Customer reviews for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)

Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)

Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
3.757 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 177 reviews
5 Stars
87
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
13
1 Star
30
3.8
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 169
125 out of 17771%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Review 1 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SueD55
(United States)
Title:

Bad reviews? Why?

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We received the new Dell Inspiron 620 very quickly, and have been very happy since installing it.
This computer, with Windows 7 Home, is an excellent buy. Fast, and not too much "bloat" software installed. Normally I order professional machines for business, but this was for my husband to use at home for photos, music and mapping applications.
My husband is a map "geek" and the files are large and extensive. No problem running any of these large files on this new system. It pulls them up quickly. Same with music and photos.
Previous to this computer, we had not used any Windows "Home" product. We had have always used the Professional versions of Windows. This has turned out to be an excellent great choice and haven't noticed any significant difference.
Back to the computer. I ordered a stock machine with no extras except for one year on-site service. Stuff happens and we have learned that normally, unless it is a problem due to age, it's going to happen during the first year of use.
I would have no problem recommending this computer for any family or friends. It has been in use for two weeks and my husband is very pleased!
Pros:photos, mapping, music
+156points
165of 174voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:James31
Title:

No internal wireless capability

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
As with anything customizable, the computer I made using Dell's mostly convenient website meets my needs. However, after carefully reviewing my self-tailored options and ordering my computer, it arrived without wireless connectivity. Among all these somewhat obscure customizations Dell offers (e.g., superfluous software, four different kinds of mouse, external speakers/printers/cameras/hard drives), choosing a modem with wireless capability was not present. That wireless isn't standard in this day and age is surprising. Not providing it as an option for the 620 is simply baffling.
+99points
103of 107voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Knowhow
(Victoria)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Never again

PostedNovember 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two 620s as gifts. I have been a Dell supporter for years with 2x 530, 1x 8400, 1x 9150 and now 2x 620s. The first 620s lasted one day and was quickly repaired by Dell, it lasted just one day again. Dell replaced this 620s with another which again lasted just one day. This 620s was again repaired today and failed again just after the technician repaired it, fortunately he was still here. I asked Dell if they would replace with an upgrade even at extra cost, but they refused and said I must take another 620s or a refund, no if's or but's. There is no way I would take another 620s and sadly I must move away from being a long time buyer of Dell and a recommender on many occasions as I am a website programmer. Dell has lost a good customer because I consider this a heap of junk.
Pros:software developer, this one was a gift
+135points
147of 159voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pholidot
Title:

Pray you get a working one-Dell is aware of defect

PostedDecember 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me start by saying, I LOVE Dell computers. However, this is my first bad experience with a system they have manufactured. I will also say, their customer service was great in my situation however i STRONGLY caution ANYONE buying the SLIM model, 620s, if your power supply dies within the first couple of days, return the system. It's just not worth a 1 year warranty for a defect like the power button/supply that Dell is aware of to take the risk of needing another computer in a year. Long story short, my power supply died in the first 2 days of owning the system. Dell sent out a tech to repair it, replaced the PSU and within another 2 days, goodbye power supply. After researching the problem, it appears VERY frequently, just read through the reviews. Dell is a great company but this is a system I do NOT trust. Hope that helps.
+103points
110of 117voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaFig
(City of Industry, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

INSPIRON 620 MT

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Inspiron 620 is a replacement for a 7 year old Dell Dimension 3200. (Although I still prefer Windows XP operating system, a "dying" Hard Drive forced me to upgrade into the current world.)
PROS: The speed of the Core i3 processor is much better than I expected and compliments the Windows 7 Op system. Using the "Snap" feature (working with 2 screens at the same time) is a real bonus of Windows 7. Even working with 3 or more programs/functions is a breeze with this processor. (The new style of the taskbar can be a potential problem until you get used to it.) The new keyboard is a delight to use, and makes typing easier and enjoyable. Inside the tower, everything is within easy reach and not obstucted unlike the old Dimension which had wiring covering the RAM modules, the Hard Drive, etc. This will make upgrading the RAM easy even for the average user with minimal skills.
CONS: Didn't really care for the extra programs and software (e.g. McAfee Security Center, limited version of Office Starter, etc.). The "PC Decrapifer" utility takes care of getting rid of these unwanted programs all at once. Wasn't too thrilled with a large Hard Drive (1000 GB) and would have prefered to buy an eSATA Hard Drive rather than a SATA. Although I have no experience with DataSafe, several persons I know were having problems with it. An portable Hard Drive, or a service such as "Carbonite" can help this issue. Since there is no Op system start up disc included, you will have to use the old Ctrl F-11 routine to reformat the system or request a start up disc from Dell.
In conclusion, this is a good general purpose machine for the beginner and advance user alike. Although gamers will be disappointed with the graphics, the average person can enjoy the games included, or games you download/buy yourself without having to pay extra dollars for a gaming machine's graphics. (I still use Flight Simulator to practice flying rotors and am satisfied with the graphics.)
With the ease of today's modern computers, you don't have to be a computer geek to work with one or make upgrade(s) in the future.
I've bought Dell Computers for a number of years and haven't had any real bad experiences with any of them (laptops and desktops).
Pros:general computing
+98points
104of 110voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nothappy100
Title:

SERVICE

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have found that Dell is not a service oriented company. When you purchase a new computer and in the first month of use the computer looses the mother board and power supply Dell replaces them with refurbished parts to me this is not acceptable they should have been replaced with new parts as the computer was still NEW and was purchased as a new.
Pros:personal
+98points
107of 116voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TessGoodman
(Wichita, KS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Superb

PostedMay 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have ordered at least 10 Dell PC's for myself, friends and family over the years. I've also been an IT tech for 13 years. I got my new Inspiron 620 through Dell Outlet and I could not be happier.
It is without a doubt the QUIETEST computer I have ever come into contact with - and I've worked on a LOT of computers. It's so quiet you'll question whether it's even running. And, it's FAST! Set up was a breeze, it connected immediately to my wireless network & the BEST thing is it came without a ton of bloatware on it. In the past, I've been accustomed to reformatting a new computer's hard drive & reinstalling a clean OS to rid myself of bloatware -- not necessary with this machine & that has saved me a lot of time.
Dell is my first choice for new computer purchases, and this is just the latest example of why. All of my purchases from Dell have been problem free, great experiences.
Thank you, Dell.
Pros:home recording studio
+83points
89of 95voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sugarpop
Title:

Usually A Big "Fan" Of Dell...

PostedNovember 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently purchased the Inspiron 620 Slim to use as a HTPC. I like the fact that it can be set horizontally in my TV stand and it fits in well with the other devices in my setup. The Dell logo even spins around for the horizontal placement. Nice touch. I got the pretty basic config.
I will get to my main issue with this computer in a bit. But first some general impressions. It is a fairly attractive computer and looks good in my TV stand setup. The disc tray is pretty flimsy feeling but should hold up over time with regular use and no abuse. I have the 620s hooked up to my H/K AVR-1600 receiver with HDMI and then out from the receiver to my LG HDTV with HDMI. Although I don't get Dolby Digital or DTS 5.1 surround sound with this connection for movies played over my home network. I guess the computer doesn't have the capability to produce DD or DTS and pass it thru to the receiver. So I am stuck with having the receiver simulate surround sound, which works pretty well so I am not complaining too much.
One issue I had was with the wireless card. When I tested my internet speed on speedtest.net I was getting very erratic speeds and only getting at best 5 mbps speed out of the 10 mbps I should be getting, and do get on most of my other wireless computers (incidentally I get 5 mbps or less on the Dell Studio 17 laptop I bought last December, so there appear to be issues with some of Dell's wireless cards). I was having trouble streaming movies without stuttering with the 620 to my TV because of the slower and erratic wireless connection speeds I was getting. So I took out the wireless card and am using an Encore router in this room set up as a repeater and have the 620 hooked up to this router with ethernet cable, and I am now getting the full 10 mbps speeds I should be getting. And the movies stream perfectly to the TV now. But this is the 2nd computer in a row I have bought from Dell with serious issues with the wireless cards.
BUT...the major issue I am having with this 620s is the NOISE!! It appears that it is fan NOISE, with maybe some vibration thrown in the mix as well. But it sounds like it is mostly fan NOISE. It is terribly LOUD. The LOUDEST fan in a computer I have ever heard, at least from a brand new computer. And it is very distracting. I have to turn the computer off overnight it is so LOUD. And it is even audible when watching movies. I am reading other reviews here that are having major NOISE issues as well. I am going to look inside the case and see if I can do anything to quiet this slim sucker down some. If not I am seriously going to have to consider returning this computer to Dell. IT IS JUST ENTIRELY TOO LOUD!! How can Dell put out a product that has this type of fan NOISE problem? I like this computer and got a good deal on it and it is very good for how I want to use it. But the NOISE may be a deal breaker here if I can't find a way to tame it. Wish me luck, or this slim sucker is going back to its maker!
+66points
73of 80voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MCMM
Title:

Not interested in customer service

PostedJune 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Inspiron 620 because my computer was old and chose a DELL based on my previous experience with them. I am very disappointed with the lack of info to support my setting up my computer...manual available online, but have to start the computer to get it? Just downloaded it and it is not user friendly. Just put one in the box, so I can reference it when setting up the computer. The changes made that one takes for granted are not explained when purchasing the computer. Since when is USB drive in the back of your computer and why didn't you mention you have to use the mini USB drive if you want to plug in the front computer drive? It may not seem like a big deal, but now I have to cut a huge hole in my computer workstation to access the usb drive. the keyboard that comes with it, it flat which affects my typing. just tell me or why not spend a few $$ and provide a basic keyboard. the computer seems cheaply made. A lot has changed since my first dealings with DELL and I fear I have made a mistake in buying this one. It works fine, but I am not at all happy with the lack of support in trying to use it. When you do speak with someone, it is difficult to communicate because of cultural differences. I should have done my homework in terms of where the product was made and where the customer service team is located. disappointing.
Pros:home
+57points
62of 67voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rickyt369
(New Orleans)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 620 Rattle and Hum

PostedNovember 14, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
After installing my new Inspiron 620 PC, I was quite disappointed to hear how brutally loud it was. At first, I thought it was a bad hard drive, but after investigation I found that the housing is so poorly designed that it vibrates badly. Thankfully, I found a solution for all you frustrated folks out there. Take off the side panel (2 screws and slide off), cut up one of those felt adhesive furniture leg pieces into narrow strips and stick them to the computer frame where they won't get in the way. Reinstall the sliding panel (with some muscle to push it back on), and the noise is gone. Hey Dell engineers...a little rubber "weather stripping" would go a long way here!
Pros:home use
+49points
52of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bobsk8
Title:

Great Desktop at a Great price

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The last Dell Desktop I bought is over 7 years old. It still works well, but XP will be going away soon and I decided that a new PC was probably a smart move. What surprised me is the low price that I got an 620 for. It has a fast processor, and most of what I needed was included in the base price.
This was the easiest PC to set up, that I have ever purchased, and I got my first PC in 1986. Everything worked perfectly, the software was either already installed or quickly downloaded from the Dell website. This computer is really quiet, and it is difficult to even tell that it is on, when it is running. I love this machine.... Already flying a MS Flight, flight sim on it, which puts alot of demands on the performance of a PC, and it runs well on my 620.
Pros:home business and personal
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Retiredgrandpa
(Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

I keep coming back to Dell

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just bought a Inspiron 620 to replace my 7 year old Inspiron 4600. The 4600 was still running (which made it easy to transfer files) but just too slow to keep up with today's demands.
So far I really like the 620 which has a 2nd gen I5, 8gig memory, 1TB HD and the upgraded video card. Needless to say it's a rocket compared to the 4600. Fast and fit's the limited room under my desk perfectly.
I knew exactly what I wanted, a pumped up CPU in a smallish box, and got it.
Now the question is how long will it last. My 4600 failed after 3 1/2 years with a bad motherboard. I had it repaired and got another 3 1/2 yrs out of it.
Anyway, this is my 4th Dell...2 laptops, 2 desktops if that says anything.
Pros:home online browsing, very few games, photo and video downloading
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tommy509
(Spokane)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very good computer

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I accidentally maxed out the memory on my old XP computer about 2 weeks ago, so going from XP to Windows 7 was a big jump. I saw that the Inspiron 620 was new and after having no major problems at all with my 2004 Dimension over the course of 7 years!, thought nothing of getting another Dell.
So far so good and I have been very impressed with both this machine and Windows 7. I have the i3 processor and its fast. Compared to my old Dimension, is like night and day. I really like the fact I have alot of memory (6 mgs) and has a huge hard drive, 1 tb. Its been fun learning Windows 7 and there has been lots of areas I can go to find out more about it and how things are vastly different than XP.
I also just read a very good review of this computer on CNET. They too really liked the machine. The only area they didn't like too much was fact that upgrading is supposedly not that great or as good as it could be. This may not apply to my partuclar computer so I am not totally sure about that.
The only negative experience I have had was with FedEx. I had left a couple of special delivery instructions regarding my delivery availability, and they were not received, nor were they followed. Other than that, no regrets. This is a very good computer. I was told by my Salesman that I could expect it to handle my needs for anywhere from 4-7 years. I have no doubts about that what so ever.
Pros:general computing, web surfing, photo sharing and libraries, listening to internet radio.
+50points
55of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Coloradodude
(Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

bad parts inside. They need to fix the problem..

PostedDecember 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently bought the dell 620S. It lasted 1 day. It would not power up.
If you read the forums/ reviews you will find numerous complaints on the computer not turning on. DELL has installed something -bad power supply, motherboard, power switch front panel, wiring etc. This is a common problem with this computer. Dell needs to look into
Looks like some people have their computer last 3 months or 3 days but looks like you will have problems sometime with it powering up..
I am returning mine.. so sad as I have been a long time Dell Customer. Dell customer support is terrible. 1.5 hrs on the phone, just to return the computer is not good customer service.
Pros:surfiing
+44points
47of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:avdk
Title:

Big disappointment

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer stopped working after 48 hours of operation. Service guy came two days later with a new power source and motherboard. Didn't solve the problem, had to order a new power source. Waited three more days for a replacement. That one didn't work either. A new computer is supposedly on its way, but I haven't heard or seen anything in email or via phone yet. Very disappointed. Second time in a month that I've gotten a bum Dell computer. I'm a loyal, good customer and now I'm really nervous.
Only pro I can find is I like the slim tower that I can put on the desk with the monitor on top of it. Unfortunately right now it's a very expensive monitor stand. :(
+41points
44of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JHWent
Title:

Solid hardware, software is okay, service marginal

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought an Inspiron 620 with the i5 Intel, 8GB memory, and 1TB HD. OS is windows 7 Home Premium.
Machine is fast, and quiet. Way too much bloatware loaded, and it's a pain to remove. Had an issue with the "My Dell Downloads" and that exposed the weakness of Dell tech support. I wasted a great deal of time because the tech support team didn't understand what "My Dell Downloads" was supposed to do. Add the lack of product knowledge to poor communication skills and endless queues, and you have a very disappointing result.
I do much of my own product support, so I guess this isn't that important, but if you need some detailed support, good luck.
+35points
36of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hooroy
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Soooo disappointed!

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Inspiron 620s, 8GB, 1TB, 21', Win7 Home Premium.
Based on the reviews here, there seems to be very inconsistent performance among 620 machines. IMHO, don't take the risk of dealing with a substandard product. Although Dell tries to make things right, why go through all the needless hassle?
About two months after purchase, PC would not turn on. Serviceman appeared about 10 days after my call to support. Replaced power switch, m'board, power supply and front bezel.
New setup worked fine for a while but then became louder with a hum/vibration.
Mouse failed, and keyboard would not lie flat on desk.
Called support again -- mouse and keyboard replaced immediately, and serviceman arrived again (timely this time) to check out the hum/vibration. He determined the hard disk was the cause, but did not have a replacement HD with him.
To avoid further delay, I asked serviceman to have them send me a repl. HD directly to replace myself. New HD arrived next day but was 320GB, not the 1TB that I had. Called support again. New 1TB (Seagate) arrived next day. Much less noisy, but of course I had to "image" my old HD (Western Digital) to new one -- not difficult with Macrium Reflect, but time-consuming. (Dell serviceman said Dell does not do software transfers, even from their noisy/defective HDs.)
Now, one week later, everything seems OK now, after much time and frustration, and after just about everything in this 620s has been replaced except the case, CPU and fans. Time will tell.
Pros:financial apps, word processing, spreadsheets
+46points
51of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kayspk
(Los Angeles)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 620 Desktop Core i3-2100

PostedNovember 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
First time writing REVIEW in my llfe ,since I am having such a bad experience in this product and don't get support. I bought this pc in August and power button is not working after 3 month... I called the Dell which is in India.. It's been already 12 days , but they said that part is not available.. calling every single day ... sick and tired of this... Kids don't have a computer to write their essay and hw.. They have to run into library... Bad support and bad product...so disappoing on this !!!
+44points
49of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidP31
Title:

If I could leave zero stars, I would.

PostedMay 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two 620's (i5, 6gb ram) and have had problem after problem with both.
First, neither of them came as I ordered and Dell could not find a way to fix the issue. They are both missing the upgraded Graphic cards.
Second, one of the two was dead on arrival. They sent me a replacement machine and that one had a defective motherboard. They fixed the motherboard and now it's having a hard time reading USB flash drives now.
The other one is ok, but have had some of it's own issues.
These are not the dell machines I have been buying for years. This will be my last Dell computer.
Pros:business, personal
+40points
45of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MsGeek
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dual monitor issue

PostedOctober 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received my PC only to find it wouldn't recognise a second monitor. Called tech support to be told to buy a DVI-D adaptor, which I did. Still didn't work so called them again, they arranged for engineer to call. He replaced graphics card but that still didn't resolve the issue. I called tech support yet again to be told that this graphics card does not support two monitors, even though I have friends with the same card who CAN run two monitors! Not only that, a couple of the technicians I spoke to had a condescending attitude, is that because I'm female O.o Returning the PC, due to terrible customer service support, they even hung up on me!
+40points
45of 50voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9