Customer reviews for Inspiron 660

Inspiron 660

Inspiron 660
4.227 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 444 reviews
5 Stars
237
4 Stars
125
3 Stars
45
2 Stars
20
1 Star
17
4.2
 / 
5
(444 reviews) 362
320 out of 36288%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 660
Review 41 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

great and economic product

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought 2 of these Inspiron 660 and a 660S and they are all great machines. The 660's have 8gb RAM and run much faster than the 660s with only 4gb however, all run very well. The worst thing about the machines is moving from windows XP to windows 8 and its goofy telephone interface. The machines have all the features I need and they work exactly as they should. I would buy another when I need it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Value, Buggy Performance

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this computer from the Dell Outlet website for a pretty good deal. I specifically was looking for something running Win7 because I felt going to Win8 would be a bit too much for the final user who was upgrading from a Vista computer.
When the computer runs well, it is very nice. But the installation of Win7 seemed a little buggy. Since the day we first used it, it would have some I/O error where it could not run an application and then immediately a black screen would appear saying that it could not boot from the hard drive. Simply rebooting the computer usually took care of the problem. This occurs about once or twice a day.
I worked with Dell Tech support, and they pointed out some drivers to update the computer BIOS and controller chips on the motherboard. I was a little surprised Dell didn't install the latest drivers before shipping the PC out to us. Maybe this is because this was from the Outlet site - I don't know. The updated drivers didn't help. So now I've been instructed to do a Dell restore - effectively reinstalling Win7 on the PC after first backing up our data. So the problem hasn't been resolved yet, and it has been a long hassle in time trying to get this computer up and running robustly. Whatever cost savings we got when we bought this PC has been lost with the additional effort needed to get it running again.
I've purchased/used many Dell products (laptops, desktops, and even a PDA) in the past, and this one has been one of the more frustrating experiences.
Pros:value, fast
Cons:buggy probem not quickly resolved by tech support, looks like i'll need to reinstall the os
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(St. Petersburg, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

performance is great

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased I5, with 8GB of ram great speed. Windows 7 is a little different for me, since I had XP previously. Since I am an older school user I prefer the Classic style, but I guess I will adapt.
Pros:speed of pc
Cons:classic view not available
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Hesperia, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Very good machine!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We've had this computer for a few weeks and so far it's doing great, despite some small issues w/ Windows 8 (update keeps failing). The order was handled quickly and everything went smoothly, just like my previous experiences with Dell.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Fairfield, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good computer for home

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using this computer for almost 3 months and it has been a good acquisition for home; it's reliable and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Value

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good value for a computer used for just everyday use
Pros:easy to set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great Product!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is just want I needed. A great product at a fair price. Thanks Dell!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Portland, OR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Good inspiron 660

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am happy with this purchase. I chose Dell to begin with since it has been so reliable for me in the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Safety Harbor, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good performance, VERY quiet!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was replacing an older Dell Optiplex system that was still good, but the Windows XP on it was going to become a problem. As a techie, I wanted Windows 7 instead of Windows 8, and Dell offered that on this unit. I don't really push a PC processor very hard, but I do a ton of multi-tasking, so this unit, with a more modest processor but 8GB of memory, fit the bill. Plus, having 8 USB ports (and lots of those being USB 3.0) was a very good thing.
Initial impressions have been very good. First off, the unit is wonderfully quiet...a great thing for a PC that I leave on 24/7. It is quiet enough that when I walk in the room, I can't tell until I move the mouse whether if it is screen blanked, or is in Sleep mode!
Performance is very good; boot speeds are impressive, and a few things, like video conversions, have surprised me with their speed.
Lastly, it didn't come with a lot of bloatware that would be a pain to remove...THANK YOU, DELL! I didn't want the McAfee they loaded (I prefer Norton), but removing that was straightforward.
All in all, this was a very good PC for a very good price.
Pros:quiet!, very good performance, plenty of storage, no bloatware, lots of usb connections
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Oklahoma City, OK, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product is ok

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm disappointed in the configuration of the tower. I prefer the ports positioned along the top of the tower so that inserting a thumb drive or a card from the camera can be done easily and with no effort. The thumb drive ports are so tight it is difficult to use them. Because the on/off button is near the bottom of the tower, I've kicked it off a couple of times. To keep this from happening several books have been placed under the tower to get it at least eight inches off the floor. While this eliminates accidently turning off the tower, it does nothing to addressing the inability to easily access the ports.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Midland, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

good product

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
good product, easy to use, faster than old machine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

So far, so good

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Only had it for a couple of weeks, but so far, performs like a champ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Louisiana)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspirion 660

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great home office pc. I upgraded from a 12 year old dell; can't believe I waited so long. I hope to get as many years out of this one. The speed is nice, setup was very easy. All my accessory hardware was plug and play/automatically detected with no problems. Windows 8 is new to me, so navigating the OS is quite different. I run AutoCAD on the pc and it runs very smoothly, graphic interface is good. Overall, I love this new pc. It has all the features and processing power needed for home office use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

works fine

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer works fine. Came fast. Pricey. Not hard to hook up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Woodbury, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome computer

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this for my son. First time using Windows 8, and he picked it up quickly. He is very impressed with the speed and features. Leaves our old Dell from the mid 2000's in the dust. Love it!
Pros:speed, ease of setup use, windows 8
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(MISSOURI VALLEY, IA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

PRODUCT QUALITY

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
THIS COMPUTER PERFORMS VERY WELL
FAST SPEED - PLENTY OF MEMORY
EVERY THING I NEED TO PERFORM MY NEEDS
SHOULD LAST ME AWHILE
EVEN MY OLD PRINTER WORKS GREAT WITH THIS SYSTEM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Mabelvale, Little Rock, AR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

good pc for what i bought it for

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this from my father for daily use / business use.
it does everything he needed. would have liked better choices for antivirus software as im not a big mcafee fan, but that was easily remedied once i got the pc.
Pros:win 7 os, memory, hdd
Cons:av software choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Stratford, CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 660 desktop

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would recommend this computer it was easy to start up transfer files. I was up and running it quickly and it is fast. so far don't have any con's
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Good Value

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My previous computer was a Dell and worked great so decided to go with a Dell computer again. So far the computer runs fairly fast and does everything I need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Chicago, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Value for the Price

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The performance is very good and on top of it I got free Windows 8.1 upgrade. I bought two Desktops of same kind to replace the tower(s) of my restaurant point of sale system and it had 8 USB ports which is very helpful to connect all the peripherals. I did not encounter any hardware or performance issues. In short great product for the price you pay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 19