Customer reviews for Latitude D530

Latitude D530

Latitude D530
4.222 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4.2
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 31
28 out of 3190%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude D530
Review 1 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WideScreenStinks
Title:

Best Laptop Dell Has Ever Made

PostedNovember 4, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The charging cord design on the Latitude D and E series is horrible. It doesn't feel tight and secure in the hole. It works great, but just doesn't feel secure.
Pros:Best Laptop Dell Has Ever Made! Great value! A large crisp, clear 4:3 aspect ratio screen. Let's be honest, widescreen is useless for surfing the web. Pages are tall, NOT wide!
Cons:I have bought 3 of these. The only con is that Dell is stopping production of this model. That means Dell will no longer have a 4:3 aspect ratio laptop.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anns
Title:

Good Value

PostedOctober 15, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:The laptop is light and fast and excellent but has only one fault in the Display. The Display is poor and bad and my eyes are uncomfortable to this display the texts appear like a pale. This display is not convenient for long hours of working. I hope dell resolve that fault in the Display. This laptop is good if you are looking for standard screen and not wide. I always like standard screen its convenient to view.
Cons:I am thinkng to return that laptop and buy another model
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:brianps
(Atlanta)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Poor Display

PostedOctober 14, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Intend to return
Pros:The machine is light weight and fast...
Cons:The display is very poor and is dim even at the highest setting.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:therwol
(Carmichael, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The display is the ticket

PostedSeptember 25, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for me. Those who look at this machine should fully understand the difference in the display and how it may or may not serve them before choosing. This isn't a machine for watching movies on, but the display upgrade option makes for a really good machine for viewing web pages, with extra vertical content over a widescreen display.
Pros:Widescreen displays are lousy for the applications I used in my work. I believe that this is the only laptop left that can be bought with a 15 inch standard aspect display. In fact, I'll go farther and say that the lower resolution XGA display is better for what I do. In my work, I use applications that are run on a Citrix server and displayed on my machines as a standard 1024x768 window. I can view them full screen on this laptop as they are intended to be viewed, not as a postcard sized window on some super high resolution display. Maximizing such a window only adds blank space around the tiny text. Thank you for bucking the trend and keeping a machine like this available.
Cons:Should offer larger hard drives.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BCL1
(Harrisburg, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

D530

PostedJuly 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:We have bought 2 of these units in the past 3 months for business use. They are stable, durable, light weight and fast.Pricing is good and very close to similarly equipped desktops. The D family laptop stand is phenomenal. It is the best set-up I've seem to date. cable management is excellent to help end desk clutter, quick and easy to use.
Cons:The only issue with the units is with the Blue tooth stack, which has some serious compatibility issues with several different types and brands of PDA's.
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Spiro
(Storrs, Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Outstanding

PostedJuly 11, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell has a great product!
Pros:The 530 is fast , quiet and attractive. Even the cooling fan is barely audible. Keypad has an excellent feel and the sealed keyboard is an important feature to prevent damage. My previous Dell laptop had a very noisy DVD/CD drive. The drive on the 530 is virtually silent. I ordered the standard resolution screen and that has proven adequate for my purposes, however, I do wish I had purchased the screen upgrade. That is my only regret.
Cons:None. I am really pleased with this computer.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NewLaptopper
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very Satisfied!

PostedJune 3, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first laptop. I am a graduate student and thought it was about time to invest in one. I spent quite a while researching laptops trying to find the best one. I went to several stores, reviewed all the popular websites and magazines, and talked to friends and coworkers who have laptops. Dell came up over and over again as reliable and I'm very glad I went with this Dell Latitude. It was this or a Macbook and I like the size and durability better than the 13 in screen and jazzy stuff. This is a sturdy, reliable machine and I'm very very satisfied with it and would recommend to anyone.
Pros:nice screen size, heavy duty but not too heavy to carry around, dvd player works great, keyboard very nice, touchpad moves well, sound quality great.
Cons:I can't think of one thing I don't like. I've had the computer for 3 months now.
+76points
78of 80voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aquickss
(Cleveland Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Needed a new laptop

PostedMay 9, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm replacing with an 830 w/wuxga monitor to support out to 1920x1200, obviously for a few dollars more. I've been using an 820 for over a year and very happy. I'd suggest Dell and a "max screen res support" on each laptop available on the main site. I really never thought the max resolution would be that low, in researching others, many only support 1024x768.
Pros:Somewhat inexpensive, easy and relatively quick to obtain, can still spec xp pro on it. The laptop does run very queitly, cooler than some of the other Intel dual cores.
Cons:Max screen resolution of 1024x768, thats very large, websites become tough to navigate. The mouse pad and buttons are very flimsy, cheap feeling.
+23points
28of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RonaldSr
(Louisville, Ky)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

D530 Latitude

PostedMay 2, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great little computer. Sturdy, fast, and the docking capability makes it that much more flexible. Wireless and internet applications also run well.
Pros:Good basic laptop for use with business applications. I wanted a laptop that did not have all of the "frills" but had the power to run accounting, tax and other business software. Have not been disappointed.
Cons:Not a con but would consider upgrading the screen in future purchases.
+24points
26of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bendegen
(Boston, MA)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A great value for a great notebook

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
A solid purchase. I have purchased about 50 of the D530 and all but one have worked out great!
Pros:very portable size, clear screen, sturdy machine, performs well
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JF37917
(Knoxville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Latitude with no atitude

PostedApril 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Price, function, features. I needed something versatile at home, that would allow me to not only work from home but also just surf the Internet. This provides all the capabilities that I need.
Cons:Haven't found any.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tg2143
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dont need a Wide screen with all this power

PostedApril 24, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Lots of Proc power
Cons:None
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CamStar
(Roseville, MI)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice Notebook for the Price

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
Pros:Fast on 2MG memory, sufficiently long battery life, nice quality speaker - I was surprised, clear graphics, connects very well to my wireless internet.
Cons:Screen is difficult to see in dim mode on the battery. Works well on the brighter mode which uses up the battery faster.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:raghvendra
(New Jesey,NJ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

review about D530

PostedApril 16, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
overall,this laptop serves my purpose,so am very much satisfied with it!!
have recommended many of my friends 2 buy this product
Pros:1)good price 2)sturdy and hard to get damaged 3)monitor is clear 4)Sound is one of the THE best features and last but not the least,the customer service provided by DELL is THE BEST.....
Cons:!)keyboard should have been softer 2)Had trouble with activating the bluetooth initially......
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TexasLatitudeD530
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

The Latitude D530 runs my franchise!

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I run Quickooks Pro and various retail store software. The D530 doesn't miss a beat when running multiple applications. I only made one upgrade and that was purchasing a 90w power supply, instead of the 65w.
Pros:A fantastic value for the price. Stays cool even after being on 24 hours straight. All the ports you would need, USB, 1394, and more.
Cons:Weight, it's on the heavy side.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Janekl
Title:

Quality and Price are well balanced

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Compact size and weight. Good assembly quality. Very silent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnnyO
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Latitude is a work horse!

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
The best business Laptop out there and it's been that way since day one.
Pros:Great battery life, easy to handle, no junk bundle software. This is my favorite Dell laptop model.
Cons:If any, the price is kinda high, but you get a great product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

It's so great

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I bought a D530. It's very fast and the quality is very good.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kartika
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I received my orders on time and the package arrived in a good condition with all the necessary softwares and manual. The products works well and serves me well. I ordered Windows XP since productivity softwares I owned are for that. After two days of installing all the softwares I needed, the laptop has been up and running.
Cons:Productivity software is not included, and it is still to heavy to carry around, unfortunately.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude D530
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lovecomputers
(Washington, DC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great value, excellent features

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Great value, excellent features, wireless services are perfect, clear screen for watching movies and excellent sound
Cons:This computer is a bit heavy. I wish the battery last longer
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2