Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.014 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
18
4
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 210
165 out of 21178%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 141 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oregonbooks
(Southern Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Super Impressive performance

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Certified Dell Refurbished one, only regret is that I did not buy the 1080p screen option. I bought and installed a 128gb SSD, after a few hours of updates, it is amazing. Boots from cold in less than 15 seconds, restarts in about the same. Screen (900p) is pretty good and will likely upgrade this soon as I am used to 1920x1080 resolution on my old Vostro. Sound is better than any laptop I have used, speed is really good and with the SSD it scored 3700 on the Passmark benchmark test, I tested the 15R Special Edition and it scored 2300. The 17R has TWO Sata spaces under the hood. I slaved the 1tb stock drive and use the SSD for programs. Plays Skyrim, WOW, Bioshock all at max graphic settings.
Pros:fast true quad core, sound is good for laptop, many more pros
Cons:none so far
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 142 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KevinCan
(Jacksonville, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedMarch 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 3rd Dell laptop, my other 2 have lasted 4 years plus. My last was an XPS and I loved it. I decided it was time to upgrade since I wanted/needed better performance and memory. I decided to by the Inspiron 17R, I am so disappointed. I have numerous problems and I have been putting off calling Dell support since in the past that has been a nightmare. The physical quality of the machine is lacking especially in the keyboard. If I had looked at this machine in a store I would not have bought it. I guess I'm glad I purchased the 3 year bumper to bumper warranty.
Cons:overall quality
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 28, 2013
Hey KevinCan,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with the Inspiron 17R SE. Please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
Give us a chance to help rectify your issues.

Thank you. JGB
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 143 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MHRH

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This SE7720 runs boots much faster then my other dell laptops and the screen is clear and bright when you watch a video it is close to watching it on my tv. I would buy a other one
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 144 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JenzBenz
(Pine Bluff, AR)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

So far I am loving my new Dell

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love the backlit keyboard but still adjusting to the new Windows 8. Everything is right there at your fingertips. I had a few difficulties but I was immediately assisted by Dell Tech Support. The problem was not because of Dell but was the IP configuration. Thanks Dell for another great laptop!!!
So far, I WOULD CHALLENGE ANYONE TO FIND A BETTER PRODUCT.
Pros:pleasure
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 145 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TBPA
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great product, lacking service

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the laptop the other day, and the product is everyting that it should be. Fast, easy to use, great quality, and great value. The service however leaves a loot of room for improvement...
The delivery was very quick and the communication through the process great. However we ordered the computer in my name, and need to be invoiced in my wofes name for work purposes. An oversight on our behalf, but one that I have made a number of calls to Dell about to no avail. I have emailed their customer service team 5 days ago and heard nothing. Doesnt seem like it would be a hard thing to do, but seems it may prove too difficult.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 146 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:YukiTsuki15
(U.S.)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a pretty nice laptop for gaming, entertainment, and everyday use. The display is beautiful, vivid, and clear. It plays all of the games I've played on it at high setting with good frame rates. The Skullcandy speakers sound great. the only real cons that I see to the laptop are that it tends to get a bit hot after playing on it for a few straight hours and the battery life is only about 3-4 hours long. Overall, it's a great laptop and worth the price.
Pros:Gaming, movies, music, work/school
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 147 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RobSi
(Cocoa, Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

17R Special Edition

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The is my 2nd 17r, but his one in the Special Edition, so much better than I expected, Love the speed and storage, I know this might be trivial but the light under the key pad are just cool.
Pro. The speed, storage, screen and the looks
Cons, the lack of a bigger battery.
Pros:home, Travel
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 148 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Laura77
(Eagle Mountain, UT)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love my new laptop!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my new Laptop! (17R SE 7720) It is much lighter and sleeker than I had expected. I didn't come preloaded with to much garbage that I needed to take back off.
I am amazed at how FAST it is!
Pros:business, home, School
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 149 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dan808
(Honolulu, HI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

17R is worth the extra cost - a few areas for improvement though

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Backlit keyboard at two intensity settings. Can also be turned off. Great battery life. Fast processor. Nice big anti-glare screen
Cons: Keyboard layout is offset w number pad which makes typing a little tricky. The hands tend to want to go the the center of the screen to type not offset to left. Touchpad is super sensitive. Just look at it wrong and your cursor will move. Sharp top edge of keboard/laptop form cuts into wrists if you are typing for more than a few minutes. this metal bezel edge could be softened and greatly improve the ergonomics of the laptop IMO.
I've had my 17R for 6 months. Replaced a Dell d7. Would prefer to have a Windows 7 OS option but Win8 is not 1/2 as bad as many make it out to be. It does want to hold your hand a lot and limit your personalization, take over your email, etc. Its a love hate thing for sure.
Pros:backlit keyboard at two intensity settings.
Cons:the top edge of the keyboard is pointy and sharp!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 150 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DoctorloLafolana
(Brooklyn, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Powerhouse, does it all and comes back for more

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wrote a dissertation, taught a full load of 5 grad classes/ semester AND used for entertainment. Love the size of the screen. Next time, want the back-lit keyboard like my last one-- those rawk.
Pros:big screen, fast
Cons:hard to find cases/bags/carriers, must treat like gold
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 151 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hreker
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I would Recomend the Insprion SE 7720

PostedApril 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is amazing and fast, and reliable. I use it for gaming and word processing and web page building. and come across only a few minor issues that anyone with little computer experience can resolve through the help files. Although I would prefer Windows 7 as an OS
Pros:good display, fast
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 152 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rjemantra
(Northern California)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

So far so Good

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Nice Screen, fast, everything seems to be working as it should, no issues.
Cons: Feels like it could be easily broken/damaged, Not too sure about the new windows 8.
Overall feels like a good value for the price.
Pros:work at home, internet surfing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 153 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Angent56
Title:

Great Laptop for Gaming

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an excellent laptop for gaming, the picture looks great and there is no lag. To set up some of the games tho, you have to go into manage 3D settings and change the process to High Performance Nvidia Processor. The only problems I have with this laptop are; I can't get my headphones working, and Nvidia Physx wont install because of a fatal error. Because of this my driver wont update, which causes some games like Payday: The Heist to not work properly. I hope that a support person could help me with this problem, but it is still a great laptop never the less!!
Pros:media, Gaming, schooling
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 154 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Narayan99
(India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Best Laptop Ever Made !

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have brought this Laptop on February 10th And I am very happy with its flawless working. With its i7 CPU I can play Battlefield 3 with 35 FPS and its battery backup is also excellent. After playing BF3 for 2hours on ultra settings then also its battery remaing for web surfing. And the best thing about this laptop is the NVIDIA GT 650 2GB GDDR5, It can run all the modern games with high settings.
I am very very happy with this laptop And its Design.... :)
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 155 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WilliamvanVliet
(Atwater, California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

BEAUTIFUL LAPTOP!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Beautiful in the sense that this laptop gets what needs to be done at a rate that leaves all other machines gasping for air! It has a great nvidia graphics card that plays Skyrim, Battlefield 3, Arma 2/Dayz, and Minecraft all on High settings with lush frame rates! Laptop boots up in under 15 seconds with just the 5400 rpm terabyte hard disk (I am going to install a 128gb ssd in second slot!). Oh yeah did i mention there is a second slot open for another hard disk/ solid state drive plus a slot for an msata as well! Overall this laptop is a great workhorse that retains mobility! (Dont forget your charger!!)
Pros:Gaming, School
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 156 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZeroKnight07
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

neutral i guess could use some fixes though

PostedAugust 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sure but basically below are issues I got it a week ago
--------Cons
Starts out at power button- unless pressed hard it doesn't power on (have had to press it like 2-3 times sometimes to turn on)
-It Says comes with a back-lit key board- mine doesn't have
Startup- This computer costs double then my old one and my old one i used for gaming and started up nice and smoothly.
this one i have to wait like 2-5 minutes after the screen is logged for it to start running smoothly
Mousepad-
Ok tested "mousepad doesn't work properly on google chrome" works on internet explorer .. i prefer chrome though
McAfee is annoying though
-Freezes sometimes (not sure if due to internet or computer or the browser)
--------Pros
Graphics are beautiful though
Beats audio sounds great but kinda strange on bottom (old labtop had it on top above the keyboard)
Didn't come with advertisement garbage.( which is a plus was in shock! 1st laptop without it)
Not sure can't think or remember anything else.
on the side note Still pending my reward card though for this and still upset i didn't get a backlit keyboard as promised
Pros:graphics great, nice design, once it starts up works pretty descent, keyboard design is good
Cons:mousepad not working 100%, battery time changes often, takes long to start up, i didn't get back lit keyboard as promised, power button not 100% working
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewAugust 13, 2013
Hello ZeroKnight07,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your overall experience has not been perfect. The Inspiron 17R 7520 does not come with a backlit keyboard, but the Inspiron 17R SE 7720 has that option. Pressing Fn + F6 should turn the backlit keyboard on/dim/off. Since the touchpad works well with other programs, this may not resolve the Google Chrome concerns you have, but I would suggest making sure your touchpad drivers are up to date (
http://dell.to/16Ikgb6).

I am glad that you are enjoying the systems graphics and speakers, and that it came without a lot of extra software you did not want.

If you continue to have any concerns about the system, please feel free to reach out to our DellCares team through Twitter- @DellCares (
http://dell.to/1beHgBz) or on the Dell Community Forums (http://dell.to/19drTvZ). If you want to check on the status of a eGift card, feel free to reach out on the Customer Care board as well (http://dell.to/19fEVph).

Thank you again for your review.

-SaraT
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 157 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vlldavid
(Midland, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Sweet

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is not alien ware but close enough remember this is for high performance so its not going to be small and light its made for speed so yes its going to be big I like the big drive its slow but expected its a 1tara byte 5600rpms over all I love the back lit key board its a desktop in a laptop so I like it Besides I can always upgrade the drives later including the ram at 8 gigs its still not to shabby its a great by besides you can get a tablet 200 hundred off SWEET
Pros:fast, big drive, lots of ram, big screen
Cons:havent found any yet
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 158 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jason83205
(Birmingham, AL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is a great computer

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would recommend this computer to anyone. Areas to improve on would be smaller and more stylish while keeping the same great features, performance, and value.
Pros:features, perfomance, value
Cons:bulky, plain design, to heavy, battery life
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 159 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rhkpek

PostedNovember 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received my 17R SE today about 1 PM. At 2:30 display failed. Called Tech Support and it seems the fan was bad out of the box. Dell is sending a new replacement. Hope the second one works better than the first. I have a 3 year old Dell Studio 1737 that is of better quality. My opinion may change if the second 17R SE works.
Pros:home
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 19, 2012
Hi rhkpek,


Sorry for all the inconvenience caused to you . It is an unfortunate experience, however i believe that you will have a great time having the replacement machine .

If you have any concerns and need help in the future, please do reach our Dell support team in Twitter @Dellcares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT or Facebook - http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
We will be glad to help you anytime .


We value your feedback .
I hope this helps. Thank you for choosing Dell .
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 160 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimTR
(Great Malvern, Worcestershire, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

17R se review

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had a 17r se for a day or so (short time you say) but I have being using computers since the early 80's so by now I know when something is right, which in most ways the 17R is.
however there are some short comings (some of which are not Dell's problems) .
The 17R was purchased to replace an old Dell Vostro 1700, which since 2008 has done the job but as I don't use MS Windows the 17R came preloaded with MSWV8 which gave me an hour or 2 to remove that (MSWV8) and install a linux OS but to be fair the linux OS installed first time and every piece of hardware worked.
Pros:lighter than the vostro, easy to remove windows 8, back lit keyboard
Cons:build quality lower than the vostro, no reinstall media (ms windows users, no bluetivation light tooth ac, warranty void with ms windows removed
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
  1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11