Customer reviews for Latitude D630

Latitude D630

Latitude D630
4.296 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 207 reviews
5 Stars
101
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
2
1 Star
9
4.3
 / 
5
(207 reviews) 179
65 out of 7982%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude D630
Review 1 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Arizona, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing Machine

PostedOctober 23, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Most secure laptop I have ever worked on
Very fast (if properly configured)
Very upgradable
Very durable
Very reliable
Excellent battery life (9 cell)
Excellent warranty service (I'm a Dell ASP)
Cons:
No memory card reader
Screen is still a bit dim (after upgrading from D620)
Review:
I'm a computer/laptop/network/electronics technician. I work on everything from iPhones to HDTV's to laptops. This machine has been an amazing companion since the day I bought it. Mine is configured with 3 GB of RAM, Intel Core 2 Duo T8300 and Windows 7 Ultimate (which it runs great by the way). I would recommend this laptop to anyone who can afford it, and those who can't should save up. The ONLY cons that I could find in this laptop were listed above, other than of course having the preboot authentication set, forgetting the password, and losing a finger or two, then you're kinda screwed. But call Dell and verify your identity and they will unlock it for you. This is by far the most superior laptop I've ever worked on, in all aspects, and I would be comfortable recommending it to almost anyone (I wouldn't recommend it to gamers, but there are driver tweaks for the Quadro NV135M to get more performance in gaming out of it).
Pros:mobile tech workstation
+158points
168of 178voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Pune)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedAugust 11, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Hyderabad, India)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:128MB Graphics Card
Title:

Best Purchase... Yeah!!!

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Its difficult to summarise in Pros and cons. so i'll give u my whole story on this. i wanted to buy a lappy with PCMCIA support, and this was the only one that had it when i bought it. if u are a student, this is the best for u, trust me. you can put up all the heavy apps u need during ur graduation and run'em all at the same time, without sweating ur machine.
Now this is not a very gaming oriented machine. i mean the Quadro 135M/145M cannot give u that power. but i had no other option.
dell replaced my mother board in 3 days every time it blew up (once there was a current leakeage, second time the video card fried itself) i dunno where to put it, in pros or cons.
But seriously guys if you wanna use ur lappy for working, some movie watching and not so die hard gaming, u can put it in ur back pack and go anywhere in the world. just remember to add a 9 cell batery when u configure it. i dunno how much dell claims it to be but i ran the lappy on battery for 11 Hrs and 40 odd minutes, through out my train journey.
if u want to know anything in specific shoot me a mail and i'd be glad to reply it.
Pros:Amazin Machine. Great number crunching Power. Sturdy & robust. Just a class apart from any other laptop.. elegance and grace are like etched in BOLDS onto it... I had bought it after scrutinizing thru almost all of the Dell Laptops. Of course dell's after sale support
Cons:Supports only intel processors. Not too many options for Graphics. just the Nvidia quadro, which is not so good. i mean u can play Most Wanted without the eye candy.(dont think of going beyond).
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Canberra ACT)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Nice machine

PostedFebruary 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Extremely good pre-sales service from Dell. Very accomodating to many silly questions.
Ideal machine for me would have more power, less weight and longer battery life. However, I didn't want too pay much, and this from the factory outlet was a good fit. Will either look at the E series, or buy a netbook for travelling and another with more grunt for router simulation.
Pros:Reasonable weight Reasonable Compute performance (T2750 2.0 Ghz/2GB/5.4k HDD) - Metric is the number of emulated 3725 routers (by GNS3/Dynamips). This machine manages 20-25 under XP. XP rather than Vista (the lack of XP turned me off XPS). Reasonable wireless (does WPA2 inc enterprise !) Reasonable rendering of web graphics/wmvs etc Runs kubuntu 8.10 without a hitch (inc wireless)
Cons:Temp is a bit warm. Would have been nice with more RAM (will prob fit afterward) and an Intel wireless card (the MS Windows doesn't manage the wireless card. It is confusing to configure some parts of the wireless in the Broadcom utility, rest in Windows).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Robust

PostedJanuary 20, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Screen
Cons:Access to ports
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(JAIPUR,INDIA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

MAGIK IN MY HAND

PostedDecember 18, 2008
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:LATITUDE D630 IS THE BEST PRODUCT BY DELL FOR THE GUYS WHICH ARE LOOKING FOR ALL GREAT THINGS IN A SMALL PACKET. GO FOR IT.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Brisbane)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics

PostedNovember 26, 2008
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:great for my work at school. the whole class has one. light and easy to carry around. great size.
Cons:None
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Latitude D630

PostedOctober 22, 2008
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Sleek design, 4 USB slots (mouse, printer, thumb-drive etc), 9-Cell battery, last for 5 hours (without wi-fi on), Bluetooth.
Cons:Lack of webcam (you never know when a business model needs one), and multi-card reader?, Infra-red (who uses them nowadays?) Avoid Vista, go with XP.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Danbury, CT)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:32GB Solid State
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Fantastic Computer

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Have used this for 9 months. It is FAST and trouble free. The screen is a nice format, especially if you leave the Taskbar on the Left and Desktop to the Right. Runs rings around my older Sony Vaio (only 256 MB memory) and fewer compatibility issues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features/Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

the worst ever

PostedAugust 28, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:None
Cons:This is wothpout doubt the worst designed laptop I have ever had the misfortune to encounter. The screen is the wrong shape - elongated. Documents look dreadful. The screen height is too small---can't get sufficinet information infront of you when working. Why on earth is the screen not the standard 4x 3 style?
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Penang, Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Overall

PostedAugust 9, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Great Size and weight. Suitable for me as a site technician. With the ambient light sensor, it really saves the battery energy
Cons:No built-in card reader, this is the major upset.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features/Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price-Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Melbourne)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:160GB
Video Card:128MB Graphics Card
Title:

Too expensive

PostedAugust 8, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:it's got great portabilty.
Cons:it costs so much when you compare it to an Inspiron or even an xps. Plus the screen is not much chop and not great for viewing movies or pictures
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(ashokgoenka@gmail.com)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

A great laptop

PostedJuly 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Better than any other laptop in its catogary. If I have to buy another I need not think more.
Pros:The best thing is dell's after sales service. The best I have ever seen (in every field).
Cons:The restore (Full computer) did't work. You have to do with windows.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(alantyc@gmail.com)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:128MB Graphics Card
Title:

Latitude D630 an initial assessment

PostedMay 27, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this as a company issued notebook.. Obviously cost counted more than convenience in the choice of notebook issued to me.
Not exactly the most travel friendly notebook due to its weight. However the large screen makes it nice for some movies and large excel spreadsheets.
This notebook has no frills of video out. Speakers are also not entertainment quality.
About the hardrive security... the only forseeable problem is someone entering the wrong password a couple of times, locking the whole hardisk down.. Thats gonna be a problem to fix while on a business trip.
Pros:Its got a large screen, built in Optical drive. Wireless N is good. Secure hardrive security.
Cons:Heavy, 2 hour battery life only.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (193) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Latitude D630
Overall Rating 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
54 out of 65 recommend this product