Customer reviews for Inspiron N411z

Inspiron N411z

Inspiron N411z
3.78 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 132 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
10
1 Star
18
3.8
 / 
5
(132 reviews) 123
95 out of 13272%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron N411z
Review 1 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SNHMINI11
(Texas)
Title:

Dell 14z

PostedAugust 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop was not at all what I expected. It feels very cheap and after using it, I'm very disappointed.
Pros: The nice sleek aluminum diamond black color.
Cons: Very flimsy. When you close the lid it doesn't sound to shut smoothly. The trackpad with multi-finger gesturing (for example, the two finger swipe) does not work well at all! Nothing seems smooth about the design and operation of this laptop.
+290points
335of 380voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:happydude77
(Austin)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Awesome Value

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 14z was designed with me in mind. I didn't want to pay for a macpro but wanted something thin and didn't want to compromise on performance. This laptop has been great. The battery life is amazing and my wife loves that it doesn't way a bunch.
Pros
- Thin
- Snappy Performance
- Amazing Battery
Cons
- None
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steve90
Title:

Awesome Machine

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a very good machine.
Loaded with all new fast processor and a decent screen.Also,the ultra thin and light feature is unbeatable.
Totally worth the money.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Inspiron45
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome Machine

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is one great laptop.
Ultra thin and light.
Fully loaded sans a graphic card though.
Worth the money.
+3points
13of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JustAnotherPortlander
(Portland, OR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Cannot go wrong with this one

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Excellent design
Great aluminium body
Great rich look and feel
Nice Dark Brown color(Diamond Black)
Great Keyboard
Runs cool
Light
HDMI
USB 3.0
Intel WiDi
Core i5
Cons:
Touchpad a little bit coarse to touch, and sometimes non-responsive due to finger not moving smoothly over it. Adjusting the properties solves this issue.
Nothing else, just amazing,amazing laptop
Pros:netflix intel widi, video chat, sw development, word processing
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Gainseville,Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Inspiron 14z-Class Redifined

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a very good laptop.
Its light and fast at the same time.
Advantages:
1.Sleek and light.
2.Fast processor
3.Superb Keypad.
4.Great battery life.I can use it for 6 hr on time charge.
Disadvantages:
1.No video card.
Pros:coding, movies, documentation, gaminf
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Firebirds
(San Francisco)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very satisfied customer

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a Dell user (XPS for Home Office) and was needing a faster, lightweight laptop with larger screen for travel. The N411z is perfect. The keyboard is excellent, setup was a breeze and I can be anywhere in my home and connect to Wifi. I highly recomment this model and the value is awsome.
Pros:Travel, at home extra computer
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carwell
Title:

LOVE*LOVE*LOVE THIS LAPTOP!

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is the PERFECT size for the user that wants a smaller light weight laptop. We have 2 other 15.6 Dell laptops (and a Dell desktop) in our house. This provides all the power, memory, speed & battery life I need to have available while traveling.
I think it's construction is just fine. However, if you're not careful and you drop it, you will (just like every other manufacturer) damage it to some extent. The black color which I think is actually more bronze, is very rich.
Buy it!!! You'll love it!!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NotColorblind
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Colors Don't Match Up

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
***WARNING***
What Dell calls 'Diamond Black' is not black at all. I ordered my 14z in this color expecting a metallic black laptop but instead got what appears to be a Bronze or Espresso color. When I spoke to Dell's Customer Service about it they were less than helpful and demanded a 15% restocking fee should I return the laptop regardless of my dissatisfaction or feeling of being mislead. Is asking for the color to be what it's described as too much? I'm sure it doesn't change the computing power of the machine but it would be nice to like it when I looked at it.
Response from Dell.comBy AnneCforDellPGOctober 4, 2011
This was excellent feedback and based on comments in this and other Inspiron 14z customer reviews, we have changed the name to Espresso Black.
-16points
1of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GrnMtnGuy
Title:

Decent laptop overall

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Many reviewers have already identified the strengths and weaknesses of the new 14Z. I'll add my pros and cons and why.
Pros: small, light weight, good battery (so far), good "travel" machine.
Cons: very low end touch pad and even worse mouse buttons (very small and stiff as mentioned by others, but there is a "sweet spot" where the buttons work best and that is nearest the crack where the left and right buttons meet in the center). The lack of sound card means that your ONLY sound input option is the microphone built into the lid - there is no mic jack, no "stereo mixer" or "what you hear" option. Translation - if you intend to record streaming audio in stereo as you might with a sound card-equipped machine, you are out of luck with the 14Z. Other con is that there is no manual provided with the laptop and no software application or operating system DVDs provided.
Pros:home as a second pc, travel machine
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KevinFromBoston
(Boston, MA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Don't go by the online reviews

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must say, I was looking forward to getting this laptop. I was looking for something small, but bigger than a netbook. 13-14" range. What tipped me over to this laptop was the good battery life, diamond black aluminum lid, and the led backlit keyboard praised in all the reviews.
When it arrived, I was a bit disappointed that the case is not black, more oa a brushed bronze aluminum. You can clearly see it's not black just by looking where it meets the black plastic. Nice color, and by itself would have been fine, just NOT black.
So, I notice that the keyboard isn't backlit like all the reviews stated. Figuring it must be shut off, I search around on dell.com to find out how to turn it on, but when I try it nothing happens. So, I talk to dell support, only to find out that alhough the models sent to reviewers did in fact have a backlit keyboard, they pulled that feature before starting shipping. They will add it back at a later date as a configurable for a cost upgrade at a later date. He said sorry, but that per the web site, all features are subject to change without notice.
I'm glad I bought it somewhere where I can return it with no restocking fee because this puppy is going back!
+18points
25of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DannyO
Title:

Nice Laptop

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Opps....Dell initially sent the wrong order but when
I received the correct one I was impressed! Great build, size & weight, just what I was looking for! I have purchased many Dell products in the past and this one too meets all my needs. For the money you can't beat it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wildwillis
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

not great

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have stated, I ordered the black version of the 14z...it is far from black, more of a purple/bronze color. Also forget playing most fairly recent games on this PC. It repeatedly shuts down playing most games even on the lowest graphics settings. Not happy with this purchase, would return it if I could.
Pros:video streaming, games
Response from Dell.comBy AnneCforDellPGOctober 4, 2011
I'm sorry to hear you are not happy with your Inspiron 14z. As the design was optimized for thinness, portability and long battery life at an affordable price, it does not include discrete graphics. If you want a robust gaming experience, the trade off is going to be a slightly thicker system like the Inspiron 14R (with an optional AMD Radeon graphics card) or higher price, Like the XPS 15 /15z (with NVidia graphics). Or if you want the ultimate on-the-go gaming experience, I highly recommend the Alienware M14z which has more performance per square inch than a lot of muscle cars.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Itrieditand
Title:

Check it out before you buy it!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Please check this out at your local Costco before buying it on Dell, because they will make you pay the restocking fee (around $100) no matter what.
The Inspiron 14z is very nice looking. Even though it is not "black" it has a nice aluminum finish.
The screen is nice and bright. The keyboard feels great and typing is not hindered in any way.
The touchpad is fine. Some might not like the default sensitivity, but fooling around with the settings will solve any issues.
Now for the concerns. The mouse buttons are honestly atrocious. They are very stiff, and there is no noticeable click (sound or feel) that indicates you have made anything happen. With the amount of force I have to use, I feel like I am going to break my buttons everytime I have to use them. Double clicking with the left button is a pain, and I never look forward to right clicking. You are basically forced to tap the touchpad. While it is possible that this is an anomaly, I would direct anyone reading to official reviews, notable PCMag's, which mentions stiff buttons. Though PCMag seemed to think it was nothing to fret about, I disagree.
Perhaps I received a bad set of buttons, but calling Dell Support to address the issue was exhausting. I spent 2 and half hours with them, my problem was not solved, and when I mentioned returning the laptop, I was still told I had to pay the restocking fee. Again for anyone reading, please check this laptop out at your local Costco before you purchase it.
Other things to mention. The speakers are on underside of the computer, directly below where your wrists are when typing. I have noticed that some audio has issues when playing at above 50% volume. However you rarely need to go above 50% volume, because it is often as loud as other computers' 100%s.
The software that comes with the 14z is a bit annoying, and I would recommend uninstalling most of it if you buy this computer - you will notice a small speed boost during startup.
All in all, it is a nice computer, and would have been perfect if the mouse buttons were entirely different. I have asked for a replacement set, but I do not have high hopes.
Again, please check this out in person before you purchase it. I have a feeling the mouse button issue might be a deal-breaker for some.
Pros:home use, browsing streaming video, office use
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ScottF141
Title:

Great laptop, One of the best of many Dells

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I read through the reviews as I always do for just about anything I purchase these days. I don't think I need to restate some points like the color or backlit keyboard. True, it is not black but more of a brushed metal dark bronze and the keyboard is not backlit but I was not so concerned about the color or backlit keyboard (although have had backlit, that would be nice to have)
I have, in our house, every computing device from my son's gaming PC (we built) with three screen, liquid cooled Core i7 six core down to an 8gig IPad my wife uses for quick email and every PC configuration in between).
I wanted a realtively fast, thin, 14 inch laptop with good battery life that is solid and not "plastic, cheap build". I spilled a drink on my two year old Dell Studio 15 that had a 1066mhz bus, memory and and backlit keyboard.
Instead of Pros and Cons I would say (for the 14Z):
- If you want a reasonably fast, thin, light but solid, good battery life laptop for entertainment management, home office work and online activities this is a great laptop
- If you are looking for a gaming computer or graphics rendering, heavy load applications you would probably want a loaded XPS and maybe not the 14z.
Overall, really like this laptop and very happy with it. This is the 12th laptop in our home with eight being Dell over the last six years and definately would recommend the 14z to a friend.
Response from Dell.comBy AnneCforDellPGOctober 4, 2011
Thanks for positive feedback on the Inspiron 14z ! We are glad you like it! Based on comments in this and other Inspiron 14z customer reviews, we have changed the name to Espresso Black to more correctly reflect the system’s color. Also, as of Oct. 1, we have added a backlit keyboard option ($24.99). This was not available right after launch due to supply constraints.
+45points
49of 53voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dell14z
Title:

Just Right

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect mix of inspiron 15" specs in a compact 14" thin design.
Plenty of comments already about the (non-black) colour but it looks great and the aluminium is a quality finish.
The covers over the USBs/headphone jack are a little unnecessary and find that they get in the way of pluging in peripherals. Apart from this minor issue, laptop is great.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JuneH
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 14z Review

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would most likely recommend this laptop to a friend, with exception to a few minor issues.
I was quite happy with the Inspiron 14z when I received it, but was disappointed to find out that the backlit keyboard option was available less than one week after I placed my order. Having a backlit keyboard would have made this laptop a truly exceptional competitor to the 13" Macbook Pro, and I would have waited to order mine with this option.
The brushed aluminum finish is nice touch, although it is more of a dark chocolate color that a true black.
Other reviewers have mentioned the lack of a tactile response from the touchpad buttons. The buttons do seem rather stiff, but it is a minor issue that should be addressed and corrected.
Pros:college, Travel, streaming video
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jason1234
Title:

Okay Laptop

PostedOctober 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently bought the Inspiron 14z.
pro:
- sound is really good
- nice size and weight
- delivery and packaging is minimal and can be recycled easily
- screen is bright
- smallish power adapter
- feels solid and robust
- quick and reliable delivery
- nice keyboard with good click feel
- not too heavy
con:
- Its not diamond black. More a brown color which is not attractive.
- Fingerprints collect very quickly
- The screen is glossy. Dell should really offer an option to select glossy or matte during the order process. I am thinking of returning it due to the glossy screen. When the brightness is turned down the reflection just gets worse. I wouldn't buy a glossy laptop again since all their business laptops are matte.
- The keyboard letters are rather dark. Its not a bright white compared to other laptop keys. I wish I had ordered the backlit keyboard which I see as a must for this laptop
- Returns process is not friendly with restock/shipping costs
- Mouse buttons are hard and lack response. They take some getting use to
- Covers for the ports on the laptop are unnecessary
- The shinny chrome looking border for the keyboard detracts from seeing the keys clearly.
Overall I have mixed feelings for this laptop. Had I seen it in the store I probably would not buy it.
+29points
31of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John1991
(Dallas, Texas)
Title:

Great Product

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great product
-16points
5of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron N411z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MeTaLMaNiAk
Title:

Great!

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent product. Highly recommendable
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7