Customer reviews for Latitude D830

Latitude D830

Latitude D830
4.414 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 147 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
4.4
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 126
81 out of 8398%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude D830
Review 1 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features/Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SinisterPenguin
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Good Price but it shows

PostedOctober 26, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
A powerful laptop at a good price but too many annoying niggles.
Doesn't have the quality feel of other business laptops.
Pros:Great processor performance, good keyboard. You get a lot of performance for the money but it doesn't feel like a finished product, lots of annoying problems.
Cons:OS occasionally freezes when unplugging or plugging in power - you have to power cycle it. Sometimes reboots itself when docking/undocking. Native screen resolution is stupidly high - lots of people in our office have to use an external monitor - what were they thinking??? Noisy fan is on A LOT & takes ages before it realises the processor hungry app has stopped. Mouse driver can crash Windows XP Pro (especially in SQL 2005 Management Studio) despite several driver updates. Speaker mute is rigged up to the OS so you can only turn off speakers when Windows has booted, REALLY annoying! No Bluetooth (though easy to add for 20 quid) Slow 5400 RPM disk - Though I think later ones have a 7200 disk
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gatorfan240
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:128MB Graphics Card
Title:

all around greatness

PostedOctober 6, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I am an IT pro, I recently got back one of these laptops that had been run over by a car! I'm not sure how it happened, but the screen cracked but everything else was fine, didn't lose any data or anything! and the screen was covered under the accidental damage warranty. also, these run very fast and smooth they are great all around!
Cons:none
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Graphictech
(Chicago)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Get it your way....

PostedSeptember 11, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dont mess with the low end versions, you wont be happy, like some of these other reviewers. Would you buy a car with roll your own windows and manual brakes? I dont think so. Load it up, max ram, fast drives, big processor, Untra wide screen. It will last for many, many years, and you will be satisfied.
Pros:When I started my job with a new company I was given an IBM ThinkPad. It would have been fine if I wasn't running graphic programs like Photoshop, Illustrator, CorelDraw, and RIP software. I finally convinced them to get me a real laptop and was given the green light for whatever I wanted up to 2 grand. I went right to Dells site and the D830. I got the 2.5GHz and dual hard drives with the Nvidia graphics card and XP Pro. This baby smokes. 600 – 700Mb files are nothing in Photoshop. Hardwired at the office, wireless at home or on the road, connectivity is a breeze. The standard battery lasts over 4 hours without using the DVD/CD. Also runs World of Warcraft smooth as silk.
Cons:The screen resolution is so high that some web images look pixilated and fuzzy. Basically, ugly low res images look even uglier. 3 USB ports are good, 6 would be better. I guess if you build it the way you want it, there is really nothing to complain about.
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cortttt
(San Diego)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Nice Upgrade!

PostedAugust 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I didn't need a 'busines computer' I was happy with an Inspiron that lasted about five years before dying a slow and horrible death but I didn't like anything about the new Inspirons and given my history of beating up my laptops I was enchanted by the longer warranty level and the Latitudes reputation for durability.
Anyone looking to upgrade from an older base level computer will be astonished at the performance enhancements since then.
There's alot of angst about Vista - but I love Vista business - it's very fast on this computer and visually its a hoot.
The bootup time on the computer is fast and my software loads quickly. I'm surprised at how long the base battery lasts and how quickly it recharges. The design is just so so but I didn't get it for the design - I got it for performance and durability. I'm happy so far.
Pros:Very fast, good battery life with quick recharge, light for its size, good screen, good key pressure, nice layout overall.
Cons:Somewhat stodgy appearance, wireless deactivation control on the side is a bit too easy to hit, scroll pad could be a bit more sensitive - all little stuff.
+83points
90of 97voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features/Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Los Angeles, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Ok laptop with some serious glitches

PostedAugust 15, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
The screen brightness on this laptop is really dim. I have it turned all the way up to max its still not quite bright enough.
I often find myself needing more than just the 2 usb ports on the device as well.
I have owned dell laptops in the past but the latitude D830 is a dud. Look for a different model.
Pros:Pretty fast machine.
Cons:Whenever the laptop wakes up from sleep mode, it will change its resolution to something really low and the network adapter will be unable to connect. You have to manually reset the resolution of the screen and disable and then re-enable the network adapter every time the computer wakes up. It is really annoying. On top of that, I tried to download the latest drivers to help fix the problem, but the chipset manufacturers won't even let you install the drivers, instead saying that you should go to dell for that.
+3points
15of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AquariumsUnlimited
(Atlanta, Ga)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

All around great machine

PostedAugust 1, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded my business laptop from a Vostro 1500 after a year and I gotta say I wish I had purchased the D830 earlier. I reccomend the 7200 RPM drives and max out the processor and get at least 2Gb if not 4Gb.
Pros:Great speed, good battery life(upgraded to 9 cell), received in just a couple days, integrated to our network easily
Cons:The mouse pad is less sensitive than other laptops I've had, can be frustrating to get used to. The wi-fi switch is too easy to turn off.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:webgirl
(Oakland CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Best Laptop I've Ever Owned

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Consider this laptop when making your next purchase.
Pros:I spent over $5K on a mid-high end Vista desktop and laptop. Wasn't very happy with its performance and after learning that Dell made last call offers on XP, I immediately purchased this laptop. It arrived 3 days before expected which was cool. The design looked very plain (1999-2003 look) which is fine with me as long as it made up in performance and speed. The processing power and response to my keyboard commands were exceptional! It took almost no time for Photoshop, Dreamweaver and Fireworks to load. The large screen is also a plus because it's not the typical ultra wide screens that are common in the marketplace these days.
Cons:Well, the only one I can think of is not getting the WUXGA LCD Panel.
+54points
56of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VRSSkip
(Walla Walla, Washington)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Perfect combination, Highly recommended

PostedMay 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was the perfect combination of value and performance. This is my 3rd laptop in the past 3 years. I have been extremely impressed with the performance. I use this for work, and occasionally run some high end games on it also. I didn't know a laptop could perform at this level. I developed and maintain our agency website, and am developing a new database system for the agency with this laptop.
Pros:Very fast processor, Looks nice, Does not bog down while running large programs, Very reliable,
Cons:When using on your lap, the external power jack gets in the way. it sticks out of the back, Wireless N distance and strength are overrated.
+107points
112of 117voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SteveG79
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Latitude D830 Review

PostedMay 5, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love this notebook, does everything, and more. Runs games fantastically.
Pros:Processors, RAM, HDD, Video especially.
Cons:The processor fan runs constantly. Battery life isnt the greatest, but acceptable.
+19points
28of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Red Bank, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

Excellent Machine

PostedApril 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Screen Size, Speed, Standard Features
Cons:None Yet
+3points
15of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DRock02
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

D830 is a strong performer...

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was very skeptical about buying a laptop as a replacement for my loaded XPS desktop at home, but I must say the D830 really met my expectations.
Pros:Performance was mucher better than I expected. Runs Vista Ultimate fast, (with 7200 RPM HDD and 4GB RAM). Purchased as a desktop replacement (for both home and school) and have had NO issues. Chassis seems very surdy as well.
Cons:When using as an actual "lap top" system, it does generate a lot of heat. Battery life so-so, but acceptable. Only thing I miss (from my desktop) is option for surround sound when docked.
+30points
33of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:click01
(Samoa)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

The best business laptop I have had.

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
It should have a DVD burner as an option
Pros:right performance and weight.
Cons:No DVD writer
+10points
17of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wiznet02
(Aiken, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

D830 Business Class

PostedApril 20, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Business class laptop with all the options needed. The 7200 rpm drives enhance performance.
Cons:One of the memory sticks is not easily accessible.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ITConsult
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:128MB Graphics Card
Title:

Dell, always a winner

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a business class laptop quick as I had just signed my first IT consulting contract. I had held off purchasing one because I needed to know I had the contract before I committed. When it signed I had four business days to get one. Normally I would have gone to Dell first but I didn't think they could do it. Instead I tried local shops like Frys. Best Buy, Circuit City, Office Max, etc. but no one stocked business class laptops with Vista Business installed. All they could do was sell me a "generalized for the public" machine (less than I wanted) plus I had to buy the Vista OS extra.
With three days to go I called Dell, got EXACTLY what I wanted with the support I needed and it came in before noon the day the contract started. Sales staff was great, they said they would do what they could. It was a nice surprise to have my expectations exceeded.
Pros:Sturdy, solid, business class architecture that is scalable in all the right ways.
Cons:None so far.
+22points
26of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bk22
(camden , ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

smooth & quick

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:ease off operation / speed / with XP pro. playes well with systems.
Cons:toutch pad a little to soft for use in rought mobile app.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BKone
(Naples, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

It's worth it!

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Comfortable, powerful and not to heavy. I purchased this unit recently and am very satified. The unit can handle anything that I want to do. I upgraded to battery and really enjoy the long usage before recharging.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kikk
(demotte, in)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:the windows xp professional--easy to navigate long battery life before needing to recharge great price for the product
Cons:a little heavy to carry around
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CWM08
(Evansville, IN)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:256MB Graphics Card
Title:

solid performance workhorse

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:the system performance is great, better than I expected. I have purchased Dell laptops in the past, all have been very reliable.
Cons:the system is a bit heavy, graphics is slightly grainy, color could be brighter on the Navidia 140. No Linux drivers for the Broadcom wireless.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hal6
(State College, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

D-830 Excellent Laptop

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hopefully the replacement battery (when I need one) will not be as 'pricey' as the one for the C540!
Pros:Fast machine that is durable and well put together. Graphics card is awesome. Computer support is excellent. Remote computer support cuts the time on the phone to adjust / fix and item by at least half. This machine is replacing a Latitude C540 that has seen 5 years of hard use without a glitch. I am hoping to get the same type of life out of the Latitude 830.
Cons:Because of the high resolution of the graphics card and screen, the type and icons were very difficult to read. Had to readjust the resolution to make the screen more readable. Takes several different setting changes almost simultaneously. that is why I needed computer support right after getting the laptop.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude D830
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:REPierce
(South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Great machine

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:A heavy duty high speed processor with the memory to make using this laptop a breeze. The design is sleek and slim and the monitor is great. Mine was custom made and shipped about 5 days ahead of schedule!
Cons:Was not cheap, but you get what you pay for! With the offers that are available from time to time, it's an affordable workhorse.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4