Customer reviews for Latitude E4310

Latitude E4310

Latitude E4310
3.157 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
11
1 Star
8
3.2
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 48
21 out of 4250%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E4310
Review 21 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Duch
(Poland/Singapore)
Title:

E4310 - fine, with some problems

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hardware is quite fine and I have Core I3, it does not overheat itself, keybord is fine, touchpad works if you set it up, 13" screen is quite bright and contrast great, rather light for this screen size.
On the negative side: no manuals, for example no instructions how to use single mic/phone socket - I've downloaded latest drivers and used all possible options, switching off internal mic and headphone output, still no external sound comes in.
Battery is big but running time is average. Dell Webpage contains only 6 page intro manual, and service manual, not a normal instruction. It takes a lot of search to find Dell Client System Update, that should check for newer drivers automatically. Selecting supposedly better way to download drivers ends up in downloading only the manager not the drivers. Shame on Dell for such a mess.
Latitude ON-flash is very limited, and firmware update is 1/2 Gig, not specific for 4310 ... it should do editing of MS Office documents but it does not. It does not even show catalogues for photos/music, just external device. Perhaps after installing a lot of updates it will start working properly.
Pros:mostly work + photos
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mike
Title:

DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE

PostedNovember 7, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has been the most disappointing experience that I have had with Dell. The website Tech Specs indicate that this laptop comes with (or perhaps has an option for) Mobile Broadband. However, there is no option to include it as an optional upgrade - so one is left to assume that it is included. However, when I got the actual laptop, the slot was present, but no card included. I only found all this out because I couldn't get it to work with a SIM card installed and rang technical support only to find that the card was not included. Trying to get this sorted out then took forever. Dell, you have really messed up. I will not be buying another Dell machine.
-18points
9of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:marsax
(Jacksonville, FL)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Powerful small laptop

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been reading the reviews and look folks, this is a "compact" laptop. Don't go looking for a ton of connection options. It has TWO USB connections (one of them is a eSata/USB combo). I do connect an eSata hard drive from time to time but it works for USB too. Running Win 7 Enterprise with 4 gigs on it. The display looks nice for the size. It's bright and clear. I can get about 4-5 hours of use on a charge which is better than most.
The only gripe I have is the touchpad. It's a bit too touchy. My cursor goes kind of crazy sometimes. It's in a docking station half of the time so it's usually not a big deal.
If you have a problem with a 13" screen and less connection options, then don't buy this one. If you want something powerful and light, then check it out.
Pros:network admin
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JCA1
Title:

Awkward...

PostedNovember 20, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used Dells, ThinkPads, Vaios, HPs and others, and this is the lamest laptop I've yet to use. I've had limited usage of it but first impressions:
1- Screen in incredibly bad. Brightness, resolution, angle ... what more can I say. If this was swapped out with a better screen it would definitely help.
2- Battery extending out the back. Come on! What was Dell thinking?
3- For the price this is not the weight and size one would expect.
4- Keyboard has a poor feel to it. Think of a the other Latitude lines (D820+) and think of a piece of cardboard under the keyboard. There you go. You can't tell if the key has been pushed far enough or not.
5- Ports - or more precisely lack of ports. No digital??!?!? And only 1 USB and 1 combo port. You need firewire - foreget it.
I view this as a beefed up netbook. I'm going to see if I can return this.
+9points
20of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:abufct
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Really poor display and bad Linux support

PostedDecember 1, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well I would give this notebook at least four stars if it had at least average display. But it has maybe the worst screen i've seen ever. How can angles be so bad on such a small display??? They are not so bad when the screen shows bright image, but when I open black terminal, display shows how much it really sucks.
Bad Linux support: some features do not work at all, others start working only after manual kernel patching. I can live with that though, but not with that screen!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pyroxen
Title:

Mixed feelings

PostedDecember 3, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Generally ok, I know I bought two USB and 13" screen, but I can understand why price dropped quite a bit since introduction:
1. Horrible sound from headphone output while plugged in, solution: take off the main power supply. Please Dell, that seems to be a historic problem (e.g. Inspiron), and solution seems easy as well, what's the problem there?
Also, automatic recognition of a jack plugged in doesn't properly work and internal speakers are used. solution: restart
2. I Expected wireless broadband card as standard, just as others here. Might be my mistake, but seems it was deliberately advertised differently.
3. automatic background light adjustment is driving me nuts, solution: manually turn lighting up.
Other than that hardware seems working fine with i5 and Windows7 64bit 4gb ram. Battery life ok. I chose it for robustness and non-glossy screen, which is good. I reckon it was overprized and maybe still is. For the prize I paid I would have expected a little more sophistication, i.e. wireless broadband + audio in + out that actually works noise free. And a third USB wouldn't hurt.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:0Hitman0
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Solid, Fast, Reliable.... and Hot!!

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got it for 3 weeks, really love this laptop. Running pretty fast, the design is awesome, battery is excellent. 8GB memory and 128GB SSD make my computer a great machine for all office's purposes.
The only drawback is the heating problem.. It is pretty hot, I can stand for it but I think the heat problem would shorten the laptop lifespan. I will call customer support tomorrow to check about this.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vicn
Title:

The worst computer I ever had

PostedDecember 15, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Here is my story:
Got E4310 in June for ~$2,000 (i5/8Gb RAM/ 320GB HDD/some other extras). After continuous straggle with overheating and 3 service repairs, got another system, which shows the same behavior. Based on the customer reviews and support page, overheating is a common problem with E4310 coupled with i5 processor. Good laptop if you use Word and Internet for few hours a day, but simply useless for the real tasks.
Pros:scientific work
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bentim
Title:

Machine severely overheats

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a Core i5 M540. Heat generation and dissipation is so bad on this machine a few minutes sustained usage will result in a 1.2GHz max clock speed (i.e. pitiful performance).
It would be nice if Dell could explain why they ship such a high spec processor in a design that prevents the chip get anywhere near its potential.
It is quite astonishingly bad. If this chip could not down scale its clock speed it would be dead within minutes. The only way I have found to get sustained high speeds is to glue two additional exterior cooling fans to the machine.
If you have loads of money to waste and want a smart looking machine buy this. If you actually care about performance steer well clear. (Note also the screen viewing angle is very poor).
Dell, what are you playing at?
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BanHien
Title:

Hot

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've got no choice, this machine is my work laptop from my employer. I use docking station, external everything including working from home all the time except when have to work off-site therefore no problem with ports, screen .... like others.
It's lighter than my previous laptop (D630 - our policy: replace only after 3 years) but it's very hot, I can feel from my back because I undock it and put in a backpack very often.
Along with the Office suite, I run few other applications on it and it's faster than my previous laptop therefore no complaint.
Given I'm a owner of few XPS's and a Studio XPS, the E4310 is good for normal office work such as running office applications but not others.
Pros:office hcm & dm
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellk
Title:

Poor display,unsupported fingerprint reader,errors

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought E4310 with 8Gb of RAM and i7 processor and some of the options like fingerprint reader, bluetooth etc..
This laptop is HUGE DISSAPOINTMENT! The display quality is really poor, the fingerprint reader uses a special technology, which is unsupported by all of the OS's - you have to have a emba(ra)ssy Security application which cannot be used to unlock Windows Bitlocker encrypted drive. The reader itself is not precise, so you have to swipe the fingers many times - it's even faster to write the pass, than to use the fingerprints..
The boot authentication is slow.
And also, I have a problem when connecting the external display in "projector only" mode - the screen is sometimes flashing. I have tried it with many different screens and it occurs on both - DVI and VGA out. The mainboard has already been replaced (after 2 months) and it didn't help.
So I do not recommend to purchase this type of laptop. I was really satisfied with other Dell laptops, but this one is really bad.
Pros:software development, office
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SHNOOL
(Upper Mt. Bethel, PA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

With 6 cell, is a portable powerhouse.

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The standard 3 cell battery is good for less than 1.5 hours. With a 6 cell (hangs off back 1 inch), this lappie is as powerful as most 15.6 inch lappies, and 2 lbs less.
Things to note. Keyboard is different from 6510, and 6410 (is a little more cramped, but not badly so). Optical drive is not a quick change model (like 6410/6510), but is still easy to change, but the bezels are different than above.
Overall though, it is fast, and small. I would have rather seen the VGA port die, and a Displayport replace the side, but that is more a preference than a problem.
Get this laptop, and you'll be quite happy.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ByronSF
(San Francisco, California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Reasonable after reconfiguration

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought 2 units (i5 and i7); both with 4GB and conventional disks. The i5 ran reasonably with Windows XP/sp3. No weird issues. The i7 with Windows 7 was something to rekon with. It ran HOT and periodically hung/froze. I added my "standard" software to it (photoshop, DVD burning SW, etc) and it crashed even more frequently. The 6-cell battery only lasted 3 hrs (or less). I ended up rebuilding the system with an SSD; loaded Windows 7 from scratch (not the DELL media release); only essential drivers (no DELL tools); added all of my "standard" software. The CPU fan no longer runs continuously and the system works like a champ now (8+ hours on same battery, really fast (thanks to SSD), no more crashing. I don't know what the default Windows 7 DELL build contained, but it was definitely not stable.
Pros:video, photo
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Yusri
Title:

Bad finishing and faulty hardware

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit abaout 30 units.I noticed the finishing is very bad an lot of issue on the systems DVD not working very good if you external USB devices,Mouse pad is not so sensitive,power adapter lose.It happens recenntly when Dell shift shift their production to Chxna.I has been using Dell product 13yrs for my Company.
Pros:for company
-6points
9of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Garys07
Title:

DELL lie about the weight !!!

PostedMarch 3, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
You pay a premium because this laptop is lightweight (from 1.54kg with 3Cell). Well a colleague bought one with a 250GB Sata (these weigh about 120g), and with no battery it weighs 1.63kg; and weighs 1.97kg with a 6cell. So if weight is really a factor for you to pay so much, think again. Typical SSDs are only 75% of HDD weight, so I challenge Dell to publish how they came up with 1.54kg - did it have no battery and no hard/flash drive in it?
+32points
36of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pfitz
Title:

Solid Laptop

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was concerned with the negative comments regarding heat generation and poor screen on this small laptop. To my great relief both concerns are way over blown. This is a very good solid little machine. The I3 is plenty fast and the keyboard is fine to use. The touch pad is not as good as the Macbook, but so what? I love Windows 7 and Office 2010. Good stuff all around. This little machine will gets loads of hard business use and air travel, that is for sure.
Pros:business travel machine
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:asg
(US)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Mediocre computer

PostedMarch 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer was purchased by my employer, so I didn't have any choice, but I would not recommend it.
Positive Comments:
* It's light
* It's small
Negative Comments:
* Generates a lot of heat, to the point that it's uncomfortable if it is actually sitting on your lap. A nice feature in the winter.
* The 1366x768 screen is a good resolution for watching movies, but awful for working, particularly as Windows and applications take up more space with menus.
* The quality of the image on the screen is not as good as other laptops I use.
* Design and construction quality is mediocre.
* The 6 cell battery (needed for decent battery life) sticks out the back, and is awkward.
* I had to fiddle a lot with the touchpad settings to get it to stop moving the pointer when I was typing, and also disable the buttons above the touchpad and the eraser pointer.
Pros:work, as infrequently as i can
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WarwickIT
(Rhode Island)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great!

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had mine for a couple months, and I love it! I use it as my desktop replacement. Pretty much fully loaded - Core i7, 4GB of memory, Windows 7 Professional. It's small, but I use it with a docking station and a second screen. It does run hot, but with the dock it's lifted off the desk slightly so it's not a problem. Ultra portable for travel, really light, great features, but versatile enough to be my all-day machine.
Pros:it tech, desktop replacement, Travel
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrooksH
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Solid state drive makes the E4310 blazingly fast

PostedApril 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the Latitude a few weeks ago. I ordered it with the solid state drive. This makes the computer very fast. It is quick to boot and quick to wake up. Everything is faster, because there is no wait for a hard drive to spin up.
Pros:business applications
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Latitude E4310
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:calvol
(Northern California)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great business class PC

PostedApril 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have a i5-540M, 4GB RAM, 7200RPM 160GB-HD and this E4310 runs extremely fast with 64-bit Win7 and Office 2010. The CPU runs normally at 50C, and with several windows open and running Skype it only heats up to 55C (my MacAir goes from 43C to 80C with Skype). If yours runs hotter than this, you probably have a process running that shouldn't be, such as PNMService. This is a great desktop replacement and prefer it in the office for business with a 22" monitor (I use the MacAir at home, like the 1400x900 screen for surfing). Only wish it had a display port connector, but could get this with the dock. I'm buying an SSD and 8GB RAM and keep this thing for 2-3 years.
Pros:business
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3