Customer reviews for Latitude D531

Latitude D531

Latitude D531
4.186 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
4.2
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 33
26 out of 2990%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude D531
Review 1 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:harp
(India)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:3 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Performer

PostedOctober 14, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell should offer AMD powered machines on all categories and models offered by Dell.
Pros:This AMD powered laptop has up to the mark performance with good battery life. Much better than core 2 duo(intel) with similar configuration. Value for money.
Cons:Laptop shell Design is bit older, no web cam option.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kaufman
(kalamazoo, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

it's a laptop

PostedSeptember 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
upgrades, 4GB of memory is a must, as well as the 2.3, this baby will fly then. the battery is a nice upgrade, i get about 4-5 hrs easily. i would buy another if i ever needed another powerful laptop. i do design and drafting(not like some powerful design PC, but beats my Dell Optiplex 755 at work; and rivals my bosses quad core), as well as basic programing, this baby has no problem with either(i havent got it to lag or crash yet). if you can get the xp/vista combo, make a duel boot and have some fun, i love having this. overall great computer.
Pros:fast machine, lite weight enough for the power compromise, beautiful screen, AMD
Cons:well, the first one i got didnt work, screen was a fried. this is really a mobile PC, not a laptop. the hard drive is sortof small and isnt a WD. itegrated graphics
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ShawnL
(Victoria, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Great laptop

PostedJune 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is overall a great laptop, and support was really great about helping me locate the missing drivers. Windows XP x64 runs very fast and very smooth on this machine. The 7200 RPM drive really makes a difference, and with the 9 cell battery I get over 6 hours of battery life.
Pros:This is a very fast machine, I bought it with the 2.3 dual core and 2 gigs of RAM and its a powerhouse. It docks seamlessly with my 24" widescreen monitor and has a decently powerful video chipset.
Cons:Dell has been great with drivers for their hardware, although for this machine I was slightly disappointed as they are missing some of the drivers for the Windows XP x64 OS such as Ethernet.
+70points
74of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ron2008
(Ca)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Solid product

PostedMay 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Get as much memory as you can and this thing is blindingly fast.
Pros:Fast, reasonably light, solidly built, fast delivery (3 days from order date). Definitely pleased this has the XP operating system as an option.
Cons:Wish it had a memory stick slot. Small and insignificant whining on my part though.
+43points
50of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoshM
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Excellent Product

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Good Windows XP performance. Battery life with the upgrade can be as long as 6 hours. Perfect for my use as I am not always near an outlet. Heat production is minimal.
Cons:None really noticed. The laptop performs as expected.
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobbyMAX
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Awesome System for The Price!

PostedApril 20, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just remember that if you want this system to really scream, tune your operating system, because it's not the hardware!
Pros:As an IT Consultant & Photgrapher I have used IBM, HP, and Dell laptops over the years. This laptop with the extended battery is awesome, it has a great melding of features with exceptional performance. Whether I'm editing photos, running Nessus scans, or compiling code in a virtual machine running on VMware Server it just runs great!
Cons:No cons, just pay for the 4GB of memory unless you want to remove the keyboard!
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jmcdermott
(Mass)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:4 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Awesome

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Could have come quicker.
Pros:Fast, upgrades were affordable.
Cons:Could have more quality built in features
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Baldeagle1949
(Grafton, WV)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Baldeagle1949

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:With the xp os and the serial ports it works on everything I need it for. It's a great machine. I've alwys like the Latitute, my firsy was a 75mhz laptop with 3.11 windows. It still worked until about 28 months ago.
Cons:Wish I had upgraded or bought an extra batt.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KelliP
(Cleveland, Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Blown Away!

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell's business customer service was and is AMAZING. I made a mistake when placing the order and they worked with me to make sure it was corrected and followed through with me until the laptop arrived at my door. I couldn't ask for better customer service.
Pros:I am absolutely blown away with my new laptop. I am using it for work and personal use and it has exceeded my expectations! I love my wide screen and push-button wireless. I shopped around and was deciding between Dell and another popular brand. I chose Dell and the Latitude for it quality and options for the price. I was able to get the better computer and better warrantly for less money than the other brand!
Cons:I wish the Latitude series came in pretty colors, but that's the only con I can think of.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LabManager
(Los Angeles ( SFV ))
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Athlon™ dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Latitude 531 Laptop

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell pc's have always been very reliable for our company. I have purchased over 30 pc's over the last 6 years.
Pros:Good machine, I bought two for work associaties. Nice bright screen. Wireless G works great. Battery life is very good. Windows XP was easy to configure for both units. I like the sleep button for the wireless connect. So far so good. Purchased 3/21/8
Cons:none so far. I expect this product to last awhile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bobsr
(Newark, Delaware)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Consultant-Programmer Analyst

PostedFebruary 13, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Could use better definition (step-by-step) for setting up a home network with "shared" folders, etc. I am taking classes at a Community College to get this knowledge.
Pros:I consult for a Company using Windows XP Professional, FoxPro, M-O-M, Access, Vendor Dialers, etc. I needed (and got) a Laptop to mirror my Desktop PC (AMD 64, OptiPlex) when working away from the Home-Office. Same Configuration, same software, everything same. I have that with the Latitude D531 (my Data is organized into corresponding folders and easily transferred via a "thumb" drive). As I get more experienced at this, I will expand to a Network with "shared" folders, etc. and eliminate the syncing of Data when switching between Desktop and Laptop (not a problem with the Latitude, just with my learning curve).
Cons:It was heavier than I imagined. But, a carrying case beats a higher price anytime.
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features/Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AICS
(Boise)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Latitude 531

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Nice Solid Design, nothing fancy but perfect for on the business applications. Good clear screen, really helps Vista pop.
Cons:I made the mistake of only buying 1GB of memory. Vista is utilizing 800MB leaving 200MB for everything else. Would strongly suggest anyone looking at purchasing a Vista operating System get at the very minimum 2GB of memory. The Touch pad is sketchy, I have had issues with movement between the touch on the pad and cursor on the screen.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rich8
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Watch out Linux users

PostedDecember 25, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:The wide screen is nice and crisp. Nice form factor.
Cons:I bought it with the plan to dual boot with Linux. Unfortunately, Linux support for ATI radeon x1270 is almost none. No Linux distribution up to this date supports it out of the box.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FCAR870
(Arkansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Sempron™
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Latitude D531

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Because of current software compatibility issues, ALL Dell computers should keep Windows XP Home or Pro as the standard OS with VISTA as an option.
Pros:Windows XP Operating system, Wired, wireless, and modem network connections available 80 GB hard drive
+25points
29of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mlaugh
(Overland Park, KS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

good product for our needs

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:comfortable keyboard, durable--my son keeps knocking it on the floor. too big and heavy if you were to carry it around a lot
Cons:had to have tech support install norton antivirus products. screen brightness drops considerably when on battery power.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DFRCGuy
(Newark, DE)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Latitude D531 - a nice step up...

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice design. Great screen display - no real need to upgrade the display adapter.
Pros:Docking station compatibility is a major plus - had more than our share of problems with connection failures due to bent pins or damaged motherboard connections with previous laptops. Lots of USB connections
Cons:Docking station should come with wireless keyboard and mouse as a standard or basic upgrade item. Audio/Video controls not available on this model except as Function keys. Ordered the Dell multimedia keyboard with the docking station - it's control of A/V functions was erratic at best, however it works fine with a Dimension 9100 workstation. No IEEE1394 (Firewire) port.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features/Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price-Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FLTech
(Flroida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Misleading Screen Size Picture

PostedOctober 30, 2007
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:AMD CPU. Car charger option.
Cons:Extremely large frame area around the screen for the 14.1" widescreen! The lid (and base component for that matter) is more the size of a 15" than a 14". There's 1 1/8" frame width on each side and a whole 1 1/4" width frame on the top. The screen gets swallowed by the large frame and adds to the overall size of the laptop, making it larger than any other brand with a 14" widescreen. The screen comparision picture they display is very misleading as it does not show nearly this much frame width.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lixfe
(maricopa, az)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:512 MB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Dell latitude d531

PostedOctober 17, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:One of the best dell laptops i hav ever got! that vostro 1000 was a mess! it has good performance really strong built. good battery life!
Cons:it gets really hot! really HOT !!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:57cushman
(streator il)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

d531 notebook

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:very fast and powerful. lightwieght, long run time on battery power. purchased this computer for my daughter for college and the computer came in less than a week especially at the busy 2 weeks before college. great computer..
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude D531
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pomihong
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:AMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Great Computer

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:- Very Bright LCD (really good) - Very Long Battery Life (without wireless, it goes up to 4hours 30 minutes) - Solid Design - Good Keyboard Feeling - Well distributed weight (so you doesnt feel so heavy)
Cons:- Not so great case color. - I hope that it could be thinner. - So so 3D performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2