Customer reviews for Inspiron 660s

Inspiron 660s

Inspiron 660s
4.39 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 323 reviews
5 Stars
197
4 Stars
91
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
6
1 Star
15
4.4
 / 
5
(323 reviews) 322
295 out of 32391%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 660s
Review 1 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dpbishop
(Bishop, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Avoid this model. Buy a faster Dell.

PostedOctober 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a client that (unfortunately) bought the Inspiron 660s and it was bought on the cheap. This was not my recommendation. It includes Windows 8 64bit, a slow Celeron processor, only 2GB of RAM and a 500GB hard drive.
Pros:it's cheap.
Cons:it's very slow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mzmoonbeam
(Kentucky, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

So Disappointed

PostedAugust 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this May 2013, hard drive went bad July 2014, 2 months after warranty is out. I bought a Dell thinking it was better quality with less problems. But I guess that's not the case. Will not buy another one. I never had a computer go bad in year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Humeangel
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Poor Design

PostedJuly 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've lived with the product for over a month now, and am glad I waited to review. The design is poor in that the computer sits upward, but the way it's designed, that means you have to put it on it's side when using a DVD/CD otherwise they don't stay in place.
I'm also having trouble with the computer having to recover web pages over and over because there's an issue.
For the price paid, I would expect much better performance. This is not a computer I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:misterlewigicks
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Small Gaming PC!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I use this PC mainly for small games such as Garry's Mod, Minecraft, and TF2, and it works amazing! When editing in Sony Vegas, which hogs quite a bit of memory, it works fast with minimal problems! Windows 8 has its problems, but after installing a custom start menu, I have no problem with it. This computer is very much worth the price.
Pros:great for small games, fast for editing
Cons:windows 8 start menu
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Latif
(Home)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Desktop for casual use!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
So I've read so many negative reviews on the Inspiron 660s, mainly because the Windows 8 OS. But I absolutely LOVE this little desktop. My old Compaq Presario SR5333WM has been blue screening me for a couple years now and I've been gritting my teeth and bearing through the agitation until I just recently got the 660s. Its super fast. Windows 8 takes some getting used to. The desktop is very quiet mostly. In general it does what I need it to do very well, which is browse the net and a few other things. That's just me though. I'm not using it for gaming or much else. So if your just looking for a fast desktop for above average casual use. Get this!
Pros:good value for the pricetag, very fast system, desktop takes up very little space, great for casual use
Cons:windows 8 is a little gimmicky, i'll add cons as i find them
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigMemory
(Washington, DC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Media Center 660s

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 660s with an i3 Intel processor is a great low power server that can push HD video running Windows 8 Pro.
The cons is the case is tight, you could fit an SSD in it but thats about it. The conventional hard disk is in a fairly standard bracket so that could be replaced if necessary. It has some nice USB 3.0 ports so that allows you to access an external drive system at high speed.
Im running Windows Media Center on it ...it consumes only 26 watts while waiting to record and 31 watts when recording!
Pros:low power, fast performance
Cons:poor internal expandability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:2homeuser2
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This computer uses Windows 8

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wish there had been an option to have the unit shipped with another operating system. Windows 8 is not user friendly, not really compatible with the operating systems on my other dell computers and laptops. File sharing is difficult as I like to be able to be on any of my home computers and access files on another computer. Windows 8 requires a Microsoft account in order to add programs. Why?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chevy39
(Rhode Island)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

excellent space saving product

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The product is great but the operating system that comes with it ( windows 8 ) is not so great. It is space saving & light weight. I am happy with the product & would recommend it.
Pros:space saving & light weight.
Cons:operating system (windows 8 ) not so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mary882
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

660

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hate windows 8.
Cannot upgrade to free 8.1 because my installed win. 8 is corrupted.(per customer service)
Very hard to navigate and find things with the search function.
Regret purchase.
Wish I had never made the purchase. Eagerly awaiting ne OS to overwrite win. 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:robzyk
(Racine, WI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great things come in small packages

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is an upgrade from my 5 year old insperon 530. I love that this is smaller and has all the features of my old one and more. Just had to get use to Windows 8 but I am getting there. I have always had a Dell and would buy nothing else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Doug25
(Toledo ,Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

the features are great

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Mailing was fast,tower was more compact which i like, performance is faster, quieter, and more efficient. i would recomend to any one looking at this tower , price is great,shipping is fast, performance is great, how can you go wrong? thank's, Doug
Pros:compact and efficient, price, ease of use, set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jerry60
(Hereford Pa)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

simple yet productive

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have it now for a week and the 660s does everything a more expensive computer does, It gets the job done thank you dell
Pros:sleek and slender, gives you more room but gets it done
Cons:can not add an extra hardrive internally, i would like to add an eternal hard drive but it d
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ellen52
(Spencer, NY)
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I am pleased with this product.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Device functions very well. Operating system is user friendly/intuitive. I am enjoying. Good value for the money. I have always been a fan of Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:phr2014
(Buffalo, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

happy with inspiron 660s desktop

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
very pleased with performance; nice size, features, economical - good so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PrairieGrandma19
(Kamloops, BC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Disappointed

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell was recommended to my husband and I when we were both looking for a new replacement. Never again. From start to finish it was a miserable experience. Seniors with only an average computer skill need simpler product, and means of getting our needs met. We ended up taking the new computers (which were delivered more than a week after the promised date) to a computer repairman to help get us up and running. Really!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PIzzapatty
(Slippery Rock, PA 16057, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Excellent Value

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was looking for a replacement for a Windows XP computer and wanted one with Windows 7. This opportunity was the perfect choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:davdelac
(Anderson, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

660s desktop

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
excellent running pc. when you first start your pc read all information and follow the instructions ...it will be easy to set up and get going ASAP.
Pros:easy to setup
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Herb13
(Ohio, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Good Value

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I basically use the desktop to teach, create PowerPoint, email, and surf the web. Good value for me needs.
Pros:good value
Cons:had to add additional memory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Judith124
(Lake Worth, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell Inspiron 660S Tops My Expectations

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As a longtime user of Dell computers, I was looking for a basic desktop for light to medium use. This desktop is not only sexy, sleek, and small but it is amazingly quiet, very responsive, and a pleasure to work on. Thanks Dell, keep up the good work. My son researched this and bought two for himself.
Pros:everything about this computer
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 660s
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Joyce108
(Erie, Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

insperion 660s

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the second insperion I have purchased. For the money ,it's well worth it. Love the way it operates, and so easy to set up.The preformance is wonderful. I would buy this computer over again, and the low cost fits the budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17