Customer reviews for Latitude D430

Latitude D430

Latitude D430
3.897 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
3.9
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
26 out of 2990%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Latitude D430
Review 1 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TopReviewer
(Topeka, Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Solid Product, System cooling needs improvement

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is a solid, high-quality product from Dell. Do choose the Core 2 Duo @ 1.33GHz (the maximum option), because the CPU choices are really not excellent. It'd be better if Dell offered ULV and LV choices for CPU. I had it for 2 years before I gave it to my dad.
The speed is more than adequate, if you have 2GB of memory. Running Windows XP and Windows 7 is great, but Vista will slow your machine down considerably. Hard Drive is small, and it is 4200rpm instead of regular 5400rpm or some 7200rpms, but it's still sufficient for most tasks. Half a second of lag isn't going to be too different from another 2010-generation Core 2 Duo machine.
Exterior-wise, the laptop is very solid, featuring a long-lasting metal hinge, very strong metallic outer cover, and a bottom that is not composed of plastic at all. This is helpful for the system cooling, especially when the fan is not that strong for the low-speed ULV.
The battery design is very interesting, which extends palm rest for Extended batteries. It does fit around the Hard Drive location, and the hard drive had plenty of space to send out heat via the touchpad above it.
Since it's a 12 incher, I say the weight of this machine is around 3.5lbs. Runs around 3.5 hours with battery (6-cell). I say it's Pretty good for its generation. If you get Dell E4200, of course it's even lighter with a 4-cell!
Overall, Great design, enough performance for office/video(probably not enough for something like 1080p), and excellent in portability.
Pros:Travel, office tasks, video, testings
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlanRII
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Tough portable 64-bit virtualization workhorse

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I extended my original three-year warranty by another two years. This is a power-packed little machine: 64-bit dual-core processor with 2GB of RAM. With this power I am able to run VirtualPC, VMWare, and VirtualBox for test and demonstration environments. First thing I did when I got it was install Windows XP x64 Edition, and it runs great. Although the driver page does not have a 64-bit XP option, most XP drivers support XP x64, and some of the Vista 64 drivers are XP x64 compatible. If I did not despise the "Vista" user interface so much, I would be tempted to install Windows 7 x64 on this bad boy.
The only real drawback to this laptop is the hard drive. The 1.8" hard drive is difficult to find at a reasonable price, but with a comfortable 120GB of space it really is a trade-off. Sure, with a 2.5" I might be able to get a 500GB or larger drive, but at what cost of performance and battery life? With external USB and Firewire hard drives this really becomes a moot point.
Other than that I have experienced two strange issues. First, the screen will just black out for seemingly no reason on occasion. A quick suspend and wake-up resolves this. (I have tried in 32-bit XP and Vista with current drivers and on a new motherboard, still does the same thing.) Secondly, the Bluetooth has a weird cone of interference off to the left of the system. The Bluetooth module is located under the right LCD hinge bezel, and devices off to the left of the laptop experience very degraded performance if any usable signal at all. Both of these are minor annoyances at best and do not detract from the usefulness of the laptop overall.
I believe the Latitude D-series has been discontinued, thus the end of the D430. I have deployed several E-series at customer sites and I will happily move one day to a comparable E -- even though it means replacing my docking stations (advanced port replicators) and stands.
Pros:virtualization, technology support, emulation
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pwrchakra
(Pacicific Northwest)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awsome Laptop

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently returned to school and was overwhelmed with the amount of books I need to carry around so I decided to search laptop that was very light weigh yet sturdy and able to handle being carried in a backpack. I found the D430 on ebay and decided to try it. I am totally in love with my D430. I upgrade to win7 and it runs like a charm. I am able to do research on the web and run excel and word 2007 at the same time without any delays. The D430 originally came with windows xp professional which isn't bad but...windows 7 is quicker and smoother. I would highly recomend this laptop for anyone that needs to travel from work/school. Upgrade to Win 7 and you will also fall in love. The only downside, is that Dell dosen't fully support the D430 with win7 upgrades but if you do your research and follow all the instructions for upgrading to win 7 you will love it.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TalonAg06
(Houston, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over a year
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great for portability, not performance

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop for a professional that is always on the go. I take this laptop everywhere with me. Battery life is great, screen brightness great, size and weight only beat by a netbook. I knew the optical drive was external before I got it, so this doesn't bother me (dont use it that often anyway).
It is greatly limited by only 2GB of RAM. After having the laptop about 2 years the only real limititaion I've run in to is running virtual machines. I can run one but not multiple in XP, pretty rough to run even one in Vista SP1. I have since bought a desktop with plenty of RAM to do all my VM testing on and just use this laptop for its portability.
Pros:business, Travel, limited vmware use
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jnewmexico
Title:

Poor support for D430

PostedDecember 24, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Dell D430 offers decent performance in a lightweight laptop. The solid state drives promise high performance and increased ruggedness. However, the solid state hard drive capacity is very limited, and Dell offers limited support and limited supplies for those looking to upgrade their system's hard drive. Be careful before you commit to this system.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dlflyer
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Good choice on the ultraportable market

PostedNovember 21, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Good computer, solid, screen is bright and definitely activate the brightness sensor in the Bios for an even more impressive experience. Has an incorporated mic that you can use for chatting. The 9-cell battery provides a bit over 5 hours of continuous work (not DVD or music play-back though). This Dell feels overall like a Dell: solid, reliable, and in this case stylishly lightweight. The security features are awesome, from password to biometric, even at before booting up, so make sure you keep those fingers clean before booting, otherwise the sensor will go wild on you! :-) Overall, very happy with the computer.
Cons:It is a bit noisy, and it can get hot on your lap! For a Core Duo with 2 GB of RAM, the computer should feel faster, but it doesn't (Advice: downgrade to XP and then you'll have a fast experience at your fingertips). Could really use an integrated web cam, they're cheap, very light, very small, and very useful when you're on the road away from family and office.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Harri
(Finland)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:1.5 GB
Hard Drive:60GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

D430

PostedAugust 3, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Tiny package with plenty of options.
Cons:Takes cooling air from the bottom and the computer might be too near to the table surface to get enough air to the inlets. Lifting it a bit by puttin some object between table and the computer affects fan noice quite a lot. Actually should have 'longer rubber legs' under it.
+20points
25of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sids_Pkr
(India)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:100GB
Title:

Good business tool, some improvement required

PostedAugust 3, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Sturdy yet Light Weight easy to carry on the move. Battery life very good and charging time is also quite less. The battery design is also impressive, gives support to hands.
Cons:USB ports only on the back sides, not suited for quick access. Speaker can be improved, they should be powerful enough so that it is easily audible to 4-5 people in a conference room. External DVD-Rom, hinders in mobility. Compulsion to carry the DVD rom as there is still good use of CD's and DVD's No Web-cam???
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EwuRont
Title:

Great machine...but...

PostedJuly 31, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
--I understand that the solid state hard drive dramatically increases speed and reduces noise. Perhaps such a hard drive would make this machine perfect. Unfortunately, I have the 80GB 5400rpm.
--Specially NOTE: I have had nothing but excellent customer service experience with Dell, and I have had Dell machines for nearly eight years now, including a latitude C400 that was in warranty for about five years or so.
--I have had the D430 for just two months
Pros:--Size: you won't be reading this if you are not looking for a small laptop. This one is a featherwight in size but heavyweight in power. --Wireless: very sensitive and effective --Screen: sparkling and beautiful --Hard Drive: capacious; many options
Cons:--Speed: it is a little slower than I expected, but not bad. I have the max 2GB RAM. --Noise: the noise is too audible and too permanent. You will get no more than 15 minutes of silence after booting up the machine, and then the noise kicks in and never stops. It is really a shame because I gave up a macbook because of its noise (it embarrassed me a few times at high-level meetings by its buzzing). It looks as if this one will embarrass me too, so I will be careful. It does not matter what program you are running or if you are running any program at all. --Too small fan: I suspect this is the real reason for the noise. The fan is simply too small and needs to continuously work to adequately cool the machine. I thought the fan was defective and complained. Dell promptly replaced it, but the problem remains. --HOT AIR IS ROASTING MY RIGHT THUMB: I use a mouse. Unfortunately, the laptop's vent is on the right side, and given the perpetual whine of the fan, it endlessly blows hot air to my right hand/thumb. It becomes unbearable in less than an hour. I had to make a cut-out thick foam (wood would do too; a pre-computer age solution to a computer problem!) that I now place between the vent (without covering the vent!) and my mouse pad. In my view, this is the single most serious DESIGN FLAW of the machine. Or, perhaps, may be I should go and learn to be left-handed... Or learn to do without a mouse. However, I didn't pay premium for this machine so it can force me to be what I am not and don't want to be.
+40points
42of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:globalrisk
(new york. ny, usa)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Title:

small and slow

PostedJuly 6, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
bought it with office 2007; choose to downgrade to office xp
would not recommend using vista with d430.
if memory/speed could improve, this would be sooooooo sweet!
perfect for frequent travel, should be provided with a good sync software to desktop or similar.
Pros:size - perfect for working in the air. (even in coach when you "have" to). fits quite nicely in any briefcase. weighs less than 3 lb performance/battery - been working several 5+ hrs flights (newark to london). convenience - good and functional keyboard. battery as external keyboard support works fine.
Cons:slow - glacial performance. memory - limited. e.g., running word/powerpoint/excel concurrently is not recommended. works ok when coding (etc) slow - glacial performance. the bluetooth configuration on my d430 does not work with my blackberry pearl. very frustrating! did i mention that it is SLOW?
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JJVox
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Satisfactory.

PostedMay 5, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
A decent laptop for travel if you do not require multiple applications to be running at the same time.
Pros:Size and weight are great. Easy to handle at security. Screen is adequate. Keyboard is full size and easy to type on. Note the con below though. Everything else works very well. The slide switch for the bluetooth/wifi on the R side is a nice feature. No fumbling.
Cons:When you pull the laptop out of the box, REMOVE the blue eraser pointer in the keyboard! No matter how hard you try, you WILL hit that thing and start typing in places that you dont want to because your pointer will suddenly be elsewhere on the page. SLOW. If you expect to have open Outlook, Word, a browser etc. at the same time, this may not be the laptop for you. Limit of 2GB RAM. Again, see above.
+36points
42of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KennethL
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:60GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Nice Ultra-Portable

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I first initially received the D430, I was a bit surprised that the hardwired NIC didn't seem to work. It was only after I applied some updates that it started working.
Unlike "typical" Dell models, the battery loads from the front and sticks out to provide a sort of wrist rest.
Heat generation is manageable. It doesn't heat up to uncomfortable temperatures like some of the other larger laptops.
Pros:Ultra-portable. Lightweight, even with the 9wh battery. Convenience features including wireless networks switch. Great power management features, including ambient light sensor. Pretty clean OS image and I was able to use it out of the box without having to install a bunch of useless junk. Screen is nicely viewable. I was afraid initially it might be too tiny to work with. Quiet.
Cons:DVD burner drive is external and fits into a specialized adapter (instead of being built-in)
+25points
29of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nocigray
(Minneapolis, MN.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

D430- Size Matters

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:My main criteria on this new purchase was SIZE. I work on a streamlined program system on the road, so I do not need to have the add-ons and movie theater size screen or anything like that. I need to be able to carry a feather weight laptop in my briefcase, and be able to have room on a coach seat in an airplane to open my laptop. This D430 passes all test with flying colors- I love it.
+34points
36of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RFWPB
(West Palm Beach, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:100GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Good laptop for the traveler

PostedApril 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall I like it.
Pros:I like the design with the battery in front a lot better than the previous model. The battery seems to last a lot longer too. Lightweight but feels solid.
Cons:Seems to get a lot warmer than the previous model.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GRuehl
(St. Simons Island, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

A great laptop, thanks Dell!

PostedMarch 18, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the laptop for me. All the pros fit my needs and the cons are not that important to me. I have already recommended the D430 to many of my friends.
Pros:The small footprint and light weight make this laptop a dream for the traveler or the person wanting to shuttle it between home and office. The screen is clean, clear and highly readable. The keyboard has the soft but crisp comfortable feel. The built in 802.11n wireless connects easily with g & n routers I have access to. The solid state drive is quicker than I had expected.
Cons:Battery life for the 6 cell runs about 3+ hours. The laptop gets a little warm on the bottom but not hot. The fingerprint reader has too many misreads. I do wish it would take more than 2GB of memory.
+457points
481of 505voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Frenzo
(Maine)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:100GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

All-around great notebook

PostedMarch 7, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great travel machine, and the low weight and bulk is completely worth the lack of a built-in optical drive.
I'm running the dual-processor model with 100-Gb drive and 2 gigs of ram. I boot Windows XP Pro from the hard disk, and Ubuntu edgy from an outboard USB hard disk.
Installation of newer Ubuntu versions failed with a kernel error. The live CD would boot, but the drive could not be detected during the install process. I also experienced this problem on my old, Averatec Sempron notebook and on a desktop.
Getting the internal modem running under Ubuntu was relatively painless with the free, Linmodems driver from Dell tech support. The internal 1502 draft-n wireless card is another matter - I haven't yet gotten that to fly under Ubuntu, but it works great under XP. With enough time & dell assistance, I'm confident I can get ndiswrapper functional with this card.
Users who complain about a lack of gain from the sound card are right - it's singularly unimpressive. But a good set of headphones produces plenty of gain for watching DVD or online movies.
As a mobile business machine, this thing is just great. The 9-cell battery gives a ton of operating life (though with the NIC powered down by default without ac), so you can use the machine throughout any domestic flight and still have plenty of reserve power leftover.
The keyboard's very comfortable, and fast.
Pros:Small Lightweight Fast Comfortable keyboard w/embedded trackpoint Great Linux support - free linmodems driver Great battery life!
Cons:Insufficient finger relief on SD card slot Battery location prevents front-access ports Outboard dvd drive uses a weird USB connector which guarantees it to be incompatible with other machines.
+93points
100of 107voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price-Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bidt1
(Rochester, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Good value for light weight with few drawbacks

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:Light weight, easy setup, nice matte screen for less reflections. Setting up docking screen resolutions & mouse & keyboard were made a cinch. Easy to travel with. Battery makes for a nice wrist rest / handle. (Just a little nervous about it pulling out as you have a tendency to hold it by the battery, but it seems sturdy enough.)
Cons:The Dell docking station made for this is not a good snug fit when you try to dock the laptop. The laptop does not have a built in CD drive. The performance is as expected for a "Light Weight" laptop, not fast, but not too excruciatingly slow. The ports are not in the most convenient places for my use, however they may be for others. Verify where you need them.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dle999
(Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:80GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Dell Lattitude D430

PostedJanuary 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I feel that the Dell Lattitude D430 is very nice in size and great for mobility. It is nicet if you are always on the go with your laptop. The weight is nice to deal with. You could throw it in your backpack without a problem.
Cons:I am not happy with the sound. Don't try to watch a movie unless you have ultra super sonic ears. I tried to connect usb speakers and so far have not found a compatible pair. Also this computer is not the fastest in the land but it is fair. The brightness levels are not so hot either.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features/Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Price-Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zero
(boston)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:100GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Excellent Laptop

PostedJanuary 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I travel every week so a small portable laptop is a must for me. I upgraded from a d620. I really dont see any real performance difference for the tasks i do. (outlook, excel, internet, movies, programming, vmware windows), usually at the same time. I was very surprised at the performance that this little guy was capable of.
Everyone keeps saying hot? Seems like a typical laptop to me, a little warm on bottom, runs in the 60-70 degree area, but these new cpu's are capable of 90 on core anyways... Not sure what all the fuss is about. Its a laptop that is 1 inch thin!, they have to put the heatsink / fan somewhere...
I installed fedora 8 with little to no issues and use vmware for outlook, excel.
Pros:-Small and light! -Good performance -Long lasting battery (4-5 hours of hard use on 9 cell) -Screen is perfect size suggested upgrades:: 9 cell battery 120gb sata 5400rpm drive 2 GB ram intel branded wireless network card if you plan on running linux
Cons:-no video card available -comes with windoze only(no linux from factory)
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Latitude D430
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features/Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability/Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Price-Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Stewie
(NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo
Memory:2 GB
Hard Drive:100GB
Video Card:Integrated Graphics
Title:

Extremely Portable

PostedDecember 28, 2007
Yes, I would recommend this product
*The latest Latitude ultraportable is a fine successor altho even when ordered with maximum memory, Vista Ultimate made it quite slow.
*The speaker & audio jack is found towards the back of the machine; it would be more convenient up front like the old C400.
*Still not a fan of widescreens but I guess they no longer make screens like my past C400 & D410.
*Buttons across the top of the keyboard like volume & mute are missing; the power button is on the side. These are not necessary but they are convenient.
*Got mine w/ the internal Verizon card & it so much better than the card Verizon sent that had to be inserted & hung out of the side of the laptop.
Pros:Very portable Compatible w/ former D family accessories Batter life w/ the 9 Cell 2 pointing devices
Cons:Extremely slow w/ Vista Ultimate Audio features are at the back instead of front So so graphics/audio
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2