Customer reviews for Inspiron Mini 1018

Inspiron Mini 1018

Inspiron Mini 1018
3.716 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 102 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
10
1 Star
17
3.7
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 101
70 out of 10269%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron Mini 1018
Review 81 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:johnistooslow
Title:

TOOOOO SLOW

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
my ipod 4 runs lot lot faster than this mini notebook.
Pros:web chats netflix skype messenger
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cmicahj
Title:

Know what you are buying

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Light-weight & compact; accomplishesbvinternet & email; seemingly competent 1.6 processor; singular speaker generates confident, rich, full sound for size and location; easy access portable memory port
Cons: Windows 7 Starter (can't say enough bad), installed RAM, shiny plastic top cover; only 2 USB ports; highest screen resolution 1024x600
Walking into this purchase, I knew my use would be specifically for me to have a portable means to work on any of my various writing projects without the trouble of the many devices and weight of my larger, older notebook computers.
But, bottom line… if you are looking for ‘on the go,’ only, you will be pleased with the purchase. That is ALL this computing solution is good for – checking email and surfing the internet at city Wi-fi hot spots. For me, it is not sufficient for music management as iTunes uses most of the available memory that Windows 7 Premium (that I upgraded to) does not. This causes frequent freezes that really requires more RAM. BUT and ALTHOUGH Dell offers (and the website give a specific recommendation for a 2G memory upgrade, AFTER purchase), 5 different technical support agents tell me is not compatible with the system. The final agent explains that you must have the LINUX operating system to upgrade to 2Gs of RAM. Once you open an office program or an internet browser, you won’t be able to do much else with what you might have stored on the 250G hard drive with the installed 1G of RAM.
+30points
33of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kaylie06
(Peterborough, Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great while it lasted..

PostedDecember 14, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got the mini in September of 2009, and I absolutely loved it. In October 2010 the battery started declining at a rapid rate, by the end of the month fully charged only lasted about 30minutes, it was annoying having to have it plugged in all the time, especially being a fourth year university student, those small seminar rooms don't have enough outlets for everyone! anyways that was annoying, and now to top it off the charger stopped working! I had to rush (had about 30 minutes) to email ALL of my essays to myself before I had zero access to my computer. After 15 months I am already on the hunt for another new computer, I would only recommend this is if you need a computer for about a year and don't have a lot of money to spend on it, if not it's not worth the risk. Needless to say this review was written on a friends computer!
Pros:university student
+42points
49of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:djarmy2004
(Fort Campbell)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Dell Mini 1018

PostedOctober 11, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a very basic netbook. If you plan on using it for the internet or any sort of photoshop programs i would say save your money and get a bigger laptop or net book. So far my experience with this netbook hasnt been that great. It does get on the internet and do what i need it to, it just does it at half the speed i am used to. My last laptop was a Compaq with a 1.8ghz processor and 2gb of ram and was completly fast wireless. Some people would say maybe its my connection but when i ping my connection with speedtest.net i get a 8.9 MB DL and a 3.4UL speed where as my other laptops wireless ping at 15.4DL and 5.3UL speed. I figured buying this netbook with no viruses that it would be faster than my old laptop that did have viruses. The Dell Mini is very nice in looks and its a huge plus that it is smaller than most of laptops. It is very easy to carry around. Overall out of the 5 stars i give this net book a 2. I would suggest maybe the Dell Mini 1012 as they might be a bit faster. GL with your choice and hope this review helps.
Pros:streaming, on home network
+23points
55of 87voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Erica830138
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Title:

Unhappy with product

PostedDecember 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, this product has disappointed me. I feel like it is always freezing. ALWAYS. For once I would like to turn on my netbook and not have to wait 20 minutes for it to load and freeze and then load. Everytime I click on a new page it takes 2 minutes for it to load. I would not reccommend this product to anyone unless you like to have your time wasted during what should be simple tasks.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:flazex
Title:

Bad pc

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very bad, slow, the fake 2 processors works like half of centrino (mentioning that there is no support for windows xp) witch i had with my old latitude d500. I admit that it would be really good peace if it would have xp drivers, but it does not, small and light is no excuse for such mess.
Pros:home
-8points
4of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vinnie84
(Midwest city)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Terrible Product

PostedAugust 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is VERY slow performing even the most basic of tasks. Checking e-mail and surfing the net are painfully slow. Better off spending the additional $200 to $250 for a low end full sized laptop computer. Looks good, size is nice.
Pros:checking e-mail, surf net
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CAM48
(Raleigh, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not what I expected

PostedAugust 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had problems with sound. Also had to replace Hard Drive. Problems with boot up.
Pros:Travel
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mvillegas9
(el paso texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dissapointed

PostedJune 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I always buy Dell and I'm a huge Dell fan. However, I bought this mini as a gift to my cousin for her high school graduation (to help her in college). The laptop won't even power up! It just has a black screen and beeps. I looked in the manual and it sends me to the support page, the support page link for that particular problem doesn't work. I guess I'm going to have to call Dell to get a new one =( It's been a hassle.
Pros:college studying
-13points
5of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Danchamp
(ottawa on)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

no good

PostedApril 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this machine for 2 yrs
and everyone here doesn't like this thing, it's slow
the mouse pad is no good i regret no returning it not to mention it's not upgradeable
Pros:internet surfing
-1point
14of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jknox
Title:

Better off with a laptop

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just think I would have been a lot better off with a laptop. Windows starter 7 has a lot of limitations in what you can do. The netbook is very slow and times when it is doing updates to programs it is even slower. And the touch pad functionality is useless it is so touchy that you easily tap the surface when you are scrolling and go someplace else. I had to buy a mouse just to be able to use this netbook. It also has a very cheep look and feel to it I do not think it will last very long. If you need something small that you can take with you to just get on the internet to do emails this netbook may work for you but it is very small and not easy to use without a mouse. I was going to return it. I looked into it and found that Dell wanted a 15% restocking fee. I was not going to lose that much money and also pay to ship it back to them. Well they lose because I will never buy another Dell computer.
+61points
102of 143voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FaithfulDellPurchaser
(Calgary, Alberta)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

You'll be disappointed

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
DON'T BUY THIS DELL MINI!
I am a faithful purchaser of Dell products, having bought 30+ systems and laptops over the past 15 years. I made the mistake of buying 15 of these minis for our managers.
It is painfully slow - start-up 5 minutes minimum. If there is an update waiting to be installed, it will go well past 10 minutes.Any program will take 3+ minutes to open. Then, another 2-5 minutes for your file to open after that.
It cannot play video smoothly no matter how low the resolution.
You will be hanging yourself waiting for an internet page to load.
It is a piece of junk. Unless you have a lot of time to waste don't buy this product. It cannot be sold cheap enough to warrant waiting and waiting and waiting for it to work at a reasonable performance level.
DON'T BUY THIS DELL MINI!
Pros:business, personal
+101points
110of 119voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DeeSir
(Douglasville, GA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Worse Netbook Ever

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this for my son for Christmas, out the box it didn't work, motherboard and LCD were bad. Dell offered to have it repaired but I said no, send me a new one and customer service was great. I received a new one about a week later and this one was soooooo slow. I returned it and haven't purchased another one. My daughter has a dell netbook that we purchased Christmas of 2009 and it's works fine, so I didn't understand what went wrong with this one. I would not recommend this product to anyone!
+25points
32of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LMH
(Regional Australia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not a good buy

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very very slow and within 1 month of owning several keys on the keyboard no longer work when pressed. Very frustrating to have to use the on- screen keyboard for 6 weeks while travelling.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KatyC
Title:

NOT worth it

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas. It is painfully slow and just is poor quality in general. Aside from being slow it's very "skippy" when scrolling down. Called Dell to exchange for better model and they have a 21 day return policy. As I stated before we bought this for Christmas as recieved it on Nov 30. 21 day return policy expired before we even opened it. Now we are stuck with it. Buyer BEWARE!
Pros:internet playing games
+14points
22of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DisappointedinDell213
Title:

Mini not worth the money

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a college student and bought the mini to use in class. Within 6 months we started having problems. I called Dell and they said to make sure that it is fully charged. Ok, we did that. Every time I called Dell they said the battery wasn't charging enough. When they finally realized there was a problem, Dell said they would fix it but I would have to buy their service package because the computer was two days past warranty. Didn't matter that I had a history of problems that they refused to fix. Turns out the AC adapter had a power surge that cooked the motherboard. I used to be a fan of Dell computers and thought they made a good product, but I honestly will never again buy a Dell computer. It's a waste of money. You are better off spending the extra hundred dollars and getting something a little more reliable.
Pros:School
+32points
38of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ilza
Title:

it is SLOW

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is extremely slow. Took five minutes just to boot. Starting Google took another five... it definitely needs more than 1 gig of ram.
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sgordon
(Port Charlotte , Fl)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Save your money !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 29, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got my Dell Mini today. I was very dissapointed with it.It is slow. Windows 7 Starter is the worst operating system ever. It doesn't allow changes to the wallpaper. I can't wait to get my return authorization so I can send it back and buy a better netbook elsewhere.
Pros:internet, chat
+11points
22of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 99 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nesix
(San Francisco CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not Impressed

PostedDecember 14, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this netbook with the $199 bundle offer. There is a lot of truth to the saying "You get what you pay for".
There's a few key areas which I thought were steps backwards.
1. Power supply plug: This thing is HUGE. Depending on how your power outlet is laid out, it takes up 3 slots on my power strip. I don't know why they didn't go with the traditional design. The cord is also too short.
2. It's bigger than I expected. Footprint wise, it's about 15% bigger than my older netbooks that's 2-3 years old.
3. It's slow. Even with the newer ION processor, it's slower than I expected.
4. If you're looking for a very, very, very, VERY basic computer to do light web browsing, IM chatting then you're fine. I am debating whether I want to return this. While it's cheap, I feel it's not worth the $199.
+21points
27of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 100 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bluej
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Save your money for a better machine

PostedNovember 29, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my wife a mini for web browsing and for writing basic documents. We have found the coputer to be very slow adn lmiited in capability. SHe has also tried download pictures to the computer for posting on the internet. Again, painfully slow. I would recommned getting a slightly larger computer with a faster speed.
Pros:web browsing, basic document creation
+12points
33of 54voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 6