Customer reviews for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)

Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)

Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
3.793 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 193 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
14
1 Star
31
3.8
 / 
5
(193 reviews) 185
139 out of 19372%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Review 21 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Pinner UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Second Dell Desk Top in six years.
Again a winner,very fast,and just great.
With any Dell PC,you get more for your £.
This PC cost me £634. In PC World it would have Cost £1000.
THanks Dell.
Pros:home
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

great but some flaws

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer was great for everyday gaming on minecraft and team fortress 2 so i like it a lot
but the main reason why i got a new computer is because i wanted to get a computer to run a mine craft server i talked to dell about it and they recommended the dell insporon 620 so i ordered it from the phone and when i got it it worked fine, however it should come with more avb. ram to use because i found that 8 gigs may not be enough. i also i do video editing for you tube i takes a long time to render a HD video but that's OK i don't mind waiting but it makes it IMPOSABLE to run the server and render videos at the same time! so i think that they should have recommended a xps which i found out about a little to late so if you want to run a gaming server i recommend an xps desktop to run it.
Pros:casual gaming, gaming server, video rendering, basic computing
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Computer

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The good: multicore with hyperthreading, 4GB ram, 1TB HD, horizontal HD mounts inside, quiet.
The bad: front panel card reader and usb is limited and more generic than the panel that came with the Inspiron 570 which also included audio jacks.
The standard keyboard KB2521 is generic and the spacebar can easily break. Also certain key combos (arrow+space) don't work, may be KB or driver problem.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Long Island NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Love it !!!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had a dell dimension for almost 8 years and still runs but it was time for an upgrade and the dell 620 could not be a better choice..I have only had it for a few days now and I love it.
Its fast and so quiet not even a humming noise and its sets itself up on start up no need for the users manual but I do recommend getting the i5 processer and 8 gigs of ram its worth the few extra bucks.
Pros:home use
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

satisfied

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
ive been purchasing dell product over a year now i really satisfied with everything i just love dell
Pros:games, video camera, computer, music
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

why is this so bad

PostedJune 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
i recently got this computer for about £300 and it cant even run minecraft! on any higher than well lowest setting even then 27 fps is all it can achive its a waste of mony do not buy this thing (i3 prosessor) the i5 one is the better choice as its worth its mony as for this not worth the mony
Pros:low level gaming
-20points
14of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Not interested in customer service

PostedJune 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Inspiron 620 because my computer was old and chose a DELL based on my previous experience with them. I am very disappointed with the lack of info to support my setting up my computer...manual available online, but have to start the computer to get it? Just downloaded it and it is not user friendly. Just put one in the box, so I can reference it when setting up the computer. The changes made that one takes for granted are not explained when purchasing the computer. Since when is USB drive in the back of your computer and why didn't you mention you have to use the mini USB drive if you want to plug in the front computer drive? It may not seem like a big deal, but now I have to cut a huge hole in my computer workstation to access the usb drive. the keyboard that comes with it, it flat which affects my typing. just tell me or why not spend a few $$ and provide a basic keyboard. the computer seems cheaply made. A lot has changed since my first dealings with DELL and I fear I have made a mistake in buying this one. It works fine, but I am not at all happy with the lack of support in trying to use it. When you do speak with someone, it is difficult to communicate because of cultural differences. I should have done my homework in terms of where the product was made and where the customer service team is located. disappointing.
Pros:home
+57points
62of 67voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

not right

PostedJune 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked fine at first for 2 months-than things started to go wrong-running slow,always running in sys mach mode,error messagaes appearing,finaly about the 5th month system crashed-tach support was no help at all said was not sys problem but program prob and not covered under warranty-had to reboot from day 1 lost everything including dell stage programing. This pc has been a nightmare sence 3/12 got pc in 09/11
Pros:home use and games
+17points
24of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Great Desktop at a Great price

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The last Dell Desktop I bought is over 7 years old. It still works well, but XP will be going away soon and I decided that a new PC was probably a smart move. What surprised me is the low price that I got an 620 for. It has a fast processor, and most of what I needed was included in the base price.
This was the easiest PC to set up, that I have ever purchased, and I got my first PC in 1986. Everything worked perfectly, the software was either already installed or quickly downloaded from the Dell website. This computer is really quiet, and it is difficult to even tell that it is on, when it is running. I love this machine.... Already flying a MS Flight, flight sim on it, which puts alot of demands on the performance of a PC, and it runs well on my 620.
Pros:home business and personal
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Conway, AR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice system, good design!

PostedJune 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this with pretty much the base Core i3 2120 configuration (4GB RAM, 1 TB drive, DVD-RW) as a budget gaming system for one of my sons. Picked up a VisionTek HD 7770 (from Dell, Lifetime warranty) and a name brand 450W power supply and he is off and running! (I wouldn't put more than a HD 7750 without a PS upgrade, but that's still a very nice graphics card) Unlike some previous Dell models this is a pretty standard Micro board inside the case with what looks to be a standard Heatsink cooler combination... I just love that! That means in the future if something happens or I want to upgrade further, I can. It also means no daughter cards to break and no goofy custom heatsinks. Cables were laid out neatly with the hooks built into the chassis. This little machine could easily have a clear side for viewing with an LED heatsink fan, very nice indeed. Very quite as well, no need for all that custom induction cooling, Dell designed this right for an entry machine.
Downloaded some benchmark software and the Core i3 ranked in faster than the average for that model as did the video card.
System came with very little bloatware as well... I liked that a lot also.
Overall I'm VERY impressed with this 620, much more so than the 520 and 521s we or our friends have. The difference is simplicity... you can't beat it!
If you price out the parts, you can't beat the price for these for what you get (assuming the Core series). I wish it had 4 DIMM slots but most micro boards don't anyway so can't complain about that. If you are thinking about a machine for now that later you wanted to throw a bigger video card in and/or be able to upgrade in the future, this is a great little machine that definitely holds in own in regards to multimedia right out of the box.
Pros:Gaming, web
+32points
35of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

3rd time- not a charm

PostedMay 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
3rd dell computer on our system. previous were set up with no problems- instantly recognized peripherals- printer etc. and new printers were automatically recognized when added.
not this one- couldn't get in email or bank; required almost 4 hrs on phone w/ tech support. 1st tech solved email and bank, said new cable required for printer to work. new cable didn't work, another 3 hrs on phone got printer working, but not scan function- even removed and reinstalled printer disc. bad experience all around!
Pros:sm bus
+17points
26of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(La Pine, OR)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Computer Junk

PostedMay 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is about my 5th Dell computer. I have been happy for the most part with all the others. From day one on getting this one Dell Data Safe will not work correctly. The Dell Tech and Data Safe Techs cant correct the problem. I have had nothing but problems with it since getting it. Now I cant even get a response from them. Its still under waranty. Windows 7 keeps deleting my restore points every time I do a reboot. I guess there isnt a fix for that either.
Pros:home computing
+18points
24of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Wichita, KS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Superb

PostedMay 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have ordered at least 10 Dell PC's for myself, friends and family over the years. I've also been an IT tech for 13 years. I got my new Inspiron 620 through Dell Outlet and I could not be happier.
It is without a doubt the QUIETEST computer I have ever come into contact with - and I've worked on a LOT of computers. It's so quiet you'll question whether it's even running. And, it's FAST! Set up was a breeze, it connected immediately to my wireless network & the BEST thing is it came without a ton of bloatware on it. In the past, I've been accustomed to reformatting a new computer's hard drive & reinstalling a clean OS to rid myself of bloatware -- not necessary with this machine & that has saved me a lot of time.
Dell is my first choice for new computer purchases, and this is just the latest example of why. All of my purchases from Dell have been problem free, great experiences.
Thank you, Dell.
Pros:home recording studio
+83points
89of 95voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Europe)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My Inspiron 620 is a Clear Winner!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Don't know where all the reviewers get the noisy bit. I've owned a string of Dell machines, and my 620 Inspiron is the quietest yet. It also performs beautifully and has given me zero problems. Hard to believe there are one star people out there. I'm sure not among 'em! This is a 5***** machine.
Pros:writing, search, e-mail
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Tucson, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bad with the Good

PostedMay 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just bought 2 systems a Inspiron 620 ST and Inspiron 15 (N5040) laptop. The laptop is working great, no complaints. Now lets talk about the desktop, Yes the HD makes noise and yes the dvd tray sticks sometimes when retracting, I can live with theses. My real issue is the 250 watt power supply and will not handle upgrading the video/graphics. I will have to upgrade the P/S to 400watts because I want dual monitors. Yes I'm a network admin, desktop support tech. I have chatted with tech support and they have been super. Overall I'm very satisfied with the systems.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:

PostedMay 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my third dell PC and my kids are still using then for their school. Love my nes dell desk top and have a laptop as well, because I like the quick after sales service and everything that goes with it.
One of the cons with the laptop is it can be slow at times.
Phil
Pros:home stuff
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very noisy - both fan and disk

PostedMay 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fan is excessively noisy, probably as a result of the mediocre casing.
Different frequencies of vibrations are heard, some of which vary when squeezing the casing with your hands from both sides in various locations. The casing by the way feels extremely clunky in particular on the back end where all the ports are - it is very unstable there (I have never seen this kind of low quality back panel in any desktop I've used so far).
In addition, the hard drive is noisy. Every hard drive operation can be heard, reminds of how hard drives were 15 years ago...
I would not recommend this desktop due to those reasons. It is just too distracting to use like this and a bad surprise. Disappointed.
+23points
31of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

620 Slim Tower All The Way Baby

PostedMay 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
620 Slim Tower Pros:
1) Windows 7 - WWWAAYYY !!! Better than Vista in so many ways.
2.)Intel I3 Processor - It's really fast
3.) Intel HD Graphics - Even though I have a monitor that is 6 yrs. old movies(even Adult Movies),and Youtube videos come in so clear. Now don't get me wrong it is 10 times better if you have a HD mnonitor but it has made a differenve on my monitor.
4.) Desktop Wallpaper and Screensaver already comes with pictures that are very vivid.
Cons:
1.) Carrier - FedEx Ground was slow in delivering it on the day they promised. In their defense the driver did explain that FedEx overstocked his truck.
2.) I wish Dell had Accidental & Damage Protection Plan on all their products not just their most recent products.
Pros:home use, School, entertainment
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

If I could leave zero stars, I would.

PostedMay 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two 620's (i5, 6gb ram) and have had problem after problem with both.
First, neither of them came as I ordered and Dell could not find a way to fix the issue. They are both missing the upgraded Graphic cards.
Second, one of the two was dead on arrival. They sent me a replacement machine and that one had a defective motherboard. They fixed the motherboard and now it's having a hard time reading USB flash drives now.
The other one is ok, but have had some of it's own issues.
These are not the dell machines I have been buying for years. This will be my last Dell computer.
Pros:business, personal
+40points
45of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Motherboard and tower have been replaced 4 times!

PostedMay 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I manage a Performing Arts Center at the local high school and need to edit Audio and Video files for my students. I thought the Inspiron 620 with additional ram and hard drive capacity would do the trick. I am terribly disappointed with this product. The motherboard and the tower have been replaced 4 times and the issue with the sound and video playback remains unresolved. The sound resembles an old scratched up 45 and the video clips drag. Tech Support has basically given up and all they tell me is to re-install windows. Every time I do, I lose all of my student's files. The system works for a few days and then the problem begins again. Last time, it was replaced, I asked for a different system and was outright refused! I was warned not to buy a Dell product but had good luck in the past but this experience has taught me to NEVER purchase another product from Dell.
+37points
42of 47voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 10