Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720

Inspiron 17R SE 7720
4.014 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
106
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
18
4
 / 
5
(211 reviews) 210
165 out of 21178%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Review 1 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bill1998
(Tennessee, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good PC

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
PC is solid, keyboard feels good, screen is clear and vibrant. Much improved from my old E1705. The operating system is less than expected. It doesn't eve recognize me as the administrator so I can't up grade to W 8.1. Have not been able to reach support; my work schedule overlaps DELLs CS hours, so maybe someday when I have a day off and nothing better to do than call DELL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Drsafety1st
(OK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

3rd one I've bought

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
As my kids are getting older, the requirements for time on my laptop increased. Since I've had no problems with the last two I bought, I got another one for the kids. The only downfall is that it came with Windows 8 and I'm just getting used to 7, so the kids get the new one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bugsy924
(Wollongong NSW, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Loving this laptop, but there is one major problem.

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Inspiron 17r SE is a great laptop for pretty much anyone. I like the way it is built, it feels very sturdy for such a large laptop. The speakers are very clear. The software that comes with it works well once configured correctly. I would rate this 5/5 stars if there was one thing done in a much better way. This would be the cooling. I play a few games on this, probably minecraft the most. Minecraft can be fairly graphically intensive but it definitely shouldn't keep the CPU at a constant 90C+ often surpassing the 100C mark. I have had this laptop shut down automatically due to the overheating. I have this laptop elevated off my wooden desk about 1.5cm to make sure there is decent airflow. The fan is working at its usual high performance rate. My settings for cooling under the power settings are to increase the fan speed before lowering clock speed. My room usually at around 24C(75F) or cooler. With this hot temperature, the left palm rest often becomes hot. The bottom of the laptop becomes too hot to hold by when the CPU is at a high temperature. Doing some background research after finding out about this problem, there are a number of users complaining about it as well. Although the i7-3630QM is rated to be usable at 105C, it dramatically decreases the lifespan of the CPU.
Cons:boiling cpu temperature (literally)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Naa444
(Bronx, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very good laptop

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have been using this laptop for my school stuff and other things and it's one of the best laptops I've ever bought and the price was also reasonable and therefore I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jonathan210
(Brunswick, MD, USA)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good Mid-level Laptop

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is good for people who want to surf the web or watch movies anywhere in your house. The one I purchased came with an I7 processor, a terabyte hard drive, 8GB of RAM, and a 17 inch HD screen. It came with Windows 8, but I upgraded it to 8.1 so I could control the start menu feature. A higher level laptop would come with a solid state drive and more RAM, but at a higher price. So if you are looking to buy from Dell, this laptop is a smart choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mdcrill
(PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good system

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Unit has a nice large 17 inch screen, lots of RAM and storage and on a BIG note it has Windows 7 which is a must. Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ArrrBeee
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great Laptop, But...

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased with Inspiron 17R after returning a competitor’s 17” laptop. The competitor’s laptop was a really fine system, but had lousy audio, namely no volume. Otherwise, it was a fine laptop, but I wanted a laptop with some decent audio.
I didn’t realize that this 17R had 3D capabilities with Nvida GT 650M dedicated GPU. It came with glasses, and while it’s neat, I think it’s more a novelty than anything I’ll use. The 3DMark benchmark puts it at an entry level gaming laptop. That’s fine, because I’m not a gamer and just wanted “bragging rights” with the GPU. It does not have a 2nd iGPU.
It is a non-touch screen thank you very much.
It came with Windows 8, and I’ve found my way around it just fine. Win8 is different, weird, and odd, but it’s a stout OS all things considered. I never use IE, instead use FireFox. This can cause problems with certain Win 8 Apps, namely HTML 5 apps like Netflix.
It’s configured with 32MB SSD that speeds up loading Win 8 – sort of. It may bring up the Metro screen quickly, but it still takes a few moments to really fully boot.
The audio performance is outstanding, just like my 10 year old Inspiron 17 that bit the dust.
The display is fine, but I won’t call it great. The laptop I returned had a better display and both iGPU and dedicated GPU. This makes a huge difference as I will mention in a moment.
The hard drive is a 1T, 5,400rpm and not all that fast. It is the slowest preforming device.
The wireless adapter preforms very well, and I use it most often.
The internal Realtek Ethernet adapter is a simple 10/100 – No Gig, 1000 link. That is inexcusable. It wouldn’t have added $5 to the cost to include 1Gig Ethernet. Transferring large video files to my Media PC at 100BaseT is painfully time consuming.
My biggest criticism is the battery life. It is very poor. The dedicated GPU really drains it to the tune of maybe two hours before it’s time to plug it back in. I generally have it plugged in all the time. I consider this laptop a desktop replacement, so the battery life doesn’t affect me all that much. If you want to travel or be mobile, then the poor battery time will be a major issue. The returned laptop with both iGPU and dedicated GPU would get 4 hours. Neither compare to my beloved 10 year old Inspiron, which would go 6+ hours.
Overall, I am very satisfied with is Dell
Inspiron 17R. It will serve me well, hopefully for many years.
I can’t go without restating my disappointment over not having 1Gig Ethernet and the really poor battery charge time.
Your mileage may vary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bruce1s
(New Jersey, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Laptop!!

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop has the performance of a much more expensive pc. I am continually amazed at how fast it loads. I use it for work and leisure. It is exceptional for gaming which pleasently surprised me. The 17" screen is unbelievably clear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Solrath
(Attleboro)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspirion 17RSE Laptop

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ordered this laptop online and received it promptly, has worked flawlessly since i first turned it on. Purchased for gaming, and I love the fact that it can 3d games that aren't normally 3d without a noticeable performance hit. I highly recommend it for those looking for a grate gaming rig a a reasonable price for the performance, it performs better then my i7 desktop, lol
Pros:dynamic graphics
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mstpstl
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

1720 special edition

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
love this machine
the back lit keys are great while using late at night
graphics are great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mnights
(Cincinnati, OH, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Overheat

PostedNovember 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
The laptop seems decent on the surface, it has a decent processor, and an minimal amount of RAM for the price. There is clearly an overheating issue with this laptop however. I suspect it is because it is designed with the power supply input and battery too close to the processor, with insufficient air flow. We use it on a Cooler master laptop pad that is curved to allow laptops to pull air in.
Our laptop stopped powering up, probably due to a burn out of the power supply components on the mother board, and now we have to have the mother board replaced. The service technician contracted by Dell is from Worldwide TechServices and he doesn't sound like a professional. I'm not happy with the laptop, I'll see how the service person is at the appointment time.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 16, 2013
Hey MNights,

Sorry to hear about the issues with your Inspiron 17R laptop.

Should you need any additional help at all, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – Laptops-
http://dell.to/1bGj9uO
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:elninio
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

not very usefull

PostedNovember 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
problems from beginning. disconnects usb ports, loosing wifi, and disconnects hdmi while watching. cheap plastic keyboard with very annoying keys. after a month have performance issues. it is going back to dell.
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 27, 2013
Hello elninio,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with the Inspiron 17R Special Edition laptop. I apologize about some of the frustrations that you have been experiencing. Issues like these prompt me to recommend checking our Support website for updated drivers to install. We are always listening for unforeseen issues with our products and are proactive at providing rapid solutions, often in the form of updated drivers. Feel free to contact our @DellCares team on Twitter or the Customer Care forums and see if they can help you resolve your issues in a timely and professional manner.

Dell Drivers -
http://dell.to/sCpz1d
@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hblesi
(San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17R Special Edition Laptop

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is exceptional. The screen and sound are amazing. I also attach two 24" monitors, utilizing some very demanding software, and performance is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dan808
(Honolulu, HI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

17R is worth the extra cost - a few areas for improvement though

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros: Backlit keyboard at two intensity settings. Can also be turned off. Great battery life. Fast processor. Nice big anti-glare screen
Cons: Keyboard layout is offset w number pad which makes typing a little tricky. The hands tend to want to go the the center of the screen to type not offset to left. Touchpad is super sensitive. Just look at it wrong and your cursor will move. Sharp top edge of keboard/laptop form cuts into wrists if you are typing for more than a few minutes. this metal bezel edge could be softened and greatly improve the ergonomics of the laptop IMO.
I've had my 17R for 6 months. Replaced a Dell d7. Would prefer to have a Windows 7 OS option but Win8 is not 1/2 as bad as many make it out to be. It does want to hold your hand a lot and limit your personalization, take over your email, etc. Its a love hate thing for sure.
Pros:backlit keyboard at two intensity settings.
Cons:the top edge of the keyboard is pointy and sharp!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:c3po
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

very nice laptop

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Made of quality materials and has very clear crisp display. You must learn how to use windows 8 and when you do you will very much enjoy it as I did. Don't let ignorance and anger rob you of using this nice software. If the mouse seems slow adjust the settings. We all know a high power booming sound cannot be expected from tiny laptop speakers and I disagree with reviews blasting the sound, it is on par with what is to be expected. I am running a Seagate hybrid hard drive which is a great addition. Don't fear to buy it because it is very nice!
Pros:nice displayquality materialsgreat performance
Cons:no complaintsyes there is room for improvement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ally316panju
(Tanzania)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Computer But.....

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
posted a review 6 days bk bt dont know why it did not appear well m trying again.....Just In Love With This Laptop.....iv been a dell customer for over 10 years now always buying new laptops as i am a laptop freak. recently i purchased a dell inspiron 17r 7720 se from dell. im in love with it with just 2 disappointments. i am a guy who usually prefers working in the dark therefore i really need the backlit keyboard to be working fine. when i purchased this laptop i was told that it has a backlit keyboard but when it came i could not operate it. even by pressing fn + f6 still it doesnt work kindly assist me in this matter...
and secondly a few weeks into purchasing this product i noticed a white bright dot right on the center of the display....it was annoying....bt a few days later the dot vanished..and nw my screen is the same clear as ever....now what was that dot??? a dead pixel??? should i just ignore it because it is gone or shud i get my screen replaced??
kindly advice thankx
Pros:awesome display and 3d, skull candy speakers rock
Cons:no backlit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cliffg6
(Adelaide SA, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

A positive all round great performer.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have recently taken delivery of our second Inspiron 17r 7720 laptop, one for myself and one for Madam, and my main comment is that we do not need faster Broadband, we need faster Computers!!
Seriously, I have ADSL 2, and these machines respond faster than I could imagine anything else. Just about instantaneous response from websites. My 2006 Inspiron 9400 has been stable from new and been switched on 24/7, (as will these also be) though it has been slowed up by MS updates. It will be handed down to our Granddaughter.
I have never experienced any of the problems shown in the Forums about these units, and we just love the features. Particularly the deactivating button for the mouse pad. Thank you Dell. Brightness and Definition are fantastic as are performance and sound. No complaints here in SA.
Pros:just a great stable product, great machine, best value for a quality laptop., best features compared to others i considered.
Cons:they keep changing the price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Luke13
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Runs Everything!

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the the 7720 a year ago and i had such a great time with it!
It has lots of power, considering the quad core i7 processor, the 8gb of ram, and the monster 2gb NVIDIA 650 graphics card!
It will run any game out today at full frames per sec. and all the graphic setting cranked up!
I bought this computer for gaming but also school work, and it performs just fine for the both of them.
The only problems i have found with this machine is that i find myself constantly trying to update the drivers for the auxillary buttons to keep them working. Also i have found that as soon as i unboxed the 7720 and powered it up, there was a weird noise that came from the subwoffer on the bottom. It almost sounds like a radio interference. But other than that, this is a great! Awesome computer! and Will satisfy all of your needs!
Pros:graphic quality, lots of computing power, runs great, 32gb sata drive starts it up very fast, great built in speakers
Cons:short battery life (lasts one hour on high perform, subwoffer for me sounds like radio interference, updating drivers, kinda heavy
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nunoss
(The Netherlands)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

OS

PostedAugust 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
i have the feeling that the laptop doesnt perform better due to such a bad structured OS. It's a OS obviously designed for tablets and not for laptop's or PC ...
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 27, 2013
Hello Nunoss,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Inspiron 17R SE. While Windows 8 was designed more for the touch environment, it should not affect your speed on a non touch system. I would suggest reaching out to our Dellcares team. They may be able to help you clear out your start up groups and maybe help you get your speed up. Reach out to them here:

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://dell.to/14T7mnW)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/1cXzZdN)

They can help!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17R SE 7720
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanielF66
(Los Angeles, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17R - Not what it use to be

PostedAugust 21, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an Inspiron 17R Special Edition in July 2013 through the Dell website. In 2005 my work provided me with an Inspiron 15 inch and in 2007 I purchased an Inspiron 17 inch for my personal computing needs. Being very happy with my Inspiron 17 that I had been using for the last 6 years I thought now would be a good time to upgrade to a new laptop while I could still get Windows 7.
When I received the new laptop it felt cheap with a lower build quality. My last 2 Inspiron's felt more solid. The plastic body almost felt hollow. The keyboard was a lot less solid. It was almost felt warped on the left side, feeling like a trampoline while I was typing on it. Also the body dimensions are larger than my 2007 Inspiron 17 inch.
The new Inspiron has less features, namingly it only has a VGA output and no longer has a digital DVI output. When I connected to my monitor via a VGA cable it looked blurry. My 6 year old laptop connected to the monitor looked a lot sharper using it's DVI output.
I got the anti-glare on the new Inspiron. I had the TrueLife display on my 2007 model and felt that looked better. Now Dell doesn't seem to offer as many customizations which is unfortunate so I was unable to get the display, video card, RAM combo I would have preferred. That's why I had settled for the anti-glare screen.
Basically the Inspiron's quality has changed into cheaper price point laptop in my opinion. I returned it after a couple days of use. Someone looking to buy an inexpensive laptop that isn't going to connect to an external monitor very often will be happy with the current Inspiron's from Dell.
Right now I'm debating if I should move up to the XPS line( but they don't have 17 inch model anymore so I'd have to downsize to 15 inch) or if I should get the Alienware 17 inch. Neither seem like much of a value right.
Pros:cheap
Cons:cheap, vga output
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsAugust 23, 2013
Hello DanielF66,

Thank you for providing your feedback on this system. We take your feedback and suggestions seriously as they help us to further know what features our customers value most.

I am sorry to hear that this system did not meet your expectations. While this system does not have a DVI port, it does have a HDMI port for higher quality digital video. The TrueLife display option does provide extra color depth and clarity. This display compared to the Anti-Glare display is definitely a personal preference.

I hope you are able to get a system that completely meets your needs. Thank you again for your review.

-SaraT
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11