Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 231 reviews
5 Stars
115
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
22
4
 / 
5
(231 reviews) 230
179 out of 23177%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 1 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Inspiron 7720

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great laptop. Works very well with windows 10. I love Dell products!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Terrible Battery

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Battery quit when set less than 3 years old. Refuse to install new one as throwing good money after bad. Run on power only now but interminable bad battery messages drive me crazy. There appears to be no way to run on power constantly and bypass the "bad battery" messages. My fifth Dell product, but no more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Inspiron 7720

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Software is all bundled on this laptop so that upside and downsides Cannot upgrade apps as standalone product, like a simple upgrade to new version of Media Player. The products are updated by MS together so that's an upside. Two batteries have gone bad in the 5 years I've owned this laptop and the hard drive and the mother board replaced under warranty. Dell Warranty is a must. After second return of laptop for fixes was told cannot extend warranty as machine considered too old. 5 year shelf life seems short to me, but I'm old school. Maybe the components used just not robust enough. The laptop is considered obsolete, so why ask for a review now?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Excellent product

PostedDecember 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Been using this laptop for more than two years now. Extremely satisfied with its performance. An amazing lappy at an amazing price. I primarily bought this lappy for gaming, and really happy with the gaming performance. Yeah, its got the NVIDIA GT650M, which is an entry level GFX. But the plus point is its processor (i7, 3630QM) and the 8 GB RAM. I still get really impressive frame rates for the new titles (BF 4, BF Hardline, NFS Rivals, COD Advanced Warfare etc.) even at high settings. For casual usage of the laptop, it stays really ccol and quiet.
Plus there's this backlit keyboard which really assists your typing in low light conditions; and it comes with amazing, super-loud Skullcandy speakers. The display of 17.3" might be a bit large for some folks, but trust me, the display is awesome. HD movies, games, they all look beautiful in this FHD 17.3" display.
Talking about its weight, it feels a bit heavy on your back. But for what this lappy offers, you wouldn't be complaining about the weight. Well at least, I don't do. :P And regarding the build of the laptop, its palmrest is made of anodized aluminium, which feels and looks premium. Concluding the review, I'd say that this is a perfect laptop for its price range, perfect both by looks and by performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Good fast laptop but let down by poor battery life

PostedDecember 16, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 7720 has been a reliable, fast laptop and the inclusion of the 32GB SSD in a raid configuration with the C drive makes it start up impressively quickly. The only real handicap is that it has a very poor battery life, of barely an hour after a full charge. Why do Dell not provide a 9 cell option for the battery, as this would go some way towards helping the situation? A minor point, an e-Sata port would be nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Inspiron 7720

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
excellent laptop, only 1 issue, screen goes blank on unlock once a week
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

"State of the Art" when I bought it 2 years ago

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
...and still giving State of the Art performance, speed and stability. Pricey, but worth more than what I paid for it. More like an investment than an expense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Long Lasting Laptop

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Inspiron 7720 has performed well throughout the years. It had 1 service problem during that time with a hard drive. Otherwise it has traveled to many, many places under difficult environments and still keeps processing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Inspiron

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had 3 different Dell Inspiron computers and love them. I would not hesitate to buy another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Great LapTop for the Price

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this 17" Inspiron 7720 for about 3 years now and am pretty pleased with its performance. Had to have a maintainance person come out once to hellp with a failed HD, but that's about all the help I have needed. I do have to add a small fan to keep it cooled down while operating webcame/video and other Windows program all running at the same time. Just added Windows 10 and it seems to have improved Ram Memory usage. Bought this as a Refurbished unit at a discount so apparently Dell does a good job on their refurbished units.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Great PC for Windows 10

PostedDecember 1, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had no issue when we upgraded from Windows 7 SP1 to Windows 10 using the ISO file and would recommend the Dell 7720 to anyone who needs the processing power of an Intel Core i7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Great Video DJ Rig

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Plenty of video power with the 2Gb Nvidia 650M... I've had this in use for 3 years now, and it's still going strong!!!
I recently upgraded it to Windows 10 and found that Dell has Windows 10 versions of nearly all of the software and drivers for it!! For the few that weren't updated, the Windows 8/8.1 versions worked great. WAY TO GO DELL for continuing to support a now 3 year old machine!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

It has given me nothing but grief

PostedDecember 1, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Day one, when I put it in sleep mode and unplugged it, it made a loud hissing noise and quickly reduced battery to zero over the course of several hours. After repairs and two years of ownership, the problem is starting to resurface: the motherboard was faulty.
Then, upon updating to windows 8.1, Disk Drive usage was at 100%, and this was barely fixed in windows 10. Further, dell provided graphics drivers are always outdated and in poor quality, resulting in consistent poor performance relative to comparable laptops from competitors.
Overall, would not recommend. It's a fine laptop for doing typical computer things, but if you want to game or need a computer that doesn't occasionally require 8 hours of bug fixing dedication, this is not the computer for you; not at this price. Given the price and bulk, you would expect better performance and fewer problems. You can find a cheaper, lighter, and higher quality alternative elsewhere.
I give it a 3/10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

lousy pc I have ever owned

PostedSeptember 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hopefully Windows 10 will be friendlier that windows 8. I spend more time waiting for updates to load than I actually get to use the pc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

graphic card

PostedSeptember 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
graphic card peformance is not good even at lower resolution
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

A good usefully powerful laptop which crashes on startup

PostedJuly 29, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
It works fine on WIndows 8.0 but bluescreens on every startup of 8.1. Ive reformatted twice with the same effect,
Otherwise a good machine, I can use two versions of Second Life and digitise LP recordings at the same time without any trouble
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Good laptop!

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Awesome laptop ! Its sooo powerfull!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Excelent Laptop

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell Inspiron 7720 is one of the best laptops I've had so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

EXCELLENT NOTEBOOK!!!1

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I USE IT FOR MY WORK DAILY. I WORK WITH IMAGES IN MEDICAL PACS. IT IS FAST IN MY SIMPLE ACTIVITIES AND GIVE ME A GREAT PERFORMANCE WHEN NEED TO REALIZE A HEAVY DUTY......
EXCELLENT.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Best Gaming Laptop in the range

PostedJune 16, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
650m is the best gfx card in this range with 2GB DDR5
As for cons, the laptop is heavy and not that portable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12