Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.024 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
14
1 Star
18
4
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 210
166 out of 21179%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 61 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Fosa
(Nigeria)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good value for money

PostedApril 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
very performance laptop. runs my revit 2013 software superbly. contrary to previous reviews about windows 8, i absolutely love it. though i have some issues installing the .NET 3.5 framework to enable me use earlier versions of software. summarily very good product.
Pros:great graphics, fast operations, very nice speakers
Cons:low battery life
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Italiamy
(Sparks, NV)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Disappointed

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very disappointed with this purchase. The computer does not stay connected to the modem and is constantly shutting down. ---- Total waste of money.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 15, 2013
Hello Italiamy,

I am sorry to hear that you are having problems with your laptop. I would advise that you get in contact with technical support. They can help you isolate the issue and trouble shoot the root cause. Please feel free to contact our technical support experts using the following options:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14

I hope they can help so you can start loving your new system. -SaraT
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vlldavid
(Midland, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Sweet

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is not alien ware but close enough remember this is for high performance so its not going to be small and light its made for speed so yes its going to be big I like the big drive its slow but expected its a 1tara byte 5600rpms over all I love the back lit key board its a desktop in a laptop so I like it Besides I can always upgrade the drives later including the ram at 8 gigs its still not to shabby its a great by besides you can get a tablet 200 hundred off SWEET
Pros:fast, big drive, lots of ram, big screen
Cons:havent found any yet
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oregonbooks
(Southern Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Super Impressive performance

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought a Certified Dell Refurbished one, only regret is that I did not buy the 1080p screen option. I bought and installed a 128gb SSD, after a few hours of updates, it is amazing. Boots from cold in less than 15 seconds, restarts in about the same. Screen (900p) is pretty good and will likely upgrade this soon as I am used to 1920x1080 resolution on my old Vostro. Sound is better than any laptop I have used, speed is really good and with the SSD it scored 3700 on the Passmark benchmark test, I tested the 15R Special Edition and it scored 2300. The 17R has TWO Sata spaces under the hood. I slaved the 1tb stock drive and use the SSD for programs. Plays Skyrim, WOW, Bioshock all at max graphic settings.
Pros:fast true quad core, sound is good for laptop, many more pros
Cons:none so far
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Nashville, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Product for Home & Work

PostedApril 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this system, Dell 17r SE, for a little over a month. I have been pleased with the system, because it's powerful enough to handle work tasks and personal usage.
I am pleased with all the systems, from display to storage, and I have not had any problems to date. My biggest issue is going from Windows XP to Windows 8, but I am learning.
I would recommend this system to anyone.
Pros:screen size, speed
Cons:none yet
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jeffrey63
(Westminster, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Another awesome computer from Dell

PostedApril 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this new Dell 7720 laptop computer on March 20th 2013. I received this computer on April 4th (six days ahead of the expected delivery date). This is the first new Dell I've had in the last eight years (since my Dell XPS 410 with Windows XP on it). It is an incredible machine!
I followed Dell's recommendations by downloading the system software to the laptop and registering it, before I did anything else. Setup was amazingly easy and thorough. All the downloads were performed without any problems. The 17 inch screen and NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M card give a great display.
My experience with this new Dell so far has been flawless, and it's features are all that I hoped they would be. I've always been confident in going with Dell, and this new system validates that trust.
Pros:setup and dell system downloads were smooth., display is first rate., product support from the web site was great.
Cons:none
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:madeinholt
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

GT650M Graphics Card vanishes from Device Manager and BIOS issues

PostedApril 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
All the positive reviews, initial forum feedback and price, persuaded me to part with some cash to buy a 17R SE a few months ago.
Everything started off well, unfortunately DELL have decided to tinker around with the BIOS without really testing out the impact of their tinkering. Each BIOS update has caused more problems than they solve. I started with A08 which worked fine. A011 has rendered the GT650M graphics card useless for most of the time - as it keeps randomly hiding the GT650M from the BIOS and it disappears from Windows Device Manager - requiring a restart before it can be used again for a short period. Based on forum posts I have decided to hold back on BIOS's A012 and A013 because they seem to rendered the GT650M useless for 100% of the time.
Pros:stops hot cups marking the table
Cons:expensive drinks coaster
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 8, 2013
Hello madeinholt,

Sorry to hear you are having bios issues. Updates are supposed to fix things, right? Sounds like you are well informed and up to date on forums. This is the best place to find out the latest updates and how they work. I would recommend contacting Dellcares with your issues. Not only can they document your issues, feed your issues to our product group who create the fixes but, may have a resolution to your issues.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Thank you for sharing,
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John84848484
(Oklahoma City, OK, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not a comfortable laptop.

PostedApril 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use my laptop for more than 8 hours every day. I bought this model because of the great screen resolution. But now after using it for about four months, I'm not as thrilled with it as I would have hoped. My biggest gripe is that it is just not comfortable to use it for long periods of time. The weight is distributed mostly at the back. When it sits on your lap, your hands end up having to weigh down the front. And the edge of the unit near where you wrists rest is not rounded enough. After several hours of use it annoyingly starts to feel like its cutting into your skin. The track pad buttons also annoy me as they are not silent and require more force than should be necessary to click. The keyboard is a little bouncy in the center giving the unit a cheap feel. Adding to the cheap feel, if you try to pick the unit up while the screen is open by grabbing the front of the base, the plastic creaks and sounds like some day you will end up crushing the insides that are below the plastic surface.
Although probably a Microsoft issue, frequently when I open a non-modal dialog window using a keyboard shortcut (such as Ctrl+F for finding something in a document) the input focus will not be in the dialog after opening it. So if you start typing immediately you end up typing in the document instead of in the search box.
On the positive side, the screen resolution is great and the battery life is acceptable.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 8, 2013
Hello John84848484,

Thank you for submitting your review. I am sorry to hear that this system was not everything you wanted and more. We do appreciate your feedback on chassis design changes you would prefer to see. Also, if you have some concerns with you dialog box operations, I do recommend that you reach out to Microsoft Support directly (follow this link,
http://dell.to/10uO1sI, and click Support. You can ask the community to see if any other users have experienced this and have a work around, or get live help from a Microsoft agent).

-SaraT
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schmurphy
(Adelaide SA, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great value for money

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having spent some time checking out the competition I decided the 17R SE ticked all the boxes. The three things my new laptop had to have was a backlit keyboard; a 17 inch screen and a touchpad that wasn't located too far to the left.
The build quality is good enough which is all you can expect at this price point (laptops with similar specifications can cost over $1000 more). The screen is also good but any media that is not 1080p can look a bit ordinary but still acceptable.
I wasn't looking forward to Windows 8 but it is actually quite cool and easier to use than I thought - Windows 7 is still there hiding in the background so it isn't hard to navigate once you've used it for a day or two.
I haven't found anything about the 17R that I don't like and would have no hesitation recommending this product. This is my first Dell computer and probably won't be my last.
Pros:high specs at a reasonable price, feels sturdy and well built, with w8 it is very fast and smooth to use
Cons:screen is good not great
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Tony94
(Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Just amazing

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Laptop arrived 9 days before the actual delivery date, so I was quite happy with that. Laptop works perfectly! Haven't had any problems with it. I was a bit apprehensive about using Windows 8, but I picked it up very quickly and was using it as well as windows 7 within an hour.
The speed of the laptop is absolutely amazing. It is probably a hundred times faster than my old Acer laptop - No exaggeration. Start up times are fantastic and games run very well. Tomb Raider runs perfectly on High settings as well as Battlefield 3. Gaming as well as overall use is enhanced by the crystal clear 1080p HD screen.
Only downside is the 5400RPM Hard drive. Dell should really consider replacing them with 7200RPM Hard drives. However this hasn't caused too much of a problem as I ordered the laptop with the 32GB MSata.
Overall I am extremely happy with this laptop.
Pros:very fast, runs games very well
Cons:5400rpm hard drive (not a problem with 32gb msata)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RichInNJJ
(New Jersey, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Computer

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I did a lot of research and feel I bought the best laptop available: big, excellent screen, super fast, great value for the money, superb tech support (I bought pro support). I bought the Special Edition model with an SSD for cache - fantastic. Was a bit concerned to use Windows 8 without a touch screen, but I found it actually faster to use a mouse than touch. I used my wife's touch tablet for a month, so I have a good comparison. And don't believe all that stuff about no Start Menu on the desktop view - just right click on the task bar and select tool bars. Not quite as elegant as the ones in XP, Vista and 7, but totally functional. This is a very well thought out machine with very well thought out software.
Pros:great value for the money, superb screen, super fast especially with the ssd, excellent pro support
Cons:would have preferred a 7200 rpm hard drive
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Microsol
(Berkeley Vale NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron is very inspiring

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Nice wide easy to see screen without pleasant to use navigates easy recommended.
Pros:priced for good value, very responsive, nicely contrast screen, compact and light, easy to operate
Cons:nothing i can think of
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:buznut
(Madison, WI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fast, powerful, great price.

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this as a replacement for a computer that died. I like the big screen and the numeric keyboard.
Pros:fast performance
Cons:short battery life
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KevinCan
(Jacksonville, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedMarch 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 3rd Dell laptop, my other 2 have lasted 4 years plus. My last was an XPS and I loved it. I decided it was time to upgrade since I wanted/needed better performance and memory. I decided to by the Inspiron 17R, I am so disappointed. I have numerous problems and I have been putting off calling Dell support since in the past that has been a nightmare. The physical quality of the machine is lacking especially in the keyboard. If I had looked at this machine in a store I would not have bought it. I guess I'm glad I purchased the 3 year bumper to bumper warranty.
Cons:overall quality
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 28, 2013
Hey KevinCan,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with the Inspiron 17R SE. Please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
Give us a chance to help rectify your issues.

Thank you. JGB
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TheDJBJames
(Kentucky, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Love it!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is fantastic. With 8GB of RAM and 1TB of space, this is one of the best computers I've ever owned. I am a huge gamer and I also like to play PC games like Minecraft, Battlefield 3, etc. It runs those games fantastic. No lag at all! That is great for a laptop. The speakers in the computer are really good. If you are a gamer and you want to take your games where you go, this computer is perfect. Also, make sure you have your charger with you at all times. This beast dies quick.
Pros:8gb of ram, 1tb of space, windows 8, great gaming computer, big screen, good speakers, big keyboard, fast!
Cons:battery runs low quick, annoying blue light on charger
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jason83205
(Birmingham, AL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is a great computer

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I would recommend this computer to anyone. Areas to improve on would be smaller and more stylish while keeping the same great features, performance, and value.
Pros:features, perfomance, value
Cons:bulky, plain design, to heavy, battery life
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:walkmanv1
(Cornelius, OR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

If you are just getting a computer

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have liked this computer since I got it. Not only does it do 3D graphics it has a TB worth of HD space.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Really a Monster...!!!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Recently bought this laptop, till now quiet satisfied..battlefield 3 runs smoothly.. but its too heavy and built quality is very low..its not hardy enough..otherwise its OK..for gaming purpose its quite well..
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ange
(Euless, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Performance power house.

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over-all the performance of this Laptop has been more than I expected. Works well for work and except for the arrow keys not being able to withstand too much use in gaming, I have no complaints. I replaced an XPS with this and got it fully loaded with Graphics, sound, memory and HDD upgrades. I would recommend this one to my friends and colleagues.
Pros:stunning graphics, sleek appealing look, excellent computing power, internet camera ready
Cons:weak arrow keys, too big to fit in your pocket
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimTR
(Great Malvern, Worcestershire, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

17R se review

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had a 17r se for a day or so (short time you say) but I have being using computers since the early 80's so by now I know when something is right, which in most ways the 17R is.
however there are some short comings (some of which are not Dell's problems) .
The 17R was purchased to replace an old Dell Vostro 1700, which since 2008 has done the job but as I don't use MS Windows the 17R came preloaded with MSWV8 which gave me an hour or 2 to remove that (MSWV8) and install a linux OS but to be fair the linux OS installed first time and every piece of hardware worked.
Pros:lighter than the vostro, easy to remove windows 8, back lit keyboard
Cons:build quality lower than the vostro, no reinstall media (ms windows users, no bluetivation light tooth ac, warranty void with ms windows removed
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11