Customer reviews for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)

Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)

Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
3.757 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 177 reviews
5 Stars
87
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
13
1 Star
30
3.8
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 169
125 out of 17771%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Review 1 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zyptzk
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Fan Noise

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fan on the heatsink makes excessive noise which usually diminishes over time. Sometimes after 6 hours. Had to buy a new heatsink and fan because I couldn't find just the fan. Got an exact replacement. Fan still noisy. Dell should find a different supplier. Probably find a new place to buy my next computer as Dell's web site leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to complaints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:randolph1960
Title:

works great and no problems, great computer

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned several brands of computers in the past.some I would never buy again, But I have a laptop and a desktop from Dell and have had no problems, 5 star product all around.Great support staff and they both work absolutely perfectly. I have no complaints at all. Randy Dull
Pros:email, research, facebook, leasure
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Theoldlefthander
Title:

My Inspiron 620

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I been alittle over 3.5 months now ,I love this PC it handles everything I do work or play.Its fast, Its gets you from Ato B right now.
Pros:home use, internet
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MMDelllover
Title:

Love Dell

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love dell and all its product, everything that Dell has, has really help and improve my life and work.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jolleyjoe
(Pinner UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Second Dell Desk Top in six years.
Again a winner,very fast,and just great.
With any Dell PC,you get more for your £.
This PC cost me £634. In PC World it would have Cost £1000.
THanks Dell.
Pros:home
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sas0818
Title:

great but some flaws

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer was great for everyday gaming on minecraft and team fortress 2 so i like it a lot
but the main reason why i got a new computer is because i wanted to get a computer to run a mine craft server i talked to dell about it and they recommended the dell insporon 620 so i ordered it from the phone and when i got it it worked fine, however it should come with more avb. ram to use because i found that 8 gigs may not be enough. i also i do video editing for you tube i takes a long time to render a HD video but that's OK i don't mind waiting but it makes it IMPOSABLE to run the server and render videos at the same time! so i think that they should have recommended a xps which i found out about a little to late so if you want to run a gaming server i recommend an xps desktop to run it.
Pros:casual gaming, gaming server, video rendering, basic computing
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:minki
(US)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Good Computer

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The good: multicore with hyperthreading, 4GB ram, 1TB HD, horizontal HD mounts inside, quiet.
The bad: front panel card reader and usb is limited and more generic than the panel that came with the Inspiron 570 which also included audio jacks.
The standard keyboard KB2521 is generic and the spacebar can easily break. Also certain key combos (arrow+space) don't work, may be KB or driver problem.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rickh
(Long Island NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Love it !!!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had a dell dimension for almost 8 years and still runs but it was time for an upgrade and the dell 620 could not be a better choice..I have only had it for a few days now and I love it.
Its fast and so quiet not even a humming noise and its sets itself up on start up no need for the users manual but I do recommend getting the i5 processer and 8 gigs of ram its worth the few extra bucks.
Pros:home use
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:emmanuel509
Title:

satisfied

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
ive been purchasing dell product over a year now i really satisfied with everything i just love dell
Pros:games, video camera, computer, music
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jackthecrapgamer
Title:

why is this so bad

PostedJune 26, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
i recently got this computer for about £300 and it cant even run minecraft! on any higher than well lowest setting even then 27 fps is all it can achive its a waste of mony do not buy this thing (i3 prosessor) the i5 one is the better choice as its worth its mony as for this not worth the mony
Pros:low level gaming
-20points
14of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MCMM
Title:

Not interested in customer service

PostedJune 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Inspiron 620 because my computer was old and chose a DELL based on my previous experience with them. I am very disappointed with the lack of info to support my setting up my computer...manual available online, but have to start the computer to get it? Just downloaded it and it is not user friendly. Just put one in the box, so I can reference it when setting up the computer. The changes made that one takes for granted are not explained when purchasing the computer. Since when is USB drive in the back of your computer and why didn't you mention you have to use the mini USB drive if you want to plug in the front computer drive? It may not seem like a big deal, but now I have to cut a huge hole in my computer workstation to access the usb drive. the keyboard that comes with it, it flat which affects my typing. just tell me or why not spend a few $$ and provide a basic keyboard. the computer seems cheaply made. A lot has changed since my first dealings with DELL and I fear I have made a mistake in buying this one. It works fine, but I am not at all happy with the lack of support in trying to use it. When you do speak with someone, it is difficult to communicate because of cultural differences. I should have done my homework in terms of where the product was made and where the customer service team is located. disappointing.
Pros:home
+57points
62of 67voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sodisappointed60
Title:

not right

PostedJune 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked fine at first for 2 months-than things started to go wrong-running slow,always running in sys mach mode,error messagaes appearing,finaly about the 5th month system crashed-tach support was no help at all said was not sys problem but program prob and not covered under warranty-had to reboot from day 1 lost everything including dell stage programing. This pc has been a nightmare sence 3/12 got pc in 09/11
Pros:home use and games
+17points
24of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bobsk8
Title:

Great Desktop at a Great price

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The last Dell Desktop I bought is over 7 years old. It still works well, but XP will be going away soon and I decided that a new PC was probably a smart move. What surprised me is the low price that I got an 620 for. It has a fast processor, and most of what I needed was included in the base price.
This was the easiest PC to set up, that I have ever purchased, and I got my first PC in 1986. Everything worked perfectly, the software was either already installed or quickly downloaded from the Dell website. This computer is really quiet, and it is difficult to even tell that it is on, when it is running. I love this machine.... Already flying a MS Flight, flight sim on it, which puts alot of demands on the performance of a PC, and it runs well on my 620.
Pros:home business and personal
+40points
40of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marbus
(Conway, AR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice system, good design!

PostedJune 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this with pretty much the base Core i3 2120 configuration (4GB RAM, 1 TB drive, DVD-RW) as a budget gaming system for one of my sons. Picked up a VisionTek HD 7770 (from Dell, Lifetime warranty) and a name brand 450W power supply and he is off and running! (I wouldn't put more than a HD 7750 without a PS upgrade, but that's still a very nice graphics card) Unlike some previous Dell models this is a pretty standard Micro board inside the case with what looks to be a standard Heatsink cooler combination... I just love that! That means in the future if something happens or I want to upgrade further, I can. It also means no daughter cards to break and no goofy custom heatsinks. Cables were laid out neatly with the hooks built into the chassis. This little machine could easily have a clear side for viewing with an LED heatsink fan, very nice indeed. Very quite as well, no need for all that custom induction cooling, Dell designed this right for an entry machine.
Downloaded some benchmark software and the Core i3 ranked in faster than the average for that model as did the video card.
System came with very little bloatware as well... I liked that a lot also.
Overall I'm VERY impressed with this 620, much more so than the 520 and 521s we or our friends have. The difference is simplicity... you can't beat it!
If you price out the parts, you can't beat the price for these for what you get (assuming the Core series). I wish it had 4 DIMM slots but most micro boards don't anyway so can't complain about that. If you are thinking about a machine for now that later you wanted to throw a bigger video card in and/or be able to upgrade in the future, this is a great little machine that definitely holds in own in regards to multimedia right out of the box.
Pros:Gaming, web
+32points
35of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ememe
Title:

3rd time- not a charm

PostedMay 29, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
3rd dell computer on our system. previous were set up with no problems- instantly recognized peripherals- printer etc. and new printers were automatically recognized when added.
not this one- couldn't get in email or bank; required almost 4 hrs on phone w/ tech support. 1st tech solved email and bank, said new cable required for printer to work. new cable didn't work, another 3 hrs on phone got printer working, but not scan function- even removed and reinstalled printer disc. bad experience all around!
Pros:sm bus
+17points
26of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rcole9012
(La Pine, OR)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Computer Junk

PostedMay 20, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is about my 5th Dell computer. I have been happy for the most part with all the others. From day one on getting this one Dell Data Safe will not work correctly. The Dell Tech and Data Safe Techs cant correct the problem. I have had nothing but problems with it since getting it. Now I cant even get a response from them. Its still under waranty. Windows 7 keeps deleting my restore points every time I do a reboot. I guess there isnt a fix for that either.
Pros:home computing
+18points
24of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TessGoodman
(Wichita, KS)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Superb

PostedMay 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have ordered at least 10 Dell PC's for myself, friends and family over the years. I've also been an IT tech for 13 years. I got my new Inspiron 620 through Dell Outlet and I could not be happier.
It is without a doubt the QUIETEST computer I have ever come into contact with - and I've worked on a LOT of computers. It's so quiet you'll question whether it's even running. And, it's FAST! Set up was a breeze, it connected immediately to my wireless network & the BEST thing is it came without a ton of bloatware on it. In the past, I've been accustomed to reformatting a new computer's hard drive & reinstalling a clean OS to rid myself of bloatware -- not necessary with this machine & that has saved me a lot of time.
Dell is my first choice for new computer purchases, and this is just the latest example of why. All of my purchases from Dell have been problem free, great experiences.
Thank you, Dell.
Pros:home recording studio
+83points
89of 95voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hezzie
(Europe)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

My Inspiron 620 is a Clear Winner!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Don't know where all the reviewers get the noisy bit. I've owned a string of Dell machines, and my 620 Inspiron is the quietest yet. It also performs beautifully and has given me zero problems. Hard to believe there are one star people out there. I'm sure not among 'em! This is a 5***** machine.
Pros:writing, search, e-mail
+21points
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LarryStM
(Tucson, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bad with the Good

PostedMay 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just bought 2 systems a Inspiron 620 ST and Inspiron 15 (N5040) laptop. The laptop is working great, no complaints. Now lets talk about the desktop, Yes the HD makes noise and yes the dvd tray sticks sometimes when retracting, I can live with theses. My real issue is the 250 watt power supply and will not handle upgrading the video/graphics. I will have to upgrade the P/S to 400watts because I want dual monitors. Yes I'm a network admin, desktop support tech. I have chatted with tech support and they have been super. Overall I'm very satisfied with the systems.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 620 (Mid 2011)
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Philbe

PostedMay 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my third dell PC and my kids are still using then for their school. Love my nes dell desk top and have a laptop as well, because I like the quick after sales service and everything that goes with it.
One of the cons with the laptop is it can be slow at times.
Phil
Pros:home stuff
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9