Customer reviews for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)

Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)

Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
3.757 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 177 reviews
5 Stars
87
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
13
1 Star
30
3.8
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 169
125 out of 17771%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Review 21 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:matt333
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very noisy - both fan and disk

PostedMay 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fan is excessively noisy, probably as a result of the mediocre casing.
Different frequencies of vibrations are heard, some of which vary when squeezing the casing with your hands from both sides in various locations. The casing by the way feels extremely clunky in particular on the back end where all the ports are - it is very unstable there (I have never seen this kind of low quality back panel in any desktop I've used so far).
In addition, the hard drive is noisy. Every hard drive operation can be heard, reminds of how hard drives were 15 years ago...
I would not recommend this desktop due to those reasons. It is just too distracting to use like this and a bad surprise. Disappointed.
+23points
31of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Galvatron86
Title:

620 Slim Tower All The Way Baby

PostedMay 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
620 Slim Tower Pros:
1) Windows 7 - WWWAAYYY !!! Better than Vista in so many ways.
2.)Intel I3 Processor - It's really fast
3.) Intel HD Graphics - Even though I have a monitor that is 6 yrs. old movies(even Adult Movies),and Youtube videos come in so clear. Now don't get me wrong it is 10 times better if you have a HD mnonitor but it has made a differenve on my monitor.
4.) Desktop Wallpaper and Screensaver already comes with pictures that are very vivid.
Cons:
1.) Carrier - FedEx Ground was slow in delivering it on the day they promised. In their defense the driver did explain that FedEx overstocked his truck.
2.) I wish Dell had Accidental & Damage Protection Plan on all their products not just their most recent products.
Pros:home use, School, entertainment
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidP31
Title:

If I could leave zero stars, I would.

PostedMay 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two 620's (i5, 6gb ram) and have had problem after problem with both.
First, neither of them came as I ordered and Dell could not find a way to fix the issue. They are both missing the upgraded Graphic cards.
Second, one of the two was dead on arrival. They sent me a replacement machine and that one had a defective motherboard. They fixed the motherboard and now it's having a hard time reading USB flash drives now.
The other one is ok, but have had some of it's own issues.
These are not the dell machines I have been buying for years. This will be my last Dell computer.
Pros:business, personal
+40points
45of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ScottPacman
Title:

Motherboard and tower have been replaced 4 times!

PostedMay 2, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I manage a Performing Arts Center at the local high school and need to edit Audio and Video files for my students. I thought the Inspiron 620 with additional ram and hard drive capacity would do the trick. I am terribly disappointed with this product. The motherboard and the tower have been replaced 4 times and the issue with the sound and video playback remains unresolved. The sound resembles an old scratched up 45 and the video clips drag. Tech Support has basically given up and all they tell me is to re-install windows. Every time I do, I lose all of my student's files. The system works for a few days and then the problem begins again. Last time, it was replaced, I asked for a different system and was outright refused! I was warned not to buy a Dell product but had good luck in the past but this experience has taught me to NEVER purchase another product from Dell.
+37points
42of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vibrationdrivesmecrazy
Title:

Satisfied with performance, hard drive very noisy

PostedMay 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've owned and used this Inspiron 620MT for 6 months and so far am very happy and satisfied with its computing performance.
But the vibrations, and noise it makes is another matter. I use the machine in a quiet room, and the hard drive causes such a vibration of the case, that it is reason enough that I would not recommend buying another one of these.
In the first week, I was on the phone with Dell about the problem. The tech had me open the case and tighten the screws holding the cooling fan. That did not solve the problem. I have since tightened all accessible screws.
After living with the noise, finally today I reopened the case and by feeling around and applying light finger pressure to various components, concluded that the hard drive vibrates and no matter how tight the mounting screws are, and the vibration is transferred to the riveted-construction case. It is especially bad when the side cover is on, but you can feel the bottom of the case vibrating like crazy no matter what you do. The cooling fans are actually quite quiet and smooth.
This was also on the problem on the last Dell I owned before this and for me, this is reason enough to not buy another Dell when I replace this one.
Pros:home use, word processing, photography
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mckinnon2
(Murfreesboro, AR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Slimtower VERY noisy

PostedApril 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the 1st time I have bought a "slim" tower computer and I will never buy one again. The disk drive is in sideways instead of horizontal and that makes it VERY noisy. Too noisy for me. Not only is it too noisy but I've already had where it has failed to read the disk (game is new!)a couple of times. If all you're doing is surfing the net and don't use disks alot - then this computer is fine, otherwise don't get it.
Pros:playing video games and surfing web
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:daelic
Title:

Good Media Server

PostedApril 27, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The first thing I did when I received my inspiron 620s, was to wipe the hard drives so I could install ubuntu. The ubuntu install recognized all of the hardware, including the wireless card.
For anyone looking at building an ubuntu server of any sort, this system performs well and has everything you need. I use mine to host plex media server, along with a myriad of other network services... DNS, caching proxy, network firewall, and more... all without making this system break a sweat.
Pros:media server, ubuntu, network server
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Savon1Carrie
(Hyannis, MA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Gets the job done

PostedApril 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I like the speed of this computer and the stoage. Might have more to say once I ve used it some more. Only had it a couple of weeks
Pros:work invoicing
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mobie

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've never owned anything but a Dell, so I'm comparing other computers I've used. I wouldn't buy anything but a Dell. I love the slim design of this model and you can lay it flat on top of your desk with the monitor on top, FABULOUS!! It was a breeze to set up. I'm still getting use to the programing but should have it mastered in no time. It came with 1TB and I upgraded to 8GB of memory. So far there are no cons.
Pros:home office, some gaming
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Carol127
(College Park, Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Computer!

PostedApril 21, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
After comparing other desktop computers, I made the right chose for the tasks I needed to perform.
Pros
Great sleek size for placing on computer workstation furniture. Connects to wireless network as well as wired. Adapts to any peripheral equipment - external hard drive and wireless printer without problems.
Cons
Only con is that I should have upgraded the hard drive, but the external hard drive compensates for any needed extra space.
Pros:writing novel, interior design student using revit and autocad
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kaliroes
Title:

video issue

PostedApril 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brand new Inspiron 620. Monitor scrambles since day two. Called Dell, walked me through a "software fix". Worked for about a week then started again. Very frustating on new computer.
In the middle of a project, the monitor will scramble and you lose all info.
It's definitely not the monitor, tested about four different ones and happens on all of them.
Pros:personal use
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Iqra
(Bronx)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great computer

PostedApril 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this computer online and it was a really good deal along with a really good choice. While selecting alot of options came of along with suggestions for what to get with the computer. It's a very good to be able to order online inestead of having to go to the store!
Pros:all purposes
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChiMA
Title:

HIGH Ratio of Price and Performance

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a international student, which doing bachelor of accounting. I get lots of everyday works to do and I like playing computer games and watching movies when I have free time. I really need a computer which satisfies the above conditions. Fortunately, I find Inspiron 620s which is PERFECT for my everyday working and entertainment. Games like CALL OF DUTY can be played EFFICIENTLY on this computer at NORMAL quality level, which means this is a really HIGH ratio of price and performance computer.
Pros:Gaming, working, movie
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:steph78
(St. Louis, Missouri)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Excellent Product

PostedApril 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have all Dell computers in my home and this one is the newest of the Dells. I look for systems I can upgrade to the max, so I know I will get long wear on this one. The price was right,RAM, GB and everything are what I need to run my business. I had one hick-up at the beginning, but once that was resolved, we were off and running. Smooth sailing. I still have my Dell Dimension 3300.
Pros:floral business
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LVickers
(Lynchburg VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie

PostedApril 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We are a small company of 7 employees. We bought 3 of the Inspiron 620 desktop computers. You should know that the 1 TB of memory is actually 2, 500 GB drives. 2 of the 3 machines had major problems; the first had competing OS drives which caused the machine to shut down. The second, would not generate a recovery disk. I am taking this from notes supplied by our external IT person. Our IT person has costs us to-date $550 to get the computers running for us; plus the additonal time for an IBM person to setup our AS400 System on these computers. Dell Technical Support has yet to understand the problem. Response has been terrible and as yet unresolved. As a data entry typist, I HATE the keyboard--it is too flat and the tabs do not add enough height or angle, keys too close together-like a laptop. I do not like a laptop for productive typing. IT man has been given the runaround for 2 hours (and running) trying to get resolution.
Pros:small business
+20points
33of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mhur
(Maryland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love my new Dell!

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Dell Inspiron 620 is an awesome computer! I would and have recommended to anyone who will listen! It's fast and I just love the 23" monitor. My photos look great on it!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nicky95620
(Dixon, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Extremely happy!

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been ordering Dell computers for about 15 years now and once again I am very happy with the latest purchase! I will never purchase another computer other than from Dell :)
Pros:home use, social
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bluejeans
Title:

nice

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
If you think perfection is not achievable buy DELL. Truly remarkable. And I hope they keep it that way.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:reverend79
(tulsa ok)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Blessed Assurance

PostedApril 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
pros this is truly a blessing
cons nothing
Pros:personal
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Huckaroo
Title:

Happy

PostedApril 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have had Dell for years. Bought this 620 (8gig and 1tb)and it is fast and no cons at this point after 3 months. Used for home use and e-mail and school work. Works great. I would tell anyone to buy this unit.
Pros:school work e-mail
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 9