Customer reviews for Latitude E4300

Latitude E4300

Latitude E4300
3.606 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 104 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
12
1 Star
13
3.6
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 97
42 out of 7258%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude E4300
Review 1 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellcontract
(Europe / Prague)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Regression

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pro - speed, weight
Con - noise, keyboard
Here is my opinion and decide yourself, whether these features/bugs are
important for you. Hopefully the designer will read it, too.
I will compare it with a Dell D610 I used until now.
What I definitely like is the weight, it's lighter, and thiner.
It's also fast.
The glidepoint is better than it used to be in the D-series.
What makes me unhappy is the keyboard. The upper line of keys is
a monolithic stream of keys, where it is difficult to find the desired
key by touch. Small spaces that used to divide the F-keys into groups
for years, have disappeared. The "Home" key is located somewhere else
than "PgUp", "PgDn". It is also hard to find quickly - in the row
between "F12" and "End"... unrecognizable by touch. F-keys are also
smaller now, so by pushing a key where there used to be F8, I launch
the F9-shortcut now. Arrow keys ommit padding spaces, there is only one
useless hole above the Up arrow. Noone orientates by spaces above a key
(it is easy to find the row), but one needs a space on the left or
right side of the key. It is easy to press PgUp/PgDn accidentally
instead of an arrow key. D610 did a better job here.
The keys are
loose and make noise, when the finger is lifted up from the key. (The 14" laptops have a better (more robust and not so noisy) keyboard.)
The touchpad became wider on the right side and also less deep, so
one can accidentally click or scroll with the right hand.
The HDD is enormously noisy, when spinning. I tweaked a lot of options,
so that I do not have to hear it spinning too often. Go for an SSD or
at least lay it on a soft pad (e.g. a softcase) to avoid resonating
with the desk.
The fan is as noisy now as the old ones are, when the gears got broken.
The power button is now where I used to hold the D610 laptop when carrying
it, so I sometimes power off the E4300 accidentally :-) But this laptop is so
small and light, that one can hold it anywhere.
Ambient sensor is located under the display, so it is sensible to the
shadow of my head. Therefore, useless. It if would be on top, where the
camera is...
Edges are a little bit sharp, but I feel no pain due to it.
When I got the laptop, I was excited by the clicking sound of the case
next to the camera, I thought that it is a button for turning it
on/off, but, it isn't.
After a year the fan started making a messy disturbing noise.
+10points
16of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lizandro
(Curitiba, Brazil)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

An expensive netbook

PostedDecember 27, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bougth 5 E-4300 for our office based on the weight and sleek design but and everybody complains about the lack of performance and the frequently blue screens.
The main use is Office and Lotus Notes but ocasionally we need to use some 2D and 3D applications (Photoshop, Illustrator, Alias and Rhino).
For the office applications works fine but for 2d and 3d it suffers and sometimes freeze.
The finishing is too plastic and the screen has a really bad color definition.
I do not recommend any Latitude for this type of use because is too expensive for performance of a Netbook. Maybe the right one could be the Precision M4500 but it weight 1kg extra!
The system is =
2.40GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB RAM
HD 150 GB
DVD/RW optical drive
Windows XP
Pros:management, alias studio, illustrator, rhino 3d, photoshop
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EShock
(University of Kentucky HealthCare)
Title:

Love it so much I bought another one.

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overview:
My employer purchased this laptop for me (per my request) and it is my favorite computer that I've ever had. I love it so much, I have ordered one for personal use.
Basic config:
2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB RAM
128GB SSD primary drive
DVD/RW optical drive
About me:
I worked several years in workstation support and we have always had roughly 1000+ various model Latitudes deployed. I have disected all models C-series to E-series.
Uses:
Win 7 x64, Office 2010 x64, various business applications, occasional photoshop/premiere.
Pros:
Super fast for an ultra light due to medium voltage processor. I had a D420 for work once and it was SLOW. This one is significantly faster than my D620 it replaced.
Solid feel compared to D-series, though I haven't gone as far as to replace a mobo or LCD. 3-cell battery has very impressive battery life--better than a 6-cell in a D620. Battery still performs as new after 18 months usage. Love the "stick" mouse as I prefer this over a touchpad.
Parts are as easy to replace as larger laptops. The old X300 or a Macbook requires intensive efforts to replace items such as hard drives, CD drives, etc. The modularity of the E4300 is more in line with a D620 or the like.
Built-in SD card slot is nice.
Cons:
Choice between WWAN (cellular) antenna or webcam--they need the same space in the LCD lid.
Touchpad basically needs to be disabled because it causes the cursor to jump horribly while you type. This is very bad for people that insist on using it.
Screen resolution vertically is too small. The wide screen of course contributes to this, of course. I generally use this in a dock so it is not a big deal to me. They have increased the resolution on the E4310 revision, which is probably a nice improvement.
My DVD/RW drive essentially makes coasters. It reads discs with no problem, but it will not seem to burn a good disc. Dell Support sent me a replacement drive (even a different brand) and the same problems still exist. I'm guessing it is a driver problem that has yet to be corrected. I've seen this problem in one E6500 as well.
Bottom line:
If you need a light laptop, this is an excellent piece of hardware. I would opt for an E4310 with an Intel i5 processor if I was buying one new. If you can get a deal on a used/refurb E4300, you should be pleased.
Pros:tech support, light-use multimedia, business productivity
+31points
33of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:msandman
(Cambridge, Mass. USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good performer; driver update solved some problems

PostedJune 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
The E4300 is good for travel if you don’t need high end video. It had some problems that seem to have been fixed with a BIOS & touchpad driver updates. It’s gone from a C+ to a B+ with these fixes.
The bad:
When I got the unit, the cursor jumped around erratically unless I turned off drag lock, tap-to-click, etc. and also the pointing stick. Dell’s touchpad driver dated 6/10/2010 solved the problem. Get it from the support/downloads site. I re-enabled tap-click and scrolling on the touchpad without having the cursor jump around.
The good:
The laptop feels solid. The Intel Duo processor and 64-bit Win 7 load apps quickly (with 4GB of memory). It runs Photoshop and memory-hungry plug-ins well. The display is bright to the point where it needs to be turned down a bit, and it’s even from side to side. It fades if the viewing angle is high or low. The 1280x800 is legible and the laptop still fits easily into a relatively small backpack. The keyboard is backlit, which is great. It has the best feel of any Dell keyboard I’ve had in 15 years. The Page Up and Page Down keys are side by side, which is not intuitive and takes some getting used to.
I haven’t used the standard 6 cell battery because it sticks out the back. Battery life with the 3-cell battery is 75 – 90 minutes. The standard battery would be much better. The optional auto-air-120/240V 65W power adapter works well unless you plug it into the laptop while it’s open. When you do that you may get a message telling you to plug in a Dell 65W power adapter, and the adapter not charge the battery. Close the lid, unplug the adapter from the computer, plug it in again and open the lid and the computer accepts the adapter and the battery will recharge.
One last weird problem: If you use the travel adaptor on at least some Boeing aircraft with 120V outlets, it may trip a safety in the outlet. Apparently the adaptor draws too many amps on these planes. Unplug it, remove the laptop’s battery and plug the adapter in again. The laptop will work, but of course the battery won’t be recharged. (I haven’t had this problem on aircraft with 12-volt outlets.)
On balance, this was a potentially good unit before the touchpad driver update, and it’s a lot better now, although there are still a couple of problems.
One other item: When I updated the touchpad driver & BIOS I used the Dell website tool that supposedly checks on which updates can be installed. It failed to detect that most of my drivers were up to date, so some of the downloads failed to install and gave an error message. I got "chat" help and the tech support person said the drivers were up to date. S/he was very helpful, but if the on-line tool had worked right, the help session wouldn't have been necessary.
Pros:work, Travel
+38points
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TDgobux
Title:

middling performance

PostedMay 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this laptop to replace a latitude d630. I've owned many latitudes over the past 10+ years. This laptop is by far the most elegantly designed one. But, the performance is ok with 4gb of ram. It runs extremely hot - you really can't have it on your lap in the airport. Also, for the first time, i cracked the hinges - Dell says it's an accident. I think it's fragile.
The video is fine - it has autodimmer that sounded good, but in practice, seemed dimmer than i needed; this is the first laptop with a backlit keyboard and that is great. battery life is very good.
A couple of very good points - I love the size and weight of this unit - it convinced me that i enjoy this size screen and the keyboard layout is excellent. One other important factor was that this was the smallest laptop with a trakpad - i wish the 11x had one.
Pros:business, daily use, Travel
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aps3
(Olympia WA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

not bad

PostedMay 17, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really wish this computer had a backlit keyboard.
Otherwise, it started out gangbusters and accumulated the usual creep in performance lag of any computer, which I mostly blame on windows updates. I am extremely parsimonious on memory-resident programs, so windows seems to be the likely culprit.
The case is fragile, I've got two openings about 1/4" by 1/4" in area and some other cracks too after not too strenuous use, over a period of ~18 months. I've never had a laptop shed actual pieces of its case before.
Pros:data analysis, presentation preparation, document preparation
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VVDK
(Palmerston North)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great packed laptop, rock solid, tough guy!!!

PostedMay 5, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop 1.5 years ago. It traveled with me in South America for almost 10 months inc. harsh environment and incidents such as liquid spills and ever worse experience. i had car accident in Patagonia - rollover 3 times, it flied out of passenger window and smashed on the gravel road in sleep mode around 10 meters away. Fortunately it still powered on, no problems at all (i was amazed, no data lost - 8 months' pictures). Under complete cover warranty, dell replaced the keyboard& all case panels. Now it looks just as brand new. i have to say, this model is rock solid!!!
Pros:Travel
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IMPortable
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Better than my old D420, but...

PostedApril 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this to replace a D420, before which I had lightweight ThinkPads such as the X30, etc. I travel a lot so small and light are important to me. The D420 was perfect in size and weight, but had other problems such as running very hot, loud fan ran all the time, etc, so I was hoping for better.
What's better:
* Much less hot.
* Fan runs much less and is quieter.
* Screen is really sharp and bright.
* DVD drive is now built in instead of an external accessory.
* Backlit keys are a nice touch.
What's worse:
* Now down to only 2 USB ports (and the one that doubles as an eSata port is hard to insert into).
* Slightly larger, and doesn't seem as sleek.
* The worst thing is the large (6 cell) battery protrudes awkwardly from the back, further adding to the size and weight and clumsiness, and making it seem as big as the E6400s that my colleagues have. I've ordered the 3 cell battery to address this, but of course then I will have to give up some battery life.
I like my E4300, but at this point it seems like a compromise between the E4200 and E6400, with the advantage of neither.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Davi
(Cincinnati, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Overall excellent with just a couple shortcomings

PostedMarch 7, 2010
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this machine about a week now. I chose it to replace my Latitude d630 which I had for about two years. I needed a machine with either an HDMI output or a port replicator which had one. These few criteria made my choice of laptops actually surprisingly small. I could have replaced my d630 with the updated e6400, but I chose this e4300 for the following reasons:
1. It's about a pound lighter with the 6-cell battery, and even lighter if I wanted to go down to the 3-cell.
2. It's slightly smaller, though not as much as you might think (more later).
3. It has an LED-backlit display, which I swear is probably 50% brighter than my d630 with both displays at their maximum setting. The whites are whiter and colors brighter. Wow.
4. It still has a DVD drive. I can appreciate the need to travel with an ultralight, but what if you want to watch a movie?
5. This laptop has port replicator options. It's just so convenient to have all your USB, power, display, and speaker connections made for you in an instant. Also you save wear and tear on the display hinges if you just pop it on to the port replicator and power it on without needing the display open.
6. I like the dual pointing options (trackpad and eraser thingy between the G and H keys)
Cons:
1. The trackpad and eraser pointer are a bit "touchy." Neither one seem as smooth or responsive as my d630. I am fiddling with the settings often but haven't quite got it down. They're "okay" but definitely feel inferior to the previous generation. Also the buttons seem to occasionally require multiple presses to register the click.
2. In spite of this being a 13"-class notebook, it is only a tiny bit smaller than my d630. This is partly due to the 6-cell battery protruding out the back about 1". Other than moving to the 3-cell battery I don't really see anything Dell could have done differently unless they squished out some internal components like the DVD drive.
3. The display auto-brightness-adjuster is very touchy. It seems to respond to even miniscule changes in brightness, like when you lean in to see the screen better. It is constantly changing the brightness on me with almost no real change in ambient lighting. My d630 was far better about stepping it up or down. I have just disabled the auto-brightness feature entirely.
Other thoughts:
I was concerned the 1200x800 display would be a step down for me, from my d630's 1400x900 display. It is... sort of... but the LED backlighting makes the screen easier to read, period, so a slight decrease in resolution is pretty acceptable.
The build quality on this machine is very good. It seems to be an all-metal exterior now, vs. the d630 which had a metal frame and plastic exterior. I find the keys click nicely - better than my d630, contrary to what some other reviews have said. There's no flex in the case no matter where you pick it up.
Pros:primary personal computer, music, photo editing, various internets activities
+123points
126of 129voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SQLServerDevAuthor
(several cites, often in the air)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice for travel, great performance, avg display

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I develop complex databases and write about database development for a living. I'm a Microsoft MVP and have been in consulting for about 25 years. I also spend about 8 hours a week in the air. I needed a powerful notebook but one that I know I can use on the plane. I've owned only notebooks and servers since the early 90's, about 20 notebooks, mostly Dell Latitudes.
I was looking for a high performance hybrid between a notebook and a netbook.
The size of the E4300 is perfect for travel. I actually got 2 hours of billable time in Friday night while sitting in a middle seat (got the last standby to escape the impending snow). The keyboard is one of the best notebook keyboards I've every used.
I replaced the hard drive with an SSD from Crucial.com, upgraded to 8Gb RAM, put SQL Server tempdb in RAM and the machine screams.
I have one minor complaint. The display is marginal. It looks like an average 5 year old display. It looks dull and lacks the "pop" that a Macbook Pro has. I've seen netbooks that look better. I would pay an extra grand for a gorgeous OLED display in this form factor. Also, there's some flicker sometimes on an external display.
Overall it's a usable machine for this year.
Pros:software development, writing
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GaryHawaii
Title:

Latitude E4300

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop. It is small, light and easy to carry but so much more than a netbook. It is blazingly fast with the solid state hard drive. It works perfectly, so i wonder if the few bad reviews were just because they got a lemon, or if the solid state hard drive and is that much better. I also love the docking station, and desk set-up. My only observation is that is pricer than most, but i find it well worth it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrianVeg
Title:

Great Product

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used this laptop for about 6 months and have recently recommended it to a collegue. The size and weight combined with the processing power is a strong combination for a mobile professional.
The backlit keyboard is a great feature and the laptop supports Windows 7 very well.
Highly recommend.
Pros:browsing, office applications, mail
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EC156
Title:

We use several of these along with the E4600

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
These are solid. We are journalists and lawyers and any day more than half our staff is scattered worldwide, on the go. The weight and power consumption are impressive, the backlight keyboard and light sensors are brilliant, very worth it, and the Dell on site pro warranty is easy to work with and reliable. No regrets, especially for the price.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gordie74
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Solid little machine

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
My last laptop was a Sony Vaio SZ series, also a 13", but it terrible for reasons I won't go into here. I had it for two years and gave up. So I came back to Dell after a lot of research, trying to find a thin-and-light with good performance (e.g., I do some heavy-duty financial modeling in Excel) and full features. Particularly, I wanted an integrated docking station, which unfortunately ruled out almost all the "Consumer" laptops out there these days (my old Vaio had one but it lacked an audio jack for some reason...)
The Latitude E4300 seemed to fit the bill. I was confused why I had to pay extra for Windows 7, but otherwise the order process was smooth. The estimated arrival date was 2 weeks away, but the computer actually got here much faster, probably in about a week, with free shipping. So I was happy about that.
Overall, I am very pleased with this machine. Battery life is fantastic, relative to what I was used to with my Sony (1 hour). I estimate I get 4-6+ hours depending on the settings and what I'm doing. A flight any longer would have a power outlet anyway, so this is plenty for my needs.
Build is solid; I like the brushed metal look. Backlit keyboard is great for working in low-light conditions. I wish it came with a PC Card slot; my mobile broadband card is useless.
Docking station is excellent - small footprint and very full-featured, even an power switch. Lots of USB slots, and not only an audio output, but a microphone input as well! Also comes with its own power supply. Docking/undocking is very easy, and the monitors are always working properly. With the Vaio I often had to adjust the resolution and display selection.
From a software point of view, everything seems fine. Startup/shutdown times are pretty short and overall the machine feels zippy.
So to the "complaints" which are very minor:
I don't love the keyboard layout, particularly the placement of the Home/End keys at the top and the Page Up/Down at the bottom. Makes navigating web pages or spreadsheets a bit more cumbersome. I'm also having difficulties getting used to the feel of the track pointer. I had no problems with my Thinkpad from my last job, but this one just seems a bit harder to control. And the screen is just "ok." I particularly have trouble reading the labels of the open items in the start menu (the white text) - it appears washed out. Haven't been able to make the proper screen adjustments to fix it. Not a huge deal since I use the computer in the dock 80%+ of the time anyway. And I wish the built-in memory card slot accepted more than just SD (I use MemoryStick). I have a multi-card adapter that goes in the Expresscard slot but it protrudes a few mm so I don't want to leave it in permanently.
So for those drawbacks and the fact that this was a pricey machine ($2k before discounts), I deduct one star, though it would be 4 1/2* if I could.
Pros:watching videos & music, spreadsheets, word processing / presentations, internet browsing
+36points
38of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scott5477
(Rochester, MN)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent workhorse

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have used the E4300 since January. It is a real workhorse. I like its size, portability, its performance and its handling of complicated tasks. The battery lasts as advertise. It is a great computer to use on the road and on airplanes. I can highly recommend it to colleagues and professionals who need it for writing, power point presentations, number crunching, web browsing and DVD watching.
My last Dell notebook did not have a built-in DVD player so I had to hook it up on flights. It was slightly lighter than the E4300 but the E4300 exceeds my old Dell with performance, built-in peripherals and size/weight factors.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:USFJX
(San Francisco)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Exceedingly Dissappointed

PostedDecember 28, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had Dell Laptops since 1994. After countless numbers of latitudes I was always happy despite overheating problems and battery death.
I got this new Dell E4300 machine a week ago. 160GB, 4 GB RAM, Intel 2 Duo P9400. XP Pro.
Problems:
1) Keyboard is buckled - rises at the volume controls to the P button. The HOME, END buttons don’t work well. POOR ASSEMBLY!
2) The battery at the back rattles. POOR ASSEMBLY!
3) It has 1 USB port. How can I charge my iPhone and make VOIP calls at the same time? It also has one eSATA port. I don’t have any eSATA devices so it is not much help to to me.
4) The USB port is loose and it loses connection for my headset when I make VOIP calls if I hit the cable by accident.
5) Boot times etc not good 80+ seconds considering it is a brand new machine. I have a 7 year old Dell laptop that boots at the same rate.
Overall I am concerned about the DELL quality.I wrote this because I believe it is important that DELL learn from this. I did notice on the packing box in my office it has MADE IN CHINA stamped all over it. Perhaps it is a quality control issue in the Chinese factory. All my old Dell Latitudes are still running great and were all made in Texas - I believe.
Sincerely and it is with great regret I had to write this review. I love DELL and hope they can repair my issues.
Pros:work
+68points
90of 112voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JasonCHC
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Overall Not bad

PostedDecember 25, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had the laptop for over a week now, and to be honest, I have no major complaints what so ever. first of all, I've had a Latitude D630 before this one, so the weight of the E4300 won me over at first instance. however, after careful inspection, the material isn't as good as I had initially anticipated. the cover seemed to have more of a metal finish on the website than the actual product. having said that, I guess they did that in order to maintain the light weight. The keyboard feels solid. and the back light option really came handy when travelling on a plane.
One disappointing thing would be the graphics on the machine, I cannot get the screen to display as sharp image as I had before on the D630. I think the on board graphics card is really letting it down a little. I've even tried to adjust the RBG ratio, and doesn't seem to make me feel any more comfortable.
I've given it 4 stars because overall I still think it is a good machine, but after spending almost £1400 I'd expect something just a little bit better on every aspect.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HappyDeli
(Irvine, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent laptop

PostedOctober 27, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop in July, 2009, and have used it for about 3 months now. I use it for meetings and the like, and on the docking station in my office and at home. The display on 24" monitor is crisp and bright- thanks to an excellent video card that can generate high resolution display. I primarily use MS Office suite and SAS for data crunching. I use it from 8 AM to 11 PM everyday and am extremely happy with the durability and performance of this machine. I have lot more positive things to say than negative and am still discovering the features of this laptop.
Good: Great battery life. With added battery slice, it can go for more than 7 hours without a problem. Backlit keybaord is extremely useful, and I can work virtually anywhere. Fingerprint reader makes login a breeze. With 4GB of RAM, it is quite fast machine, and can easily crunch a lot of data in a fairly short time.
Not so good: Latitude ON Reader is working, but has limited capabilities. I have'nt had a chance to get the full Latitude ON yet, that is available in the newer models. It would be excellent to have that feature for checking mail or browsing the net. The regular drives are a bit noisy and generate heat. Solid State hard drive is cooler and quiter, but is a bit pricy.
This is what Latitude is all about. I am so impressed with this laptop that I am getting a Regal Red for my wife. I do not know why these people are complaining about features that work so beautifully on my laptop.
Pros:ms office suite applications, data analysis using sas, web browsing
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HappyJoe
Title:

Not Great

PostedOctober 17, 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought an E4300 about 4 months ago and while it is a smart looking laptop, I would not buy it again. The mouse pad is hopeless and mistracks your finger regularly - I had a Latitude D530 for several years and never experienced this type of problem.
The keyboard is also substandard with limited travel and a poor feel. While on the keyboard, the auto backlight is erratic, sometimes coming on straight after the first keystroke and other times after 2 or 3 key presses. I have checked the BIOS settings but not change.
Summary - a good concept that has been poorly executed.
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude E4300
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Haakon
(Bay Area, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Not Great

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
OK this little computer is full of potential but falls a little short. It has the right size factor small but not too small, great bright screen and loaded with features and power that can make some desktops cry. The problems that come in are few but they can make a user say “why” I did not pay full retail price but I am reviewing this product as if I did pay almost $2k. For $2k I expect everything to work and to work very well. Fit and finish should be solid and show no signs of weak spots.
My biggest complaint is the touchpad and the software. For a high end laptop the touchpad and buttons are lacking. The pad does not always track properly and when I reboot the computer the settings for speed and sensitivity reset to default. This seems little but it gets annoying and should not happen. Dell has no solution.
The six cell battery is a poor design. It works fine and provides good overall performance but the location is very poor. It sticks out the back and is ugly. But most important to know is that it can act as a lever that if that is if you sit “accidently” lightly on your computer on the couch or office chair all the pressure will rest on that hinge and bend the frame! Now I don’t think very many people will sit “lightly” “accidently” on their computer but if the three cell battery was on the computer the pressure would have been distributed evenly and most likely nothing would happened. Do have to give kudos for a very good overall build and solid fell for such a small powerful machine.
Be sure to order everything you want when you order it such as Bluetooth or fingerprint reader cause if you need to add it later you may find that the computer does not fit back together as well as it came to you. Even if you have a professional do it.
As far as cheap feel and very plastic like complaints others are saying. Yes it is a small, thin and light computer; there will be compromises that should just be expected. If you need a very rugged computer I would say step up to the Precision line or bigger Latitude.
Pros:web design, visual studio, photoshop
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4