Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.014 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
18
4
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 210
165 out of 21178%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 41 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Herman7777
(Porter, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Where's my backlit keyboard?

PostedMarch 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Where's my backlit keyboard? Advertising says backlit key board and there is none!
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 25, 2013
Hello Herman7777,

Thank you for your question. I am glad you found the backlight adjustment key combination. Make sure to review the system completely. We would love to hear what you think.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Vance17r
(Durango,CO)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

17R

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Keyboard is slow, touch pad hangs up, Antenna is weak and loses conection with Router. I have two Dells my 15 inches is rock and roll, but the 17r has been a let down. The screen is nice, but this thing is a moose to tote around.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsFebruary 26, 2013
Hi Vance17r,

Thank you for taking the time to review your newest acquisition in the Inspiron 17R SE (7720). I would recommend checking out the Dell Touchpad control center for the settings improvement for the keyboard and touchpad. As for the WIFI, try updating the drivers here:

http://bit.ly/XYvUeD

Unfortunately, I do not have a cure for size. 17 inches is a pretty big system. Some would even call it a non-portable, due to it's size.

Thanks again for your input!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sconadera
Title:

Hoped for better

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Laptop is beautiful, sleek, and fast. The screen resolution is nice and sharp. I love that the keyboard can light up too.
I had issues with the DVD drive. It would light up but the drive was not detected by the system. While on hold with Dell support, I plugged in my smartphone to recharge and miraculously, the drive became detectable! Next issue is the WiFi. It is not very reliable. I have to restart the computer for it to reconnect, happens a few times a week. I have several other devices and computers and have not had so much trouble with WiFi connection stability before. Also, when I boot the system, I often get a black screen and have to reboot. I wonder if Windows 8 isn't the problem.
I was also disappointed that a lot of programs like Quicktime and my Sims 3 game, (reason I decided to go with a high performance computer) are not yet compatible with Windows 8. I should have done my homework first, so check your compatibility for programs before buying. Am sorely tempted to downgrade to Windows 7.
Pros:Gaming, desktop publishing, video production
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 20, 2013
Hello Sconadera,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. If you have not done so already, I do recommend making sure that your optical drive and WiFi card drivers are up to date (
http://dell.to/YrImlj). This may help resolve any concerns that you are having with them. Also, if your system is hanging on the Dell logo at restart, check out this link: http://dell.to/Wb45By. It gives instructions on how to resolve this issue and a Windows 8 update to run.

I am sorry to hear that Windows 8 is not completely suiting your needs. I do recommend that is you choose to downgrade, you make a Windows 8 recovery disc (
http://dell.to/Y9OhQb) in case you need or want to reload Windows 8 at a later time.

I hope that this information can help.

-SaraT
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PiningForMyOldInspiron
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Major Disappointment After My Old Inspiron

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a 6 year old Inspiron that is far superior in many ways.
Where is the fabulous display mentioned? There is no white on this laptop screen, only a kind of a depressing greyish white. When I put it side by side with my another laptop it is unbelievable. The other laptop pops with color, the whites are bright white. The colors on this laptop are washed out by comparison, and certainly much less sharp.
The keyboard is 'soggy'. Some here have raved about how great looking it is. I think it looks old-fashioned ... maybe it's the rounded corners. The black finish inside and out shows every fingerprint. The sound? meh ... worst of any laptop I've had to date.
Just got it yesterday. I am so disappointed after my 6 year love affair with my previous Inspiron.
Pros:home business
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 19, 2013
Hello PiningForMyOldInspiron,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I am sorry that this new system is not living up to what you had expected. When it comes to your screen, I recommend changing some of your display settings, if you haven't already, and see if that helps. You can press FN + F5 to increase your brightness. Keep in mind, there will be a difference if you choose the AntiGlare or the TrueLife screen option.

We do try to take into account what customers what aesthetically as best we can. If you have a preference, I would suggest that you check out Idea Storm to see if there is a similar idea you can vote on (or start a new Idea). The way it works is user's will vote and idea up or down. A post with a higher promotion has a better chance of being implemented.

Check it out, here:
http://dell.to/LhVYOo

Thank you again for your feedback. -Sara
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ImageIsNotEverything
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Functionality Sacrificed On The Alter Of Fashion

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
What I like:
+ High spec components
+ the backlit keyboard option
+ separate keypad
+ the ability to max to 8gb of ram
+ the SDD / hdd drive combo
+ a power light on the mains plug
What I dislike:
- Most of the ports are on the side panels and NOT on the rear panel
- SD port on the front panel and not on the side panel
- The hard disk, battery, and wireless led lights on the front panel (not easy to see down there guys!)
- Touch pad for mouse less sensitive than previous 6yrs old model
- Back surface of screen seems cheaper and more flexible than previous 6yrs old model
- Black surface shows up finger prints more than silver.
- Hexagonal patterning on black surfaces collects dirt and dust more easily than if it was smooth
- Heat dissipation port on the side panel and NOT on the rear panel
- The way the website customisation options have changed to give less access to hardware
components
- No Linux option on website customisation
With a proper design this laptop would score much higher.
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 7, 2013
Hey ImageIsNotEverything,

I am sorry to hear that the design of the Inspiron 17R SE did not meet your personal expectations. Feel free to share your ideas with us at
www.ideastorm.com so that we can continue to improve our products and services.

Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for choosing Dell.

+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Johnny2
(Wisconsin)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Battery Issue

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm extremely disappointed in the battery life. I can only get close to a hour to an hour and a half before I have to plug it in. If I would have known this, I would not have purchased it, as I need a six hour battery.
Pros:Travel, video/movie, streaming, ancestry development research, photo editing
Response from Dell.comBy AnthonyAforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 3, 2013
Hey Johnny2,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the battery life on the Dell Inspiron 17R SE.

It is important to choose settings which allow you to obtain the most runtime from your notebook. Examples to consider: timeout settings for the hard drive, Bluetooth, wireless, LCD brightness, etc.

Here is a useful document for most battery-related concerns. dell.to/VEhGwl

I hope this helps!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tammy228
(virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

disapponting

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Right out of the box, there were 65 windows updates to install. Really? There is 3 buttons at the top right of the keyboard that serve no purpose at all and when pressed, seem to depress into the case without contacting anything. There is a software program called Quickset that does not work either, related to the dummy buttons? This system is also not as fast as one would think with an i7 processor, possibly because of the 5400 rpm harddrive? The touchpad is also a little flaky. This system also comes with no driver disks and there are no drivers listed under the service tag, I have not tried making the recovery disks from the backup partition yet as I don't have any blank discs, but am reading from other useers that this doesn't work either.It appears that the quality of Dell products has declined since I bought my last Dell desktop in 2007 which I still have and love, which is why I bought an Inspiron 17r. All is not bad though. I do love the display, the backlit keyboard, and the sound is pretty good. Hopefully, Dell will soon release driver updates for this system, Not sure I would recommend this system to a friend.
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 24, 2012
tammy228,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Inspiron 17R SE!

Without your valuable inputs we will not be able to improve. Do remember, we are listening and on standby to help you with any issues you may encounter.

I encourage you to reach out to one of our online Social Media Support Teams because they can troubleshoot and identify the best solution for you.

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Thanks again, have a great day and Happy Holidays!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:powerup
(Honolulu)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good computer with minor irritating flaws

PostedDecember 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
the good: The 17.3" screen is the perfect size and very vivid.The keyboard flexes slightly and has a bit of give when you type which makes it feel and look cheap at first, but this is one of the best keyboards I have ever typed on as it feels very soft to the touch and tactile. It can light up dim or bright which is nice for playing games in the dark.There is a port to connect my smart tv to the labtop so I can watch movies on an even bigger screen. The overall design is on the bulkier side compared to the thin labtop market but it is a decent size for the 17.3 screen and power. It is fast and boots up in less than 20 seconds.The Ethernet is 1/10th of what it should be, but I'm plugged straight into it now and my internet speed seems to be fine and I can play League of Legends on full settings with no lag. Maybe downloading times are slow as I have not tried yet, but if that's the case then you still have the option of wifi which works fine.Graphics also look clean with the Nvidia card. the bad: Windows 8 starts off with no start button which is a major software developer debacle which still leaves me scratching my head. However you can easily download one online.It's called vistart.Once you have that, you are basically left with an upgraded windows 7 since it is slightly faster, games have slightly better fps, and the task manager has been revamped.However the new metro interface which has replaced the start button is super unnecessary if you don't have a touch screen device and some of it's features can sometimes just get in your way which can be irritating at times.The pro's of windows 8 were outweighing the cons until I tried to capture some video from video camera.It seems impossible to capture video as I have yet to figure it out still.Even my older desktop with windows vista easily imports video with this same video camera.I see a web cam above the monitor but I have yet to figure out how to use it.The greatest flaw and my only real gripe about this machine is simply powering it on.It takes 3 presses of the power button.The first press shows the dell logo then the screen goes to black and freezes up. When you click the power button again the computer turns off.Then when you finally click the power button for the 3rd time it shows the dell logo and begins to boot up. I even go through this ritual when restarting the computer. This is either a really user-unfriendly design or a serious defect.I almost want to return the computer because of this if I can't get it resolved.For the money I spent on this machine I would expect to have an option to downgrade to windows 7 at purchase, have an Ethernet port built in that matches the standards of the average laptop and have a power button that only requires one press to start the machine, not 3.If it weren't for these things I would rate the machine 4 stars out of 5, but for not it only gets 3.How do I resolve this power button issue???
Pros:all around
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 19, 2012
Powerup,

Thanks for the great review, but sorry to hear about your power up issue. Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
If you choose to go through the forums, go to Laptops and find or Liaison, Terry B.

Thanks again. JGB
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Iridium99
(Hampshire)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not as good as it seems

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this laptop to replace my aging but well loved Inspiron 17.
Went for this model on the specifications expecting it to be a quantum-leap up from my 5yr old model.
Have to say i'm fairly disappointed, and that hurts me to say that as this is my 5th Dell product. Its not substantially faster than my old model, the build quality doesn't seem as robust as my old model (the snap cover flexes, the keyboard bends), the display isn't anything special especially when it doesn't come with a blue-ray capable disc drive or software to enable blue-ray playback. Its also started not booting correctly and its only 4 weeks old so im not feeling particularly confident in it lasting too long!
Overall a fairly decent laptop, but not quite as sparkling as the specs would have you believe.
Pros:business email, inetrnet access, spreadsheets
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer CareNovember 27, 2012
Hello Iridium99,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent purchase of the Inspiron 17R SE (7720). I am sorry to hear it is not up to your expectations. If you are comparing an old system with a new one, there are going to be some differences. Processors are not that much faster, especially not a quantum leap. They are designed to handle more processes at the same time, while maintaining speed. Today's systems are more focused on weight and cooling. Especially when you cut weight, the chassis is going to have "flex". With the addition of the flex lid, you will see some give in the chassis cover. We do this to add the value of changing designs without adding weight. Blue-Ray is still not available in all systems across the board. If that is an important feature, you may want to look at a different model.

I am concerned about your booting issues. Usually this is due to a bunch of unnecessary software loading when Windows loads. Review what you have running, and if that does not appear too much, give our Support Team a hollar. I am sure they can help you isolate the issue and have suggestions for you.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/nKRY0q

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

I hope they can help!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:COSTCO
(Seattle)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

COSCTO PURCHASE

PostedNovember 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Help for Dell is in India and it's sometimes hard to understand the help people. No users manual comes with this computer.
Pros:home use
Response from Dell.comBy GinaVforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 27, 2012
Hello!

Thank you for writing a review on the new Inspiron 17R Special Edition (7720) laptop!

We do not ship hard copy manuals with our systems anymore, but there is a “Getting Started” sheet that does accompany your system to help you get up and running. You can find the full manual and tech sheets for this system on our Support website. I have provided the link below for this particular manual for your convenience.

http://dell.to/MElpLw

Regarding your technical support experience, I can understand that it can be difficult to troubleshoot over the phone. I would like to offer you, and other readers, an alternative route for tech support via our Social Media Outreach Team. We work directly with them and we recommend their services because of their success in resolving customer issues. They are also a global support team, so no matter what region you are from; they can find the right folks to assist.

• Social Media Outreach Team Contact: Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ); Dell Community Forum (http://dell.to/GY65Xz); Dell Facebook (http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Again, thank you for your feedback, and have a great day – Gina.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RubenM
(Arizona, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good But Could be Better

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Since the first week I received it I notice computer will freeze or kind of pixelate and I will hear static in the sound whenever I will play a game that will require to use the NVidia Graphics using the battery power. Everything works great as long as its connected to a power supply. Yes, I did contact tech support which I had a hard time understanding them, I probably spend over 10 hours on the phone but nothing worked. I finally just give up since it seem to be that nobody could help me no matter who I will talk to.
Overall it works great, just keep in mind if you are looking for something that will perform great anywhere, make sure you carry your power cord anywhere you go.
Pros:Gaming, Video Editing
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 12, 2012
RubenM,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Reach out to us, we'll get you taken care of. JGB
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scoobydoo2
(Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Laptop, Lousy Battery

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is is a great laptop with some real nice features. Large HD, huge amount of memory, HD/3D capability. The 17" display is large, bright, and graphics are crisp and clear. The battery life however, leaves much to be desired. I am a teacher and first day with this laptop in class I showed a movie. The battery. died before the end of class; less than one hour. Under normal useage I am lucky if I get two hours out of it. If there was a 9 cell battery, I would be a happy camper but there is not one available for this laptop. My old Vostro 1700 battery outperforms this by a longshot.
Pros:for work every day in the classroom
Response from Dell.comBy VikramNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 2, 2012
Scoobydoo2,


Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the Dell Inspiron 17R!

Many factors affect the amount of time that a portable computer battery can deliver power before it must be recharged. These factors include the configuration (processor, memory, etc.), types of applications being run and display brightness. We value your feedback and will use it to improve our products and services in the future.

Thanks for choosing Dell!



+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bill1998
(Tennessee, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good PC

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
PC is solid, keyboard feels good, screen is clear and vibrant. Much improved from my old E1705. The operating system is less than expected. It doesn't eve recognize me as the administrator so I can't up grade to W 8.1. Have not been able to reach support; my work schedule overlaps DELLs CS hours, so maybe someday when I have a day off and nothing better to do than call DELL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Drsafety1st
(OK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

3rd one I've bought

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As my kids are getting older, the requirements for time on my laptop increased. Since I've had no problems with the last two I bought, I got another one for the kids. The only downfall is that it came with Windows 8 and I'm just getting used to 7, so the kids get the new one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdcrill
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good system

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Unit has a nice large 17 inch screen, lots of RAM and storage and on a BIG note it has Windows 7 which is a must. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ArrrBeee
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great Laptop, But...

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased with Inspiron 17R after returning a competitor’s 17” laptop. The competitor’s laptop was a really fine system, but had lousy audio, namely no volume. Otherwise, it was a fine laptop, but I wanted a laptop with some decent audio.
I didn’t realize that this 17R had 3D capabilities with Nvida GT 650M dedicated GPU. It came with glasses, and while it’s neat, I think it’s more a novelty than anything I’ll use. The 3DMark benchmark puts it at an entry level gaming laptop. That’s fine, because I’m not a gamer and just wanted “bragging rights” with the GPU. It does not have a 2nd iGPU.
It is a non-touch screen thank you very much.
It came with Windows 8, and I’ve found my way around it just fine. Win8 is different, weird, and odd, but it’s a stout OS all things considered. I never use IE, instead use FireFox. This can cause problems with certain Win 8 Apps, namely HTML 5 apps like Netflix.
It’s configured with 32MB SSD that speeds up loading Win 8 – sort of. It may bring up the Metro screen quickly, but it still takes a few moments to really fully boot.
The audio performance is outstanding, just like my 10 year old Inspiron 17 that bit the dust.
The display is fine, but I won’t call it great. The laptop I returned had a better display and both iGPU and dedicated GPU. This makes a huge difference as I will mention in a moment.
The hard drive is a 1T, 5,400rpm and not all that fast. It is the slowest preforming device.
The wireless adapter preforms very well, and I use it most often.
The internal Realtek Ethernet adapter is a simple 10/100 – No Gig, 1000 link. That is inexcusable. It wouldn’t have added $5 to the cost to include 1Gig Ethernet. Transferring large video files to my Media PC at 100BaseT is painfully time consuming.
My biggest criticism is the battery life. It is very poor. The dedicated GPU really drains it to the tune of maybe two hours before it’s time to plug it back in. I generally have it plugged in all the time. I consider this laptop a desktop replacement, so the battery life doesn’t affect me all that much. If you want to travel or be mobile, then the poor battery time will be a major issue. The returned laptop with both iGPU and dedicated GPU would get 4 hours. Neither compare to my beloved 10 year old Inspiron, which would go 6+ hours.
Overall, I am very satisfied with is Dell
Inspiron 17R. It will serve me well, hopefully for many years.
I can’t go without restating my disappointment over not having 1Gig Ethernet and the really poor battery charge time.
Your mileage may vary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WeaselKeeper
(Hollidaysburg, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Port placements are not right for this user.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is great for the mid level user. The only problem I have is with the placement of the ports. I would like to see the power cord and some USB ports moved to back edge of the computer. I say this as I use my laptop in my lap. The power cord and USB ports are all located on the sides and continually hit the arms of the chair. This will eventually cause the failure of the affected outlet due to continual bumping. So far this is the only thing I can say is a con for this PC.
Cons:usb and power cord placement
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EmorpheusTheDj
(Greenwood, SC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

the hard drive is only on par

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is well worth the price, and gives you a nice bang for you buck. i can play just about any game on the market, considering the fact that you will need the new graphics drivers, and the fact that you won't be able to play brand new cutting edge games on full 1080p, without some degree of lag.
Windows 8 is not the worst thing on the planet, it just takes like 5 minutes of getting used to. if it takes longer than that, your just being picky.
i've only had one issue that bothers me. that is with the hard drive, i would highly recommend the 32 msata drive, it helps a lot. as for the main hard drive, it can be a bit slow when you are trying to reference thing's from it. such as programs, music, and various files. every now and again when you load something it might hang for about half a second to 2 seconds. this never happens after a program is loaded, but it doesn't mean it isn't annoying when it happens.
also, i don't feel like flipping over my computer to get my service tag.
Pros:back lit keyboard, graphics card is slightly above he average, good construction. no weak points so far, very comfortable full size keyboard, crisp clear mic, plenty of bass in the speakers, boot time is rather fast
Cons:the hdd is not on the fast side, heavier than weight stated
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NickNYC
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Why isn't the mouse in the middle?

PostedJune 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Screen and 3D are great. Computer seems to run fast. Haven't had any issues yet.
I can't understand why the mouse isn't in the center of the laptop. It is very hard to navigate because my palm is constantly hitting the right side. I had to disable the advanced Windows 8 swipe features because my hand was unintentionally activating them and switching windows like crazy. It is very awkward to have the laptop on your lap and control the mouse. It's only been 3 days, so I guess I'll get used to it.
Pros:screen resolution, watching a 3d movie is great
Cons:mouse isn't centered making it hard to navigate
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scgsings
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Love this computer but.....

PostedJune 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720 computer! I had a bit of trouble getting used to Windows 8 as I came from using a Dell XPS laptop that was 6 years old and had Windows XP. The computer itself is wonderful except some of the design and construction needs some refining, I believe. On the left side of the computer, where the power cord plugs in, is where the air vent is to let the warm air out. There is a grid over the vent that has little holes separated by tiny bars. I have had the computer for a little over 6 months and those bars are breaking off. I am not hard on this computer at all and feel this shouldn't be happening. There is now a spot about an inch wide where the air vent is not covered at all. My guess is that spot will get wider as the little spikes continue to break off. For a computer that cost as much as this one did, the design and materials used to build it should be improved. That is the only drawback I have found at this point.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 11