Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.014 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
18
4
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 210
165 out of 21178%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 21 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous451
Title:

All but perfect

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Computer feels very sturdy, I don't think Dell cut many corners with the case itself. (Other than the fact the second hard drive bracket appears to be not included) I ordered the model which included the core i7 processor. I imagined the computer would have a lot of power behind it, but the processor is pretty much overkill for everything I've thrown at it so far.
Temperatures seem fairly low, even when pushing the hardware. But then again I really don't have anything that can really get it work hard. Most PC games I have are a couple years old.
Cons:
* 5400rpm hard drive is the weakest link. Decided to salvage the hard drive from my old computer and put it in this one. The hard drive in question being a year old. Not mad about it, it's my new external hard drive.
For anyone wanting to change hard drives, you will need to "disassociate" and "associate" the 32GB SSD in order to get Intel Rapid Storage to work again. You'll need to download the Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver and use the program. I get the feeling if you use Ctrl+I to change the RAID settings at boot up, you may not be able to get RST to work again... could be wrong though.
* Back panel is a grade-A pain in the butt to get back on! I really want to know what the engineers were thinking. Tabs = Break, it would be fine if they were all facing the same way like the couple back panels on my old Inspiron 1520... but they're not. (I didn't break any, but still...)
* Couldn't find the wireless card driver in Dell Support! The support seems to have drivers for all kinds of wireless cards EXCEPT the one in this computer. I'll stick to the driver dvd next time, no idea why I didn't use it in the first place.
* On a minor note, it's easy to leave fingerprints on the palm rest if you are eating. So if you're OCD about greasy keyboards...
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AP71
(Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Performs like a champ; hopefully it will hold up

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
As my Dell Inspiron 1420 was starting to get a bit long in the tooth (approaching 4 years old), I decided I needed a more powerful portable machine. The 1420 wasn't the fastest but it got the job done for me and never gave me any major problems. The Inspiron 17R SE featured some fairly impressive specifications so I decided I'd purchase it.
I've had it just over a month now, and overall I am pleased. The Ivy Bridge processor handles anything I throw at it, and plenty of DDR3 RAM is on hand for demanding tasks. The computer boots up and accesses files quickly, even after I put almost 100 GB of fragmented music on the hard drive without defragmenting. The LED-backlit display offers vibrant color but the black levels still aren't good enough for my liking (as an aside, I own several higher-end CRT monitors which excel in color fidelity and black level, perhaps explaining my pickiness for black levels and contrast).
The backlit keyboard is a great feature, but unfortunately last week one key came off and I was unable to get it back on. When I told Dell I could replace the keyboard myself, they sent a replacement quickly but it wasn't the backlit model. I contacted them again and they informed me that backlit keyboards are currently on backorder. This has only been a minor inconvenience to me and I'm not too upset about it, but it does make me a bit concerned about the build quality and durability, as does the body plastic that seems to smudge easily.
Unlike my previous Inspiron, the front-panel LED indicators don't shine a blindingly bright blue into the user's eye; however the power button and LED is located near the screen and occasionally causes a distraction such that I wish it were dimmable or not as bright.
Highly capable graphics settings enhance the computer's usability, and the built-in speakers offer respectable sound quality. However, as far as I know there is no S/PDIF audio output. Battery life is acceptable, and the computer does not seem to get as hot as my previous two laptops despite the powerful processor.
All in all, I am quite pleased with my Inspiron 7720. Though I do have a few concerns about long-term durability, I'd recommend it over any similar model from computer makers whose names begin with A (not naming names....), and for me at least it is the perfect balance between affordability, portability, and performance.
Pros:music recording editing and playback, video editing and playback, light- to medium-duty 2d & 3d design software
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop,Excellent Quality

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop a few day agos.it was delivered in a short time,which suprised me .This laptop looks great and huge ,and it works incredibly fast.Also ,the fan works quietly without too much noise.
The only issue is that the keyboard backlit cannot be ON even if I press the key Fn+f6 or try to turn it on with internal system setting for several times.
Pro's
Good Price,FHD 17.1 screen,3rd Generation CPU Light Weight
Cons
5400 RM hardware
Suggestion.
I think it will be better if Dell configures it with 7200RM hardware in the future
Pros:game, entertainment
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rc1000
(ACT, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Inspiron 17R Special Edition - Brilliant

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is brilliant. It replaced a three year old laptop and the change is very noticeable. The mSata drive makes a huge difference with very fast boot times. The 2TB of disk storage is superb. The screen is brilliant and great for general use (I can easily have two Word documents side by side) as well as movies. The system is fast and has 4 x USB ports as well as HDMI, Ethernet. Full size keyboard is great to use (although having a keypad means the keyboard is not in the centre of the screen). The face recognition login takes some getting used to, but can be very handy (and it can be turned off if not required).
The weakest point is the battery, which normally gives about two hours (but this is not a problem for me, as I mainly use it plugged in on the desk). This is also a large laptop which would make a larger laptop to take on travel (but I use my tablet for travelling).
I love this laptop and highly recommend it.
Pros:general use, ms office
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Groover
(Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Laptop

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
Full HD screen (1920x1080)
2 hard drive bays
blu ray player
fast memory (1600 MHz)
fast cpu (i7 3610QM)
good graphics card (GT 650M)
4 usb 3 ports
good price ($999 AUD promotion)
speakers
cons
battery life
size and weight (to be expected for a 17" laptop I guess)
wifi card (Intel N2230) - speed not the best
1TB hard disk supplied (5400rpm and very very sloooooowwwwwww if you are used to SSD speeds)
I wacked in a new SSD in the spare bay and re-installed windows 7 to be rid of bloatware.
Laptop now boots in 13 secs and shuts down in 7
So far no problems but I will repost if I experience any.
I would recommend this laptop to others (with SSD installed for OS drive)
would make an ideal desktop replacement
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:7110
(Rochester, NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not worth the extra money

PostedJuly 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
To be fair, I do like the laptop and I am not returning it. However, based on a few critera I would not recommend this product to my friends:
The speakers are not as good as XPS model. Don't be fooled by the name skull-candy, the speakers are not much better than the regular Inspirion. Also, I had to call technical support as the sub-woofer kept making a static sound during start-up and randomly when running. So far they seemed to fix the problem, but I have heard it once or twice. I don't expect things like that When I am spending well over $1000.
The battery life is only two hours long and there is no upgrade to battery life! This is by and far the worst part of this lap-top. It is pretty short-sighted that they would think that two hours in enough with out options to upgrade. The support person said it is a design flaw as this laptop can't have the batteries that extend out. What were they thinking not offering a longer battery life. I can't bring the laptop with me, unless I have somewhere to plug it into.
The only tru upgrade to this laptop is the screen which is nicer than the other Inpirion models, but is probably what sucks the battery life.
If the battery life is only two hours on the first day I get it, what is it going to be like next year? And it is only $100+ for a replacemtnt batter....
If you want to pay $300 more for a better screen, slightly better speakers and a back-lit keyboard then get the Special Edition. Otherwise buy the regular Inspirion and pass on the Special Edition.
I feel like the special edition looks good, but the value isn't there as it is only a slight upgrade from the regular Inspirion.
So I know this review is pretty bad, but that is mostly because this model is supposed to differentiate or provide a niche compared to the regular model, but it fails to do that at over a 25% more in price.
To add a few good notes. Dell customer service is really good. I am very happy with the support.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 16, 2012
7110,

Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear that your system wasn't perfect right out of the box. The thing to remember is that this is the Inspiron model. The Inspiron systems are our entry level systems so will not always have the same components as the XPS. Glad to know that our great customer support was able to help you fix your speaker problems. As far as the battery goes, Keep in mind, battery life varies depending on operating conditions and may be significantly less depending on your product’s configuration, software, usage, operating conditions, power management settings and other factors.
+20points
32of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JayBurn
(Reading, UK)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Problem after problem

PostedJune 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since buying this laptop six months ago, it has become almost a joke in how unreliable it is.
Within the first 6 weeks of delivery, I had an engineer out as it wouldn't boot up. This was the beginning of a patience testing saga which has now reached the point that I am returning the machine. Whether it is for a different machine or full refund is yet to be decided.
When the machine works, its a great bit of kit... but sadly it hasn't worked without an engineer coming out for more than a month. This SPECIAL EDITION has become a joke.
When I challenged Dell about the call costs amounting to £50 exc VAT, they offered me something from their accessories store rather than a refund. Wasn't happy as there wasn't anything I wanted/needed.
Pros:let's you get to know dell support staff well.
Cons:itdoesn't work for more than a month.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 28, 2013
Hello JayBurn,

I am sorry to hear you are not pleased with your Inspiron-17R SE (7720). From time to time, hardware failures do happen. If you have had multiple failures, I would recommend an exchange. Talk to our Dellcares team to see what your options are.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/GY65Xz)
Dell Facebook (
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ)

They can help!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dave414
(Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love my Inspiron 17R SE. I mostly use it for gaming, programming and school work. Despite the i5 version being dual core the system is quick and responsive. The CPU does have hyper threading so you actually get 4 threads, two on each core. The GeForce 650m is a great mobile GPU. Far better then the 525m I have in some other systems. I played Guild Wars 2 on around medium settings with no major noticeable drops in FPS.
A warning though, if you get this system do not upgrade the system BIOS to A11 or A12, the update is faulty and after doing so the system never boots up on the first try and requires you to press CTRL-ALT-DELETE for the BIOS to boot properly. This issue has been brought up to Dell engineering so hopefully a fix is on the way.
If you are looking for a good laptop that gives you great performance for your money then this is it.
Pros
- Sturdy Build.
- Backlit Keyboard.
- Good Display.
- GeForce 650m is a good mobile GPU.
- GPU and CPU temperatures stay pretty cool.
- Ample USB 3.0 Ports
Cons
- A11 and A12 BIOS updates are faulty.
- BIOS Updates after A10 have some features removed and are more locked down.
- Power Jack on the side of the laptop.
- 5400 RPM HDD is a little slow, might consider adding an SSD to the 2nd bay.
Pros:School, Gaming, programming, work
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RandomReado
(North Wales, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best Buy Ever!

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
PROS
Delivery - original delivery date was set for 3 weeks after the purchase date, however I received the laptop in under a week!
Quality - a mix of plastic and metal but all round feels solid and well built
Keyboard - backlit looks amazing!!! And a full numeric keypad, just brilliant!
Display - went for the HD 1080p screen (not 3D) and it's extremely clear and crisp!
Storage - came with 2x 750GB 7200rpm drives and they're really quick! No SSD needed!
Quiet - the laptop is whisper quiet even when I'm running resource-hungry applications and it doesn't produce major heat when it's under stress like my XPS M1530 used to!
Speed - system boots into Windows in under 10 seconds and shuts down even quicker*
*I reinstalled the system from scratch using the Windows 7 Ultimate x64 DVD I ordered separately. This ensures I only have the software I really need as the additional software that comes with Dell machines like AV trials and what not really slow it down. You can't review a machine properly in terms of performance if you don't have a clean installation to begin with.
CONS
Speakers - sounds tinny even with the MaxxAudio enabled and I get more noise coming from the right speaker than the left?! Subwoofer doesn't appear to work either and there's no option to test it with the software provided. Windows reckons the subwoofer is "not present" so it looks like a hardware problem - just a guess?! Hopefully Dell can sort it out when I phone them next week.
All in all I am really happy with this purchase! I went for the 3 year warranty and accidental damage cover to protect my investment.
Pros:playing music, software development, Gaming, watching full hd video
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:singh27
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome Computer

PostedApril 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love everything except that it comes installed with Windows 8. I hate Windows 8, but everything else about this computer in terms of its hardware and gaming performance is amazing. I play Skyrim, Civ 5, NBA2k13, etc. all at High graphics. Also, the large screen is awesome for watching movies.
Pros:awesome awesome awesome computer
Cons:windows 8
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:gskayak
Title:

Dell Inspirion 17R SE

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Laptop arrived 2 weeks ago and had a sound problem out of the box. A hiss that lasted for 5 minutes after startup. Dell sent a technician who changed out the speakers. Problem solved. Awesome laptop! Boots up in 30 seconds! Very fast laptop! After initial problem would highly recommend this machine. Dell support is great!
Pros:Presentation
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RAFESQ
(Islip, New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop - Terrible Windows 8

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased 17R top of the line - Beautiful laptop, great graphics, sound nicely equipped. The only problem and its a big one is Windows 8. It is not intuitive, makes the whole process very difficult and adds nothing to the experience except frustration. Everything goes through microsoft and god forbid you mispell your email it will never let you correct it. Everything takes extra steps - to get tot he desktop, find your programs , turn the computer off. Do yourself a favor and get the Windows 7 version.
Pros:business
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MRK5
Title:

Inspiron 17R SE....... A Massive Powerhouse.

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
My XPS 15 was already in production when my eyes came across this awesome machine. Ivybridge processors, Stunning HD display, speakers are pretty good although I don't care about it that much because I don't listen to music often. Anyways, I cancelled my XPS 15 order and got this instead. Shipped in exactly 2 DAYS! I loved the fast service!
Pros -
1. Ivybridge processor makes it lightning fast! I it booted up in less than 5 seconds which is really good.
2. I was happy at the fact that photoshop was included, its a really good value.
3. The design is really nice, but fingerprints show up on it often which can get annoying.
4. Back-lit feature works real nice, although I have seen better.
5. Intel HD graphics 4000 gives a beautiful screen Display. The Nvidia GPU is only for hardcore games and other advance programs only, which I don't mind.
6. Its kinda heavy, but I won't travel with it very much, but for a 17" with HD display, its worth it (Also, all 17" laptops has a separate num pad, which is mostly the reason that I bought it)
7. Its also nice that SP1 came pre - installed with it.
8. Its awesome to have a SD card port
9. The USB 3.0 ports + the power - share port is really good
Cons -
1. After almost two weeks using it, the laptop tends to heat up a bit, but I'm sure thats the case with most laptops and if you are using it for a long time, it will get really heated
2. The webcam is horrible! But under good lighting conditions, it works okay, but not that good.
3. I'm sure this would be a Con for most people (but not for me very much), the fan kinda gets loud from time to time in its effort to keep the system cool
4.Recently,some of my started to malfunction a bit, but it only happens rarely so its not much to worry about.
5. More hard drive options should be included before purchasing, because people are complaining about the 5400 RPM system
6. I know it says 1 TB, but I went to the control panel and found out that its exactly 911 GB. I know this is the case for all USBs and Hard Drives, but those extra GBs are wasted for nothing.
7. For the battery life, I don't have many complaints because i always keep it plugged in (except when I shut it down of course), however, the maximum of 5 hours isn't all that great if you happen to travel with it, but there are ways to stretch its life by a fraction.
Overall, its a great system that should be only used for as a DESKTOP REPLACEMENT and FOR SCHOOLWORK, and you could throw in a bit gaming too since it has a Nvidia GPU.
Important Question!:
When I visit the Nvidia control panel, it says that my regular laptop Display is Intel HD Graphics 4000 and that their PhysX controls determines which programs it should in the Nvidia GPU, i am very confused about that so i need help. For example, if install a game, would PhysX automatically set The GPU to Geforce GT 650M? Or do I have to set it manually?
Pros:desktop replacement, photoshop or other high profile programs, programming
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nacirema
(Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very nice in all respects

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
It has been a month since I bought this computer and Dell mouse in December of 2012 and started migrating business and programming stuff from a Win2K system with a CRT monitor. I have not reached for my glasses once while using the Inspiron and my old monitor now looks terrible. Amazing that I did not notice before.
The computer starts fast, and applications launch quickly. I finally have a computer that can keep up with me.
I needed Publisher and so I use Windows Office with Publisher, but also ran the free LibreOffice. I had one problem with Word asking to save underlying templates but "File, Options, Add-ins, Manage COM Add-ins, Go" allows you to disable any COM add-in that might be causing that problem.
Of great importance to me was being able to do software development. In the past week I updated my homegrown JavaScript, PHP, HTML4 website to HTML5 using 64 bit WampServer (w/Apache), Aptana, CSDiff, and all the major browsers and the new SeaMonkey (which is what I used for email on the old system - MozBackup transferred all that data). (Microsoft has a free sdk, too, and there is Netbeans and others.)
I found answers for my concerns about Windows 8 on the internet, and I like the Win8 desktop functionality now and everything works fine. (I even found a way to get some old software running so that I did not need to learn a new graphics editor and programmer's text editor.)
I bought the Netgear Router R6300 and it is in the basement next to the old computer while I am 2 and half floors up using the WiFi all day. Win2K does not seem to connect to the router's printer and flashdrive port (our XP system and this Win8 system can), but I do not need that feature because I set up internet connections to the old computer to share its printer and transfer files.
After a month of working with this computer, I think it is a really great system whether for personal use, business, or programming. I am very productive with this system, and I am able to do everything that I wanted to do with the system.
Pros:software development, business
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pyre78
(Texas)
Title:

A great laptop (so long as you have it plugged in)

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
As of a few months ago I purchased this computer as an upgrade from my old Windows Vista (The Dell Studio series). And let me tell you this has been a HUGE upgrade.
This computer is fast, its reliable, its everything I could of asked for in a computer for gaming. And with a terabyte of storage this thing is like a tank. I have 200 high-end games installed (including Black Ops 2 and the entire Modern Warfare series from "Call Of Duty") and I still have 200 gigs left of storage left.
Now, here is the part where it kind of gets bad. This laptop comes with the Nividia 650M graphics card. Its a fast card with great proformance but the problem is that its the first card of its kind to come with "Optimums technology".
It is this installment on my hardware (and even on my software) where it will auto-throttle my CPU to "maximize my battery life". But while my laptop is unplugged it makes games completely UNPLAYABLE. It wont even play the simpliest of games without the speakers going crazy and it just jumping. But the worst part is that instead of just slowing down the game it'll jump up and then back down. I can play with laggy games, just not like this.
After some more reasearch I found that Optimus is installed on my windows OS, and in order to get rid of it I'm going to have to buy a new windows disk and reinstall windows. Which is crazy, they should just have an option to disable it.
Tl;Dr (Too long; didn't read)
Pro's :
Great laptop
Awesome Proformance
awesome Battery Life
(almost) everything I could ask for in a laptop
Cons:
While unplugged, the auto throttle makes it impossible to play games.
Other:
Has a great light-up keyboard
Anti-Glare screen.
Final rating : 9/10
If you have the money, BUY THIS FLIPPIN COMPUTER
Pros:Gaming, youtube videos, browsing the internet
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimmyBlue
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

OK but nothing more, quality issues

PostedOctober 16, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the laptop and initially liked it, but after just two and a half months it has a dead pixel on screen - not the end of the world I guess, but also not that impressive for the vaunted Trulife FHD LCD screen, and Dell can't seem to get their own warranty straight - online it says they will replace for just 6 sub pixels (so just 2 pixels), however the tech support guy I spoke to, who consulted with his senior technician, said 6 pixels and so Dell won't warranty repair this. Arguing over one pixel seems especially petty of Dell for a two and a half month old laptop with an FHD display.
To me at least, this doesn't say much for the initial quality or shelf life of the 17R SE, and it appears others have had even worse problems within the first three months.
Another problem I've encountered is the right speaker now makes a popping noise shortly after any audio has stopped playing, and sometimes just after entering a webpage even if no audio plays - something like the 'popping' sound regular desktop speakers make when you turn them off.
After turning off the 'Run at Startup' option for the SyncUp program - which kept failing and closing anyway - I also found that the Nero BluRay player software now wouldn't run as well, said it had a missing dll file.
When viewing images using Windows Photo Viewer I got a "COM surrogate failed" error and the program closes, which I've read is a conflict between a windows 7 downloaded driver and the Intel graphics chip in the 17R SE.
Overall the laptop is average for something I paid a $1000 for. Fairly fast although it seems to be have slowed noticeably at startup since I installed my HP printer software, it will run the types of games I play although struggles with "The Witcher" - fps goes down quite badly and it becomes very jumpy at times and I can't figure out if this is the game or the computer, and it is set to run with the Nvidia card. Browses pretty well using Chrome, plays music ok but the sound is quite low even at near to max volume.
Images do look quite good on screen, if you don't get the COM surrogate error.
I've found the webcam works quite well for me and Skype, those on the other end say the picture is clear and the microphone picks up everything clearly. I use Skype a lot so this is a big plus for me at least.
If asked though I would not recommend a product that developed even a small defect in two and a half months, and seems to be picking up small niggling ones with every week now.
For me this laptop became nothing more than "Meh" once I got over the initial "shiny thing" reaction to a new computer and I think the people who give it such a high score were lucky enough to get one that doesn't seem to have a problem like other units of this type do.
Pros:school work, internet browsing, skype, casual gaming
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 19, 2012
JimmyBlue,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.


Thanks. JGB
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Daniels90
Title:

Beware

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was a really great laptop. Screen died less than two Weeks in.
Response from Dell.comBy SilangchiSforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 2, 2012
Hi Daniels90 ,

Sorry to hear about the issue . I'm happy to know its a great laptop however, am sad that you have had an issue with this system . I was wondering if you have reached any of our Dell support team for the assistance via

Facebook -
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
Twitter@Dellcares -
http://bitly.com/P5W1OT
Dell community forum -
http://dell.to/GY65Xz

I'm sure we will be able to check and work together to fix this issue .
Thank you for choosing Dell , take care !
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DavidCT
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Impressed

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased December 2012. Windows8 takes a bit getting used to if you are coming from XP or even Windows7. I consider myself tech-savvy. The laptop over the past 6 months has required numerous MS updates, some driver updates, and BIOS updates. All were installed as needed and the laptop runs strong.
Performance is top notch with Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM, blazing graphics card and fast bus speed. The 32GB SSD makes for a swift and fast boot up. It can handle HD content flawlessly. Also supports very fast USB 3.0. The screen is amazing and bright in 1080P LED.
Battery life is nominal at best but expected with the power draw of this machine. Lucky if I get 90 minutes under a heavy load. One may be able to tweak close to 3 hours with a very light load but what fun is that? No extended battery that I know of. Yes, I have played with the power savings features.
HDMI out is a nice plus as you can connect to a TV or other multimedia devices. Works well.
Only downside is maybe weight. This laptop is heavy but feels very solid and well built. But I expected that when I bought it. It's almost a small desktop in a laptop form factor. OK with me but others looking for a "feather weight" laptop will need something else.
For me, it was a choice of performance and power which the Inspiron 17R SE easily delivers.
Pros:performance, quality
Cons:weight, battery
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mircea86
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

An Amazing Laptop

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hi there I bought this laptop in December 2012 and I'm extremely happy with him.
I bought it for myself after I received my XPS 8500(i5 processor) at work, and even if it's just a laptop and they should be significantly slower than a PC it is really fast.
About the operating system it took me a while to get use to win8 but I think it's a great release from Microsoft.
It is a little big and heavy and gets really hot when running big applications, but it makes sense to be like that considering the technical specs and the size of the screen.
Overall I think it's the best value laptop on the market.
Thank you
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RubenM
(Arizona, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good But Could be Better

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Since the first week I received it I notice computer will freeze or kind of pixelate and I will hear static in the sound whenever I will play a game that will require to use the NVidia Graphics using the battery power. Everything works great as long as its connected to a power supply. Yes, I did contact tech support which I had a hard time understanding them, I probably spend over 10 hours on the phone but nothing worked. I finally just give up since it seem to be that nobody could help me no matter who I will talk to.
Overall it works great, just keep in mind if you are looking for something that will perform great anywhere, make sure you carry your power cord anywhere you go.
Pros:Gaming, Video Editing
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 12, 2012
RubenM,

Sorry that you had a terrible experience with our customer service. Use the information below if you need to contact us for anything. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – New to the Community:
http://dell.to/GY65Xz
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ
A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.

Reach out to us, we'll get you taken care of. JGB
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
  1 2 3 4 5 ... 11