Customer reviews for Inspiron 660s

Inspiron 660s

Inspiron 660s
4.412 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 318 reviews
5 Stars
195
4 Stars
91
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
6
1 Star
13
4.4
 / 
5
(318 reviews) 317
293 out of 31892%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 660s
Review 1 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigMemory
(Washington, DC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Media Center 660s

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 660s with an i3 Intel processor is a great low power server that can push HD video running Windows 8 Pro.
The cons is the case is tight, you could fit an SSD in it but thats about it. The conventional hard disk is in a fairly standard bracket so that could be replaced if necessary. It has some nice USB 3.0 ports so that allows you to access an external drive system at high speed.
Im running Windows Media Center on it ...it consumes only 26 watts while waiting to record and 31 watts when recording!
Pros:low power, fast performance
Cons:poor internal expandability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:2homeuser2
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This computer uses Windows 8

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wish there had been an option to have the unit shipped with another operating system. Windows 8 is not user friendly, not really compatible with the operating systems on my other dell computers and laptops. File sharing is difficult as I like to be able to be on any of my home computers and access files on another computer. Windows 8 requires a Microsoft account in order to add programs. Why?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chevy39
(Rhode Island)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

excellent space saving product

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product is great but the operating system that comes with it ( windows 8 ) is not so great. It is space saving & light weight. I am happy with the product & would recommend it.
Pros:space saving & light weight.
Cons:operating system (windows 8 ) not so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mary882
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

660

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hate windows 8.
Cannot upgrade to free 8.1 because my installed win. 8 is corrupted.(per customer service)
Very hard to navigate and find things with the search function.
Regret purchase.
Wish I had never made the purchase. Eagerly awaiting ne OS to overwrite win. 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robzyk
(Racine, WI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great things come in small packages

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is an upgrade from my 5 year old insperon 530. I love that this is smaller and has all the features of my old one and more. Just had to get use to Windows 8 but I am getting there. I have always had a Dell and would buy nothing else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Doug25
(Toledo ,Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

the features are great

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Mailing was fast,tower was more compact which i like, performance is faster, quieter, and more efficient. i would recomend to any one looking at this tower , price is great,shipping is fast, performance is great, how can you go wrong? thank's, Doug
Pros:compact and efficient, price, ease of use, set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jerry60
(Hereford Pa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

simple yet productive

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have it now for a week and the 660s does everything a more expensive computer does, It gets the job done thank you dell
Pros:sleek and slender, gives you more room but gets it done
Cons:can not add an extra hardrive internally, i would like to add an eternal hard drive but it d
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ellen52
(Spencer, NY)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I am pleased with this product.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Device functions very well. Operating system is user friendly/intuitive. I am enjoying. Good value for the money. I have always been a fan of Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:phr2014
(Buffalo, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

happy with inspiron 660s desktop

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
very pleased with performance; nice size, features, economical - good so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PrairieGrandma19
(Kamloops, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell was recommended to my husband and I when we were both looking for a new replacement. Never again. From start to finish it was a miserable experience. Seniors with only an average computer skill need simpler product, and means of getting our needs met. We ended up taking the new computers (which were delivered more than a week after the promised date) to a computer repairman to help get us up and running. Really!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PIzzapatty
(Slippery Rock, PA 16057, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Excellent Value

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was looking for a replacement for a Windows XP computer and wanted one with Windows 7. This opportunity was the perfect choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:davdelac
(Anderson, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

660s desktop

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
excellent running pc. when you first start your pc read all information and follow the instructions ...it will be easy to set up and get going ASAP.
Pros:easy to setup
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Herb13
(Ohio, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Good Value

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I basically use the desktop to teach, create PowerPoint, email, and surf the web. Good value for me needs.
Pros:good value
Cons:had to add additional memory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Judith124
(Lake Worth, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell Inspiron 660S Tops My Expectations

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a longtime user of Dell computers, I was looking for a basic desktop for light to medium use. This desktop is not only sexy, sleek, and small but it is amazingly quiet, very responsive, and a pleasure to work on. Thanks Dell, keep up the good work. My son researched this and bought two for himself.
Pros:everything about this computer
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joyce108
(Erie, Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

insperion 660s

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the second insperion I have purchased. For the money ,it's well worth it. Love the way it operates, and so easy to set up.The preformance is wonderful. I would buy this computer over again, and the low cost fits the budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:berny446
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Value

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Delivery was only a couple days. Setup was easy. The 660s is very fast. I am very pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sallust
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

660S good value

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
the 660S is a good value desktop. The Windows 8 OS takes a little getting used to, but the Dell Desktop is slim and works great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SAVATTHI
(Kingman, Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Love the upgrade to our entertainment TV

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
At first it was "Oh My!" what have I done. I have Windows 7 on my home computer. This one was for our 55" LG TV for entertainment and surfing the net so everyone can see, instead of huddling around a small screen. Windows 8 looked like Greek for the first day as I don't have a smart phone so I was lost. Aha, I followed directions, watched all the help videos and worked my way through it. The videos are very clear. I also set up my home network so I can see files and pictures that are stored on the main computer. My husband plays games and gets where he wants to go. If we, in our 70s can do it, anyone can! We really like Windows 8 which I immediately upgraded to the free 8.1.
Pros:really good instruction videos, very easy set up, easy to personalize
Cons:i like the old instruction manuals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pelon
(Monmouth,Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great little computer

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this for my wife and the two of us are extremely happy with this computer. Small footprint, but is a powerhouse. Glad we made the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dodgerbug
(San Dimas, Ca)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very happy with this computer

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have bought three of these computers in the last 4 months. Needed a basic computer that we can still have Windows 7 on and it works perfectly for our small Embroidery business.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16