Customer reviews for Latitude D520

Latitude D520

Latitude D520
4.308 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.3
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 40
30 out of 3197%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude D520
Review 1 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:D520Latitude
(Albany, New York)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great for day to day work.

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is very good for day to day work, office, youtube, mail.
It is fully loaded, with the SXGA+ Screen, 3GB of 533 DDR2 ram, i upgraded to CPU to a Core Solo T1350@ 1.87Ghz, Has bluetooth 2.0 that works well, and also a Toshiba Samsung CDRW/DVD, that burns data with out errors. It runs Vista Business 32 bit very well, and never really have freeze issues or anything of the like. It has a Seagate 120GB 5400RPM hard drive, and a Panasonic 6 cell battery that gives me 2+ hrs... It seems to be built decent, 7 out of 10.. I will be using this laptop intill i need to upgrade.
Pros:youtube, google maps, chrome with many tabs open at once, aim, video, microsoft office programs
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AndySF
(San Francisco, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Memory:2 GB
Title:

Great value; sturdy laptop

PostedFebruary 14, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall I am quite pleased with Dell's customer service, and products. I have owned an IBM Thinkpad, Toshiba Portege, and Toshiba Satellite. I recommend the Dell Latitude over all of my previous laptops.
Pros:The Dell Latitude D520 Celeron boots up very quickly, and offers great performance at a low price. When "building" my laptop on-line, I choose Windows Xp over Windows Visita. The Latitude is very user friendly and a solid laptop. It doesn't have much screen/keyboard flex, which is great. Dell allows you to customize your laptop, so you don't end up paying for features you don't want or choose.
Cons:The screen resolution is not fantastic, nor the keyboard. I have had one key that keeps popping off, and never seems to snap on correctly. It's on the heavy side.
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Keung
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Celeron
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

D520 Review

PostedDecember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I've brought more than 10 D520 laptops for my employees. In terms of functionalty, D520 gives what we need to serve our business. In fact the price value is promising.
Cons:The weight is heavier than we expected.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GeorgeP
(Cincinnati, OH)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Excellant General Business Laptop

PostedDecember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The Dell Latitude D5xx laptop are excellant general purpose computers. I especially like the docking station, it makes it very convenient to pick up and go.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mikeyl
(Fort Worth, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Latitude D520

PostedDecember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Speed is great, utility good
Cons:Does not come with a wider screen, but just as well, it would be too big for the brief case
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:seedguy
(Nebraska)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Great machine and great price

PostedDecember 10, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:This computer is very fast and very user friendly. I haven't had much experience with laptops in the past, but this one is everything I wanted it to be. My wife would like one for herself and I believe this one would also suit her just fine. It's not as heavy as I thought it might be and I believe it would work very nice for traveling. The screen is very nice and easy to view even in bright conditions.
Cons:No cons from me.......I wish I had bought one more.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AshishDave
(Newton MA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

D520

PostedDecember 7, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The D520 is a good value for money,for $680 Dual core processor and DVD combo is not bad.The good thing about the machine is that it boots up instantly.Good sound card and the wireless card is awesome,great battery life ,In a nut shell it;s a value for money.
Cons:1.the screen resolution is quite bad,I wish I would have gone for SXGA,itsead of XGA. 2.The machine is bit bulky to carry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Elkhunter
(Rathdrum, Idaho)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Very happy with this notebook computer, performs as expected.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:intrepid
(Surfside Beach, South Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Celeron
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Excellent Value

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I purchased 2 laptops with XP/Pro to use in our business to use as our Point of Sale machines. With receipt printers, scanner, mouse and Pole Display running at all times the machines and fast and easy and very reliable. Thanks for great machines.
Cons:After 2 months there are no cons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mamavicki
(Louisville, KY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:512 MB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

latitude D520

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Bought this for an assistant, the internet connection is great (wifi capability) and keeps us connected throughout each job. Durability is great, definitely not delicate. It does everything I expected it to do.
Cons:wish it was a bit lighter for travel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gert
(Ventura, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Celeron
Memory:512 MB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Great deal

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Price, reliablility, performance
Cons:The only thing I've seen I would like to change is the fact when you are on battery power, the screen almost dims too much. I know it saves power, but I can't seem to find where not to make that happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Theodyssey
(King of Prussia, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB

PostedDecember 6, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Easy to setup right out of the box
Cons:A wee bit bulkier than expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RobD
(Wendell, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

D520 Latitude

PostedOctober 31, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell D Family Port replicators are too expensive to buy new.
Pros:Great value. Dell reliability. Dell North American customer service reputation. Quick build and ship
Cons:I prefer the mute buttons and keyboard mounted mouse on the D610. It would be nice to incorporate those features into the D500 series, but the tradeoff in a lower price was worth it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rb1980
(San Diego, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a week
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

GET THE SXGA DISPLAY!!!

PostedOctober 13, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Overall, nice laptop. Responsive and zippy. Quiet, too.
Cons:Make sure you spend the extra $70 to get the SXGA display! The XGA display only goes up to 1024x768 which is TOO LOW for a screen this size. You will need to scroll web pages horizontally. It's just not enough resolution. I mistakenly ordered it with the XGA display and am regretting it.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EMDug2
(Houston, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Celeron
Title:

Excellent

PostedSeptember 17, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
The next one is for myself
Pros:I purchased the notebook for my husband and he is very pleased with it, it had all the features he needed and wanted. Service was excellent and delivery was unbelievably quick.
Cons:Have no negative comments
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:edinboro
(NW Pa.)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Portable Power

PostedSeptember 16, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very happy with this laptop.
I fell reassured knowing it is a product from Dell.
Pros:I love typing on this laptop. The keys have a nice feel to them and typing is easier than my desktop.
Cons:I had to present a power point on an LCD projector this week and the device did not get a signal from my laptop. Be sure to update your drivers before attempting to do a presentation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ajhdhhee
(VT)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

good performance, terrible battery

PostedSeptember 13, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
really other than the battery i love this computer.
Pros:running multiple apps at once no problem (dvds plus multiple web pages/ Word docs), limited game performance, but it's only integrated graphics; what do you expect? decent storage with 80 gig hdd. 4 usb ports enough for an average user's desktop replacement/ portable laptop. And there is enough power in this computer to be a desktop replacement, but it's still light enough to transport from place to place, as long as there's an outlet around (see below)
Cons:NO battery life after a year max battery life is 15 minutes dell you need to revamp your batts bigtime! occasional trouble w/ keyboard/ touchpad, but nothing severe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:61LBJC6
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Dell D520

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
My thoughts on this computer exceed my good impression.
Pros:It works very well with xp, and being able to interchange the OS is a plus.
Cons:Have not found any yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BillH
(Louisville, KY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:120GB
Title:

Desktop Replacement

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The processing power as well as memory available makes this a nice replacement for my desktop.
Cons:The physical case seems to be a little more "cheap" feeling.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude D520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shang
(Santa Cruz, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

Outstanding laptop

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Fast and easy to use
Cons:Can't think of any
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2