Customer reviews for Latitude D830

Latitude D830

Latitude D830
4.414 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 147 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
4.4
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 126
81 out of 8398%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude D830
Review 21 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JWKentucky
(Kentucky)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Latitude D830

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Like the portability of the D830.
Cons:Wish the keyboard was a little more comfortable, unfortunately most laptop keyboards are not.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:drgadget
(Western North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:3 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

dell 830

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
We used 95% plus dell products in our office, and are happy with them.
Pros:Good customizable options
Cons:Difficulty picking up wireless connection
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eddafeng
(Princeton Junction, NJ)
Title:

solid laptop

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:excellent computation power with a reasonable size
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChiefOrji
(New Carrollton, MD)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Awesome Machine

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I will recommend this toy anytime
Pros:Excellent features, appealing design, great performance. I like the graphics.
Cons:A little pricey, weighty - may not be ideal for the on-the-go person.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:miranda
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

NOT MUCH difference than the 620/630

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:bigger screen is always helpful
Cons:HEAVY!!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LCMALONEY
(North Canton, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:128MB Graphics Card
Title:

The Consumate Professional

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I had been previously using an older D600 which I had taken with me around the world. Regardless of which country I am in, the Dell Latitude computer for the business professional has all the components that allow me to work on my feet and deliver results in the field. I have incorporated a few peripherals such as SIM Card reader, external floppy drive, S-Video connection and a Fire Wire card for my video camera. These components, coupled with my Dell Latitude laptops, allow for one-stop-shopping when it comes to media and presentations. I wont use any other
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Reviewer4
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Overall excellent product

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Only major draw back is the poor XP 64-bit XP support. Overall a very good laptop but still has some room for improvement.
Pros:Available high-end CPU, available high-resolution screen, above average battery life with optional extended battery. Great price for performance.
Cons:Not all drivers are available for Windows XP 64-bit. Extended battery should be standard, replacement/spare batteries are overpriced. Would have been nice to see a Graphics score higher than 3 on Vista with the best available video card. As other have mentioned, keyboard backlighting and an available webcam would be nice optional features.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SarahB
(KY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Fast and powerful

PostedApril 10, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like that you can still get XP. We have some rather expensive oversized printers at the office and couldn’t risk a compatibility issue with Vista.
We chose to max out this system with the fastest processor and hard drive as well as getting 4 Gigs of ram. WOW – this machine is fast and powerful! I’ve yet to find anything it can’t handle.
My biggest complaint is my nephew. Apparently the D830 can play every game out there and do it well. When he visits us at work I get stuck using our old desktop. Well, at least I know what to get him for Christmas!
Pros:XP available Beautiful screen Great speakers Lots of choices in processors, ram, hard drives etc. Dell reliability and support
Cons:No built in web cam. I have to admit that I haven’t the need for a web cam but I could see that others might. You can accidentally turn off your WiFi too easily – the switch is in a poor position.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jtttt
(Tampa, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:128MB Graphics Card
Title:

D830

PostedMarch 26, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Port Replicator has a proprietary DVI connection. Most VGA to DVI adapters will not work on the port replicator. Be sure to get 2GB of memory, 4GB if you can. Upgrade video to max available if you plan to run Vista. 7200rpm drive is fast, but poor storage space leaves you with having to have an external drive or file server.
Pros:Simple straight forward design, not too heavy for the screen size and power. Great battery life when you let all the battery saving features in windows do their job. Good graphics speed. Quiet. Metal clip for opening it up, I break plastic ones in about a year.
Cons:None
+34points
40of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ricster
(TX)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

overall great product

PostedMarch 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:excellent laptop, has speed, capacity and can handle just about everything, I own many different laptops for business and personal use and this laptop is by far the best
Cons:no built-in web cam
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Seattle)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Latitude D830 Rocks, then Locks

PostedMarch 20, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Currently flattening/rebuilding with a fresh XP install, to see if this may take care of the freeze ups. I am also ordering the Bluetooth module so I can use my Bluetooth mouse instead of the wireless USB mouse.
Also, for enterprise class, this machine has alll the ports I need for managing servers, switches, appliances, etc. Also, I purchased the extended battery, and am extremely glad I did. Side note, Dell has released several BIOS updates, since I received my first machine back mid-January, which tells me they perhaps know that something is up with some machines randomly freezing up, but they aren't really saying anything.
Pros:As a consultant, needed an Enterprise class machine that I could seriously multitask, running a couple VM's, have open a couple TS sessions to servers, or client enterprise systems, all while staying in constant communication with my Office apps running. And to fully test the performance, play the trial of Halo for the PC. This system ROCKS. It is a serious performer that will stand up to many of the servers that are running some of the businesses I consult to. Oh, and I purchased it with Vista Home just so I could wipe it and put a real, enterprise class OS on it, XP Pro.
Cons:Keyboard backlighting would be a real bonus. It's available on other Dell machine, but not this one. No use for the eraser mouse or it's two added buttons. Touch pad is a bit "touchy" and sometimes just the mere shadow of a finger will cause undesireable things to happen on screen. Speaking of screen, this is my second machine. After only having it for just a few days, noticed the drvie clicking. This was random and infrequent. But, the machine would also, after about 3 or 4 days of being on, it would lock up, usually right in the middle of doing some serious work. No BSOD, just a screen lockup, everything would freeze. This was happening under Vista as well as XP. Dell replaced it with a new (or so they say, after 40 days, seems the keyboard is showing excellerated signs of use, more than just 40 days worth). This new machine is having the same lockup issue as the previous one.
+68points
70of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kev7B
(Hawaii)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Dell Latitude D830 Laptop

PostedMarch 19, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Comparing this laptop's price with other laptops, I did not find any laptop in the market with the same specs. and the same power, having a similar price. Any laptop with the same specs in the market is at least 200-300$ more, even with less features.
Pros:Durable, very good performance, long battery life, works harmoniously with Windows Vista Business, does not heat up like other laptops, great graphics, smooth operation.
Cons:Not the best of looks, intended mostly for business purposes.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CSchultz
(Warren MI)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Not a bad little machine

PostedMarch 19, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Probably the best mid-range laptop, Dell has released
Pros:Solid, fast, easy to set-up Excellant graphics... powerful enough processor
Cons:None yet...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DelliciousD830
(Washington, DC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Latitude D830

PostedMarch 19, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the machine with the minimum RAM and purchased 4 gigs from a computer parts retailer for around $100. One memory slot is under the keyboard so if you are not tech savvy you may not feel comfortable disassembling your new computer.
I have the 1680x1050 non-true life display which may make things too small for older eyes, but there are adjustments you can make to settings to increase font size and so on, check the forums and Google.
Pros:-Light weight considering size. -Screen (1680x1050) -Max out RAM and get a 256 Video card and you'll be in good shape. -S-video out -Stylish looking machine -Available Windows XP
Cons:-Only 3 USB ports but has both PC Card and Express Card slots so adding more is easy. -Not a Mac
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CEDSC
(Columbia, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Portable Digital Office

PostedMarch 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Excellent Performance Multiple media readers and ports Display excellent Video and Sound excellent Shared partition
Cons:Hard Drive wasn't large enough for the digital production - Video transfer uses all storage memory which limits productions. (Video Capture)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CaribIAN
(Montoursville, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Latitude D830 is FAST for AutoCAD

PostedMarch 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nothing but Dell - ever. The service is better than my car dealer's.
Pros:I have owned Dell products for several years. My first being an Inspiron 8600. While I had problems with it over the four years I owned it, the service contract was well worth the added money. Within 24 hours no matter whether I was on the West Coast for business or in the south on vacation, their service was impecable. That's the reason I now Ihave the Latitude. Originally I purchased an 820, but had major problems after 4 months. Dell offered send me the D830 I now have or send a call tag to have my D820 factory serviced. I opted for the latter as the D830 replaced the D820. This thing is FAST - and the added money for the WUXGA is well worth it. I do a lot of CAD work and the resolution is perfect.
Cons:I'm not too thrilled that the NVIDIA Quadro NVS135 is not supported by NVIDIA, but only by Dell. I don't understand the logic here.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:magruder
(Meriden, CT)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

No Brainer

PostedMarch 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Simple, reliable, fast. Name brand that I trust.
Cons:None
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PCS1
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics

PostedFebruary 26, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:After using the newly arrive D830 for a few days, I realized that I needed a higher resolution LCD screen. Dell understood that as a small technical consulting business owner, I can not afford not to have a laptop. I was told to keep working with my existing D830 unit the new one arrives. To me that is just great customer service.
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AMAZING
(Seattle, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Very Nice

PostedFebruary 26, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Display is great and it is not to heavy for travel. The Laptop is a great fit for our company we will be most definetly be ordering more.
Cons:There are none that I have to report.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DillyDallyDan
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

This One Works

PostedFebruary 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This unit can be customized during the purchase process. I went for most of the upgrades that offered a performance return for the investment. I also got the "port replicator" or as I term it "docking station". Makes transition from desk to the road and back a snap. For serious business users, the Latitude is a great choice. I am happy with mine, and that's no small feat.
Pros:Dell got this laptop produced and shipped to me within three days. Solidly built, sturdy design - this one will hold up to being dragged all over the country. Well placed controls, good action on the keyboard keys. I/O connections well placed around the base of the machine. It's all good.
Cons:Still uses a dopey sliding latch design for the top. But the fit and action of the latch are tolerable (especially compared to the latch on the Dell 1520 that I returned to the factory). The display lid still chatters slightly against the base of the laptop when the latch is closed.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4