Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.004 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 reviews
5 Stars
116
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
22
4
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 235
184 out of 23678%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 41 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Renton, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Its a good laptop

PostedMay 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its a good laptop and a compromise for the price giving most of the features I wanted with my only complaint being that it comes with 8 gigs of ram instead of 16 like I would have desired and limited hard drive options. I just don't understand why they tell you the special edition comes with a back lit keyboard when mine didn't? Maybe it was an oversite but still from reading reviews here it sounds like I got more lucky than most people considering I've had it two weeks and other than the lack of back lit keys and the new movie software that dell installs on these laptops will only play blu-rays and not DVD's . (It says that you have selected the wrong region and will not play it. I tried seven different movies and still no luck.) Windows 8 is a bit of a bumout. I have yet to download pro but I think I am going to downgrade back to seven ultimate. Still...Its not bad for the price and the screen is pretty sharp. the touch pad takes some getting used to if you've never owned a dell. I had an HP pavilian and my old dell had a touch pad as well. The new one just seems a little skiddish. This machine won't dissapoint for the price, but it needs a few tweaks to make it work right. If it came out of the box the way I expected it and worked right the first day I would have given a much better score.
Pros:screen, processer, blu ray, 3-d
Cons:keyboard not backlit as ordered, touchy track pad, windows 8, video software only plays blu ray
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 22, 2013
Hello ZAnderson83,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with the Inspiron 17R SE laptop. In regards to your non-backlit keyboard, I am confident that all 17R SE's shipped here in the U.S. are supposed to come with a backlit keyboard by default. I would contact DellCares to speak about arranging this (it is an easy keyboard replacement procedure since the motherboard already has the correct cable slots). I am not a support agent and I do not have enough information about your DVD playback but I recommend downloading VLC Media Player from VideoLAN. It is a superb playback program and it is free! Also, Windows 8.1 is currently available as a free upgrade, so maybe it's new features might satisfy your longing for Windows 7 Ultimate.

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Oklahoma City, OK, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not a comfortable laptop.

PostedApril 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use my laptop for more than 8 hours every day. I bought this model because of the great screen resolution. But now after using it for about four months, I'm not as thrilled with it as I would have hoped. My biggest gripe is that it is just not comfortable to use it for long periods of time. The weight is distributed mostly at the back. When it sits on your lap, your hands end up having to weigh down the front. And the edge of the unit near where you wrists rest is not rounded enough. After several hours of use it annoyingly starts to feel like its cutting into your skin. The track pad buttons also annoy me as they are not silent and require more force than should be necessary to click. The keyboard is a little bouncy in the center giving the unit a cheap feel. Adding to the cheap feel, if you try to pick the unit up while the screen is open by grabbing the front of the base, the plastic creaks and sounds like some day you will end up crushing the insides that are below the plastic surface.
Although probably a Microsoft issue, frequently when I open a non-modal dialog window using a keyboard shortcut (such as Ctrl+F for finding something in a document) the input focus will not be in the dialog after opening it. So if you start typing immediately you end up typing in the document instead of in the search box.
On the positive side, the screen resolution is great and the battery life is acceptable.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 8, 2013
Hello John84848484,

Thank you for submitting your review. I am sorry to hear that this system was not everything you wanted and more. We do appreciate your feedback on chassis design changes you would prefer to see. Also, if you have some concerns with you dialog box operations, I do recommend that you reach out to Microsoft Support directly (follow this link,
http://dell.to/10uO1sI, and click Support. You can ask the community to see if any other users have experienced this and have a work around, or get live help from a Microsoft agent).

-SaraT
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Jacksonville, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Disappointed

PostedMarch 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 3rd Dell laptop, my other 2 have lasted 4 years plus. My last was an XPS and I loved it. I decided it was time to upgrade since I wanted/needed better performance and memory. I decided to by the Inspiron 17R, I am so disappointed. I have numerous problems and I have been putting off calling Dell support since in the past that has been a nightmare. The physical quality of the machine is lacking especially in the keyboard. If I had looked at this machine in a store I would not have bought it. I guess I'm glad I purchased the 3 year bumper to bumper warranty.
Cons:overall quality
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 28, 2013
Hey KevinCan,

I am very sorry to hear about your issues with the Inspiron 17R SE. Please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
Give us a chance to help rectify your issues.

Thank you. JGB
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Winnipeg, MB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Unacceptable Battery Time

PostedMarch 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Loved the Inspiron 17R SE top of the line laptop I purchased in every way ... except for the battery time.
I was under the impression I would get 2.5 to 3 hours of battery time between charges, but in actually using the laptop, it only delivered between 1 to 1.5 hours of run time, at the most, and that was just doing emails, browsing the web a little bit, and maybe doing a little accounting or speadsheet work.
This lack of battery time is entirely unacceptable. Support tried to help by updating the BIOS, tweeking the power settings, etc., but none of that made any difference. I am so disappointed because it is fantastic in every other way, but useless to me as a "mobile" computer. If they had a battery that actually delivered 3 to 4 hours under normal use, then I'd love it. Having a spare battery is too inconvenient, though, with having to shut things down to swap batteries ... that would be too much of a pain and inconvenience.
Unfortunately, I have no choice but to return this otherwise fantastic laptop for refund.
As a nitpick, originally I only wanted a 15" size, but I wanted a back lit keyboard AND a number pad. The 15R had a number pad but no back lit keyboard. The 15R SE has a back lit keyboard, but no number pad. Same with the overly expensive XPS, no number pad. This is why I went to the 17", to get the combo of features I wanted, which I would have preferred to have in one slick 15" package, w/4 to 6 hours of battery time.
On a positive note, I thought Dell Support was really good. Hopefully Dell will be prompt in issuing my credit.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 21, 2013
Hey Rocky63,

Sorry to hear about your battery life on your Inspiron-17R SE (7720). Of course battery life on the 17R varies and may be significantly less depending on your system’s configuration, software, usage, operating conditions, power management settings and other factors.

Usually, the Techs can clear enough background software and adjust enough settings to get a satisfactory amount of time out of your sysem. I am sorry they were not able to this time.

Technology is making great leap in batteries and bringing affordable options to the consumer market everyday. I hope you will try Dell again in the near future. and I look forward to a good review for a change.

Thank you for your review,
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Porter, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Where's my backlit keyboard?

PostedMarch 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Where's my backlit keyboard? Advertising says backlit key board and there is none!
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 25, 2013
Hello Herman7777,

Thank you for your question. I am glad you found the backlight adjustment key combination. Make sure to review the system completely. We would love to hear what you think.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Durango,CO)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

17R

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Keyboard is slow, touch pad hangs up, Antenna is weak and loses conection with Router. I have two Dells my 15 inches is rock and roll, but the 17r has been a let down. The screen is nice, but this thing is a moose to tote around.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 26, 2013
Hi Vance17r,

Thank you for taking the time to review your newest acquisition in the Inspiron 17R SE (7720). I would recommend checking out the Dell Touchpad control center for the settings improvement for the keyboard and touchpad. As for the WIFI, try updating the drivers here:

http://bit.ly/XYvUeD

Unfortunately, I do not have a cure for size. 17 inches is a pretty big system. Some would even call it a non-portable, due to it's size.

Thanks again for your input!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Hoped for better

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Laptop is beautiful, sleek, and fast. The screen resolution is nice and sharp. I love that the keyboard can light up too.
I had issues with the DVD drive. It would light up but the drive was not detected by the system. While on hold with Dell support, I plugged in my smartphone to recharge and miraculously, the drive became detectable! Next issue is the WiFi. It is not very reliable. I have to restart the computer for it to reconnect, happens a few times a week. I have several other devices and computers and have not had so much trouble with WiFi connection stability before. Also, when I boot the system, I often get a black screen and have to reboot. I wonder if Windows 8 isn't the problem.
I was also disappointed that a lot of programs like Quicktime and my Sims 3 game, (reason I decided to go with a high performance computer) are not yet compatible with Windows 8. I should have done my homework first, so check your compatibility for programs before buying. Am sorely tempted to downgrade to Windows 7.
Pros:Gaming, desktop publishing, video production
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 20, 2013
Hello Sconadera,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. If you have not done so already, I do recommend making sure that your optical drive and WiFi card drivers are up to date (
http://dell.to/YrImlj). This may help resolve any concerns that you are having with them. Also, if your system is hanging on the Dell logo at restart, check out this link: http://dell.to/Wb45By. It gives instructions on how to resolve this issue and a Windows 8 update to run.

I am sorry to hear that Windows 8 is not completely suiting your needs. I do recommend that is you choose to downgrade, you make a Windows 8 recovery disc (
http://dell.to/Y9OhQb) in case you need or want to reload Windows 8 at a later time.

I hope that this information can help.

-SaraT
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Major Disappointment After My Old Inspiron

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a 6 year old Inspiron that is far superior in many ways.
Where is the fabulous display mentioned? There is no white on this laptop screen, only a kind of a depressing greyish white. When I put it side by side with my another laptop it is unbelievable. The other laptop pops with color, the whites are bright white. The colors on this laptop are washed out by comparison, and certainly much less sharp.
The keyboard is 'soggy'. Some here have raved about how great looking it is. I think it looks old-fashioned ... maybe it's the rounded corners. The black finish inside and out shows every fingerprint. The sound? meh ... worst of any laptop I've had to date.
Just got it yesterday. I am so disappointed after my 6 year love affair with my previous Inspiron.
Pros:home business
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 19, 2013
Hello PiningForMyOldInspiron,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I am sorry that this new system is not living up to what you had expected. When it comes to your screen, I recommend changing some of your display settings, if you haven't already, and see if that helps. You can press FN + F5 to increase your brightness. Keep in mind, there will be a difference if you choose the AntiGlare or the TrueLife screen option.

We do try to take into account what customers what aesthetically as best we can. If you have a preference, I would suggest that you check out Idea Storm to see if there is a similar idea you can vote on (or start a new Idea). The way it works is user's will vote and idea up or down. A post with a higher promotion has a better chance of being implemented.

Check it out, here:
http://dell.to/LhVYOo

Thank you again for your feedback. -Sara
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Functionality Sacrificed On The Alter Of Fashion

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
What I like:
+ High spec components
+ the backlit keyboard option
+ separate keypad
+ the ability to max to 8gb of ram
+ the SDD / hdd drive combo
+ a power light on the mains plug
What I dislike:
- Most of the ports are on the side panels and NOT on the rear panel
- SD port on the front panel and not on the side panel
- The hard disk, battery, and wireless led lights on the front panel (not easy to see down there guys!)
- Touch pad for mouse less sensitive than previous 6yrs old model
- Back surface of screen seems cheaper and more flexible than previous 6yrs old model
- Black surface shows up finger prints more than silver.
- Hexagonal patterning on black surfaces collects dirt and dust more easily than if it was smooth
- Heat dissipation port on the side panel and NOT on the rear panel
- The way the website customisation options have changed to give less access to hardware
components
- No Linux option on website customisation
With a proper design this laptop would score much higher.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 7, 2013
Hey ImageIsNotEverything,

I am sorry to hear that the design of the Inspiron 17R SE did not meet your personal expectations. Feel free to share your ideas with us at
www.ideastorm.com so that we can continue to improve our products and services.

Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.

+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Battery Issue

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm extremely disappointed in the battery life. I can only get close to a hour to an hour and a half before I have to plug it in. If I would have known this, I would not have purchased it, as I need a six hour battery.
Pros:Travel, video/movie, streaming, ancestry development research, photo editing
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 3, 2013
Hey Johnny2,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the battery life on the Dell Inspiron 17R SE.

It is important to choose settings which allow you to obtain the most runtime from your notebook. Examples to consider: timeout settings for the hard drive, Bluetooth, wireless, LCD brightness, etc.

Here is a useful document for most battery-related concerns. dell.to/VEhGwl

I hope this helps!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

disapponting

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Right out of the box, there were 65 windows updates to install. Really? There is 3 buttons at the top right of the keyboard that serve no purpose at all and when pressed, seem to depress into the case without contacting anything. There is a software program called Quickset that does not work either, related to the dummy buttons? This system is also not as fast as one would think with an i7 processor, possibly because of the 5400 rpm harddrive? The touchpad is also a little flaky. This system also comes with no driver disks and there are no drivers listed under the service tag, I have not tried making the recovery disks from the backup partition yet as I don't have any blank discs, but am reading from other useers that this doesn't work either.It appears that the quality of Dell products has declined since I bought my last Dell desktop in 2007 which I still have and love, which is why I bought an Inspiron 17r. All is not bad though. I do love the display, the backlit keyboard, and the sound is pretty good. Hopefully, Dell will soon release driver updates for this system, Not sure I would recommend this system to a friend.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 24, 2012
tammy228,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Inspiron 17R SE!

Without your valuable inputs we will not be able to improve. Do remember, we are listening and on standby to help you with any issues you may encounter.

I encourage you to reach out to one of our online Social Media Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks again, have a great day and Happy Holidays!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Honolulu)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good computer with minor irritating flaws

PostedDecember 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
the good: The 17.3" screen is the perfect size and very vivid.The keyboard flexes slightly and has a bit of give when you type which makes it feel and look cheap at first, but this is one of the best keyboards I have ever typed on as it feels very soft to the touch and tactile. It can light up dim or bright which is nice for playing games in the dark.There is a port to connect my smart tv to the labtop so I can watch movies on an even bigger screen. The overall design is on the bulkier side compared to the thin labtop market but it is a decent size for the 17.3 screen and power. It is fast and boots up in less than 20 seconds.The Ethernet is 1/10th of what it should be, but I'm plugged straight into it now and my internet speed seems to be fine and I can play League of Legends on full settings with no lag. Maybe downloading times are slow as I have not tried yet, but if that's the case then you still have the option of wifi which works fine.Graphics also look clean with the Nvidia card. the bad: Windows 8 starts off with no start button which is a major software developer debacle which still leaves me scratching my head. However you can easily download one online.It's called vistart.Once you have that, you are basically left with an upgraded windows 7 since it is slightly faster, games have slightly better fps, and the task manager has been revamped.However the new metro interface which has replaced the start button is super unnecessary if you don't have a touch screen device and some of it's features can sometimes just get in your way which can be irritating at times.The pro's of windows 8 were outweighing the cons until I tried to capture some video from video camera.It seems impossible to capture video as I have yet to figure it out still.Even my older desktop with windows vista easily imports video with this same video camera.I see a web cam above the monitor but I have yet to figure out how to use it.The greatest flaw and my only real gripe about this machine is simply powering it on.It takes 3 presses of the power button.The first press shows the dell logo then the screen goes to black and freezes up. When you click the power button again the computer turns off.Then when you finally click the power button for the 3rd time it shows the dell logo and begins to boot up. I even go through this ritual when restarting the computer. This is either a really user-unfriendly design or a serious defect.I almost want to return the computer because of this if I can't get it resolved.For the money I spent on this machine I would expect to have an option to downgrade to windows 7 at purchase, have an Ethernet port built in that matches the standards of the average laptop and have a power button that only requires one press to start the machine, not 3.If it weren't for these things I would rate the machine 4 stars out of 5, but for not it only gets 3.How do I resolve this power button issue???
Pros:all around
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 19, 2012
Powerup,

Thanks for the great review, but sorry to hear about your power up issue. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
If you choose to go through the forums, go to Laptops and find or Liaison, Terry B.

Thanks again. JGB
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Hampshire)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not as good as it seems

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this laptop to replace my aging but well loved Inspiron 17.
Went for this model on the specifications expecting it to be a quantum-leap up from my 5yr old model.
Have to say i'm fairly disappointed, and that hurts me to say that as this is my 5th Dell product. Its not substantially faster than my old model, the build quality doesn't seem as robust as my old model (the snap cover flexes, the keyboard bends), the display isn't anything special especially when it doesn't come with a blue-ray capable disc drive or software to enable blue-ray playback. Its also started not booting correctly and its only 4 weeks old so im not feeling particularly confident in it lasting too long!
Overall a fairly decent laptop, but not quite as sparkling as the specs would have you believe.
Pros:business email, inetrnet access, spreadsheets
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer CareNovember 27, 2012
Hello Iridium99,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent purchase of the Inspiron 17R SE (7720). I am sorry to hear it is not up to your expectations. If you are comparing an old system with a new one, there are going to be some differences. Processors are not that much faster, especially not a quantum leap. They are designed to handle more processes at the same time, while maintaining speed. Today's systems are more focused on weight and cooling. Especially when you cut weight, the chassis is going to have "flex". With the addition of the flex lid, you will see some give in the chassis cover. We do this to add the value of changing designs without adding weight. Blue-Ray is still not available in all systems across the board. If that is an important feature, you may want to look at a different model.

I am concerned about your booting issues. Usually this is due to a bunch of unnecessary software loading when Windows loads. Review what you have running, and if that does not appear too much, give our Support Team a hollar. I am sure they can help you isolate the issue and have suggestions for you.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope they can help!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Seattle)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

COSCTO PURCHASE

PostedNovember 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Help for Dell is in India and it's sometimes hard to understand the help people. No users manual comes with this computer.
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 27, 2012
Hello!

Thank you for writing a review on the new Inspiron 17R Special Edition (7720) laptop!

We do not ship hard copy manuals with our systems anymore, but there is a “Getting Started” sheet that does accompany your system to help you get up and running. You can find the full manual and tech sheets for this system on our Support website. I have provided the link below for this particular manual for your convenience.

http://dell.to/MElpLw

Regarding your technical support experience, I can understand that it can be difficult to troubleshoot over the phone. I would like to offer you, and other readers, an alternative route for tech support via our Social Media Outreach Team. We work directly with them and we recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues. They are also a global support team, so no matter what region you are from; they can find the right folks to assist.

• Social Media Outreach Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Arizona, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good But Could be Better

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Since the first week I received it I notice computer will freeze or kind of pixelate and I will hear static in the sound whenever I will play a game that will require to use the NVidia Graphics using the battery power. Everything works great as long as its connected to a power supply. Yes, I did contact tech support which I had a hard time understanding them, I probably spend over 10 hours on the phone but nothing worked. I finally just give up since it seem to be that nobody could help me no matter who I will talk to.
Overall it works great, just keep in mind if you are looking for something that will perform great anywhere, make sure you carry your power cord anywhere you go.
Pros:Gaming, Video Editing
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 12, 2012
RubenM,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Reach out to us, we'll get you taken care of. JGB
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Laptop, Lousy Battery

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is is a great laptop with some real nice features. Large HD, huge amount of memory, HD/3D capability. The 17" display is large, bright, and graphics are crisp and clear. The battery life however, leaves much to be desired. I am a teacher and first day with this laptop in class I showed a movie. The battery. died before the end of class; less than one hour. Under normal useage I am lucky if I get two hours out of it. If there was a 9 cell battery, I would be a happy camper but there is not one available for this laptop. My old Vostro 1700 battery outperforms this by a longshot.
Pros:for work every day in the classroom
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 2, 2012
Scoobydoo2,


Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Inspiron 17R!

Many factors affect the amount of time that a portable computer battery can deliver power before it must be recharged. These factors include the configuration (processor, memory, etc.), types of applications being run and display brightness. We value your feedback and will use it to improve our products and services in the future.

Thanks for choosing Dell!



+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Update Problem

PostedMarch 29, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
All the updates are not getting updated
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

good laptop

PostedMarch 19, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
put in a ssd for more speed, work perfect. and it is super nice with the nVidia card integrated. cons, the origional harddrive crashed without chance of repair in about 3 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Great laptop, just watch for overheating

PostedMarch 16, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop has performed very well in most every aspect. The only issue has been playing games with heavy use of the NVIDIA card. It will overheat the laptop causing it to instantly shut down. The solution is to not use the NVIDIA optimized settings, but set the video settings to medium. This is not a real problem, just a heads up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Awesome stuff! Future Proof to a good extent.

PostedMarch 16, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
I think its a very affordable good viewing multimedia gaming laptop. Using it for last 2 years...All is good. Excellent Dell Customer service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 12