Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 231 reviews
5 Stars
115
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
22
4
 / 
5
(231 reviews) 230
179 out of 23177%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 41 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17R - Not what it use to be

PostedAugust 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an Inspiron 17R Special Edition in July 2013 through the Dell website. In 2005 my work provided me with an Inspiron 15 inch and in 2007 I purchased an Inspiron 17 inch for my personal computing needs. Being very happy with my Inspiron 17 that I had been using for the last 6 years I thought now would be a good time to upgrade to a new laptop while I could still get Windows 7.
When I received the new laptop it felt cheap with a lower build quality. My last 2 Inspiron's felt more solid. The plastic body almost felt hollow. The keyboard was a lot less solid. It was almost felt warped on the left side, feeling like a trampoline while I was typing on it. Also the body dimensions are larger than my 2007 Inspiron 17 inch.
The new Inspiron has less features, namingly it only has a VGA output and no longer has a digital DVI output. When I connected to my monitor via a VGA cable it looked blurry. My 6 year old laptop connected to the monitor looked a lot sharper using it's DVI output.
I got the anti-glare on the new Inspiron. I had the TrueLife display on my 2007 model and felt that looked better. Now Dell doesn't seem to offer as many customizations which is unfortunate so I was unable to get the display, video card, RAM combo I would have preferred. That's why I had settled for the anti-glare screen.
Basically the Inspiron's quality has changed into cheaper price point laptop in my opinion. I returned it after a couple days of use. Someone looking to buy an inexpensive laptop that isn't going to connect to an external monitor very often will be happy with the current Inspiron's from Dell.
Right now I'm debating if I should move up to the XPS line( but they don't have 17 inch model anymore so I'd have to downsize to 15 inch) or if I should get the Alienware 17 inch. Neither seem like much of a value right.
Pros:cheap
Cons:cheap, vga output
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2013
Hello DanielF66,

Thank you for providing your feedback on this system. We take your feedback and suggestions seriously as they help us to further know what features our customers value most.

I am sorry to hear that this system did not meet your expectations. While this system does not have a DVI port, it does have a HDMI port for higher quality digital video. The TrueLife display option does provide extra color depth and clarity. This display compared to the Anti-Glare display is definitely a personal preference.

I hope you are able to get a system that completely meets your needs. Thank you again for your review.

-SaraT
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Hollidaysburg, PA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Port placements are not right for this user.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is great for the mid level user. The only problem I have is with the placement of the ports. I would like to see the power cord and some USB ports moved to back edge of the computer. I say this as I use my laptop in my lap. The power cord and USB ports are all located on the sides and continually hit the arms of the chair. This will eventually cause the failure of the affected outlet due to continual bumping. So far this is the only thing I can say is a con for this PC.
Cons:usb and power cord placement
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Houston, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

neutral i guess could use some fixes though

PostedAugust 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not sure but basically below are issues I got it a week ago
--------Cons
Starts out at power button- unless pressed hard it doesn't power on (have had to press it like 2-3 times sometimes to turn on)
-It Says comes with a back-lit key board- mine doesn't have
Startup- This computer costs double then my old one and my old one i used for gaming and started up nice and smoothly.
this one i have to wait like 2-5 minutes after the screen is logged for it to start running smoothly
Mousepad-
Ok tested "mousepad doesn't work properly on google chrome" works on internet explorer .. i prefer chrome though
McAfee is annoying though
-Freezes sometimes (not sure if due to internet or computer or the browser)
--------Pros
Graphics are beautiful though
Beats audio sounds great but kinda strange on bottom (old labtop had it on top above the keyboard)
Didn't come with advertisement garbage.( which is a plus was in shock! 1st laptop without it)
Not sure can't think or remember anything else.
on the side note Still pending my reward card though for this and still upset i didn't get a backlit keyboard as promised
Pros:graphics great, nice design, once it starts up works pretty descent, keyboard design is good
Cons:mousepad not working 100%, battery time changes often, takes long to start up, i didn't get back lit keyboard as promised, power button not 100% working
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewAugust 13, 2013
Hello ZeroKnight07,

Thank you for submitting your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your overall experience has not been perfect. The Inspiron 17R 7520 does not come with a backlit keyboard, but the Inspiron 17R SE 7720 has that option. Pressing Fn + F6 should turn the backlit keyboard on/dim/off. Since the touchpad works well with other programs, this may not resolve the Google Chrome concerns you have, but I would suggest making sure your touchpad drivers are up to date (
http://dell.to/16Ikgb6).

I am glad that you are enjoying the systems graphics and speakers, and that it came without a lot of extra software you did not want.

If you continue to have any concerns about the system, please feel free to reach out to our DellCares team through Twitter- @DellCares (
http://dell.to/1beHgBz) or on the Dell Community Forums (http://dell.to/19drTvZ). If you want to check on the status of a eGift card, feel free to reach out on the Customer Care board as well (http://dell.to/19fEVph).

Thank you again for your review.

-SaraT
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Brooklyn, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Powerhouse, does it all and comes back for more

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wrote a dissertation, taught a full load of 5 grad classes/ semester AND used for entertainment. Love the size of the screen. Next time, want the back-lit keyboard like my last one-- those rawk.
Pros:big screen, fast
Cons:hard to find cases/bags/carriers, must treat like gold
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Denver, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Powerfully beautiful laptop

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had my Dell 17R SE for about a month now and it is by far the best laptop I have ever owned. I love the quality that dell offers in their laptops. Comes fully loaded and ready for upgrades.
Has 2 HDD bays, mSATA and Mini PCI-E. The Core i7 processor is powerful and efficient. The backlit keyboard is awesome. Windows 8 is great. I added a Samsung 840 Series SSD and put a 2nd HDD in. This think is a performance monster.
I love everything about this laptop. Thank you Dell!
Pros:2 hard drive bays, mini pci-e, msata, backlit keyboard, core i7 processor, powerfull graphics
Cons:none
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Port Lavaca, TX 77979, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Another flawless product from dell.I have owned several desktops and laptops in my life this is by far my favorite from sales to shipping to setup. Windows 8 is a breeze loads fast no problems so far would recommend this laptop for beginner's to expert. Thanks Dell
Pros:easy to use fast
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Computer.... Until....

PostedJuly 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the 17RSE around Christmas 2012... bought it with the 32GB Solid State Drive. It was a fantastic replacement for our desktop computer... gorgeous monitor and super-fast.
My complaint though is that it crashed this month, and I had to send it to the Service Centre.
They sent it back very quickly... but had to replace all of the Hard Drive, Motherboard, Fan, and HeatSink. I've now lost a month's worth of data (since my last backup), and had to set up the computer from scratch again.
I mean... that's basically the guts of the computer being blown out in just 7 months of use. That's crazy.
Pros:great computer
Cons:only lasted 7 months.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 25, 2013
Hello ChrisOrillia,

Thank yo for providing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with your system. It is never a good feeling to loose data. I am glad that the Dell techs were able to get your system back quickly so you can get back to enjoying the speed and clarity of your laptop.

If you have any questions or need anything in the future, don't forget that your can also reach the DellCares team through any of the following:

• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/pwws14
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

We are happy to help.

-SaraT
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Greenwood, SC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

the hard drive is only on par

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is well worth the price, and gives you a nice bang for you buck. i can play just about any game on the market, considering the fact that you will need the new graphics drivers, and the fact that you won't be able to play brand new cutting edge games on full 1080p, without some degree of lag.
Windows 8 is not the worst thing on the planet, it just takes like 5 minutes of getting used to. if it takes longer than that, your just being picky.
i've only had one issue that bothers me. that is with the hard drive, i would highly recommend the 32 msata drive, it helps a lot. as for the main hard drive, it can be a bit slow when you are trying to reference thing's from it. such as programs, music, and various files. every now and again when you load something it might hang for about half a second to 2 seconds. this never happens after a program is loaded, but it doesn't mean it isn't annoying when it happens.
also, i don't feel like flipping over my computer to get my service tag.
Pros:back lit keyboard, graphics card is slightly above he average, good construction. no weak points so far, very comfortable full size keyboard, crisp clear mic, plenty of bass in the speakers, boot time is rather fast
Cons:the hdd is not on the fast side, heavier than weight stated
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Battery life very poor but otherwise a good machine

PostedJuly 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased one of these in April and now, in July, less than three months after taking delivery, I am looking at a battery showing 2 hours remaining from a full charge. I don't use the machine heavily as I have a desktop machine and iPad so it gets used maybe once every couple of weeks for a few hours at a time - and usually plugged in. I don't leave it suspended, I always power off. This battery should be performing at its peak. Today it is sitting copying files over my network, nothing else. Battery life is very disappointing and if I were using it for work I would be concerned.
Other than battery the machine itself is very good. It feels robust (as Dells usually do), the specification is fairly reasonable. It boots quickly and works well.
That battery is a worry though and why my rating is only three stars.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 22, 2013
Hey MC1UK,

Nice to hear that you are digging the Inspiron 17R SE, with the exception of the battery.

Keep in mind, battery life varies depending on operating conditions and may be significantly less depending on your product’s configuration, software, usage, operating conditions, power management settings and other factors.

Go into you control panel and go to power options and you might want to adjust your settings to be more for what you do with the computer. That should help increase battery life.

If nothing seems to work then please, use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thanks you! JGB
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Why isn't the mouse in the middle?

PostedJune 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Screen and 3D are great. Computer seems to run fast. Haven't had any issues yet.
I can't understand why the mouse isn't in the center of the laptop. It is very hard to navigate because my palm is constantly hitting the right side. I had to disable the advanced Windows 8 swipe features because my hand was unintentionally activating them and switching windows like crazy. It is very awkward to have the laptop on your lap and control the mouse. It's only been 3 days, so I guess I'll get used to it.
Pros:screen resolution, watching a 3d movie is great
Cons:mouse isn't centered making it hard to navigate
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Extremely SLOWWWWWW

PostedJune 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my Inspiron 17R SE 7720 to replace a Precision M6400 that was nearing the end of its useful life. I thought I was trading up. My old Precision is faster. DON'T BUY THIS LAPTOP unless you want to waste your money.
Cons:slooowwwwww
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 25, 2013
Hello DisappointedDellBuye,

I am sorry to hear you are dissapointed with the performance of the Inspiron 17R SE (7720). While it is not a high end Precision Workstation, it should not be slow. I would recommend clearing out your startup items and disabling any extranious programs running in the background. Our Dellcares team can help you get some performance up.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

Hope they can help!
-11points
4of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Love this computer but.....

PostedJune 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720 computer! I had a bit of trouble getting used to Windows 8 as I came from using a Dell XPS laptop that was 6 years old and had Windows XP. The computer itself is wonderful except some of the design and construction needs some refining, I believe. On the left side of the computer, where the power cord plugs in, is where the air vent is to let the warm air out. There is a grid over the vent that has little holes separated by tiny bars. I have had the computer for a little over 6 months and those bars are breaking off. I am not hard on this computer at all and feel this shouldn't be happening. There is now a spot about an inch wide where the air vent is not covered at all. My guess is that spot will get wider as the little spikes continue to break off. For a computer that cost as much as this one did, the design and materials used to build it should be improved. That is the only drawback I have found at this point.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(northeast uk)
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

laptop review

PostedJune 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am so impressed with this laptop...i5 intel cpu..650m graphics card.. 8gb ram....17" screen...and amazing sound.. whats not to like...this laptop is awesome..plays all modern games on very high settings..no lag,great framerates.exellent sound..skullcandy speakers and subwoofer...wow you need to listen to this....dvd playback is faultless, dell built in support is great...came on time
well packaged and honestly it looks brand new compared to other laptops in price range/specs you would be nuts to buy anything else. I still wonder how they do it.....scale 1-10 overall 10..specs..10...build quality..10...warranty 10.. i love it..ps dont be put off by window 8 i was so scared of it but honestly. its easy/brilliant.thanks dell.. one truly satisfied customer
Pros:brilliant
Cons:not a one
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Plano, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Another good one!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received my Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720 laptop yesterday, June 15 2013, and had it completely ready with all my settings and programs installed by evening. It's fast, responsive, and has a beautiful 1080p LED screen that you have to see to appreciate. It replaces my previous laptop, a Dell Inspiron 9300 purchased in May of 2005 which is still doing well, though slow by todays standards.
This is my fourth Dell which includes two prior desktop models, both of which ran 24/7 and never had a single problem. That explains why I'm back again.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic service, fantastic product

PostedJune 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I recently received my refurbished Dell Inspiron 17r SE and I have to say it is fantastic. Arrived within 4 working days, although the delivery company were late (asked me to wait in between 8am and 6pm, and then arrived at 6:35pm, but no big deal). Anyway the item is in mint condition, well built, and setup is very quick and easy. Amazing spec for the price and runs like a dream, plays many recent games on highest settings.
Also worth pointing out that the customer support was nothing short of brilliant. I had a few issues I needed to sort out with my order right after purchase and the @DellCares team were really quick, helpful and responsive. Also the customer support team personally tracked my order through until completion, which is nice, you have a specific person to deal with rather than queries getting answered by just anyone.
I was a little concerned by some of the reviews here but I reckon all the complaints about the product not working are just unfortunate, rather than a design flaw of the product in general. Also, seeing as I've had such a positive response from the customer support so far, I would be confident that Dell will sort it out quickly should anything go wrong.
Pros:fast, quick delivery, excellent customer support
Cons:battery isnt great
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Another great laptop from dell!

PostedJune 4, 2013
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop last month to replace my very old XPS and I'm very satisfied with it. The TrueLife 3D screen was really gorgeous plus you get a free nVidia 3D Vision 2 glasses too! (in built IR transmitter just like in alienware laptop!). I used it mainly for entertainment and casual gaming since it comes with a powerful (for this class of laptop and price) GT650M gpu from nVidia so I can easily set my game graphic settings to high on 1080p resolution with no fps drop whatsoever (except when playing on 3D). This laptop's fan gets a little noisy when used for gaming or high performance programs, but the temperature is good for a system with i7 processor and integrated GPU (80 degrees CPU and 73 degrees GPU max). The Battery life is not so good on the 3D model of this laptop since there is no nVidia optimus for the 3D model, but I always used this laptop near a power source so it's not a problem for me.
An incident happened last week when I try to update my Bios version to A14 from A11, the laptop bricked (dead motherboard), I contacted dell immediately and they told me to bring it to dell carry in service, I bring it there on the same day (Friday) and it was already fixed (they replace the motherboard with a new one!) on Monday which is pretty fast considering it was only 1 working day! Now my laptop is good as new and I can finally update my bios to A14 without problem now.
Sorry for the long review, just want to let you guys know how great this laptop is and how good dell customer service are!
I would definitely recommend this dell laptop for anyone looking for a budged gaming laptop or desktop replacement!
Pros:powerful system, great desktop replacement, good built quality, gorgeous 3d screen, free nvidia 3d vision 2 glasses
Cons:poor battery life due to no nvidia optimus, 10/100 ethernet speed (it's not that bad though), no intel widi since the intel graphic are disabled
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

2nd replacement on this model

PostedMay 29, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these for myself and one for my son. The performance is excellent, i do a lot of video editing and rendering and this works great.
Both my son's and mine died within months of purchase. Both exact same issue, motherboard died.
Always been really happy with Dell, this one with the Nvidia video card has been really a great machine up till now. If it was one that died I could understand a bad machine but now mine has. Now I am worried it will run out of warranty and die again.
Pros:overall this is really fast
Cons:runs really hot., motherboard died in both ones within months
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Renton, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Its a good laptop

PostedMay 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its a good laptop and a compromise for the price giving most of the features I wanted with my only complaint being that it comes with 8 gigs of ram instead of 16 like I would have desired and limited hard drive options. I just don't understand why they tell you the special edition comes with a back lit keyboard when mine didn't? Maybe it was an oversite but still from reading reviews here it sounds like I got more lucky than most people considering I've had it two weeks and other than the lack of back lit keys and the new movie software that dell installs on these laptops will only play blu-rays and not DVD's . (It says that you have selected the wrong region and will not play it. I tried seven different movies and still no luck.) Windows 8 is a bit of a bumout. I have yet to download pro but I think I am going to downgrade back to seven ultimate. Still...Its not bad for the price and the screen is pretty sharp. the touch pad takes some getting used to if you've never owned a dell. I had an HP pavilian and my old dell had a touch pad as well. The new one just seems a little skiddish. This machine won't dissapoint for the price, but it needs a few tweaks to make it work right. If it came out of the box the way I expected it and worked right the first day I would have given a much better score.
Pros:screen, processer, blu ray, 3-d
Cons:keyboard not backlit as ordered, touchy track pad, windows 8, video software only plays blu ray
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 22, 2013
Hello ZAnderson83,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with the Inspiron 17R SE laptop. In regards to your non-backlit keyboard, I am confident that all 17R SE's shipped here in the U.S. are supposed to come with a backlit keyboard by default. I would contact DellCares to speak about arranging this (it is an easy keyboard replacement procedure since the motherboard already has the correct cable slots). I am not a support agent and I do not have enough information about your DVD playback but I recommend downloading VLC Media Player from VideoLAN. It is a superb playback program and it is free! Also, Windows 8.1 is currently available as a free upgrade, so maybe it's new features might satisfy your longing for Windows 7 Ultimate.

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Impressed

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased December 2012. Windows8 takes a bit getting used to if you are coming from XP or even Windows7. I consider myself tech-savvy. The laptop over the past 6 months has required numerous MS updates, some driver updates, and BIOS updates. All were installed as needed and the laptop runs strong.
Performance is top notch with Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM, blazing graphics card and fast bus speed. The 32GB SSD makes for a swift and fast boot up. It can handle HD content flawlessly. Also supports very fast USB 3.0. The screen is amazing and bright in 1080P LED.
Battery life is nominal at best but expected with the power draw of this machine. Lucky if I get 90 minutes under a heavy load. One may be able to tweak close to 3 hours with a very light load but what fun is that? No extended battery that I know of. Yes, I have played with the power savings features.
HDMI out is a nice plus as you can connect to a TV or other multimedia devices. Works well.
Only downside is maybe weight. This laptop is heavy but feels very solid and well built. But I expected that when I bought it. It's almost a small desktop in a laptop form factor. OK with me but others looking for a "feather weight" laptop will need something else.
For me, it was a choice of performance and power which the Inspiron 17R SE easily delivers.
Pros:performance, quality
Cons:weight, battery
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(North Carolina, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is a great laptop.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Folks you get what you pay for. I have purchased several laptops from Dell and this is by far my favorite. They were all Inspirons. Set 3 of the 15.6s up for my kids. I got the 17 for my poor eyesight. Don't like Windows 8 so I got this with Windows 7. This is a really good laptop but the add ons were pretty scarce since they wanted to sell the Windows 8 units. I swapped out the DVD Player for a Blu Ray Read/Write and the 1TB HDD for a SSD. WOW! It was good before but she really flies now. My Windows Experience jumped to a base score of 7.2! A 1080 screen and a lit key board is a must. Folks this is an easy sell its a great laptop.
Pros:1080 screen, good price
Cons:i did not get it earlier
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 12