Customer reviews for Inspiron 660

Inspiron 660

Inspiron 660
4.356 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 334 reviews
5 Stars
193
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
14
1 Star
7
4.4
 / 
5
(334 reviews) 331
297 out of 33489%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 660
Review 1 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SK37381
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Title:

Good Desktop

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great computer for everyday use. Lots of RAM and Quad Core processor for quick tasks. Graphics for gaming aren't great. Added a AMD 7750 Video card and now I can play games like Skyrim, and Battlefield 3 on High to Ultra High settings without any problems. Plenty of Memory for music, photos, documents, videos, games, etc.
Pros:plenty of memory, 8gb of ram, can add components(video cards etc.), quid core processor
Cons:integrated graphics not good for gaming, 300 watt power source, not many high end video cards for power source, not recommended to upgrade power source
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CheapPaul
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Clearance items not for a newbie

PostedJuly 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this because of value. While the equipment I got was a real deal, the lack of documentation and outdated system more than made of the difference if I had purchased a new machine.
There was no documentation in the box. It came with windows 8. Before I could load 8.1 I had to install 119 updated to 8. Then had to install 8.1 and then had to install all the updates to it. That must have taken 4 hours or more (I just left running over two nights). My next Dell with be new, but if you don't have concerns about the time you spend, then check out the clearance
Pros:speed
Cons:time to set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MartyF
(Boston, MA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

It was time...

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It was time to upgrade my home computer system, the Inspiron 660 desktop is an excellent value & after you learn the basics of Windows 8 it also is like stepping into the future.
Cons:keyboard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FrankGM
(Green Bay, WI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

XP Replacement

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought to replace my old XP system. Had limited experience with Windows 8 and knew that it would not work well with my programs - but knew Windows 7 would. Overall the computer is working up to expectations - had some minor issues that were quickly addressed by Dell support and am very satisfied with their response. It has been very good to date.
Pros:fast and stable
Cons:unsure about the digital download software, will not run very old programs (16 bit)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JoelleClista
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Price !

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We just love it ! Haven't bought a computer in 10 years and this one was just perfect for our family needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lisa2828
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Love my new computer!!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
What a great computer! Fast and easy to use!!! Love it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kuip123
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great Everyday PC

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this outlet PC to replace another one that was 3 years old. It has been running great since I purchased it. Dell Outlet is a great way to get discounted PC's for everyday use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AmaboTe
(Pennsylvania, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Delivered late, no option for Win7

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The PC was ordered on Black Friday. I spoke with a representative who assured me it would ship in time for Christmas. The PC did not arrive until mid-January.
I understand that the holiday season may be a high volume time, but do not assure someone that a gift will ship in time for Christmas when it likely will not. According to the tracking service, it was still in production until a few days prior to Christmas.
On a different note, Windows 8 was the only option for OS. Simply stated: Windows 8 is a terrible product which Dell forces us to purchase. It is wrapped into the cost of the machine, much like McAfee.
For the sake of usability for the person I was gifting this to, I ended up purchasing a second hand copy of Windows 7 in addition, reformatted the PC and kept off all the bloat-ware.
Please start giving us an option for no trial software or bloat-ware, as well as an alternative to the awful OS that is Windows 8.
Pros:it's a dell
Cons:windows 8 only, bloat-ware like mcafee, nags from proprietary software to backup, arrived much much later than anticipated.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BigMack1
(Memphis,Tn)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Big Mack1

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This the best computer I have bought.I like the speed.
Pros:this a excellent pc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sydw
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

great and economic product

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought 2 of these Inspiron 660 and a 660S and they are all great machines. The 660's have 8gb RAM and run much faster than the 660s with only 4gb however, all run very well. The worst thing about the machines is moving from windows XP to windows 8 and its goofy telephone interface. The machines have all the features I need and they work exactly as they should. I would buy another when I need it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rcnkon
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Value, Buggy Performance

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this computer from the Dell Outlet website for a pretty good deal. I specifically was looking for something running Win7 because I felt going to Win8 would be a bit too much for the final user who was upgrading from a Vista computer.
When the computer runs well, it is very nice. But the installation of Win7 seemed a little buggy. Since the day we first used it, it would have some I/O error where it could not run an application and then immediately a black screen would appear saying that it could not boot from the hard drive. Simply rebooting the computer usually took care of the problem. This occurs about once or twice a day.
I worked with Dell Tech support, and they pointed out some drivers to update the computer BIOS and controller chips on the motherboard. I was a little surprised Dell didn't install the latest drivers before shipping the PC out to us. Maybe this is because this was from the Outlet site - I don't know. The updated drivers didn't help. So now I've been instructed to do a Dell restore - effectively reinstalling Win7 on the PC after first backing up our data. So the problem hasn't been resolved yet, and it has been a long hassle in time trying to get this computer up and running robustly. Whatever cost savings we got when we bought this PC has been lost with the additional effort needed to get it running again.
I've purchased/used many Dell products (laptops, desktops, and even a PDA) in the past, and this one has been one of the more frustrating experiences.
Pros:value, fast
Cons:buggy probem not quickly resolved by tech support, looks like i'll need to reinstall the os
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Terry42
(St. Petersburg, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

performance is great

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased I5, with 8GB of ram great speed. Windows 7 is a little different for me, since I had XP previously. Since I am an older school user I prefer the Classic style, but I guess I will adapt.
Pros:speed of pc
Cons:classic view not available
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mike26811
(Hesperia, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Very good machine!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We've had this computer for a few weeks and so far it's doing great, despite some small issues w/ Windows 8 (update keeps failing). The order was handled quickly and everything went smoothly, just like my previous experiences with Dell.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pinma70
(Fairfield, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good computer for home

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been using this computer for almost 3 months and it has been a good acquisition for home; it's reliable and fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mcec0104
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Value

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good value for a computer used for just everyday use
Pros:easy to set up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MFriedl3
(Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great Product!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is just want I needed. A great product at a fair price. Thanks Dell!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gemm
(Portland, OR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Good inspiron 660

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am happy with this purchase. I chose Dell to begin with since it has been so reliable for me in the past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LarryB34695
(Safety Harbor, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good performance, VERY quiet!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I was replacing an older Dell Optiplex system that was still good, but the Windows XP on it was going to become a problem. As a techie, I wanted Windows 7 instead of Windows 8, and Dell offered that on this unit. I don't really push a PC processor very hard, but I do a ton of multi-tasking, so this unit, with a more modest processor but 8GB of memory, fit the bill. Plus, having 8 USB ports (and lots of those being USB 3.0) was a very good thing.
Initial impressions have been very good. First off, the unit is wonderfully quiet...a great thing for a PC that I leave on 24/7. It is quiet enough that when I walk in the room, I can't tell until I move the mouse whether if it is screen blanked, or is in Sleep mode!
Performance is very good; boot speeds are impressive, and a few things, like video conversions, have surprised me with their speed.
Lastly, it didn't come with a lot of bloatware that would be a pain to remove...THANK YOU, DELL! I didn't want the McAfee they loaded (I prefer Norton), but removing that was straightforward.
All in all, this was a very good PC for a very good price.
Pros:quiet!, very good performance, plenty of storage, no bloatware, lots of usb connections
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lolipop
(Oklahoma City, OK, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product is ok

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm disappointed in the configuration of the tower. I prefer the ports positioned along the top of the tower so that inserting a thumb drive or a card from the camera can be done easily and with no effort. The thumb drive ports are so tight it is difficult to use them. Because the on/off button is near the bottom of the tower, I've kicked it off a couple of times. To keep this from happening several books have been placed under the tower to get it at least eight inches off the floor. While this eliminates accidently turning off the tower, it does nothing to addressing the inability to easily access the ports.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 660
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:issbetty
(Midland, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

good product

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
good product, easy to use, faster than old machine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17