Customer reviews for Inspiron Zino HD 410

Inspiron Zino HD 410

Inspiron Zino HD 410
3.783 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
6
1 Star
11
3.8
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 67
50 out of 6972%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Review 1 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JPrater
(LB, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Almost Perfect HTPC....

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
LOVE this purchase...only wish that it has a second PCIe slot to allow the install of a quad-tuner/DVR card which would have then made it perfect. Will be swapping the drive to a 750GB Momentus Hybrid 6GB SSD/eSATA 7200 rpm 2.5 drive with a 3.5 adapter. Did this upgrade on my AMD Quad laptop and it ROCKS.
Love this HTPC in conjunction with my 65" HDTV and wish DEll would have took a longer view on this product and offered consistent marketing support to build the awareness since it makes so much sense in today's wired home.
Pros:entertainment pc, work pc, online movie streams, online music streams
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sonic262008
(Hayward)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
great computer takes less space and very quite.
Pros:home
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:myangeldust
(South Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Get the last mass-produced HTPC in America!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered this with max performance in mind. Using external tuners the Zino records 4 TV shows without a complaint. The S3 sleep mode makes it very green and will wake up to record TV. It's also very quiet.
Aside from unwanted factory software, the Zino's weakness is it's Blu-ray drive. Laptop style instead of motorized slot makes it cumbersome to load/eject discs. And while the Cyberlink software makes movies look great, it doesn't always work well with Windows Media Center 7. But don't let this stop you from buying this really good home theater PC!
Pros:tv and dvd viewing, listening to radio, streaming music and videos, streaming online media
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cragmor
Title:

Has its hits and misses

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This system was to be my everything but a blu-ray player. Watching videos such as .avi etc works great. I do mean great. Watching normal DVD's also works well enough. Can be iffy with the bundled app, but using VLC, it is smooth as can be. The biggest performance issue is when trying to stream video. Can't do it. No matter what browser I use, the video lags, jumps etc. CPU usage is off the chart. Anything that uses silverlight is a bust, so Netflix fails. Other sites can work to a degree if I do not go full screen.
There are other issues with suspend and hibernation. I have given up on that,and just go with a normal shutdown.
I think there is just not enough engine under the hood for Windows 7, and everything that goes with it. And, I have turned everything down on the OS as far as I can. No bells or whistles here.
Pros:home theater
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:D9085RR
(L.A. California Area)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

great htpc NOT!!!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received my Inspiron Zino HD Home Theater PC (HTPC) on 5/22/2011
Inspiron Desktop 410(Zino HD)
64 bit Windows 7 - 3.2GHZ CPU - 6gig RAM - 1TB HD - ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5450 MXM Discrete Graphics Card
----------------------------------------------------------------
Writing Critique 8/21/2011 - It's taken this long to get the unit up to par!
----------------------------------------------------------------
Where do I start?
#1...don't even think you're going to be satisfied with the wireless keyboard.
#2...the HTPC isn't good for much of anything other than running videos and watching the occasional BluRay.
#3...don't be in a big hurry to transfer videos via the external SATA connection or USB. Both are 2.0 compliant, but the transfer speed is painstakingly slow.
#4...the remote control is small and difficult to read which button controls what.
#5...Windows 7 64 bit Inspiron Zino HD Home Theater PC (HTPC) (and possibly 32 bit) seems to have a problem with foggy or ghost like whites showing up while playing videos in WMC. Very likely video card related. Drivers were updated.
My opinion:
The unit is small, quite, and unobtrusive.
It lacks computing power.
Its I/O ports are slow.
The keyboard is JUNK
The remote is really to small to comfortably work with.
The video card is adequate.
All in all it's just a video player, nothing more, and possibly less.
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jimmyd111234
(Louisiana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Great pc for htpc or simple computing needs

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Absolutely love this pc. For the size really packs a punch. I use it for itunes and basic internet and software needs. Havent gamed on it so cant say about that. Only con for me is the 4 usb ports. Is acceptable but 6 would have been nice for my needs. Pro is a huge one for me with size. And the display is great too. Very happy with it.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bmctga
Title:

Just frusterating

PostedAugust 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
We got this several weeks ago - for internet tv and a bluray player. First disc we played it crashed and went to blue screen. Got it started up again and played the disc fine. Next day we watched a disc same thing crash/blue screen. Did it again on a picture slideshow. Called in and someone helped us try a few things....worked for a couple dvds, but then next time we played a bluray it crashed. Got it replaced (Dell was wonderful about getting a replacement) and now on the first blu ray it froze in the middle. Restarted computer and we'll see. So far it's not been worth the purchase!
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Niggle
(High Wycomeb)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Does not Play Blu-rays

PostedJuly 29, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This PC works fine as if you just want to use it for surfing the internet and playing games but it is an expensive way of doing that.
I purchased the top spec. Zino so that I could play blu-Ray discs and it fails dismally to do this. The play back is jerky to the point that i have to stop watching. No use at all as a media centre. I have had a support call and a visit from a technician who changed the Blu-ray drive. Neither of these actions resolved the issue. All has gone quiet from Dell. I will return the machine as soon as possible.
Pros:surfing the web
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SrCIAJones
(Charleston, SC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great little HTPC

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've enjoy med my Zino HD over the last 16 months. I've got the original model (Inspiron 400) & I've had no issues with it. I watch tons and tons of streaming video from Netflix & other sites that use both Flash & Silverlight. I'm also using Microsoft's Homegroup in Windows 7 to stream my HD video from my external HDD on my primary computer to this one. 720p & 1080p video play equally well & sound great through my Logitech X230 speakers. This unit has met all my expectations but hasn't really exceeded them (then again I'm a computer tech by trade so I know what to expect).
Pros:home theater
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Greatbear100
Title:

Zino Compact Computer makes TV Interface Easy

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought the Zino after searhing for a multi media device that would allow a interface with my large screen TV for displaying photos, movies and other content from my computer when I discovered the Zino that would allow total interface of TV to the computer and it's content making the TV Screen either a mirror image of my monitor or a secodary monitor to view another area at the same time -an extended view. Zino allowed so much more than I firts set out to do.
Pros:watch blu ray dvds, show persoanal photos, interface with bd community, make videos of them/upload them to yutube
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FlawedDesign
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great if you live in International Falls

PostedJuly 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
As I write this, I have had this unit for about 16 months. I purchased this model due to it's extremely small footprint and video streaming through HDMI. I loved how the Zino looked and it performed better than expected.
Purchased in March, I didn't experience any problems until September. My first indication was after using it for 10 minutes or so, I got a blue screen/memory dump. I thought it might have been a video streaming application I installed. But after the reboot, the real problem became apparent. No HDD found.
Infant hard drive death? I left it off for a few hours. Later, I turn it on and it works fine... for maybe 20 minutes. Okay, let's check under the hood. I was a computer service technician at one time. I removed the cover, metal plate, DVD drive and found: The hard disk seated directly on top of the processor heatsink/pipe! Being a compact system, there isn't much room to put it, but on top of the hottest component's heatsink?? Insanity.
As for the environment, due to family medical issues the house must be kept as close to 78F as possible year-round. The unit was on top of a cabinet about 3 feet high. I opted for the discrete video card and the faster CPU.
The system uptime was impacted by what tasks were being performed. Watching streaming video (from a networked computer no less!) would cause a crash in 10 mins or less. Browsing the internet would get about 15-20 mins of usable time. Running idle would grant about 30-45 mins. In some cases, the unit would go into standby before hanging. A hard reboot was necessary after an extended cool-down cycle. Any USB device plugged in was too hot to touch after 20 mins due to heat conduction through the chassis.
I've got this wonderful 1-yr warranty, so I called up Dell Support. Within 3 days, a tech came out and replaced the heatsink/pipe combo and the single chassis fan. Oddly enough, the unit worked for about a week without too much of a problem but then another BSOD. It was at this time I decided the Zino was horribly designed and needed external active cooling. I have floor vents, so it became common practice to turn on the AC (if it wasn't already) and place the unit directly on the vent. This solution worked great until the cold weather started. Since it's not a great idea to run your AC in the winter, I placed the unit on it's side and aimed 2 small fans at the underside. This bought us about 2 hours on average of viewing pleasure before a blue screen ruined our fun. So I got a tech to come out again and this time replaced the power supply, motherboard, heatsink/pipe and fan again. I think it crashed (BSOD) within 4 hours of the tech leaving. Forget it!
So in summary, the design is woefully unfit for purpose. If you absolutely MUST purchase this model, then also consider an external eSATA hard disk enclosure and relocate the internal hard drive there. If you keep your house below 60F, you most likely have nothing to worry about. YMMV of course.
Pros:streaming video
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:foxisbubba
(Knoxville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great for video streaming and Home media Hub!

PostedJuly 17, 2011
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I will start by saying WOW! Photo and video sharing, Subsciption movie sharing, email, internet, social networking! All from the comfort of your couch and while the whole family joins in. We have multiple computers in the house, but this one is the center of our media world! We love sharing photos and videos with the family and updating our social networks while the family gets to have equal input as we upload our vacation photos/family outings. Just get the basic model and upgrade the hard drive and memory and you have a multi-media powerhouse capable of keeping you online, in touch and you can show off as well! I have mine setup with my 60" plasma and my surround sound. see pic
Cons:
a little slow for gaming (that's what your game console is for though)
not enough USB inputs
Love my Zino!!
Pros:family entertainment, email, social networking, internet browsing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Grimmer87
(Kent, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Very Pleased

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this computer for a couple of months now and can describe it with one word, "brilliant".
I got the 1TB version with upgraded graphics, 4Gb of Memory and Blue-Ray player. Apparently you can upgrade the memory to 6Gb yourself but it doesn't need it. I recommend getting the Dell Media centre remote, I forgot to add mine to the order and had to get a 3rd party one which is probably not as good. The wireless keyboard and mouse that comes with it are very good also.
Windows 7 Home Premium is excellent, coming from XP to 7 was a change but once you get used to the differences, it works so easily and looks very nice too.
If I had to criticize one thing, it is that it only has 4 USB ports, it isnt the end of the world, you can get a USB hub to give you more ports.
Overall, this is a great computer that will hopefully last a long time. I cannot recommend it enough.
Pros:browsing the internet, windows media centre, email/word/excel, games (nothing too demanding)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Arlenemarie
(Dearborn Heights, MI)
Title:

Inspiron zino HD

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice space saver. Programs load quickly for a small computer. Great product...great price. 4 USB ports and a card reader...everything I need!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zihuaken
Title:

Dell fits the bill

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the second Zino that I've purchased, and I'm as happy with this one as I am with the first. This one has more memory, a better hard drive and an improved processor. I use it exclusively for video streaming in conjuction with my Slingbox. It seems that it was designed for just this use. I watch my California cable TV in my second home in another country. Thats why I bought it--that's how I use it. The first one has now been converted to a basic web-surfer/word processor, replacing a 5 year old Dell desktop. The only problem I had with this one was related to the wireless card, and that was corrected with one call to customer support. I'm very pleased with this little box.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kyle1975
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My Inspiron

PostedJune 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like this pc. It does everything I need and the price was great. I like the home theater experience of this pc. I would reccommend this to anyone who is looking for basic browsing and hi definition entertainment.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Diazsp
(Kirkland, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great little computer

PostedJune 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this about a month ago to replace a 5 year old laptop that was being used as a desktop. And let me say, it was an excellent buy! I don't really use it as a media center, but I love that it could serve in that capacity should I ever change my set-up. I'm mostly usinging it for some wordprocessing, internet browsing, and on ocassion for light photo-editing and music playback. I have also set up to stream media over my home network to my internet-enabled bluray player. It's nice to have such a huge hard drive to store video that I can wirelessly stream from my office to the living room. In a nutshell this computer is zippy, attractive and meets my needs. Very happy with it!
Pros:academic writing, listening to music, internet research, streaming media to home network
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LarryPischel
(Twin Lake, Michigan)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Awsome PC with a lot of punch

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
For a long time I had been using hand-me down PC's. Then the time came when I wanted to start building a home recording studio. My old PC didn't have the processing power to run the programs I needed. After talking with my Father-in-law and going over what my recording programs needed to run properly, we came to the conclusion that the Inspiron Zino would be more that capable for the task.
After receiving my PC, which was super to easy to start-up right out of the box. I loaded my recording programs and in no time I was up and recording with zero problems.
Thanks Dell for making a product that could handle my needs and at a price that won't break the bank.
Pros:surfing the internet, studio recording
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TommyG21
(New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Multi-Media computer

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this so I could watch TV, DVD, streaming video. No other reason. It will probably play games, but I already have a gaming rig. Some TV's come with access to Netflix and Hulu built in. I didn't want to be tied down to the platforms the TV supported. I wanted to be able to stream from any site.
Pros:
1.)Easy setup – plug and play. Documentation that came with it was clear if you needed it.
2.)TV looks great plugged into HDMI or VGA (would have been nice to have a DVI).
3.)Streams video very well.
4.)No delays when running programs.
5.)Handles Blu-Ray very well.
6.)Media remote worked without any setup.
7.)Wireless keyboard worked without any setup.
8.)Small footprint so it could fit anywhere.
9.)Enough ports. Some complain about the lack of ports in the front (only 1 USB), but found this not to be a problem.
Cons:
1.)Fan is a little loud. It’s only noticeable if the volume is turned down pretty far, which is necessary so I don’t wake up the landlord. The fan kicks in fairly loud when video is playing, so it’s trying to keep everything cool inside when it’s working a little harder. Perhaps more vents or a better cooling system would have prevented this.
2.)Dell software. I’ve never been a big fan of the Dell software so I turn it off. Turning off the software on this was a little more difficult and took more time than I’m used to stop it from running every time the computer starts.
Warning: This uses a wireless N setup. So if you have a B+G router, it probably won’t work. Check your router documentation to see if it can handle an wireless N device. It may be as simple as a firmware upgrade. Or you can go buy a wireless N router.
Overall it’s good for what it is. I wouldn’t go gaming on this, but it’s good for TV, streaming video, DVD, playing on the internet, and those kinds of things. It will handle MS Office Programs and has enough power to handle the Adobe Creative Suite, but the Adobe Creative Suite my push the boundaries a little.
Pros:tv, streaming video, dvd, internet browsing
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron Zino HD 410
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rareTosubmitReview
(usa)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

power efficient performance

PostedJune 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchase the Dell Zino 410 May 2011, got the 2.3GHz AMD Athlon(tm) II P360 Dual-Core Processor, 4G RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5450 (1G), Win7 64-bit. The criteria was mainly to reduce desk space, reduce power, increase performance, and a must to drive dual independent displays. The Zino has achieved the objectives for me.
This unit is noticeably faster than a 2008 Dell Inspiron 530s: 2.4GHz Intel E4600 core2 dual, 2G RAM, ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro (128M). The Windows Experience (Vista 32-bit) for that machine: Processor 5.3, RAM 4.8, Graphics 3.9, 3D/Gaming Graphic 3.9, HardDrive 5.7. That unit draws 120Watts normal operation. The Zino 410 draws 32Watts normal operation. The Windows Experience (Win7 64-bit) for the Zino 410: Processor 5.5, RAM 7.1, Graphics 5.0, 3D/Gaming Graphics 6.2, HardDrive 5.9. Web pages are displayed very fast. High bandwidth data transfer over net seems no problem. It would seem we get better performance (at least in this single case of basic operation, and Windows Experience, and personal observation) at about 1/4 the power. In addition, you also have to realize that all the input power is not going to the processor, there are other components consuming power and the power supply itself is not 100% efficient. I do not do gaming, so I can not comment on gaming experience.
Hooked up VGA first, then VGA and DVI (via HDMI to DVI cable). No problem getting both displays working as extended desktop. The utilities are good (though I disabled some of the startup routines caused there seemed to be too much disk access doing nothing), and it reports Radeon GPU temp at 61degC.
The top cover is not extremely hard plastic (neither is outside shell case for that matter), but not like rubber either. This is one of my cons (too much plastic) - I would prefer doing away with so much plastic, just make it like a stereo receiver or dvd player with coated sheetmetal, or aluminum. Aluminum may be able to serve as shield for EMI immunity at the same time(?). I have had no "technical" problems "yet", though it is still burn-in break-in period. Win7 is OK, lot like Vista, but the Home Premium does not seem to allow for folder encryption.
With a few exceptions, I am happy with the Zino 410 (ample performance, low power and space saving, with daul displays). I wish there were more configurations, cause I just wanted the addon video card. Had to pay for the wireless to get the video card. It is not mentioned much, but I think having the addon video card increases performance not only by unburdoning the CPU from some display tasks, but also by keeping display memory separate from CPU memory... thinking shared memory may slow both processors down. Though I am a long-time Dell customer, I did look elsewhere, but came back because the Zino was what I was looking for. I rarely submit reviews, but I struggled over this purchase, and maybe this will help.
Pros:doc multimedia net email-news high bw net data
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4