Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.014 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
18
4
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 210
165 out of 21178%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 141 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tony94
(Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Just amazing

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Laptop arrived 9 days before the actual delivery date, so I was quite happy with that. Laptop works perfectly! Haven't had any problems with it. I was a bit apprehensive about using Windows 8, but I picked it up very quickly and was using it as well as windows 7 within an hour.
The speed of the laptop is absolutely amazing. It is probably a hundred times faster than my old Acer laptop - No exaggeration. Start up times are fantastic and games run very well. Tomb Raider runs perfectly on High settings as well as Battlefield 3. Gaming as well as overall use is enhanced by the crystal clear 1080p HD screen.
Only downside is the 5400RPM Hard drive. Dell should really consider replacing them with 7200RPM Hard drives. However this hasn't caused too much of a problem as I ordered the laptop with the 32GB MSata.
Overall I am extremely happy with this laptop.
Pros:very fast, runs games very well
Cons:5400rpm hard drive (not a problem with 32gb msata)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 142 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schmurphy
(Adelaide SA, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great value for money

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having spent some time checking out the competition I decided the 17R SE ticked all the boxes. The three things my new laptop had to have was a backlit keyboard; a 17 inch screen and a touchpad that wasn't located too far to the left.
The build quality is good enough which is all you can expect at this price point (laptops with similar specifications can cost over $1000 more). The screen is also good but any media that is not 1080p can look a bit ordinary but still acceptable.
I wasn't looking forward to Windows 8 but it is actually quite cool and easier to use than I thought - Windows 7 is still there hiding in the background so it isn't hard to navigate once you've used it for a day or two.
I haven't found anything about the 17R that I don't like and would have no hesitation recommending this product. This is my first Dell computer and probably won't be my last.
Pros:high specs at a reasonable price, feels sturdy and well built, with w8 it is very fast and smooth to use
Cons:screen is good not great
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 143 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John84848484
(Oklahoma City, OK, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not a comfortable laptop.

PostedApril 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use my laptop for more than 8 hours every day. I bought this model because of the great screen resolution. But now after using it for about four months, I'm not as thrilled with it as I would have hoped. My biggest gripe is that it is just not comfortable to use it for long periods of time. The weight is distributed mostly at the back. When it sits on your lap, your hands end up having to weigh down the front. And the edge of the unit near where you wrists rest is not rounded enough. After several hours of use it annoyingly starts to feel like its cutting into your skin. The track pad buttons also annoy me as they are not silent and require more force than should be necessary to click. The keyboard is a little bouncy in the center giving the unit a cheap feel. Adding to the cheap feel, if you try to pick the unit up while the screen is open by grabbing the front of the base, the plastic creaks and sounds like some day you will end up crushing the insides that are below the plastic surface.
Although probably a Microsoft issue, frequently when I open a non-modal dialog window using a keyboard shortcut (such as Ctrl+F for finding something in a document) the input focus will not be in the dialog after opening it. So if you start typing immediately you end up typing in the document instead of in the search box.
On the positive side, the screen resolution is great and the battery life is acceptable.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 8, 2013
Hello John84848484,

Thank you for submitting your review. I am sorry to hear that this system was not everything you wanted and more. We do appreciate your feedback on chassis design changes you would prefer to see. Also, if you have some concerns with you dialog box operations, I do recommend that you reach out to Microsoft Support directly (follow this link,
http://dell.to/10uO1sI, and click Support. You can ask the community to see if any other users have experienced this and have a work around, or get live help from a Microsoft agent).

-SaraT
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 144 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:madeinholt
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

GT650M Graphics Card vanishes from Device Manager and BIOS issues

PostedApril 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
All the positive reviews, initial forum feedback and price, persuaded me to part with some cash to buy a 17R SE a few months ago.
Everything started off well, unfortunately DELL have decided to tinker around with the BIOS without really testing out the impact of their tinkering. Each BIOS update has caused more problems than they solve. I started with A08 which worked fine. A011 has rendered the GT650M graphics card useless for most of the time - as it keeps randomly hiding the GT650M from the BIOS and it disappears from Windows Device Manager - requiring a restart before it can be used again for a short period. Based on forum posts I have decided to hold back on BIOS's A012 and A013 because they seem to rendered the GT650M useless for 100% of the time.
Pros:stops hot cups marking the table
Cons:expensive drinks coaster
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 8, 2013
Hello madeinholt,

Sorry to hear you are having bios issues. Updates are supposed to fix things, right? Sounds like you are well informed and up to date on forums. This is the best place to find out the latest updates and how they work. I would recommend contacting Dellcares with your issues. Not only can they document your issues, feed your issues to our product group who create the fixes but, may have a resolution to your issues.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Thank you for sharing,
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 145 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeffrey63
(Westminster, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Another awesome computer from Dell

PostedApril 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this new Dell 7720 laptop computer on March 20th 2013. I received this computer on April 4th (six days ahead of the expected delivery date). This is the first new Dell I've had in the last eight years (since my Dell XPS 410 with Windows XP on it). It is an incredible machine!
I followed Dell's recommendations by downloading the system software to the laptop and registering it, before I did anything else. Setup was amazingly easy and thorough. All the downloads were performed without any problems. The 17 inch screen and NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M card give a great display.
My experience with this new Dell so far has been flawless, and it's features are all that I hoped they would be. I've always been confident in going with Dell, and this new system validates that trust.
Pros:setup and dell system downloads were smooth., display is first rate., product support from the web site was great.
Cons:none
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 146 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Nashville, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Product for Home & Work

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this system, Dell 17r SE, for a little over a month. I have been pleased with the system, because it's powerful enough to handle work tasks and personal usage.
I am pleased with all the systems, from display to storage, and I have not had any problems to date. My biggest issue is going from Windows XP to Windows 8, but I am learning.
I would recommend this system to anyone.
Pros:screen size, speed
Cons:none yet
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 147 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oregonbooks
(Southern Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Super Impressive performance

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Certified Dell Refurbished one, only regret is that I did not buy the 1080p screen option. I bought and installed a 128gb SSD, after a few hours of updates, it is amazing. Boots from cold in less than 15 seconds, restarts in about the same. Screen (900p) is pretty good and will likely upgrade this soon as I am used to 1920x1080 resolution on my old Vostro. Sound is better than any laptop I have used, speed is really good and with the SSD it scored 3700 on the Passmark benchmark test, I tested the 15R Special Edition and it scored 2300. The 17R has TWO Sata spaces under the hood. I slaved the 1tb stock drive and use the SSD for programs. Plays Skyrim, WOW, Bioshock all at max graphic settings.
Pros:fast true quad core, sound is good for laptop, many more pros
Cons:none so far
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 148 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vlldavid
(Midland, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Sweet

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is not alien ware but close enough remember this is for high performance so its not going to be small and light its made for speed so yes its going to be big I like the big drive its slow but expected its a 1tara byte 5600rpms over all I love the back lit key board its a desktop in a laptop so I like it Besides I can always upgrade the drives later including the ram at 8 gigs its still not to shabby its a great by besides you can get a tablet 200 hundred off SWEET
Pros:fast, big drive, lots of ram, big screen
Cons:havent found any yet
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 149 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Italiamy
(Sparks, NV)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointed

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very disappointed with this purchase. The computer does not stay connected to the modem and is constantly shutting down. ---- Total waste of money.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 15, 2013
Hello Italiamy,

I am sorry to hear that you are having problems with your laptop. I would advise that you get in contact with technical support. They can help you isolate the issue and trouble shoot the root cause. Please feel free to contact our technical support experts using the following options:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14

I hope they can help so you can start loving your new system. -SaraT
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 150 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fosa
(Nigeria)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good value for money

PostedApril 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
very performance laptop. runs my revit 2013 software superbly. contrary to previous reviews about windows 8, i absolutely love it. though i have some issues installing the .NET 3.5 framework to enable me use earlier versions of software. summarily very good product.
Pros:great graphics, fast operations, very nice speakers
Cons:low battery life
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 151 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nebraska1088
(Nebraska, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Disappointed

PostedApril 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this computer in January of 2013. It is now April of 2013 and I have had to replace the hard drive and take to a local technician to fix a computer screen malfunction. I realize that continued use of any product will put strain on it but considering we don't use the computer for any more than an hour each day this purchase has been nothing but disappointing. My previous computer was a dell and I never had a single problem in the 5 years I owned it. I am very disappointed that the quality of Dell's computers has fallen so far within that 5 years. Unless we are able to fix the errors that our current computer continues to have we will go elsewhere in the future. Technical support has been pretty good but with a product that needs so much attention they need to be.
Pros:clear screen (when operational), battery life, large screen
Cons:quality of parts, continued problems with operational aspects, windows 8 operating system isn't user friendly, feels cheap, unable to access when needed, inability to perform even basic tasks
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 18, 2013
Hey Nebraska1088,

I am sorry to hear about the issues with your Inspiron 17R SE. Please, Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
www.facebook.com/Dell
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 152 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fedmonds
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fiona

PostedApril 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
do not buy this computer! fails to boot up and keyboard keys dont work, very slow. replaced hd but still wont boot up & usb port failed too. Runaround from dell. hopeless!
Cons:wont boot up reguarly
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 22, 2013
Hello Fedmonds,

I am so sorry to hear you had such a bad experience. This is not indicative of what you should expect from Dell systems or service. I would recommend reaching out to our Dellcares Team. They can get you back to where you need to be.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://dell.to/14T7mnW)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/1cXzZdN)

Keep us updated on how it goes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 153 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Devilofawesome
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Powerful Laptop for a Good Price

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell Inspiron 17R Special Edition Laptop is not simply a mobile device that specializes in one range of tasks; instead, it is a multitasking powerhouse that allows you to easily do things such as typing an e-mail AND enjoy a round of Planetside 2. Some may think that such a computer would come at a steep cost, but do not let this fool you; the 17R SE has a price-to-performance ratio that could have literally fallen from the heavens.
The design is very simple, with chiclet-style keys that can satisfy both the typist and hard-core gamer within me. This machine may way more than you think it should, but that should be logical considering its powerful components, including the Nvida Geforce GT 650m, a very powerful Intel i7 quad-core processor, and enjoyable Skull Candy speakers. Even though this may not be the setup of a pure gaming enthusiast, I am still able to play Skyrim and Planetside 2 on mostly maximum settings without any lag whatsoever. The screen of the 17R SE displays crisp and clean images while minimizing reflection, making this device more of an actual laptop and not a mirror.
My only complaint for the 17R SE is that its performance in games is very much weakened when it is not plugged into a power source. I actually find this issue quiet irritating, and would like to know if this is simply how this laptop works, or if there is a technical malfunction involved.
Pros:good performance, good-but-simple design
Cons:faltered performance when unplugged
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 154 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dariuzthepole
(Brisbane QLD, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Machine!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop! My first laptop was a Dell Inspiron 17" and when that died after 4yrs (my own doing) I moved to Samsung. Needless to say when the time came around again, I went straight back to Dell. Great features, super quick, huge amounts of RAM for multimedia (my main use) and great HD screen.
Only complaint is upon using the Dell Backup software. The Samsung I had actually created a HDD partition and created a copy of the HDD on this small partition, so when you restore it, it's there on your internal HDD. Dell's version require you use an external HDD/flash drive of min 16GB. The backup is just over 8GB and it takes up the whole drive, so the remainder of the memory is inaccessible. I had trouble initially as I plugged in an external 3TB HDD and it wasn't working. To be fair as soon as I contacted Dell Support via Twitter, they knew straight away what the issue was (the software couldn't format the 3TB, too big), but I still had to go out & buy some USB drives for the back-up file. I also needed a replacement screen as there was a small dark spot bang in the center of the screen upon delivery. Again, I contacted support and I had a technicial out the next day - that's why you buy the support, people!
Pros:1080p, backlit keys, super fast, nvidia
Cons:backup software, heavy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 155 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hreker
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I would Recomend the Insprion SE 7720

PostedApril 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is amazing and fast, and reliable. I use it for gaming and word processing and web page building. and come across only a few minor issues that anyone with little computer experience can resolve through the help files. Although I would prefer Windows 7 as an OS
Pros:good display, fast
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 156 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rhodsie78
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

HORRIBLE BUY, BEWARE

PostedApril 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for 2 months and it makes noise and runs horrible. and cant be taken back. The Windows 8 on it is HORRIBLE! It likes to type what it wants by itself, HORRIBLE PRODUCT!
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 22, 2013
Hey Rhodsie78,

Sorry to hear about the issues that you are having with your Inspiron 17R SE.
Please use the link below and it will take you to the homepage for our Drivers and Downloads. Use this to verify that you have the most updated BIOS for your system. We address issues like noisy fan with BIOS updates and this may help to alleviate the noisiness issue.

D&D-
http://dell.to/123WtB9

Please use the links below to go and check out our Windows 8 tutorial videos and FAQ's. The information provided within these can help get you acclimated to the new OS. It can be a little tough to get used to a new operating system but in time I think you can really learn to enjoy Windows 8.
Win 8 Tutorial Videos-
http://dell.to/X8D4hD
Win 8 FAQ's-
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk <http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk>

If there is anything we can do to help you out, please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
www.facebook.com/Dell
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 157 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:singh27
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome Computer

PostedApril 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love everything except that it comes installed with Windows 8. I hate Windows 8, but everything else about this computer in terms of its hardware and gaming performance is amazing. I play Skyrim, Civ 5, NBA2k13, etc. all at High graphics. Also, the large screen is awesome for watching movies.
Pros:awesome awesome awesome computer
Cons:windows 8
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 158 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:30rocker
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Perfomance at Great Value

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 17R SE feels like an Alienware in disguise, it has all the graphical capabilities, i7 processor and 1080p resolution with the option to go 3D which I will try down the line. The speakers by Skullcandy are amazing, best laptop ever. It is on the heavy side but I bought it knowing and expecting that. As for the Windows 8, it does require some getting used to but there are ways to have START back and its great.
Pros:i7 processor, skullcandy speakers, nvidia graphics w/ 3d option
Cons:battery life, weight
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 159 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Emery96
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

An all around excellent laptop

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an absolutely brilliant laptop. I purchased it with the intentions of using it for school, with some gaming and photo work on the side. It easily handles all daily tasks without any issues, and runs most games without troubles. I can run most games at full resolution and max graphics at around 30fps, and on high graphics at about 50fps. Also very good audio quality (for a laptop) with the built in sub woofer. The 1920 x 1080 screen is a nice added bonus for a laptop. Very quick to start up; I average about 4 second start up times. If you're on the fence about this product, I would advise going for it. You will not regret it.
Pros:great processor, good sound quality, lots of features and customization
Cons:can be tough to keep clean, case is weak in some areas, hinges have moved off centre
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 160 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:buggsy247
(Manistee, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Powerhouse for the Price

PostedApril 24, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have read reviews of this product and thought I would add my two cents. Yes it is big and a bit heavy but as it states it is a desktop replacement so this is fine with me. The back-lit keyboard is perfect for when you want to surf the net in the wee hours of the night and the skull candy speakers sound great. It came with Bios A12 and I updated to A13 with no issues of the nVidea Graphics disappearing as I had read in the forums. Do the research like I did CNET has a great review of this model on their website. The honeycomb like finish on the lid and around the keyboard is perfect and nearly smudge proof. Play's hardcore games flawlessly as I play Crysis and Need For Speed with no problems of graphics or overheating. If you are a gamer invest in a cooling pad just in case. The new quick-set driver (compared to my Inspiron N5110) is much better and has settings to adjust the battery like Desktop Mode and Longevity Mode for extended battery life. The LCD screen is huge and clear. Movies look awesome and as a student processor and memory draining software like Adobe CS6 are much more faster and fluent. If you are looking for a reasonably priced laptop with all these features I recommend it. Hat's off to the design team for coming up with this model also.
Pros:great performance, fast startup, great sound, comparable to xps line
Cons:wish i would of purchased this sooner.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11