Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R

Inspiron 17R

Inspiron 17R
4.43 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 321 reviews
5 Stars
201
4 Stars
87
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
14
1 Star
8
4.4
 / 
5
(321 reviews) 280
295 out of 32192%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R
Review 1 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheFoodTrust
(Philadelphia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron N7010, N5010, N4010

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have the N7010 and it is great! These are great systems. Meant primarily for home usage. I purchased a couple for a company that I was working for, one for the executive director, and another for general usage. And they work well. I even installed Windows 7 Enterprise on one and it functions just as smooth. This is my go to system for when I have projects where the only software for it is Windows and have never had an issue with it. Far better than a cheap Acer or E Machine computer. But if you need a computer that is seriously business geared, I suggest that you purchase from the latitude line of Dell computers. They have the additional slots to add cards and other peripherals.
Pros:great system
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:roy11716
Title:

Mouse Pad

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Con:
Mouse pad is not responsive to touch. I tried multiple changes to all the sensitivity settings and could not get the mouse to consistently follow my finger movements. I noticed this same problem with the store displayed PC but I attributed these problems to it being the display model. After purchasing the unit and getting it home I have had a very frustrating time with the mouse pad. I will be returning the unit today.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JohnMH
(San Diego, CA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Will Never Buy Dell Again

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Initial setup a pain, Dell 17R ships with leaflet from Dell stating it is very important to update drivers. Driver update is not automated, you must choose drivers from large selection with poor guidance. Called support and they said it is totally unnecessary to update drivers unless they fail to work... Nice coordination between support and manufacturing. System hangs up frequently. Task Manager Fails when system hangs. My 3yr. old $300.00 other brand works better and has better support
Pros:home use.
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:goxalliexgo
Title:

Awesome at first but...

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my Dell Inspiron N1710 from Dell.com in Dec 2010. Within the first month the Laptop would not boot up. I called Dell and fixed it over the phone. In the 1 year that I have had this laptop the battery has died completely, it will not charge. The AC adapter is so loose that I had to duct tape it to the laptop, the sound went out and only works if you use headphones, and today the laptop will not even boot up. Not to mention that since my warrenty expired 1mo ago, I can no longer contact Dell for support without paying a $60 Fee. I paid $900 for this laptop. My dads $400 ACER laptop from Walmart works better than this thing.
I ignored the bad reviews when I bought this laptop but PLEASE dont ignore this! DO NOT BUY DELL!
+4points
15of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Belewbubble
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Beautiful!

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love the Inspirons, I have purchased 2 for personal use and 3 for use at my employer. They are fast, durable, comfortable to see screen and easy to integrate into your network. The 17" screen is awesome.
I have had some trouble with the keyboard but that is minor compared to the issues experienced by friends with other brands. I did want XP on this computer but have found that Windows 7 is very similar and has some great upgrades.
Pros:home connectivity, Travel
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zylgis
Title:

Great all around system and excellent value

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
1. Display is high contrast & vivid.
2. Systems feels very fast w/Windows 7.
3. Nice full size keyboard.
4. Very reliable - I've had mine for over 1.5 years with daily usage and it's been rock solid.
5. You really don't need an external display with this one.
Pros:website software development, ms office 2010, browsing, picture/video mgmt.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Raidermania
(Orlando, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Best 17" Laptop you can get for the money

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I definitely would recommend this laptop to anyone that asks. When you open the box, you can feel the quality of the build. Then you open the lid and hear some of the awesome sound that the little speakers put out. Has an HDMI out that showed up just fine on my 65" Mitsubishi TV without having any lag. I do recommend getting a skin for it because little scratches do show up, but everything else is A+.
Pros:personal, work
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:HoosierDaddy1968
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

buy something else

PostedDecember 3, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only a 10/100 ethernet and NO ExpressCard slots. Wish I'd never bought this. Can't upgrade to USB 3 since there's no Express Card slot. Don't waste your money on this. Buy anything else. Even ACER includes ExpressCard.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:anjaltrade
(office)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
In a brief period, I am satisfied with this new 17" laptop. I am an active derivatives trader and have found that with the memory, speed, and video card that was installed;I am allowed to have displays of streaming markets and graphs with no difficulties or time lags. I also do a lot of heavy lifting on excel spread sheets and the numeric key board makes application much easier.
Thanks - anj
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hust
(Norman,OK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is a great and easy to use laptop, the screen size huge, I love it, there aren't any cons to the laptop as far as I'm concerned, and the colored tops are a really neat and thoughtful idea, as I like red , but later if I want to give it to the wife or kid and they want a different color these lids pop off and they can put there favrite color lid on or get a custom one, before you could buy a laptop of a certain color but were stuck with that color , well not anymore that is another great thing i love about Dell and the goal to provide the customer with products they want and how they want them , thanks Dell, I ,love my Inspiron 17R laptop best one I've ever had!!
Pros:keep up with current events, check email, surf the web, shopping
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:416IRON
(Las Vegas, Nevada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Is A Winner!!!!

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently purchased an Inspiron 17R from Dell Outlet. I noticed that it was actually a brand new laptop for a great price, not a scratch and dent or refurbished laptop. All I can really say about the laptop is that it is simply awesome to use, whether I am writing papers, using email, surfing the web, video chatting, creating PowerPoint presentations,or many other applications. This is my 4th laptop, 8th computer overall, plus printers, video games, MP3 players, toner, and other accessories that I have purchased either through Dell, Dell Outlet, or ordering over the phone. There are a few reasons why I continue to shop with Dell or Dell Outlet. Their prices are pretty good, their products are of great quality and reliability, and Dell actually cares/knows about their products and especially their customers. I will continue to buy computers, printers, accessories, video games, and other products from Dell and promote Dell-branded products because they have proven themselves to me for over 13 years. Dell is a company that you should at least try their products and watch the loyalty grow for years to come. Thank you for another great computer Dell.
Pros:writing papers for college, email family and friends, surf the web, play pc and online games, watch movies, powerpoint presentations, video chat with family and friends
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dongminkim
(korea)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Goodprice and good performance

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I buy thisfor my 17inch laptop
very durabke and reasonable
thanks dell.
Pros:Travel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dacia
Title:

great picture and sound, battery is lacking

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop is very beautiful. The picture and sound are great. The performance is good. Everything that I hoped for. The battery could stand to be a little bit better. It seems like it doesn't last long enough. Overall, a good laptop.
Pros:homework internet music
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sercontad11
(SAN DIEGO CA.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

VERY NICE LAPTOP

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I always bougth Dells Laptop, I like Dell Inspirions Laptop to work.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JDIKE
Title:

I love the Dell Outlet and the refurbished systems

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This 17R Inspiron is our 3rd system that we have purchased from the Dell Outlet as a refurbished unit. We have experienced no issues or concerns with any of our purchases and frequently recommend the Dell Outlet to family and friends. I have even started purchasing refurbished systems for our manufacturing operation because of the favorable pricing and the instock availability.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sandypooh71
(Morth Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Just what I wanted

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have a few medical issues that keeps me from being as mobile as I use to be. I been looking for a nice laptop that I could use for school that was lite and easy to set up instead of the big desktop my sister has to put up and take down everytime i used it. And at a good price.
I got it. The laptop is lite, easy to handle. not alot of cords to plug in. The right size everything I needed.
There is the problem wiith the battery life. Battery does not stay charge very long.
I had to get a mouse becasue I just could not use the touchpad.
Over all , it is a great investment. My sister was so jealous, she got herself one too.
We now set up laptop to laptop and do our school work, play games and check emails together.
Pros:School, games, email, search the internet
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimShank
(South central Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:home use, fasebook, search the web
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NomadicCAB
(Tampa, FL)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Just what I was looking for.

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded from a 15" Dell Inspiron, that I had purchased in 2006, to this Inspiron 17R in order to increase my viewing pleasure while watching online media. I've only owned Dell Inspiron laptops as my primary home computer solution. I've used Dell products at work over the last 10 years and feel very confident in the brand.
Pros for this system:
System Reliability
Processing Speeds
Graphics Resolution
Sound Quality
Cons for this system:
None encounter yet.
Pros:e-mail, internet, personal finance, streaming video/music
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bquazy
(Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Product Good Price

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased a refurbished laptop over 5 years ago. Had one issue that Dell quickly took care of and has been an excellent computer. When time came to upgrade, it was a no brainer to purchase another Dell. Read the reviews and decided that the cons for the N7010 were not much of an issue for me. Really like the wide screen and extended keyboard. Not a fan of Windows 7 but will get over it. Plan to become familiar with it before upgrading business computers.
Pros:personal use at home & little travel., self educate on latest software.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gWizPTS
(Indian Rocks Beach, FL)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Grandma loves her new laptop

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this laptop for use by an elderly client that had an 6 year old desktop with CRT monitor. She wanted more space, faster speeds and portability. This met all her needs and more. She really liked the large display as well as many of the tweaks available for those with impaired vision. She is delighted, so I am also delighted.
Pros:email, social networking, word processing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15