Customer reviews for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)

Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)

Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
5
1 Star
10
4
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 120
106 out of 12783%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Review 41 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:djayster
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

underwhelmed

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
having considered many reviews of this product i decided to take the plunge and went ahead and placed an order.
Despite an apalling expected order time of over a month, it arrived almmost 3 weeks early.
Neat, tidy and stylish and the HMDI port is great - with sound too, but the compliments stop there. Build quality is a real issue - everthing feels budget and cheap - but what do you expect for the price - a whole lot more !!!
If there are typo's in this review its down to the hammer keyboard and the mouse seems to have a mind of its own.
You will need a USB adaptor if you plan to use more than 2 USB devices as hey are located too close together.
The biggest issue on this modeal however is noise. When booting up - close your eyes and you could be on a Boeing 747 and the background noise of the hard drive and fan is distracting to say the least.
OK I might be over dramatising a little but the concept has so much potential - however it illusions of it's owm importance at the moment until some basic issues are sorted !
+8points
24of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TomBrand
Title:

Great stylish and good performing product

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you are looking for a stylish, reliable and performance media PC, look no further.
First of all, the product arrived very quickly - which was a positive. Minimal packaging too which I always admire (I remember 3 men having to carry my first desktop PC!!!).
Worked straight away from out the box, very easy to get started. I have it hooked up via HDMI to the TV in my bedroom and works brilliantly - great picture and sound. Would definitely recommend this and in the future can see most people using TVs rather than monitors.
I was surprised how quick the unit was especially for loading programs like iTunes and so far it's not put a foot wrong. Everyone has commented how stylish it looks too, and in such a small case it takes up no room and is very quiet (good when you are watching programs at low volume in bed).
I would also recommend the optional remote control, if you are a media user then it is just like changing TV channels or a CD in a stereo, it doesn't feel like a PC at all!
Overall a great product and great service from Dell.
Pros:music, word processing, internet
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Thyra
(Austin, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Bought 2 - one for each parent

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
My parents are in their 70s and were having problems with their old systems. (And did not want to change) Finally convinced them with this little system. They could not believe the size and that it would be faster and store more than their giant old towers. They love love love the Zino. They also love using Windows 7. I am considering one more for our family - would make an excellent student computer.
Pros:email, web tv, internet
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bhunger
Title:

When It Finally Arrived...WOW!

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Let's get the con out of the way. It took four or five weeks to arrive.
But man, it is perfect for media center use. It's tiny, and as quiet as the old Dell 400SCs. Really can't hear it. I upgraded nine a bit for smooth streaming. Use it for Hulu and Fancast. Its awesome for this. Also, I think it uses 3.5 " drives, so easy cheap upgrades would be possible. I'm on the site today to order a second unit for the upstairs bedroom.
Pros:media (hulu etc.)
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Purav
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

The Little Powerful Zino

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have never been a fan of Dell, due to the narrow minded ideas they come up with in terms of looks for their products in the past. However, when I saw the Zino, I simply fell in love with this little box. Straight of the back, I was looking to upgrade my 7 year old computer which I used with my HDTV and Surround Sound System and also play audio files from the laptop I have in my bedroom to the surround sound system in the living room. I must say this computer (AMD Athlon X2 3250e, 4GB RAM and 500GB HDD) was a surprise. It plays HD videos over the home network without any glitches, while I surf the net on my laptop. All the internet video streaming sites are free from buffer timeouts.
Now for the why it is just good and not great. I did notice other customers complain that there are no lights on the front to show whether the computer is actively performing a function or just sitting idle. However if you place the Zino Box on a low self, where the power button is visible, you can tell if it is in sleep mode or active mode. You do have to adjust the resolution per your HDTV so that the picture stretches to the corners of your screen. I have found that the volume of movies I play is a little low as compared to when I played them on my old computer.
Overall, a good product with minor flaws but then again, everything has flaws... that's what makes them so special!
Pros:home theater pc
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JTDellShopper
(VA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

OK Mini PC

PostedFebruary 12, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a decent little PC, but not the "Mac Mini" killer I was led to believe. First, it's noisy, not as noisy as a typical ATX tower, but very noisy compared to the Mini.
I was disappointed by the cheap feeling case, and bloated size compared to the Mini. I was also disappointed that the base system came with Vista even though Win7 has been out for some time. I would have paid more for 7, however the only version available was 64 bit, incompatible with some of my uses (driver issues).
The dual core seems to stream Hulu well, and the HDMI is a nice touch if you don't mind buying an adapter for most monitors.
I bought it as a cheap PC, which it is. I was hoping it would be an inexpensive alternative to a Mac Mini, but it's not. The quality is lower, it's louder, it comes with Vista, and with a decent number of options it's almost as much as a refurbished Mac Mini.
I would buy another one to run the Windows (or Linux) utilities I occasionally need, but just because it's small and cheap.
+6points
26of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:QuestorThews
(Gloucestershire)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I expected too much?

PostedAugust 13, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was desperately looking for something compact - which this is.
But it is rather slow and ponderous.
Also the Audio Drivers played up something chronic.
Additional is does get rather "hot" with prolonged use.
To be honest I very much regret this purchase and should (perhaps) have stuck to a more conventional setup.
Pros:home use - personal
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jbotwood
Title:

Just not fit for purpose unfortunately

PostedApril 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this lovely tiny new home theatre PC so plugged it straight into my TV with a HDMI cable and was up and running watching a DVD with full surround sound in less than 10 minutes and thoroughly impressed. That's where the good stuff ended though
The Windows installation is infested with crapware. A rubbish edition of MS Office, Mcaffe antivirus, Windows Live everything and a whole bunch of other dross I have no intention of using slowing down the system massively and constantly pestering me to register this, pay for that etc. As they haven't shipped any CDs with the software on then I am stuck with uninstalling all this dross so I can still keep Roxio and Cyberlink which are decent useful bits of software. If I format Windows to get a nice clean installation then I lose the one or two decent bits of software that shipped with the unit. This is bang out of order in my opinion. They give you no choice on the website of what you actually want installed and then don't give you any disks for anything, only a full 'restore' set to put it back to the horrible way it was installed in the first place
And then the real major problem starts. About an hour in, the entire screen went bright green and then returned to its previous display but with totally screwed colours, like one of the RGB colour channels had switched off - possibly the green channel. Thought it was a one off, so re-plugged the HDMI cable and it all came back to normal. Another 20 minutes later and it happened again, and then again, and again...
One call to Dell tech support and their engineer impressively went in over the internet and upgraded the display driver to the latest version on ATI's website. Great stuff and he was really helpful. Only half an hour later it was back to it's old tricks again with the screwed up colours
So Dell sent out an engineer and replaced the motherboard, graphics card and processor. So there's no way it can still go wrong now? Oh yes it can and has continued to do so sometimes as frequently as 60 seconds after I've reset it
I've tested my TV by plugging a laptop into the same HDMI socket for 3 hours and it works fine. I've also tried a different HDMI cable so the only thing at fault here can be the Dell unit
Basically the unit is unfit for purpose and may as well have been dead on arrival. As they have replaced the entire guts of the computer that leaves very little to the possible causes of the colour fault
So it's looking very much like I'll be asking for my money back here and writing this computer off completely. Shame really because it really did look like an excellent product and Dell's support has been very good
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidC68
(Atlanta, GA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Ok for some applications

PostedAugust 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to use as a HTPC. The PC can play back DVD content fine, but chokes on HD content. My transcoded HD media studders on playback. All the other PCs in my home play this media ok. If you have no need to play HD media, then this is fine. Otherwise, a more fully-functional desktop PC is more appropriate.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DocKP
(home)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Slick peice of equipment

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This little but powerful computer has been a joy. It was easy to set-up and operate. The compaque nature of the Zino allows the user to have more space for working or other gadgets.
Pros:personal and business
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AArcher
(Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Very pleased!

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been a Dell customer since they were "TurboPC" computers, and we use Dell PC's at my work as well. My first, a TurboPC IBM clone, lasted about 10 years,because I was able to do things like replacing a hard drive, a modem, and adding RAM myself. We wanted a nicer one when we built our home, and we got a Dell Dimension in 2005. In July we were shopping for a new one... the 1.2 GB of RAM wasn't keeping up with the internet, and then Windows VISTA crashed.
The Inspiron 400 Zino HD shipped yesterday, arriving almost a week sooner than the original expected delivery date. We got the low end Windows 7 system model, and the only upgrade was from 3 GB to 4 GB RAM. Simple set up - our Vizio LED LCD HDTV connected via HDMI was immediately recognized and display was great. Our cable modem required no tweaking whatsoever, went right back into operation. Truly "plug and play".
Pros:internet, business documents, personal documents, streaming video
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rob0the0elder
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice Media Extender

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought to use as second input to compliment my Apple TVs. They stream my library well but will not surf web, check email, stream content other than ITUNES which severly limits the utility of the Apple TVs.
In expensive, well made for a commercial product. Noise not an issue for my application, I cant hear it over all the other white noise in my computer room during setup and when its installed behind the 46 inch Sony you cant hear it at all.
Ordered first one without BR for the family room as already has good BR player. Went to order a second one and BR is no longer an option? Where did it go? Must be having supplier problems.
Love the windoes 7 features and ease of use.
Pros:streaming video, web searches, display weather radar and personal pictures
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Erle
Title:

Dell Zino 410HD

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell Zino 410HD is a compact, capable HTPC.
Pros:
Compact size
Quad core AMD processor
1GB discrete graphics
Windows 7 Home Premium
500GB hard drive
Windows Media Center remote
HDMI
Cons:
Video drivers had to be updated
WiFi card was not dual band (replaced it with a much faster dual band card)
Easy to open and replace components
No wireless keyboard/mouse (shipped with standard keyboard/mouse)
Gets a little warm with 24/7 use
Pros:home theater pc
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LloydR
Title:

Works well

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Works well for it's intended use as a HTPC. Very easy to get up and running.
I did have problems with the wireless feature, very inconsistent connecting to my network. Tried a new router (needed to upgrade anyway) but that didn't solve my issues. I ended up just purchasing a new wireless card with the dual frequencies and that has solved the problem.
Pros:htpc
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Huddleburger
Title:

Good but not great

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall the computer has been doing what I want but there have been several gliches and when I called support they were not able to help. I have my set up into my flat screen. Most of the time it works good to stream movies and check email and do normal things. I had to fix some sound settings and the video driver still turns off somemtimes for no reason. It acts weird when it is put in sleep mode and I start to use it. Nothing a simple restart wont fix but still annoyting. Overall the computer is doing what I want it to do.
Pros:streaming, email, photos
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jeffmpa
(West Chester, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Great system

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very satisfied overall with my purchase. It is lightning fast and easy to navigate. The only negative is that there are no instructions on how to set up the remote that came with the unit. Otherwise it has been flawless.
Pros:surfing the internet and checking email, music and pictures
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bizjetmaker
(Vail, AZ 85641)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My Zino Review

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Easy to Setup out of the box.
Cons: Needs a good internal TV tuner. Preload web favorites with Hulu Boxee, Crackle and other alternatives to cable.
Pros:streaming, off air anttenna, tv tuner
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SoyIsMurder
(Seattle, WA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Powerful, Quiet Media Center Machine

PostedAugust 25, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I normally build my own machines, but I really liked the form factor of the Zino HD. So far it has been bulletproof and nearly silent. Plenty of power to play 1080p video files and it works well with Blu-Ray discs. HDMI audio worked right out of the box.
The only frustration was the inane Radeon default driver setting that prevents the image from filling the screen (eventually solved this after an hour of research). A bit on the spendy side (ordered mine with all the trimmings), but I'm glad I didn't skimp.
Pros:media/streaming pc
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AlAdams
(Texas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Nice concept, but Dell couldn't beat the heat.

PostedAugust 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Obviously the form factor and connections were ideal of HTPC use, but the heat generation just isn't being successfully managed at all.
Swapping hard drives revealed they were too hot to even touch after less than an hour uptime. And it's not heat from the drive itself, it's heat from the CPU and other components warming up the drive and everything else inside the case.
Even the front panel where the USB drives plug in, and any USB drives you plugged into it, are unnaturally hot to the point of being concerned for the lifetime of the drive.
But returning my Zino was a no brainer decision, because both the hard drive and the DVD+RW drive would fail once the machine was hot, as demonstrated by errors reading and inpage-error blue screens in Windows.
Pros:home theatre pc
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Inspiron Zino HD (400, Late 2009)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ShawnM
(Peoria, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Computer!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great computer for most of my needs.
Pros:
1. Great space saver, it fits nicely on my desk.
2. Very quiet machine
3. Fast computer
4. Easy set up
Cons:
1. Could use more usb slots in back
2. Only analog monitor connecter
Pros:web streaming video movies etc...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 7