackpad area is a bit small, but it functions well.
Cons: No DVI out and dated (i.e. unnecessary) S-Video output. No Express card slot; old-school PCI slot (although I guess some people still have old-style cards).
In short, a good no-frills business laptop.
Pros:it and tech, general office use
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rock49658
(U.S.A)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

almost cant recommend it so i can brag about it!

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
great sound great screen
PROS:i cant even think of a con its every thing you can want from a lap top
CONS: VISTA GO WINDOWS 7 LIKE I DID!!!!
Pros:work, surfing the web, shcool, web site building, dvd player
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MContheroad
(Fort Wayne, IN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great versitile laptop

PostedJune 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
In the past 5 years I have used a Dell Latitude D620, HP, and Gateway. I recently bought this Latitude E5400 and have no regrets. I am a sales road warrior and this laptop is a great tool. The battery lasts seemingly forever. The screen size and contrast is great. Some reviews I read were crititical, I have no complaints - just compliments! I am a Dell Latitude customer for many years to come.
Pros:Travel, sales
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LucyGoose
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Latitude E5400 14.1 in. Core 2 Duo 2 GB Windows XP

PostedMay 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just recently purchased this business computer from Dell. I am a student and small business owner. This is what I can say so far...
The appearance itself is remarkable, I would say it looks smart, feels highly durable and rugged, heavier then my original laptop that we purchased from the Home section 4 years ago, I can definitely understand why the Latitude line is more geared towards federal agencies and alike. So I am impressed with the overall look.
As for the audio and visual, I must say again remarkable. Again compared to my original Inspiron laptop from 4 years ago, the sound is impeccable via headset, though not as loud as I would like when using the internal speakers regularly. I am always on headset so this is most important and I have no complaints. The anti-glare screen is impressive, and although someone here wrote a review stating the lighting was horrible, I beg to differ. The lighting is exceptionally bright, and I was worried about this before I bought it, as the older Dell Models we had, had lighting problems. This one however is so bright you may have to wear your sun glasses so beware!
The speed is fast, I am multitasking at a comfortable rate, no hour glass or delays, so I do not know much about components of a comp. so I would think the Core 2 Duo has something to do with speed. So no complaints here.
This is the first business computer I have purchased from Dell, and mainly tried it because it was on sale for 439.99 I believe, so that is a great base price to start out with for me. I downgraded to XP which cost an additional 99, and in my opinion worth it, I heard 7 uses to much power and makes the computer run slower so beware of this to!
Other then this, I think what could be improved is an added webcam, like an optional feature for this computer which there is not, Im still a bit skeptical of the material used for the touch pad, it is not the traditional silky smooth pad, but instead a rougher almost sandier material as is the inside frame, but this does not interfer with how it operates (you may have to adjust the touchpad settings as I did, in the beginning it was exceptionally delayed it didnt follow your finger well, and so I think this is all I can come up with for now.
I do have much to learn about this computer though so we shall see!
I can promise you though that Dell has provided once again a solid durable computer and I don't know of any other company that can do this (computer wise)
I will write more as I find more pros or cons as time goes on, I like reviews because what matters is not what the Dell rep or any other company has to say to you, it's what the customers have to say!
Hope this was helpful :)
Pros:video conferences to the middle east, general home/office use, downloads
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cyndiers
(Ohio, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

E5400 Latop Screen is Terrible!

PostedMarch 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Dell E5400 because it offered "mobile" features. I have to visit businesses and do software demonstrations. The screen of the E5400 is so dim I am constantly ask if I can make it brighter. And forget even looking at photos on this machine. I would not recommend this computer to anyone that does not have a secondary screen.
Pros:software sales, on line training & data repair
+27points
38of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:snapon
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Quality Compromise

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used DELL Latitude computers since 1996. Over the years I have owned 6 or more of the various versions. Until now I was always very happy with them. Unfortunately, my 'upgrade' from a D620 to a E5400 seems more like a downgrade in quality. The unit just feels more flimsy overall.
+23points
31of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:san517
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Stable and Fast

PostedOctober 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
i am choosing E5400 for my business uses as I used latitude D620 company laptop for 3 yrs gave me wonderful experience.
I am Telecommunication IT personnel. I found this E5400 laptop is really useful for my daily work. It is fast , stable and battery is long lasting. Dell control point software is good to manage power and networking,(wireless and lan). We can disable the battery charging to prolong your battery life by dell control point software. Besides, it come with original XP pro sp3.and the lcd is anti-glare type which is more suitable for eye contact for long hours(my opinion). it is quite and not much heat generated even long hrs work and ''downloading ". i will recommmend this latitude E5400 series to my friends and family.
Cons
VGA slot position at the side view is not convenience as compare to back position.
Power adapter connector has blue indicator to present power on status, but somehow it was getting error msg power adaptor is not compatible for the laptop if you didnt plug in properly. I dont know how frequent it will happen in future after long use. Besides, i hope this battery pack can give me long hour use and long life lasting compare to previous dell latitude battery which give me a poor experience.
Pros:business and telecommunication & it personnel
+99points
123of 147voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mukeshgupta
(Mumbai Bandra India)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

SLOW AND FRUSTRATING IT IS

PostedSeptember 4, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
my comp hangs more often when i use Windows Mail and even otherwise it seems quite slow and often hangs temporarily all day. I tried all tricks that i know of even did virus scanning many times and ALSO changed the anti virus from MECAFFEE to KASPESKY to now using NORTON but no use.
Also have aproblem with the ROXIO DVD writing software from day one which they could not resolve till date so i use windows to write any dvd/cd.
Pros:Connecting with Friends, office and home
-12points
44of 100voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ajit
Title:

Software engineer

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
100%satisfaction....
Gr8 look and good battery life...
+2points
16of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SchoolTechDir
(Louisiana)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great laptop

PostedJune 10, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought 12 of these laptops for our teachers and 24 for a mobile lab for the classrooms. We love them. They feel very sturdy and we've had no problems. The side connections make it easy to slip sideways into a laptop cart or to connect to a projector while on a presentation cart. I plan to buy more.
Pros:School, Presentation, teaching
+27points
38of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bri68
Title:

SLOOOWWWW

PostedApril 20, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I only had 1 GB Ram and I think it was not enough to run Vista
Pros:Dell Quality
Cons:Heavy Slow Limited features Bulky
-16points
40of 96voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cubbie90
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

What were they thinking?

PostedMarch 13, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks like a thinkpad. Can't be original?
Pros:Compact, light, new docking station very fast.
Cons:Accessory connectors are all found on the sides of the laptop instead of the back. The battery sticks out of the back. Why are the rubber pads that keep the monitor from rubbing against the main deck on the wrist pad instead of along the monitor? Really poor case design.
+9points
22of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ashok
Title:

nice one

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
sleek one
Pros:good design and valuable one worth it and nice features
Cons:no web cam adn colours not available
-12points
6of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NCJohn
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not ready yet

PostedMarch 7, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really hate to write negative reviews, but this laptop is just not ready yet for prime time. The PM should not have released it yet.
I'm an IT consultant and we purchased thousands of Latitude C and D series laptops for our customers. While no laptop is perfect, the now retired D series came very close to the perfect laptop.
Unfortunately, it seems that the new E series is far away from the legendary reliability of the previous model, to a large degree because of the Dell Central Point software.
Maybe my customers are different, but they don't care about 18 hours of battery run time. They don't care about the bells and whistles, what they do care is that this laptop better works when they do a presentation or when they turn it on in some far away hotel.
All of our E-series Latitudes are running now well, but it just took way too much effort to get them to this point. Especially in today’s economy, it is not good to disappoint your loyal customers.
Pros:Outstanding Dell support. I work with a number of computer makers, and the Dell business support is very good. Keep up the good work! The 14 inch is a great compromise if you need portability and ease of use. Dell is one of the few companies that includes the important System Restore CDs.
Cons:1)My primary complain on this laptop is the Dell Central Point software. What a step back compared to the old "quick set". Multiple blue screens right from day one. Took over a full day of research to resolve it. 2) The new half size Intel and Dell wireless cards are not as good as the previous full size cards from the D models. We have several LinkSys, Cisco and Netgear wireless routers in the office, neither the Intel 5100 card nor the Dell 1397 would consistently connect using WPA2. Even after we dropped it down to WPA, and the router just 10 feet away, it would not maintain a 54 MBit/s connection. The new Intel 5100 card would not connect at all (in WPA mode) to the basic Netgear 614 wireless router. We setup tons of C and D series Latitudes in the same office and never had that many wireless issues before.
+251points
253of 255voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lufiah
(Petaling Jaya, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Value For Money

PostedMarch 4, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Sturdy built. Good companion at office.
Cons:(Couldn't find one as yet)
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Eric
(Myanmar)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

BEst Quality

PostedFebruary 28, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its cool
-19points
1of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E5400
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellOwner1109
(Royal Oak, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My First Purched Laptop

PostedFebruary 22, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:That the speakers are on the top, not the sides.
(click to see the video)
-56points
5of 66voted this as helpful.
1 2