Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.004 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 reviews
5 Stars
116
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
22
4
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 235
184 out of 23678%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 41 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

very nice laptop

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Made of quality materials and has very clear crisp display. You must learn how to use windows 8 and when you do you will very much enjoy it as I did. Don't let ignorance and anger rob you of using this nice software. If the mouse seems slow adjust the settings. We all know a high power booming sound cannot be expected from tiny laptop speakers and I disagree with reviews blasting the sound, it is on par with what is to be expected. I am running a Seagate hybrid hard drive which is a great addition. Don't fear to buy it because it is very nice!
Pros:nice displayquality materialsgreat performance
Cons:no complaintsyes there is room for improvement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Tanzania)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Computer But.....

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
posted a review 6 days bk bt dont know why it did not appear well m trying again.....Just In Love With This Laptop.....iv been a dell customer for over 10 years now always buying new laptops as i am a laptop freak. recently i purchased a dell inspiron 17r 7720 se from dell. im in love with it with just 2 disappointments. i am a guy who usually prefers working in the dark therefore i really need the backlit keyboard to be working fine. when i purchased this laptop i was told that it has a backlit keyboard but when it came i could not operate it. even by pressing fn + f6 still it doesnt work kindly assist me in this matter...
and secondly a few weeks into purchasing this product i noticed a white bright dot right on the center of the display....it was annoying....bt a few days later the dot vanished..and nw my screen is the same clear as ever....now what was that dot??? a dead pixel??? should i just ignore it because it is gone or shud i get my screen replaced??
kindly advice thankx
Pros:awesome display and 3d, skull candy speakers rock
Cons:no backlit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Adelaide SA, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

A positive all round great performer.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have recently taken delivery of our second Inspiron 17r 7720 laptop, one for myself and one for Madam, and my main comment is that we do not need faster Broadband, we need faster Computers!!
Seriously, I have ADSL 2, and these machines respond faster than I could imagine anything else. Just about instantaneous response from websites. My 2006 Inspiron 9400 has been stable from new and been switched on 24/7, (as will these also be) though it has been slowed up by MS updates. It will be handed down to our Granddaughter.
I have never experienced any of the problems shown in the Forums about these units, and we just love the features. Particularly the deactivating button for the mouse pad. Thank you Dell. Brightness and Definition are fantastic as are performance and sound. No complaints here in SA.
Pros:just a great stable product, great machine, best value for a quality laptop., best features compared to others i considered.
Cons:they keep changing the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Runs Everything!

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the the 7720 a year ago and i had such a great time with it!
It has lots of power, considering the quad core i7 processor, the 8gb of ram, and the monster 2gb NVIDIA 650 graphics card!
It will run any game out today at full frames per sec. and all the graphic setting cranked up!
I bought this computer for gaming but also school work, and it performs just fine for the both of them.
The only problems i have found with this machine is that i find myself constantly trying to update the drivers for the auxillary buttons to keep them working. Also i have found that as soon as i unboxed the 7720 and powered it up, there was a weird noise that came from the subwoffer on the bottom. It almost sounds like a radio interference. But other than that, this is a great! Awesome computer! and Will satisfy all of your needs!
Pros:graphic quality, lots of computing power, runs great, 32gb sata drive starts it up very fast, great built in speakers
Cons:short battery life (lasts one hour on high perform, subwoffer for me sounds like radio interference, updating drivers, kinda heavy
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(The Netherlands)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

OS

PostedAugust 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
i have the feeling that the laptop doesnt perform better due to such a bad structured OS. It's a OS obviously designed for tablets and not for laptop's or PC ...
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 27, 2013
Hello Nunoss,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Inspiron 17R SE. While Windows 8 was designed more for the touch environment, it should not affect your speed on a non touch system. I would suggest reaching out to our Dellcares team. They may be able to help you clear out your start up groups and maybe help you get your speed up. Reach out to them here:

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://dell.to/14T7mnW)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/1cXzZdN)

They can help!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17R - Not what it use to be

PostedAugust 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an Inspiron 17R Special Edition in July 2013 through the Dell website. In 2005 my work provided me with an Inspiron 15 inch and in 2007 I purchased an Inspiron 17 inch for my personal computing needs. Being very happy with my Inspiron 17 that I had been using for the last 6 years I thought now would be a good time to upgrade to a new laptop while I could still get Windows 7.
When I received the new laptop it felt cheap with a lower build quality. My last 2 Inspiron's felt more solid. The plastic body almost felt hollow. The keyboard was a lot less solid. It was almost felt warped on the left side, feeling like a trampoline while I was typing on it. Also the body dimensions are larger than my 2007 Inspiron 17 inch.
The new Inspiron has less features, namingly it only has a VGA output and no longer has a digital DVI output. When I connected to my monitor via a VGA cable it looked blurry. My 6 year old laptop connected to the monitor looked a lot sharper using it's DVI output.
I got the anti-glare on the new Inspiron. I had the TrueLife display on my 2007 model and felt that looked better. Now Dell doesn't seem to offer as many customizations which is unfortunate so I was unable to get the display, video card, RAM combo I would have preferred. That's why I had settled for the anti-glare screen.
Basically the Inspiron's quality has changed into cheaper price point laptop in my opinion. I returned it after a couple days of use. Someone looking to buy an inexpensive laptop that isn't going to connect to an external monitor very often will be happy with the current Inspiron's from Dell.
Right now I'm debating if I should move up to the XPS line( but they don't have 17 inch model anymore so I'd have to downsize to 15 inch) or if I should get the Alienware 17 inch. Neither seem like much of a value right.
Pros:cheap
Cons:cheap, vga output
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2013
Hello DanielF66,

Thank you for providing your feedback on this system. We take your feedback and suggestions seriously as they help us to further know what features our customers value most.

I am sorry to hear that this system did not meet your expectations. While this system does not have a DVI port, it does have a HDMI port for higher quality digital video. The TrueLife display option does provide extra color depth and clarity. This display compared to the Anti-Glare display is definitely a personal preference.

I hope you are able to get a system that completely meets your needs. Thank you again for your review.

-SaraT
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Hollidaysburg, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Port placements are not right for this user.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is great for the mid level user. The only problem I have is with the placement of the ports. I would like to see the power cord and some USB ports moved to back edge of the computer. I say this as I use my laptop in my lap. The power cord and USB ports are all located on the sides and continually hit the arms of the chair. This will eventually cause the failure of the affected outlet due to continual bumping. So far this is the only thing I can say is a con for this PC.
Cons:usb and power cord placement
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

neutral i guess could use some fixes though

PostedAugust 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sure but basically below are issues I got it a week ago
--------Cons
Starts out at power button- unless pressed hard it doesn't power on (have had to press it like 2-3 times sometimes to turn on)
-It Says comes with a back-lit key board- mine doesn't have
Startup- This computer costs double then my old one and my old one i used for gaming and started up nice and smoothly.
this one i have to wait like 2-5 minutes after the screen is logged for it to start running smoothly
Mousepad-
Ok tested "mousepad doesn't work properly on google chrome" works on internet explorer .. i prefer chrome though
McAfee is annoying though
-Freezes sometimes (not sure if due to internet or computer or the browser)
--------Pros
Graphics are beautiful though
Beats audio sounds great but kinda strange on bottom (old labtop had it on top above the keyboard)
Didn't come with advertisement garbage.( which is a plus was in shock! 1st laptop without it)
Not sure can't think or remember anything else.
on the side note Still pending my reward card though for this and still upset i didn't get a backlit keyboard as promised
Pros:graphics great, nice design, once it starts up works pretty descent, keyboard design is good
Cons:mousepad not working 100%, battery time changes often, takes long to start up, i didn't get back lit keyboard as promised, power button not 100% working
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewAugust 13, 2013
Hello ZeroKnight07,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your overall experience has not been perfect. The Inspiron 17R 7520 does not come with a backlit keyboard, but the Inspiron 17R SE 7720 has that option. Pressing Fn + F6 should turn the backlit keyboard on/dim/off. Since the touchpad works well with other programs, this may not resolve the Google Chrome concerns you have, but I would suggest making sure your touchpad drivers are up to date (
http://dell.to/16Ikgb6).

I am glad that you are enjoying the systems graphics and speakers, and that it came without a lot of extra software you did not want.

If you continue to have any concerns about the system, please feel free to reach out to our DellCares team through Twitter- @DellCares (
http://dell.to/1beHgBz) or on the Dell Community Forums (http://dell.to/19drTvZ). If you want to check on the status of a eGift card, feel free to reach out on the Customer Care board as well (http://dell.to/19fEVph).

Thank you again for your review.

-SaraT
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Brooklyn, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Powerhouse, does it all and comes back for more

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wrote a dissertation, taught a full load of 5 grad classes/ semester AND used for entertainment. Love the size of the screen. Next time, want the back-lit keyboard like my last one-- those rawk.
Pros:big screen, fast
Cons:hard to find cases/bags/carriers, must treat like gold
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Denver, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Powerfully beautiful laptop

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had my Dell 17R SE for about a month now and it is by far the best laptop I have ever owned. I love the quality that dell offers in their laptops. Comes fully loaded and ready for upgrades.
Has 2 HDD bays, mSATA and Mini PCI-E. The Core i7 processor is powerful and efficient. The backlit keyboard is awesome. Windows 8 is great. I added a Samsung 840 Series SSD and put a 2nd HDD in. This think is a performance monster.
I love everything about this laptop. Thank you Dell!
Pros:2 hard drive bays, mini pci-e, msata, backlit keyboard, core i7 processor, powerfull graphics
Cons:none
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Port Lavaca, TX 77979, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Another flawless product from dell.I have owned several desktops and laptops in my life this is by far my favorite from sales to shipping to setup. Windows 8 is a breeze loads fast no problems so far would recommend this laptop for beginner's to expert. Thanks Dell
Pros:easy to use fast
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Computer.... Until....

PostedJuly 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the 17RSE around Christmas 2012... bought it with the 32GB Solid State Drive. It was a fantastic replacement for our desktop computer... gorgeous monitor and super-fast.
My complaint though is that it crashed this month, and I had to send it to the Service Centre.
They sent it back very quickly... but had to replace all of the Hard Drive, Motherboard, Fan, and HeatSink. I've now lost a month's worth of data (since my last backup), and had to set up the computer from scratch again.
I mean... that's basically the guts of the computer being blown out in just 7 months of use. That's crazy.
Pros:great computer
Cons:only lasted 7 months.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 25, 2013
Hello ChrisOrillia,

Thank yo for providing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with your system. It is never a good feeling to loose data. I am glad that the Dell techs were able to get your system back quickly so you can get back to enjoying the speed and clarity of your laptop.

If you have any questions or need anything in the future, don't forget that your can also reach the DellCares team through any of the following:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

We are happy to help.

-SaraT
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Greenwood, SC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

the hard drive is only on par

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is well worth the price, and gives you a nice bang for you buck. i can play just about any game on the market, considering the fact that you will need the new graphics drivers, and the fact that you won't be able to play brand new cutting edge games on full 1080p, without some degree of lag.
Windows 8 is not the worst thing on the planet, it just takes like 5 minutes of getting used to. if it takes longer than that, your just being picky.
i've only had one issue that bothers me. that is with the hard drive, i would highly recommend the 32 msata drive, it helps a lot. as for the main hard drive, it can be a bit slow when you are trying to reference thing's from it. such as programs, music, and various files. every now and again when you load something it might hang for about half a second to 2 seconds. this never happens after a program is loaded, but it doesn't mean it isn't annoying when it happens.
also, i don't feel like flipping over my computer to get my service tag.
Pros:back lit keyboard, graphics card is slightly above he average, good construction. no weak points so far, very comfortable full size keyboard, crisp clear mic, plenty of bass in the speakers, boot time is rather fast
Cons:the hdd is not on the fast side, heavier than weight stated
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Battery life very poor but otherwise a good machine

PostedJuly 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one of these in April and now, in July, less than three months after taking delivery, I am looking at a battery showing 2 hours remaining from a full charge. I don't use the machine heavily as I have a desktop machine and iPad so it gets used maybe once every couple of weeks for a few hours at a time - and usually plugged in. I don't leave it suspended, I always power off. This battery should be performing at its peak. Today it is sitting copying files over my network, nothing else. Battery life is very disappointing and if I were using it for work I would be concerned.
Other than battery the machine itself is very good. It feels robust (as Dells usually do), the specification is fairly reasonable. It boots quickly and works well.
That battery is a worry though and why my rating is only three stars.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 22, 2013
Hey MC1UK,

Nice to hear that you are digging the Inspiron 17R SE, with the exception of the battery.

Keep in mind, battery life varies depending on operating conditions and may be significantly less depending on your product’s configuration, software, usage, operating conditions, power management settings and other factors.

Go into you control panel and go to power options and you might want to adjust your settings to be more for what you do with the computer. That should help increase battery life.

If nothing seems to work then please, use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thanks you! JGB
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Why isn't the mouse in the middle?

PostedJune 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Screen and 3D are great. Computer seems to run fast. Haven't had any issues yet.
I can't understand why the mouse isn't in the center of the laptop. It is very hard to navigate because my palm is constantly hitting the right side. I had to disable the advanced Windows 8 swipe features because my hand was unintentionally activating them and switching windows like crazy. It is very awkward to have the laptop on your lap and control the mouse. It's only been 3 days, so I guess I'll get used to it.
Pros:screen resolution, watching a 3d movie is great
Cons:mouse isn't centered making it hard to navigate
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Extremely SLOWWWWWW

PostedJune 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Inspiron 17R SE 7720 to replace a Precision M6400 that was nearing the end of its useful life. I thought I was trading up. My old Precision is faster. DON'T BUY THIS LAPTOP unless you want to waste your money.
Cons:slooowwwwww
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 25, 2013
Hello DisappointedDellBuye,

I am sorry to hear you are dissapointed with the performance of the Inspiron 17R SE (7720). While it is not a high end Precision Workstation, it should not be slow. I would recommend clearing out your startup items and disabling any extranious programs running in the background. Our Dellcares team can help you get some performance up.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Hope they can help!
-11points
4of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Love this computer but.....

PostedJune 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720 computer! I had a bit of trouble getting used to Windows 8 as I came from using a Dell XPS laptop that was 6 years old and had Windows XP. The computer itself is wonderful except some of the design and construction needs some refining, I believe. On the left side of the computer, where the power cord plugs in, is where the air vent is to let the warm air out. There is a grid over the vent that has little holes separated by tiny bars. I have had the computer for a little over 6 months and those bars are breaking off. I am not hard on this computer at all and feel this shouldn't be happening. There is now a spot about an inch wide where the air vent is not covered at all. My guess is that spot will get wider as the little spikes continue to break off. For a computer that cost as much as this one did, the design and materials used to build it should be improved. That is the only drawback I have found at this point.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(northeast uk)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

laptop review

PostedJune 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am so impressed with this laptop...i5 intel cpu..650m graphics card.. 8gb ram....17" screen...and amazing sound.. whats not to like...this laptop is awesome..plays all modern games on very high settings..no lag,great framerates.exellent sound..skullcandy speakers and subwoofer...wow you need to listen to this....dvd playback is faultless, dell built in support is great...came on time
well packaged and honestly it looks brand new compared to other laptops in price range/specs you would be nuts to buy anything else. I still wonder how they do it.....scale 1-10 overall 10..specs..10...build quality..10...warranty 10.. i love it..ps dont be put off by window 8 i was so scared of it but honestly. its easy/brilliant.thanks dell.. one truly satisfied customer
Pros:brilliant
Cons:not a one
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Plano, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Another good one!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received my Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720 laptop yesterday, June 15 2013, and had it completely ready with all my settings and programs installed by evening. It's fast, responsive, and has a beautiful 1080p LED screen that you have to see to appreciate. It replaces my previous laptop, a Dell Inspiron 9300 purchased in May of 2005 which is still doing well, though slow by todays standards.
This is my fourth Dell which includes two prior desktop models, both of which ran 24/7 and never had a single problem. That explains why I'm back again.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic service, fantastic product

PostedJune 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently received my refurbished Dell Inspiron 17r SE and I have to say it is fantastic. Arrived within 4 working days, although the delivery company were late (asked me to wait in between 8am and 6pm, and then arrived at 6:35pm, but no big deal). Anyway the item is in mint condition, well built, and setup is very quick and easy. Amazing spec for the price and runs like a dream, plays many recent games on highest settings.
Also worth pointing out that the customer support was nothing short of brilliant. I had a few issues I needed to sort out with my order right after purchase and the @DellCares team were really quick, helpful and responsive. Also the customer support team personally tracked my order through until completion, which is nice, you have a specific person to deal with rather than queries getting answered by just anyone.
I was a little concerned by some of the reviews here but I reckon all the complaints about the product not working are just unfortunate, rather than a design flaw of the product in general. Also, seeing as I've had such a positive response from the customer support so far, I would be confident that Dell will sort it out quickly should anything go wrong.
Pros:fast, quick delivery, excellent customer support
Cons:battery isnt great
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 12