Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R

Inspiron 17R

Inspiron 17R
4.43 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 321 reviews
5 Stars
201
4 Stars
87
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
14
1 Star
8
4.4
 / 
5
(321 reviews) 280
295 out of 32192%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R
Review 21 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vanita
Title:

My Dell Inspiron N7010

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop in September and it is over and above my expectations! It is the best electronics item I have purchased in 2010.
Pros:School, shopping, bill pay, movies
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GrosseFatigue
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I never needed portability in the past and LCDs could never beat my 24" wide Sony Trinitron display so I stuck with a desktop until now. Those new LCD backlit LED displays are awsome, even at 900p. I bought a 24" LCD/LED display to complement my laptop and now I am really excited by the switch to a laptop and by this new Inspiron 17R. It is quiet and cool and fast enough. I did not want to spend an extra $500.00 for an XPS. I don't do games. I like the display moved forward, leaving a flat space for an extra large battery. I mean an Apple is $1,000 more and does't have bluray.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SMG2
Title:

Great Machine

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think this is a great machine, I did get the core i5 6GB memory which probably does make a difference. I cant be too bothered about fingerprints on the cover...which actually has a nice glossy finish. The large screen display is great! Kinda bulky to be carried around but is definitely a great desktop replacement. Definitely would recommend for basic personal use - I dont use it for gaming, but internet video works great.
Pros:internet, store photos
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Techns
(Nova Scotia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

allaround winner

PostedNovember 24, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
second laptop I've owned and the best sofar,prompted me to get a wireless network set up to make use of that option,have used the webcam often and works beautifully
Pros:enduser, video streaming, music seeking
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:red07robin
(Invermere, B.C.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

SO EASY!!!

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
My Inspiron came ready to go and is so easy to use!Love Windows 7 and all the new fetures that come with my new Dell.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:I2RW
(Cambridge, On.,)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Second Laptop from Dell

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nicely packaged laptop with a blue top and brushed metal. Someone in the know was checking it out and commented how 'stable' the operating system is. A perfect replacement for my desktop, the screen is clear and bright.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Beaverton
(Beaverton Ontario Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Disappointed

PostedNovember 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second Dell laptop that I have purchased, the first lasted five years. Within the first two weeks I have had to reload Windows as the system locks up. The speed is very poor and I am not impressed.
Pros:pleasure
+30points
38of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chuck731
(garden grove, california)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

my own 2dell computer has broken down

PostedNovember 27, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased N7010 model 17.3 inch laptop.
about 20days later window screen freezed.
and wend down. so I had to purchase software warranty for $299 for 2years. dell don't support software problems, through dell partner company it called iygoi techical support.
this is my second time dell computer, I had hardware problem, when I bought first dell desktop pc, after 4days which I bought dell pc, I had to replace hard drive at that time.
and this second dell laptop, when I input with key board, the cursor moving to other way.
if I write e-mail or any word at internet,
cursor often moving to other place. so, it very difficult to write e-mail or something.
I should have not buy dell pc or laptop.
Pros:for my business, at my office
-14points
56of 126voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Testeroo
Title:

TEST TEST TEST

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a super computer.
Pros:edit photos
-14points
4of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vivacie
(Alabama)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A great laptop~!

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first laptop, but my second computer from Dell. I went with the Core i3, 4gigs of ram, with a 500gb hard drive.
What I must say is: this thing is fast! (I haven't tested it while connected to the Internet or while downloading.) I can switch easily from word to media player in the blink of an eye. The laptop isn't noisy, but the fan can be a tad loud, especially when watching a video.
I do notice a difference in sound when playing music compared to just playing a video. Sound quality isn't top notch, but it's nothing to complain about.
The keyboard, for me, is a little odd. I have small hands and short fingers so reaching the buttons -even while resting my wrists- is like stretching for gymnastics. The buttons themselves don't make a loud clicking noise when pressed. I really enjoy the volume controls located on the F-keys.
Webcam is a bit grainy, mostly clear though.
The outside surface attracts fingerprints (And dust!) as does the inside around the screen. I find the fingerprints aren't that noticeable until you have your nose pressed against it. I'm not normally a fan of black, but I love the sheen/glossy look to it, inside and out- especially the silver on the inside.
Everyone who sees this laptop says it looks real good and that when they bought a laptop, they wanted one just like mine.
The mouse is a little wonky, and can get in the way while typing but the mouse on/off button clears that right up.
Overall, I'm extremely satisfied with everything about the 17R- I'll definitely buy my next laptop from Dell as well.
+59points
66of 73voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JA123

PostedDecember 1, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
1.Only if Window XP can be Orderd with it.
2. The Dell Dock should be movable next to the task bar, because on top it is in the way of all the sreens that open up and thereore the text becomes hart to see.
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rememberCS
Title:

Catastrophic hard drive failure after 3 months

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Unfortunately, what was a wonderful, fast, great laptop went to a doorstop in three months. It was a sudden, catastrophic hard drive failure with no data recovery. Dell sent a new hard drive and recovery discs, but no directions. All originally pre-loaded software was not part of the recovery discs, so I'm working on a bare bones computer trying to gather all of the software myself. Please make sure to make your own backups and recovery discs rather than use the partition.
+51points
56of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nottoopicky
(Winnipeg Manitoba Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

So far so good

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Vnice large screen at 17.3".
Love the internet connect/disconnect key.
I preferred a different net/antivirus to the one provided.
I misunderstood the initial advert in the flyer about the laptop carry/storage case. ie:- where it
stated "included" I read it to mean of the total price... no cost. ( a nice case however by chance I already have 2 cases ).
Quick efficient delivery.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DigDug
(Central New Jersey)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

The Sweetspot of the Dell Laptop Line

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having been a Dell customer for some time now, and having used/owned laptops from nearly all of Dell's available offerings (including some from product lines no longer available), I would recommend the Inspiron series as the best value-for-money among the gamut of laptops sold these days (by any company), and the 17R as the best iteration of the Inspiron line.
The restyled Inspiron series is a perfect combination of power and style. In recent years, Dell has really come up to speed in aesthetic sensibility and, thankfully, hasn't used that as an excuse to sacrifice on the internals.
The 17R, even in the most budget-conscious configuration, is an incredibly capable machine which will run all but the most graphic intensive games. It is sufficiently expandable (as laptops go) to remain useful for several years to come. I love the screen "real estate" that the 17R provides as I do a lot of audio and video-editing as a hobby.
I noticed that the build quality has actually improved from prior generations. There is very little "flex" or creaking when lifting or moving the laptop, and the heat dissipation - an important issue with today's CPUs and graphics cards, and especially when running process-intensive applications - is quite good.
If you are in the market for a good-looking, powerful laptop that doesn't break the bank, I would grab one of these. As an aside, with the money you save, you can purchase an extended coverage plan so that should you accidentally break the screen or drop the device, you'll be fixed and ready to go without any additional expenditure. I'm usually not one to buy warranty coverage when I purchase things, but I've found that mobile products (phones, laptops and the like) are handled enough that the opportunity for damage is there. Dell's customer service on that front has been stellar, and my warranty has paid for itself quite well.
Pros:video-editing, general productivity, music composition
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:delldenver
(Denver, Colorado)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Sucks

PostedDecember 11, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 10th laptop and many others PC. After 3-4 months, fans stopped working, updated bios with little success.. Graphics card totally sucks no gaming with this baby. Screen flickers due to bios and video issues. Battery not charging.. Basically sending it back for repairs at the mean time upgraded to AMD Asus laptops(basically I should have listened to my basic instincts around 20 years experience in computing and building these).. Never Dell again.. Customer support is Okay if you pay the optional in home service which is too expensive and stupid to buy as quick as these things gets outdated.
Pros:business
+11points
18of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:zimjoan

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
cant review the unit as it was purchased as an xmas gift. Im sure it will be as good as all the other Dells products we have bought
-52points
2of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kate0929
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Overall great laptop

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I previously had a Dell that failed miserably, then switched to a Mac, and I'm happy to say I'm very satisfied with this new laptop and Windows 7. It's taking some time to get used to, but given the economy, I couldn't justify spending twice as much on a smaller, less powerful laptop.
Windows 7 has some resemblance to the Apple OS which I like. It was also a very easy setup right out of the box. Be aware that you either need Blu-Ray or DVD-RW to create the system recovery disk - WHICH IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. You can also use a USB stick, but it must have 8GB available on it.
Graphics are nice - I don't game - it's solely for schoolwork and the occasional movie.
The sound quality is okay, but I've found a setting that sounds pretty decent.
The LED display is very nice, definitely beat out my old Apple Macbook. It is a very big laptop so portability can be a bit tough, but if you're looking for a great deal on a fast laptop that could replace your desktop, I recommend this one. If you're looking for a laptop to game on - I suggest going a different route. It suits my family and I very well, and I'm very happy.
If you get it shipped via Fedex, expect to wait. They are an awful carrier.
Pros:schoolwork, music, movies, internet
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nford
Title:

Excellent laptop, but not perfect

PostedDecember 14, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
My 3-year-old Inspiron 1720 started acting up, so I got the 17R. The 1720 was my favorite computer ever -- large screen, good sound, excellent media control buttons and keyboard with separate number pad, etc.
Compared to the 1720, the 17R's aspect ratio is wider (1600x900 vs 1440x900), letting you see more across the screen. The screen seems VERY bright to me, but the color balance leans towards blue and looks washed out compared to the color on an external Dell monitor. (See picture.)
The 17R's keyboard is its biggest drawback. The travel of the keys feels much shorter than on the 1720, almost like a "chiclet" keyboard. There does not appear to be a Ctrl-Break key!! As a programmer, I need that to interrupt the execution of a program I'm working on. But the worst thing is that the Function keys are labeled with dark print on black keys, making them impossible to identify without bright light. I just can't understand the reason for that.
Unlike the separate media keys on the 1720, the 17R's are on the Function keys, so you can choose to have them as the default and hold down another key to use the Function keys or vice-versa. Either way is an inconvenience.
The touchpad on the 17R is about the size of an iPhone's screen (much larger than the 1720's) and with its multi-touch, lets you do a lot of neat things.
The matte finish on the 1720's case doesn't show fingerprints while the shiny case of the 17R is a fingerprint magnet.
Value-wise, the 17R is unbeatable. It has a 500GB hard drive vs 160GB in my 1720. It has a more powerful CPU, an eSata port, and costs less than 1/3rd what the 1720 did three years ago.
Pros:general home web use, software development
+51points
51of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:1millie
(Ontario)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

GET ONE WHILE YOU CAN

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
what an improvement over my old Desktop,delivery time was good, and the laptop is performing really above my expectations.Its the first new computer in 10 yrs... I chose to go with the basic config, and it serves me well.,, i'm very happy.
Pros:email, research, surfing, music
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Robz
(Palmdale ca)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Good one

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just received my 17r very nice unit. Love the Intel Core i5-460M 2.53Ghz nice and fast. I don't like to waiting long for programs to load. The screen is nice and bright
The only dislikes are keyboard feels short almost like a netbook. Also the shiny case is a finger print magnet. I went out and brought a skin wrap for it to tone it down. Over all you won't go wrong. It's worth the price
Pros:home business
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 15