Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.032 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 216 reviews
5 Stars
110
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
18
4
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 215
170 out of 21679%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 41 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Another great laptop from dell!

PostedJune 4, 2013
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop last month to replace my very old XPS and I'm very satisfied with it. The TrueLife 3D screen was really gorgeous plus you get a free nVidia 3D Vision 2 glasses too! (in built IR transmitter just like in alienware laptop!). I used it mainly for entertainment and casual gaming since it comes with a powerful (for this class of laptop and price) GT650M gpu from nVidia so I can easily set my game graphic settings to high on 1080p resolution with no fps drop whatsoever (except when playing on 3D). This laptop's fan gets a little noisy when used for gaming or high performance programs, but the temperature is good for a system with i7 processor and integrated GPU (80 degrees CPU and 73 degrees GPU max). The Battery life is not so good on the 3D model of this laptop since there is no nVidia optimus for the 3D model, but I always used this laptop near a power source so it's not a problem for me.
An incident happened last week when I try to update my Bios version to A14 from A11, the laptop bricked (dead motherboard), I contacted dell immediately and they told me to bring it to dell carry in service, I bring it there on the same day (Friday) and it was already fixed (they replace the motherboard with a new one!) on Monday which is pretty fast considering it was only 1 working day! Now my laptop is good as new and I can finally update my bios to A14 without problem now.
Sorry for the long review, just want to let you guys know how great this laptop is and how good dell customer service are!
I would definitely recommend this dell laptop for anyone looking for a budged gaming laptop or desktop replacement!
Pros:powerful system, great desktop replacement, good built quality, gorgeous 3d screen, free nvidia 3d vision 2 glasses
Cons:poor battery life due to no nvidia optimus, 10/100 ethernet speed (it's not that bad though), no intel widi since the intel graphic are disabled
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

2nd replacement on this model

PostedMay 29, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these for myself and one for my son. The performance is excellent, i do a lot of video editing and rendering and this works great.
Both my son's and mine died within months of purchase. Both exact same issue, motherboard died.
Always been really happy with Dell, this one with the Nvidia video card has been really a great machine up till now. If it was one that died I could understand a bad machine but now mine has. Now I am worried it will run out of warranty and die again.
Pros:overall this is really fast
Cons:runs really hot., motherboard died in both ones within months
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Renton, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Its a good laptop

PostedMay 27, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its a good laptop and a compromise for the price giving most of the features I wanted with my only complaint being that it comes with 8 gigs of ram instead of 16 like I would have desired and limited hard drive options. I just don't understand why they tell you the special edition comes with a back lit keyboard when mine didn't? Maybe it was an oversite but still from reading reviews here it sounds like I got more lucky than most people considering I've had it two weeks and other than the lack of back lit keys and the new movie software that dell installs on these laptops will only play blu-rays and not DVD's . (It says that you have selected the wrong region and will not play it. I tried seven different movies and still no luck.) Windows 8 is a bit of a bumout. I have yet to download pro but I think I am going to downgrade back to seven ultimate. Still...Its not bad for the price and the screen is pretty sharp. the touch pad takes some getting used to if you've never owned a dell. I had an HP pavilian and my old dell had a touch pad as well. The new one just seems a little skiddish. This machine won't dissapoint for the price, but it needs a few tweaks to make it work right. If it came out of the box the way I expected it and worked right the first day I would have given a much better score.
Pros:screen, processer, blu ray, 3-d
Cons:keyboard not backlit as ordered, touchy track pad, windows 8, video software only plays blu ray
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 22, 2013
Hello ZAnderson83,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with the Inspiron 17R SE laptop. In regards to your non-backlit keyboard, I am confident that all 17R SE's shipped here in the U.S. are supposed to come with a backlit keyboard by default. I would contact DellCares to speak about arranging this (it is an easy keyboard replacement procedure since the motherboard already has the correct cable slots). I am not a support agent and I do not have enough information about your DVD playback but I recommend downloading VLC Media Player from VideoLAN. It is a superb playback program and it is free! Also, Windows 8.1 is currently available as a free upgrade, so maybe it's new features might satisfy your longing for Windows 7 Ultimate.

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Impressed

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased December 2012. Windows8 takes a bit getting used to if you are coming from XP or even Windows7. I consider myself tech-savvy. The laptop over the past 6 months has required numerous MS updates, some driver updates, and BIOS updates. All were installed as needed and the laptop runs strong.
Performance is top notch with Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM, blazing graphics card and fast bus speed. The 32GB SSD makes for a swift and fast boot up. It can handle HD content flawlessly. Also supports very fast USB 3.0. The screen is amazing and bright in 1080P LED.
Battery life is nominal at best but expected with the power draw of this machine. Lucky if I get 90 minutes under a heavy load. One may be able to tweak close to 3 hours with a very light load but what fun is that? No extended battery that I know of. Yes, I have played with the power savings features.
HDMI out is a nice plus as you can connect to a TV or other multimedia devices. Works well.
Only downside is maybe weight. This laptop is heavy but feels very solid and well built. But I expected that when I bought it. It's almost a small desktop in a laptop form factor. OK with me but others looking for a "feather weight" laptop will need something else.
For me, it was a choice of performance and power which the Inspiron 17R SE easily delivers.
Pros:performance, quality
Cons:weight, battery
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(North Carolina, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

This is a great laptop.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Folks you get what you pay for. I have purchased several laptops from Dell and this is by far my favorite. They were all Inspirons. Set 3 of the 15.6s up for my kids. I got the 17 for my poor eyesight. Don't like Windows 8 so I got this with Windows 7. This is a really good laptop but the add ons were pretty scarce since they wanted to sell the Windows 8 units. I swapped out the DVD Player for a Blu Ray Read/Write and the 1TB HDD for a SSD. WOW! It was good before but she really flies now. My Windows Experience jumped to a base score of 7.2! A 1080 screen and a lit key board is a must. Folks this is an easy sell its a great laptop.
Pros:1080 screen, good price
Cons:i did not get it earlier
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Centennial, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Terrible replacement screen...

PostedMay 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was originally pretty happy with this laptop, until a line developed on the screen after 6 months. Since it was still under warranty, I figured I should get this repaired in case the condition worsened, so I called Dell, and the screen was replaced. Customer service was great - however the new screen is terrible. The contrast and viewing angles are so bad, that I can't get the top and bottom of the screen viewable at the same time. It is obviously inferior in quality to the original screen I had. I tried tweaking everything, and nothing helps. I wish I had my old screen back - it was much better, even with the red line on it.
So the original hardware is good, but replacement parts will not be. The rest of the laptop has been fine, though. I put in 2x256GB SSDs, and converted the 32GB "cache" SSD into a third SSD, so this thing flies. The touchpad was very bad (I would call it unusable) when I first received it, but a later update from the Dell website made it work much better. The lighted keyboard is also very good. This would be a real nice laptop if the screen wasn't so bad. I bought this to have a nice large screen to work on, and the one I have now is barely usable. I have to give it 2 stars, since using the laptop without an external monitor is now not a pleasant experience.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 20, 2013
Hello KevinMMM,

Thank you for providing your feedback. I am glad to hear that overall you like your new system and you were able to get it fly. If you have any questions or concerns about your replacement parts, please feel free to reach out to us. We would be happy to look into any concerns your have. You can reach our Social Media Support team through any of the following methods:

• Dell Community Forums:
http://dell.to/oXooVn
• Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/Tgt5D7
• Facebook Support:
http://dell.to/10icdPW

-SaraT
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(arkansas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Nothing is right

PostedMay 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this and was so excited, I even bought some extra features. The dvd drive works when it wants to, the bluetooth gets an error message all the time (which I was told to disreguard). The space bar doesn't work right, sometimes the speakers don't work. A message pops up and says you should keep it plugged in as much as possible- 3 days later a new message pops up and says you shouldn't keep it plugged in so much. The digital downloads cost extra and are not really the complete program, you should find that on your own. the alert pops up and says my firewall isn't on but it is and the alert won't go away.
Pros:it's pretty
Cons:nothing works right, grouchy like an old computer but costs new
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 17, 2013
Hi mark5924,

We appreciate you composing this review and I am sorry that the Inspiron 17R has not lived up to your expectations. From the issues you describe, I recommend checking out the Dell Community Forums for solutions. Also, check out Dell Support's Windows 8 Guides, which have a wealth of information as well. Finally, feel free to reach out to our @Dellcares team on Twitter for assistance with any care related questions you might have!

Dell Community Forums -
http://dell.to/10t69Dh
Windows 8 Support -
http://dell.to/14bEZE7
@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Good but not beyond improvement

PostedMay 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 7720 17R SE is satisfactorily well made, it feels sufficiently solid and robust while remaining quite slender. My only complaint about the physical design is the top, palm rest area next to the touch-pad has quite a sharp corner as it turns into the front edge of the case and quickly becomes irritating to your wrist and hand after only a short period of use.
Although a computer and it's operating system go tightly hand in hand I'm not going to make much comment about Windows 8. There's plenty of negative comment elsewhere on the internet and while Windows 8 isn't quite as horrifically bad as I thought it would be, it's not exactly good either. It is bursting with pointless user interface annoyances and inefficiencies of operation that hopefully Microsoft will not be too stubborn to correct.
The 7720 17R SE has many good features. It runs very quietly and unobtrusively. I find the screen to be very good, bright and sharply detailed. Sound output is very good despite the three speakers being on the underside of the computer. The third “sub-woofer” makes a considerable difference. Calling a speaker the size of a 2p coin a sub-woofer may be a little optimistic though. Graphics performance is excellent for a laptop. You do sometimes have to go into settings and make sure that the NVIDIA GPU is selected to handle the graphics for a particular application (eg. games) and not the on board Intel graphics as this can result in low graphics memory errors, which can be confusing when you think you've got 2GB of graphics RAM but the error is telling you otherwise. That is of course when you manage to stumble across the Windows 8 settings menu to do this.
I have mixed feelings about the keyboard. The key action is nice and positive but the key shape and spacing doesn't quite suit me, I frequently mistype as a result.
Not quite so good is the hard drive. Despite having plenty of capacity at 1TB, it is clearly the weak link in the performance chain on this otherwise very capable computer. So for those that like to keep their upgrade options open this may be the first place to look.
Now for the bad. The touch pad on the 17R SE is abysmal. It is quite definitely the worst touch pad I have ever used. Simple point and click action is generally ok. What is not ok is the two finger scrolling action, it frequently does not work and you find yourself sliding your fingers over the pad with no corresponding on screen scrolling or stuttered and jerky scrolling. It constantly throws up spurious right click menus while scrolling or attempting to scroll. The pad doesn't seem to cope well with a change of hand left or right when scrolling either. Numerous settings combinations and deleting and reinstalling the driver did not resolve the situation. Needless to say internet browsing can be quite frustrating. The driver needs to better differentiate between the two finger scrolling action and a two finger tap and/or provide the option to disable two finger tap.
Pros:quick and capable processor and graphics, nice sound output, good sharp detailed screen
Cons:poor touch pad, relatively slow hard drive, a few cases of form before function
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Does NOT have Gigabit Ethernet

PostedMay 4, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Inspiron 7720 seems like a great value, EXCEPT it has a 2nd millennium Ethernet. I can't even imagine they could find 10/100 Ethernet chips in this decade. And even though its specs say "10/100 Network Card", it is NOT a card (it's on the motherboard) and is thus not upgradable -- very misleading! How can Dell call it a card?
Pros:high resolution display, high end processor
Cons:no gigabit ethernet! it has dinosaur 10/100.
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsMay 7, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry to hear that you are not completely satisfied with this system's Ethernet connection. In the tech specs, we do list this component as Integrated ethernet 10/100 so that you know you are getting 10/100 and that it is integrated on the motherboard.

I hope the rest of the system meets your needs.

-SaraT
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Minneapolis, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

great for the long haul

PostedMay 4, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have always been an HP user - until I took a look at what Dell offered and the value of the deal. I got everything that I wanted---speed, power, lots of storage, and the ability to really multitask. I got the Dell for hundreds less than an HP and I have no regrets. Yes it is a bit heavy and yes it gets warm - I added the Targus gaming 3-fan cooling unit with my gift card (that is not something that HP does) and I have been extremely happy. I am a very demanding user - for both business and fun and this computer does it all..
Pros:speed, performance, multitasking
Cons:heavy, gets warm
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(San Diego, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great value

PostedMay 2, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love al the features of this laptop. The one I love the most is the backlit keyboard as it allows me to type while my wife gets some rest.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Illinois, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

not bad

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
better than average. they want me to type more, so I am.
Pros:fairly fast
Cons:windows 8
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dell 7720

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
An outstanding machine - particularly versatile and far better than any others I have previously used.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Scotland, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Like alot

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having purchased this laptop a couple of months ago I am extremely happy with my purchase. Only real problem I had was attempting to make backup copy of the machine which would not work on this machine contacted support team and they told me it was a problem relating to Windows 8 and Microsoft had been asked to fix this. Customer support also sent me out copies of the backup software for the machine should I ever need them. Going back to the machine itself handles everything I throw at it with ease.
Pros:excellent screen, quiet in operation
Cons:none
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Boucherville, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

my joy of this laptop

PostedApril 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
im very satisfied with this laptop easy to use and understand the feature are very straight forward and easy to use it has made my life a lot easier with this laptop
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Manistee, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Powerhouse for the Price

PostedApril 24, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have read reviews of this product and thought I would add my two cents. Yes it is big and a bit heavy but as it states it is a desktop replacement so this is fine with me. The back-lit keyboard is perfect for when you want to surf the net in the wee hours of the night and the skull candy speakers sound great. It came with Bios A12 and I updated to A13 with no issues of the nVidea Graphics disappearing as I had read in the forums. Do the research like I did CNET has a great review of this model on their website. The honeycomb like finish on the lid and around the keyboard is perfect and nearly smudge proof. Play's hardcore games flawlessly as I play Crysis and Need For Speed with no problems of graphics or overheating. If you are a gamer invest in a cooling pad just in case. The new quick-set driver (compared to my Inspiron N5110) is much better and has settings to adjust the battery like Desktop Mode and Longevity Mode for extended battery life. The LCD screen is huge and clear. Movies look awesome and as a student processor and memory draining software like Adobe CS6 are much more faster and fluent. If you are looking for a reasonably priced laptop with all these features I recommend it. Hat's off to the design team for coming up with this model also.
Pros:great performance, fast startup, great sound, comparable to xps line
Cons:wish i would of purchased this sooner.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

An all around excellent laptop

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is an absolutely brilliant laptop. I purchased it with the intentions of using it for school, with some gaming and photo work on the side. It easily handles all daily tasks without any issues, and runs most games without troubles. I can run most games at full resolution and max graphics at around 30fps, and on high graphics at about 50fps. Also very good audio quality (for a laptop) with the built in sub woofer. The 1920 x 1080 screen is a nice added bonus for a laptop. Very quick to start up; I average about 4 second start up times. If you're on the fence about this product, I would advise going for it. You will not regret it.
Pros:great processor, good sound quality, lots of features and customization
Cons:can be tough to keep clean, case is weak in some areas, hinges have moved off centre
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(New York, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Perfomance at Great Value

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 17R SE feels like an Alienware in disguise, it has all the graphical capabilities, i7 processor and 1080p resolution with the option to go 3D which I will try down the line. The speakers by Skullcandy are amazing, best laptop ever. It is on the heavy side but I bought it knowing and expecting that. As for the Windows 8, it does require some getting used to but there are ways to have START back and its great.
Pros:i7 processor, skullcandy speakers, nvidia graphics w/ 3d option
Cons:battery life, weight
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome Computer

PostedApril 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love everything except that it comes installed with Windows 8. I hate Windows 8, but everything else about this computer in terms of its hardware and gaming performance is amazing. I play Skyrim, Civ 5, NBA2k13, etc. all at High graphics. Also, the large screen is awesome for watching movies.
Pros:awesome awesome awesome computer
Cons:windows 8
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

HORRIBLE BUY, BEWARE

PostedApril 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for 2 months and it makes noise and runs horrible. and cant be taken back. The Windows 8 on it is HORRIBLE! It likes to type what it wants by itself, HORRIBLE PRODUCT!
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsApril 22, 2013
Hey Rhodsie78,

Sorry to hear about the issues that you are having with your Inspiron 17R SE.
Please use the link below and it will take you to the homepage for our Drivers and Downloads. Use this to verify that you have the most updated BIOS for your system. We address issues like noisy fan with BIOS updates and this may help to alleviate the noisiness issue.

D&D-
http://dell.to/123WtB9

Please use the links below to go and check out our Windows 8 tutorial videos and FAQ's. The information provided within these can help get you acclimated to the new OS. It can be a little tough to get used to a new operating system but in time I think you can really learn to enjoy Windows 8.
Win 8 Tutorial Videos-
http://dell.to/X8D4hD
Win 8 FAQ's-
http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk <http://dell.to/10Sd6Qk>

If there is anything we can do to help you out, please Use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
www.facebook.com/Dell
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 11