Customer reviews for Inspiron Zino HD

Inspiron Zino HD

Inspiron Zino HD
4.024 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
5
1 Star
9
4
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 119
106 out of 12684%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron Zino HD
Review 101 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StephanieF
Title:

Zino for TV

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: The Zino does exactly what it is designed to do.
Cons: None specifically except would be nice to see Intel Core processors in them.
Pros:stream specific tv broadcasts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 102 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark89084
(North Las Vegas, NV)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Just right for me

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted something that would fit in a bookcase/ entertainment center, and that plugged into my 60" LED LCD, which is my monitor. I bought it with BluRay. This device is near perfect. It does everything I want it to. My only small dislike would be I get some occasional small lines that run through the screen. Not sure if this is refresh rate. Perhaps just a little more powerful graphics card would do. Otherwise, I love this. Size is perfect, it's nice and quiet. I'm a happy camper. Buy one!
Pros:internet, facebook, email, dvd's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 103 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KendoSteel
(Edinburgh)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

So small :)

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the Inspiron to replace my previous Dell Desktop PC which was 6 years old and the size of a house. The inspiron is so small it can fit anywhere! If you really wanted, you could take it with you like a laptop. Although you would need a monitor obviously but you could take it with you if you wanted. The option is there :)
Pros:dvd player, internet, Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 104 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ShawnM
(Peoria, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Computer!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great computer for most of my needs.
Pros:
1. Great space saver, it fits nicely on my desk.
2. Very quiet machine
3. Fast computer
4. Easy set up
Cons:
1. Could use more usb slots in back
2. Only analog monitor connecter
Pros:web streaming video movies etc...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 105 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RobertSw
Title:

Dell doesn't release hardware spec for this

PostedAugust 12, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to run a non-standard, and admittedly unsupported OS on this system.
I can't because Dell won't tell me what company and chipset are used for the internal network adapter, so I have no chance of locating a driver for it.
It runs Windows 7 and Ubuntu just fine; no complaints there. But I can't get Centos/Sipxecs to run on it. If you're thinking of using a machine like this for Sipxecs, don't!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 106 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LMFretired
(Kirkfield ON Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think this is a great Product
Pros:personal use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 107 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Aviator99
(Toronto)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
It arrived earlier than promised but still 3 weeks for a standard configuration. Happy with the overall performance and form factor for home use in the kitchen. I got the low power version as it is stored inside a cabinet. Perfect as it was just warm to the touch. Only disappointment is the limited USB ports so have to add hubs or switch between components.
Pros:web and email, image and video editing, office applications
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 108 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TH12
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My Zino

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this for media use, but opted for the phenom x4 for other tasks.
I am extremely pleased with my purchase, it does everything it should, and does it well.
I purchased a different wireless keyboard, with a scroll wheel & a media centre remote, also wireless (not IR)
But that was my choice.
I added a PCTV 290e HD tuner, works perfectly.
I think, more options should have been offered on purchase from Dell.
Niggles (minor):
The power DVD 9.5 doesn't plat DVD's well, but does Blu Ray. It's interface with Media Centre is buggy too.
It is a media PC, this should be flawless.
The audio out, can be HDMI or jack, but not both together.
TH
Pros:home theater pc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 109 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Winterbron
(Scotland)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Zino is small and does what it was supposed to do.

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This unit fitted with what I was looking for perfectly. It now sites under the TV and other entertainment units allowing me to surf the net on a big screen, watch movies or listen to music from the server. It is also almost silent.
Pros:streaming media & internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 110 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:curtispd
Title:

Ok, but performance issues

PostedJune 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Get the discrete video card upgrade. I'm having some performance issues specifically with the integrated video card.. e.g. you cannot play StarCraft2 on this guy (awful framerates). It can handle 720p well enough though if you use it as a media centre PC. Comes with a wired keyboard and mouse which is not very useful.
Otherwise fine.. looks good, quiet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 111 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rmhelpdesk
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Product for Terminal Server users

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this product in remote conference rooms that remote into a Terminal Server. I bought the dual core version with integrated graphics since all computation would be done on the much more robust remote server. It works amazingly. I also got to test out video streaming ability with hulu and video webinars. It worked very for these videos.
Pros:terminal server, streaming video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 112 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mark543
(Minneapolis, MN)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent device to marry HDTV and the internet

PostedMay 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Zino HD 400 came with the AMD dual core 6850e processor, 6 gb of RAM, ATI Radeon HD3200 graphics, a Blu-ray drive and a wireless keyboard and mouse. It's connected to a 40-inch Samsung LED/LCD tv. My goal was to have an HDTV fully connected to the internet (at present with the internal wireless card, although I plan to switch to an Ethernet AV Powerline adaptor soon), and this does the trick. Setup was smooth, the HDMI connection provides great video, and all internet-related communication and video (e.g., Hulu, Skype) is now available on the Samsung. Blu-ray works great. The Zino is small enough to fit in the TV cabinet without being noticable and the wireless keyboard and mouse are very convenient given how this computer is being used.
Two cons:
1. After the ATI Radeon software updated I had a scaling problem at 1920 x 1080 that I only solved after a long Google search -- that's a complaint as to ATI.
2. Unlike using a dedicated Blu-ray or other player, this is a Windows 7 computer and so you have to put up with the regular, frequent software updates when you first boot up -- that's a bit more annoying when using the computer as a video source for the HDTV and is a complaint as to Microsoft.
Those are minor knocks; the Zino approach is working great. And I think that having full internet access through the HDTV is where the future lies.
Pros:video and internet to the hdtv
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 113 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GlensidePa
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Zino HD

PostedMay 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased the Zino to work with my flat screen TV. It provides a great connection to Hulu and Netflix as well as bringing the internet to the big screen. I opted for the Blu ray player to eliminate an additional box.
Pros:streaming video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 114 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:horsepucky
(fernley,nv)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

pucky plops

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
excellent physical footprint,small! excellent electrical footprint,less watts!! so far excellent MTBF, reliable!!!
Pros:telephone server
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 115 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SpartacusSum
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Quiet, small, works

PostedApril 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought as space saving desktop for home. Added bonus is the blu ray for occasional family cinema. Quiet, small, works. Easy to set up. Just turn it on and it finds the wireless keyboard and mouse first time. Am using wired internet currently - have not tried wireless. More than fast enough for my technical work.
Pros:home use, data analysis programming, remote access, photos films
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 116 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:IainColledge
(London)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Small home server

PostedApril 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was looking for a mini computer to act as a home development / test server.
Pros
Works very well with Ubuntu 64bit out of the box and everything is well supported.
Performance exceeded my expectations and am really happy with this purchase as it means I can mirror exactly what will be used in production.
After initial set up my small server runs perfectly fine with just power and network connected up as everything can be done remotely.
Cons
No dual band wifi which on my apple products such as mac mini and Macbooks is standard. I have a dual band home network and the performance increase of using 5Ghz 802.11n has to be seen to be believed, especially with the Microwave on!
I couldn't buy this package without paying for Microsoft Windows 7 Home which is a shame and a waste of money for me.
Review
Overall apart from the lack of dual band wifi which I got around by using a 5Ghz bridge and not being able to buy without paying money to Microsoft I am very happy with my purchase.
If you're developing software which will eventually reside in the cloud then this is a great option as a development / test server. The low price means that the cost of monthly low end cloud options soon exceed the initial capital outlay of purchase.
Pros:software development
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 117 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:thewps
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good enough

PostedApril 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am happy with my Zino. It was bigger than I imagined but fits easily under the TV. It would be brilliant if it worked with BBC iPlayer under Ubuntu, but this is not the Dell spec so I can't complain. I am using it with W7 and it is very slick. It plays HD content smoothly (apart from BBC iPlayer downloads - streaming HD is fine). The Zino is pretty quiet - you have to strain to hear it in a quiet room but with a film playing noise is never going to be an issue. My Zino runs Media Centre, Squeezebox Server, LiveDrive backup, MyMovies without a hitch.
Pros:media centre, photo viewing, media server, web browsing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 118 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:couchpilot
(Stirling, Scotland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Zino for home computing / entertainment converge

PostedApril 9, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Zino with wireless keyboard trackball, connected to Samsung 32inch TV, EMTEC H/D Recorder, Pioneer Hi Fi, so i can play my music, view my photos and watch recorded TV play DVDs etc all while sitting on my couch. Browse the net, view iPlayer and Youtube content etc. Use microsoft Office and email fast and furious. The set up was simple despite being connected to many different things and using it is very easy. The wireless keyboard/trackball was a key feature and few PCs quote it as an option. Huge hard drive, chipset was mid range and 4 gig ram a good idea with Windows.
Pros:communication email website posts etc, managing video audio photo tv content, preparing documents
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 119 for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steve62
(Corsham, Wiltshire, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Zino HD

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good product. Worked from the box. Connected to TV and easy to use.
No problem.
Very satisfied.
Pros:home leisure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Ratings-only reviews for Inspiron Zino HD
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
6 out of 7 recommend this product
  1 2 3 4 5 6