Customer reviews for Inspiron Duo

Inspiron Duo

Inspiron Duo
3.785 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 279 reviews
5 Stars
124
4 Stars
70
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
23
1 Star
38
3.8
 / 
5
(279 reviews) 275
205 out of 27973%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron Duo
Review 1 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GriffDiggityDog
(Reading, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

SLOW WIRELESS

PostedApril 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the design of the laptop, but the wireless card is extremely slow. To download a 1.88 MB file it took more than 2 minutes. To download a 100 MB file, it took over 2 hours! I have other wireless computers connected to the router, which is a Cisco Linksys EA6500 router, brand new, and I am getting excellent speed on my old Dell Latitude E6400, and my Dell OptiPlex 755. And to make it worse there is no Ethernet port. So I am stuck with a computer with the slowest wireless on the planet.
Pros:small, robust, well designed
Cons:slow, short battery life, no ethernet port, only 2 usb ports, no vga port
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bcw448
(Oakland, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

5 stars under Windows 8, 1 star under Windows 7

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Dell Inspiron Duo almost 2 years ago. It was then factory loaded with Windows 7, using it under Windows 7, the machine was so slow and unresponsive. So after using it for a month or so, it went to my desk drawer and start collecting dust.
Until now, M$ launches Windows 8, and have a promotion of $39.99 Windows pro upgrade. At first I want to purchase a new Windows 8 touch screen computer, but it is so expensive. And all of a sudden I remembered that I do have a touch screen Inspiron Duo sitting inside my drawer. So I took it out, charge it up and went to the M$ site and purchased the $40 Windows 8 upgrade.
Woo! What a day and night difference, Windows 8 runs really great with this netbook. It is running so fast and so smooth, Suddenly I turn from hate to in love with this Duo. I now cannot put it down.
Now I even upgrade it with a SSD and Intel 6230 wifi/bt network card. So it boots and shut down in second(s).
When you install Windows 8 make sure you have the right touch screen driver, google "dell inspiron duo windows 8 samsung touch screen driver", once it installed, everything works, even screen rotation, also accelerometer works too, I can even play games with the accelerometer.
Also the Duo has 1366X768 screen resolution, so Windows 8 "Snap" feature works too.
So if you have a Dell Inspiron Duo Windows 7 sitting around in your house and you hate it, do not hesitate to upgrade it to Windows 8, I guarantee that you will fell in love with it again. :-)
+24points
28of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Barrandray
(Los Angeles Basin)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Inspiron 1090D Duo

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Still using, no hardware issues. Software for flip screen could be better. Now upgraded to Windows 8 and flip screen works more efficiently Love the Duo even more now. Sometimes larger laptops are not efficient to carry and use.
Pros:pleasure, Travel, business
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mandapanda8712
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Title:

I love it!

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop because my previous laptop was going to go to a friend to help with his computer business. I orginally thought about buying an iPad, but backed out because I already have an iPhone and I wanted something different. I absolutely LOVE this convertible. It's design makes it easy for me to do several tasks. I think the size is perfect compared to my previous laptop which was 17" (too big for me). I have kids under the age of two so I can sit this little laptop on either the arm of my chair or couch or my other leg with a child sitting on my lap. The hard drive did go out almost a year after I got it and Dell fixed it for me at no cost to me because it was under warranty. It doesn't act slow. It never crashes. I think this is the best purchhsae I have ever made with electronics.
Pros:streaming video, online shopping, social networking, instant messaging, email
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CarolineCosta1686
Title:

Unfortunately I bought this computer

PostedOctober 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Inspiron duo mostly for job reasons. As soon as I bought it I felt as if the computer was slow, but I barely used it since I also had a Mac. I knew in my new occupation I would use more windows and so I thought I would give dell a try. I promise you, I have never in my life been so unsatisfied with a product as much as I am with this device. It's slow/ always has something I need to fix and I barely use it, I barely use its memory also. I cannot tell you enough to honestly STAY AWAY from this product..
Pros:home, emailing for work
-3points
18of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schindler1968
Title:

Inspiron Duo

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Worked perfect for the wife and now I have it. I use it as a tablet with windows 8 and would rather have this over her IPad. I have owned other brands of pc's but by far Dell has been the best performer out of them all.
Pros:entertainment
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:whiteboy
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedAugust 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice pc but not worth the money. Buy a real laptop.
Pros:personal
-1point
10of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:peter55
(usa)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

work but duo stage no good

PostedJuly 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
no good i am so disappoyted wy did i buy this computer battery life wery lo duo stage is not working
-15points
10of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:salomaha
(Omaha nebraska)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

laptop verses tablet

PostedJuly 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product as far as a laptop is average...the product as a tablet is absolutely terrible in every way...DELL indicated in the beginning that they were working on updates/upgrades/enhancements but have failed to produce them...also the screen sensitivity is very slow compared with the IPAD & Kindle Fire. That was the main reason DELL produced the Inspiron to compete with IPAD & Kindle Fire.
Pros:home & business
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bbs0713
(Muncy, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Less than two weeks---DEAD

PostedJuly 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this originally AWESOME computer for less than two weeks... came home from work today and nothing. At first I thought it was just asleep.. then I noticed the power button alternating yellow and off. Tried powering on, nothing. Unplugged, tried power-cycling again... nothing. My call to Dell was met with someone I'm pretty sure has never actually looked inside a computer (telling me to touch the CPU fan WHILE IT'S STILL PLUGGED IN?!?) I guess they're sending someone out to replace the motherboard... I'm pretty skeptical of the entire product... if it's been less than 2 weeks and it's already dead... what kind of a lemon did I get? And what's going to wrong next... and how much is going to go wrong when the warranty is up? If it's dying on week 2, I'm considering sending back. This is my 5th Dell Computer, but it's not the quality I expect... I bought DELL for the name-brand quality... if I wanted an Acer, I would have gone to Sams Club and bought one for $1000 LESS $$$. I didn't spend $1k + for it to die 2 weeks after I get it... VERY disappointed in the quality of the computer AND the tech. support.
Pros:streaming video/music, web browsing/email
+5points
13of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Madwulf
Title:

Dell Inspiron Duo

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I picked this one up as a 'use at work' computer. It's very useful as such. The virtual keyboard is hard for me to use, as I have size 14 hands. I've started using a stylus, and it's still stumbles sometimes. The video is jerky and stumbles over itself when playing games, but otherwise it works flawlessly. I've been using it for work as a key programmer using a company's proprietary hardware/software. So far the only let down is the video processor. Training videos come through this thing in chunks. The flip screen is normally in the tablet position. It's a clock when not being used and sitting in it's docking station. Wish it had double the memory though.
Pros:set up of product. (work), merchandise tracking and records.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Harshen
(Mauritius)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice Hybrid

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have been using this hybrid for almost a year now. I installed Windows 8 Release Preview on the device as Windows 7 is not exactly touch friendly. Also replaced the HDD with an SSD, gave the tablet a little speed boost.
Overall, awesome device for being the 1st hybrid on the market and expecting more features from Windows 8.
Note: Definitely recommended for Generation Y and Z. Baby Boomers and Generation X might have trouble using touch features and the new metro interface in Windows 8!!!
Pros:Travel, entertainment, browsing, productivity
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:manyAdell
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

dissatisfied

PostedMay 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Owned for 5 months now.
The touch screen is not very good. On-screen keyboard not user frinedly. On scree features not intuitive. Basically this is no more that a weak netbook and the touch screen side is useless
First Dell I've owned that I would not recommend. I came on to write a review and found this product is discontinued. Good thing. these do make good paperweights when you have the window open.
Pros:i don't use it as it is slow and poorly designed
+6points
16of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pcs4st
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing Little Tablet/Computer

PostedMay 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I considered getting an Ipad, but I have alot of programs that I need for work. The ipad and others are built with useless apps that only have 4-16GB. To me, this is child's play. I need a computer but portable enough and touch screen is not needed, but a great feature. The netbook is fast and I am so surprisely satisfied with this little thing. It will be a replacement to my desktop computer. I wish Dell would contunie to make, it is a great concept at a great price!
Pro: Everything!!!
Cons: HDMI and low battery usage
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AveryB
Title:

Not what I was expecting

PostedApril 6, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this computer expecting a normal laptop, just smaller, but to my surprise, it is practically useless as a laptop. There is no port for an SD card, HDMI hookup, or even a CD drive. I don't know if all netbooks are like this, but if they are, then they are a complete waste of time. The tablet feature is completely useless, too. The only reason to use it as a tablet is to play games or read e-books, but you could do both of those things exactly the same way using the mouse, which is way easier than the touch screen. Overall, I am experiencing extreme buyers remorse with this computer and I'm not surprised that they don't make it anymore.
-19points
15of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EdithT
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

AWESOME!

PostedApril 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Duo PC is so esay to use that is my handy dandy tool at my job. I'm a Chemistry professor and I love to walk and have my note at hand fast and easy and this duo PC helps me achieve that.
Pros:Presentation, notes
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 24, 2012
Hi EdithT,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us .We are happy to see your 5 star ratings for this product. Wish you good luck and I hope to see you being our happy customer even in the future .

Thank you for choosing Dell !
Have a good weekend.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mkramer5004
(Fresno California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A suprising find

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: This is a surprisingly powerful little tablet. I bought this for my wife for her work. She is a doctor and needed something to do her charting with practice fusion. She tried the asus transformer but it just did not have the right feel. The Duo being a Windows 7 tablet was the perfect fit. She is able to do her charting and run Office Professional and Adobe Acrobat with ease. She loves using a stylist for yhr tablet function and able to switch to keyboard mode in a flash. She has actually gotten 7+ hours of use out of it without a charge. The screen is fast and responsive.
Cons: No sd slot. But she got a nubbin usb flash drive that is plent of external storage for her
Pros:electronic medical charting, recreation
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cardona
(Brooklyn)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Pretty Awesome

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop is the ideal weight to carry around.
Pro: Weight, sleek, Reversible, Stylish
Cons- No disk drive
Pros:school work, personal
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:doggy432
(Columbus,Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

The Mini putor

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ok, I am a mini cooper driver,this product has a lot of the same features, it is fast and corners well. I thought I would have problems because I have big fingers and use of a touch screen would be hard for me,but this is great Did i mention my mini cooper is a convertible, just like my new putor I have the option to put the top down and have fun, I have friends who have that I thing,there first complant too fragile,this is a well built product,I only use Dell. Walter
Pros:Travel, maping
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron Duo
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mccuejm2
Title:

Great idea, terrible performance

PostedMarch 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking for a computer for school and work. I had no intention to use it for anything other than that. My problem is, I can barely do that. When I first got the laptop, every time I shut it down and started it back up, the memory would fail (get the blue screen of death). So I had to return it just to get the bare bones form of Windows 7, with none of the special programs Dell advertised. I can barely use Microsoft Office, and I really need Word. It constantly locks up and freezes. I refuse to turn it off because half the time I start it back up, the memory will still fail (blue screen of death). This slow performance affects the tablet as well. As I rotate in tablet mode, it very slow, and freezes up. Maybe its just me, but I can barely hear the speakers. If they put some effort into making this a better system, that don't freeze and lock up, this would have been a great product. But if failed.
Pros:School, personal, word proccesor
-4points
10of 24voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14