Customer reviews for Inspiron N311z

Inspiron N311z

Inspiron N311z
4.667 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
9 out of 9100%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron N311z
Review 1 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Couscous
(Canberra, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent value for money

PostedApril 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
A great, lightweight laptop with the things I need most: decent battery life and a relatively high processing speed. It lacks a DVD drive, but that's a redundant feature these days that's too heavy and takes up too many space; I've never missed it. This laptop suits my needs perfectly. After shopping around for quite a while, it was far better value for money that any competitor.
My only complaint is the software that was preloaded. I got rid of most of it to free up RAM. It'd be nice to be able to opt for a "clean" version during purchase.
Pros:mobile workplace (vpn writing databases)), entertainment (games tv films)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KESHRI
Title:

Light, Slim and Cool Black Colour Notebook.

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this one for my job related to Audit. For this very purpose, I used to travel many places. So this one is very light, slim and faster speed. I liked 1MP HD Webcam & Screen Resolution(768*1366). Video Calling experience is good. Only Optical Drive is missing. OS should be Home Premium instead of Home Basic. Besides, I exprienced Dell Support System particularly On-line Phone Support is much better.
Pros:Travel, job, video calling, streaming video, documentation, net surfing, Gaming, music
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeffDeakin
(Sydney NSW Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Light, powerful, unbeatable value

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use it on the train to research, write documents, write software. I run Ubuntu Tomcat/MySQL servers with Windows under VirtualBox to develop/demonstrate enterprise software without Internet connection. My daughter uses MySQL & Perl to do fast bioinformatics analysis on hers. The 7200rpm disk and i5 CPU make a huge difference. Fantastic machine. I would buy again.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ajay
(chennai)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

a portable powerful machine

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
pros: sleek,solid build,very powerful battery backup,this is of ideal size and makes a wonderful portable companion.
cons:boot time is quite slow even after disabling most services,comes with quite a bit of bloatware.
For those looking for a portable,powerful machine and on a budget that would not afford the likes of macbooks this would be the best buy.
deserves 4.5/5
Pros:home
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Arindam
Title:

Right Mix of Style and Substance

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The moment this model came out,it was like 'this one's perfect for me'. It has got all the features I need: a long battery life,good multimedia,portability,good looks and a nice mix of ports. Plus it has a great webcam (I think best in category) which is a big plus for me because I live away from my family.
Multi-touch works flawlessly most of the time,which increases productivity. The SRS speakers give commendable sound,with crisp mids and highs,which along with the high pixel-density screen make for great HD movie viewing. I'm yet to test the USB 3.o speeds,but Bluetooth 3.0 paired with a Samsung phone gave surprisingly fast data transfer. Also,the model stays cool enough in extended usage sessions.
For the cons: the keyboard feels tacky and poorly made,and typing's a bit noisy;but keys are generously spaced and feedback is good. It is missing a right Fn key,which is a bit of inconvenience. Also,the model is a bit low on specs,especially the hard drive capacity is a bit letdown. Also,for the price,you would expect Windows 7 Home Premium but it's no deal breaker.
Pros:surfing the internet, casual movies and music, research
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kunal

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I almost bought an Inspiron when I found the Studio Slim. I love the versatility it has and of course the speed, reliability, and the cool sleek black design. I live in the middle of nowhere with satelite internet and it works better than any other computer I have put on this connection. I have a 60" wide screen this is connected to with HDMI and talk about awesome!! No, I dont do any online gaming. I would have nothing but a Dell, period.
-2points
10of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sachin
Title:

Very slim and muscular laptop....Good design

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very slim and muscular laptop....Good design like Mack-book Air......Price is also affordable.
I have purchased it and easy to carry also
Pros:software development
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Alam
(Pune)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

light and yet powerful

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very light weight to travel, fast enough to music editing, screen and keyboard quality is good, and good battery life. Covered ports (Network port, USB etc) is another feature. Please don't ask for DVD drive.
Pros:web broswing, chatting, music
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron N311z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jagan
Title:

Compact and High configuration But Little costly

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Compact and High configuration But Little costly
Pros:software develpment
+6points
36of 66voted this as helpful.