Customer reviews for Inspiron Mini 1018

Inspiron Mini 1018

Inspiron Mini 1018
3.716 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 102 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
10
1 Star
17
3.7
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 101
70 out of 10269%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron Mini 1018
Review 1 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Heshie
(New York Metro)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good to the Last Drop

PostedOctober 28, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, that last drop was a month or two after the warranty expired.
This netbook is a wonderful piece of gear. So much better in every way than silly things like iPads or Chromebooks.
Let's face it: those other gizmos are cheap - or inexpensive - and are special purpose items, while the Dell Netbook runs circles around them, giving you access to all your Windows-based apps, full communications, and more.
There simply doesn't seem to be any reason to buy one of those tablets when you can buy a Dell netbook, which weighs marginally more, but gives you everything, including speed and performance.
My only gripe is that it is dead, and died after the warranty expired; now, it will cost too much to have it diagnosed, then fixed.
I'm lost without it and the iPad only fills in for reading and some Internet-based apps.
Buy a Dell netbook, but get a full warranty and do not let it lapse. You will never miss having a so-called fashionable, but much less functional, iPad or Android tablet.
Pros:versatile, small, light weight, runns full applications
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Title:

I Love My Dell Inspiron Mini

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased my Dell Inspiron Mini 1018 in November of 2010 and have been enjoying it ever since.
The diminutive size and 3 lb weight of this computer are so convenient that you can lay a pillow on your stomach and rest the Mini on top of the pillow to surf the net or watch movies.
Having a 6 or 10 lb notebook resting on your stomach would not be as comfortable during a two hour movie.
For the $279 I spent on my Inspiron 1018 I am extremely pleased with the overall performance of this unit, even if its processor speed and memory are not at the head of the pack.
For a bit more than $250 you have a computer that enables you do to most of what a more expensive computer can for a fraction of the price.
The 1018 is light weight, however, after nearly a year and half's daily use it has stood up quite well. Surfing the net and writing during the day, and watching movies at night, the 1018 continues to serve this author's needs.
As such, I am sorry to hear that the netbook is no longer being produced due to what are reported to be poor sales.
I just wonder if this is the real story, since I have long thought that in comparison to the next level up notebook and wireless models like the IPAD, the netbook represented a tremendous value.
I have also read of other netbook owners who were surprised to find that the netbook is no longer being produced.
I tend to be skeptical of the official explanation, and wonder if the netbook, given its affordability, may have been cutting into the sales of IPADS and some of the more expensive notebook models that companies like Dell, Acer and HP have been selling, and was ditched for this reason, rather than less than stellar performance.
I am just glad that I bought mine when I did, since its light weight really comes into its own when laying the unit on your stomach to watch a movie, or surfing the Internet late at night.
I hope that Dell brings the Inspiron netbook back with a bit more power and memory. As for the 160 Gig harddrive, I will never come close to using all of it, and would prefer to have a smaller harddrive and a faster processor.
The latter would make the netbook an even bigger bargain than it already is.
Jim
Pros:home use
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mini10fan
Title:

Inspiron Mini 10 1018

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a Dell fan, so keep that in mind. And I have the mini 10 1018 and can't speak to the other mini models. I previously had a mini 9 which I loved but they do not make it currently. The 10 is a fantastic netbook. If you want a full size computer with blazing speed, this is not it but it is not meant to be that. If you want a lightweight, fast enough, well featured netbook for less than $300 this is it. In fact, I am not sure that Dell even has a viable competitor in this category except Toshiba but I have not compared their products. I have seen complaints about the mini touchpad. They have to be about a different computer. Mine has no issues.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DELL079854
Title:

THE WINNER IN DELL INSPIRON MINI LAPTOPS

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
AMAZING. Wifi b/g/n, bluetooth, great gameing possibilities, fully loaded with basic needs, webcam, huge hard drive, and much more.
Best of all is that it only costs $349.99.
I don't know how to explain how portable it is, and the battery remains charged up to 7 hours and 18 minutes.
WHAT DO YOU WANT MORE GO GET ONE, COME ON WHAT ARE YOU YOU WAITING FOR?
Pros:everything, i am using it right now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Englishcommoner
(Surrey, England)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good for what it is intended for.

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
A plucky little computer for what it's worth, the inspiron is a great little netbook for travelling or for projects requiring intricacy. It operates just like a normal notebook or home desktop but with the smaller size. During use I haven't yet encountered any major problems with the way the computer operates and runs software like MS office but it is obvious that it struggles with 2 or more programs running simultaneously. I found that there were numerous occasions where my entire CPU processing allocations were being taken up by just running a Google chrome window and an MS Word window at the same time, with a noticeable drop in performance rate. That said, for it's size, it can compete with the best although customer service for the computer is rather lacklustre.
So far, however, I have had some major issues with build quality. Over the past 3 months I have owned this computer I have had 2 major hardware issues. After the first one occurred, I sent it back to dell's customer support so that they could fix the problem and they took their time returning it. However, days later, another hardware error occurred. Thankfully though, now everything is fine and I am revelling in the greatness of this little PC.
Pros:video streaming, surfing the internet, design and development
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Erica830138
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Title:

Unhappy with product

PostedDecember 8, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, this product has disappointed me. I feel like it is always freezing. ALWAYS. For once I would like to turn on my netbook and not have to wait 20 minutes for it to load and freeze and then load. Everytime I click on a new page it takes 2 minutes for it to load. I would not reccommend this product to anyone unless you like to have your time wasted during what should be simple tasks.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scott44
Title:

Small but functional

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: It has an excellent screen image and the keyboard feels like that of a regular laptop. It does not feel crowded. The case itself feels sturdy and made of quality plastic. It also enough ports to be fully functional. The case is attractive and well designed.
Cons: None that I can think of. I looked at a Samsung, Acer and HP netbook. This one is by far my favorite.
Pros:work processing, internet access on the go.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellcomputeruser
(Hollywood, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Mini 1018 is the Best Little Netbook Ever!

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased the Inspiron Mini 1018 and immediately set up a brand new hard drive with Windows XP. Most of the windows 7 drivers also work with XP except for the Realtek network drivers and the Intel video driver. Fortunately, XP drivers for these two devices are readily available from the manufacturer's websites. XP now works perfectly on this little netbook and runs at lightning speed. Also set up another brand new hard drive with a fresh installation of Windows 7 Ultimate and Office 2010. Again, super easy to set up and now my little Mini 1080 really rocks... With either Windows XP or Windows 7! My little Mini 1018 in now my favorite machine and my wife really likes it to. It's the perfect little netbook, and WAY BETTER than an iPad or Tablet PC.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:flazex
Title:

Bad pc

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very bad, slow, the fake 2 processors works like half of centrino (mentioning that there is no support for windows xp) witch i had with my old latitude d500. I admit that it would be really good peace if it would have xp drivers, but it does not, small and light is no excuse for such mess.
Pros:home
-8points
4of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kevin58
(Cary, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Product

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Mini is great! The system is fast and contains alot of storage. I am able to do all the task I need to on a smaller form than a regular size laptop that weighs 7 + pounds. I love having the ability to be mobile at a light weight.
Pros:stremaing video, reports in office
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gulliver
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Inspiron Mini is inspiring!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Dell Inspiron Mini 10 to use when travelling for emails the internet and Skype. The limitations of Windows 7 starter don't concern me as my needs are simple. I like the size of the keyboard as it's quite large for a small laptop. I would have liked a brushed exterior finish to avoid fingerprints,however. For my purposes, it's a good choice, the price was good and competitive. The online phone sales service was outstanding as I had lots of basic questions which the sales staff answered without patronising me.
Pros:Travel
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vinnie84
(Midwest city)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Terrible Product

PostedAugust 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is VERY slow performing even the most basic of tasks. Checking e-mail and surfing the net are painfully slow. Better off spending the additional $200 to $250 for a low end full sized laptop computer. Looks good, size is nice.
Pros:checking e-mail, surf net
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shetan
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Netbook 1018

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Inspiron Mini 1018 as I have always been perfectly satisfied with any purchase from Dell.
Due to traveling overseas I have found the 1018 to be a light, mobile and easily connected companion. As it has a large disk for it's size there is plenty of room to save any pictures etc.
I usually use the 1018 for email, surfing and the occasional word document. The battery has a long life which allows plenty 0f usage without needing to be recharged.
The only regret I have is that the Dell 1018 does not allow for an upgrade in memory.
Pros:Travel, email
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CAM48
(Raleigh, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not what I expected

PostedAugust 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had problems with sound. Also had to replace Hard Drive. Problems with boot up.
Pros:Travel
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:turtle388
(Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

works great for what i need

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
My laptop is good for what i need i havent had any problems
Pros:traveling
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DRMilian
(Dominican Republic)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

very satisfied

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
i have been using this product for about two weeks, i have no complains so far, i even stoped using my regular laptop. what i didn´t like was windows starter, so i upgraded, but it have been working nicely. i mostly read books, create documents and whatch movies on it, even online videos look fine. good battery life.
Pros:Travel, reading, documents, play movies
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Manoj
Title:

Performance

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
All configuration is goog but two drawbacks from my point of view
1. L2 cash memory is poor(512kb) only
2. Absence of High performance graphics card{cant
play higher graphics game
+Points: is Excellent Design Keybord also have well finished
Pros:multipurpose
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zef100
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

SLOW!

PostedJuly 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I knew when i bought this mini that it wouldnt be super fast but i have only had for 24 hours and it is already driving me insane! It capability seems to be that of laptops 10 years ago! I really only need it for web browsing but most web pages are taking 5-10 seconds to load each time which is extremely slow. I wish now i had spent a further $100 to get a product that will save me time in the long run. i feel gutted that Dell are selling a product that is no faster than my mobile phone (which is also VERY slow) to sum up i am very disappointed with the Dell Mini!
Pros:Travel, bach up computer, internet
+15points
21of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DoggydadNC
(Winston-Salem, NC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great little netbook

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfect for traveling!
Pros: Small, lightweight, easy to take with you anywhere, great wireless connectivity.
Cons: A litle slower than a full-size laptop, but hasn't really been an issue.
If you're looking for a nice small netbook for a great price, check this one out.
Pros:Travel, at home on the deck
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron Mini 1018
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jackieCU
(San Antonio, Tx)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Perfect for what I need!

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my mini! I went from my old Gateway Tablet that was purchased through school to this netbook...it is so convenient! Of course it took some getting used to because it is much smaller, but it didn't take long. Now that I am out of school I mostly use it for checking e-mail, surfing the net, and more importantly, skyping with my husband who is in Iraq. I can't wait to take it with me whenever I travel...now I just need a cute carrying case :) Thanks Dell!
Pros:e-mail, web surfing, skype, Travel, photos
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6