Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R N7110

Inspiron 17R N7110

Inspiron 17R N7110
3.7 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
3.7
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 29
21 out of 3070%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R N7110
Review 1 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Reiko
(Seattle, WA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

My last Dell computer

PostedAugust 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this laptop in the spring of 2012 - and it is now dead. Within 2 months of original purchase, the hard drive failed. Dell did send someone out immediately to replace it, but just last week the motherboard failed and it's not worth the cost of replacing. I am deeply disappointed. I expected it to last more than 15 months! The laptop was treated carefully - it never left the house and got very light usage. All in all, it was a terrible waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:facs50
(Hawaii, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Problem out of the box, and it continues to get worse

PostedJune 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this laptop from a military exchange in Dec 2012. I had problems immediately. A Dell technician worked with me to determine if it was a battery or power adapter; he offered to send a power adapter. I finally got the power adapter and it fixed the problem. All went well for a couple of months. I started having problems with the cursor jumping around, text being deleted, etc. Changed the sensitivity level, and it improved slightly but only for a couple of weeks. Noticed a pixel was out. DVD clicks randomly, like it is trying to load. Randomly switches to desktop background. USB port is loosing connection with my wireless mouse. Power adapter connection easily slips out of the slot. While this is not a problem, I will comment that the case shows fingerprints easily and therefore seems constantly dirty.
I was about to contact Dell next week regarding these issues when a Dell survey popped up, and I decided it was time to write this review. Overall, as a long-time Dell customer, I am extremely disappointed. I would not recommend this laptop to anyone, based on the experiences I am having.
Pros:monitor, numeric key pad
Cons:keyboard issues, usb issue, power adapter, dvd noise, pixel out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dissatified1234
(Roseville, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Not a desireable system

PostedMarch 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used to have a lot of respect for Dell systems, but not any more. The system I bought came with a defective wired network card, which I did not discover for months because the wireless card was activated by default. While the defect was corrected efficiently by Dell, it should not have made it past the quality control check. As far as the unit itself is concerned, the display is horrible. It is highly dependent on direction of view. Slight changes in view angle changes the color rendering significantly. It is impossible to determine which view angle gives a proper color balance. In addition, the keyboard is far too sensitive to touch. I am constantly having to correct spelling because the slightest touch on the keyboard introduces unwanted characters. Also, Dell adds so much junk software that it took me a long time to get rid of most of them. Virtually all of them were just come-ons to get me to spend money on unneeded or frivolous features. I won't buy from Dell again.
Pros:it works mostly.
Cons:bad display, keyboard too sensitve, power cable keeps falling out, too much junk software
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mrUnfixit
(England)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

USB 3

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
My USB 3 slots x 2 act only as USB 2,s It see's my USB 3 sticks and tells me they will run faster in a USB 3 slot. That just adds insult to injury!!! I have d/l all drivers recommended by Dell and used all their tools but to no avail. I've always bought Dell products because they were the best on the market but alas no longer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cloverut
(Utah)
Title:

Poor Battery and Power

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got my laptop in August 2011, beefed up with memory, speed, etc. Before a year was over, I had to replace the battery at $100+ because I did not get extended warranty. About 2 months ago the AC adaptor began having problems. No one tells you that the battery and adaptor only last one year. If I'd known, I would have considered buying the warranty. I am very disgusted with the power options and the costs and necessity to replace them. I don't even use the computer for heavy gaming, movie watching, etc., just MS Office, internet, and small office programs. As far as the computer goes, I've had no other issues. We have had Dell computers at work for many, many years with little issues, which is why I chose Dell, plus I've had Dell desktops at home. I would recommend this laptop to a friend with the caveat to buy either extended warranty or extra battery and AC adaptor.
Pro: Fast processor, great storage
Con: Power options, no warning about life of batteries/adaptors
Pros:home/small business
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Unbeliever
Title:

Inspiron 17R is dead

PostedDecember 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Dell Inspirion 17R last year. At the end of the first year the laptop was completed inoperable - dead - no power - nothing. I called Dell's 800 number several days during a two week time period. For days I was not able to get through to tech support. I think you need to wait over 45 minutes to reach a technician. So, unfortunately when they finally answered the phone the warranty had expired just a few days before. I explained that I had called several times during a two week period or more without any success. So the warranty had just expired, but got no mercy. I was told I would need to pay $150 to diagnose the problem and about $350 dollars more because they suspected the CPU was gone. I know hardware failures happen, but in this case I think it is a quality of product issue. We have purchased 2 Dell Laptops besides the 17R model and never had a problem where the CPU would just die. I need another Laptop but I am afraid the quality of the Inspiron product line is not what it just to be.
Pros:home, streaming video conference
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cloverut
(Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not as Expected

PostedNovember 25, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have Dell laptops at work and have had phenomenal sucess with them, so when I was ready to buy a laptop, I went with Dell. Within a year, the battery went dead and I found out that it wasn't covered under my warranty. So I now have to keep it plugged in, defeating the purpose of a laptop. I'm going to give in and buy a new battery, but no happy about it. Apparently the AC adaptor is the wrong one because I keep getting messages that I need a 130W power source - huh? Within 6 months, the number 2 key sticks. I guess I expected much better or at least to be told that within a year I'd have to buy a new battery. I like the 17" screen though.
Pros:home use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SEDenver
Title:

High hopes, low results

PostedNovember 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this Dell is nice to look at, I think for the $1200.00 plus I paid for it, it would have the same features and quality as my old ASUS, but no! I upgraded my Dell with the following features: 8 GB DDR3.2 DIMM, i7 2.2 GHz, Blue Ray, and a complete warranty package (including one year in-home service). Strange, I have never bought a warranty package for a computer in 20 years and until this Dell. I must have had a premonition. After having this computer for one year, I can say that it should have come with Hindi lessons. I have spent hour after hour talking with service in India and while we have been able to resolve most of the problems, they keep coming back. I have had the wireless card and the memory replaced (they wanted to replace my HD, but I didn’t want to spend the hours necessary to get my computer back to where I have it now. Also, these repairs did nothing to change the computers response time) Actually, I had already formatted the HD previously. (About 6 months after purchasing the computer) The computer consistently runs slow, many times the icons on my desktop refuse to “un-highlight” and I must wait for minutes before I can pull anything up. I bought a (from Dell) Netgear push-to-TV devise which the computer constantly fails to recognize. (I get a message saying my computer does not have the proper hardware to support the device). I follow a methodical regimen in keeping my computer clean (cookies etc.), but still, as I have already stated, have huge slowing issues. The technicians at the service center do seem to be getting a little better…when I first began calling in, they would insist that I didn’t have the necessary warranty package and try to sell me more, and more…and more! (I gave them complete lessons in American regional vernacular) Now, I think they all know me by name! Normally this computer sits on my desk, I use a separate 27” monitor (viewsonic) and a wireless mouse and keyboard (Dell), so I have had little experience with the touch pad, keyboard, etc. Recently I traveled overseas and hated myself for bringing the computer. I have a 10 year old Toshiba Satellite (works perfectly) which would have been a better travel companion. First the nearly 7 pounds was an arm breaker. The touch pad was cranky at best, and the battery life was about ½ of what is stated in their specifications. I am very glad that I brought my mouse and keyboard…I would not have been a happy camper if I had been forced to use the Dell touchpad…even the short time I did try while flying produced nothing but frustrating results. All in all…I really wish I had not bought this computer.
If Dell offered a trade in, or a buy back…I would certainly be interested.
Dell representative, Please don’t write the typical…sorry for your problems…please check out our… !
Pros:work, School, entertainment, research
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LunyChupacabra
(Tucson, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Awesome Computers

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I find the dell laptops to be in entirely seperate catagory from other laptops. I find them to be the best and I would highly recommend dell for anyone in any situation.
Pros:personal use for in home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kidoodle
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Works for ME!!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a computer that meets my needs.
Pros:home use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChocolateFan
(St Louis, Missouri)
Title:

Another great purchase from Dell

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the third computer I have purchased from Dell and as always, I am extremely pleased. The pro's of this computer are endless but if I were asked what is the best thing I would have to say the graphics. The colors are outstanding and the pictures are crystal clear. I have already recommended this computer to my friend who is in the process of purchasing a new laptop. I will continue purchasing my computers from Dell as long as they continue manufacturing what I consider the best computers. I have purchased other name brand computers but will never go back! Cons: 0
Pros:educational sources, editing photos, entertainment
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mauricio76
(Boynton Beach, FL)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert

PostedAugust 24, 2012
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer has amazing specifications but it is not build with first quality materials. For example, rubbers located to each side of the laptop in order to protect the screen when the computer is closed are stick to the unit only with glue. That is a shame for an unit which cost 900 USD.
Pros:personal work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jerrodprecious
(San Antonio)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 17r

PostedAugust 14, 2012
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Everything i expected and performs amazingly. If i had to complain about anything only thing i could pick would be battery life. Awesome laptop overaall!!!
Pros:entertainment, movies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StaciD
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good Product and Excellent Service

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first personal laptop purchase. I wanted a laptop to replace my desktop. I am an accountant so a laptop that could handle plenty of data and had the number keyboard was a must.
Pros: Very patient customer service representative to answer all of my questions and concerns and help me build the best laptop to meet my needs and budget. We were on the phone for over an hour building the best laptop.
Quick delivery.
This laptop has exceeded my expectations.
Customer Service - I have been very impressed with customer service.
Cons: I wish I had thought to ask about a backlit keyboard. Other than that I cannot think of any.
Pros:accounting, personal
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CollegeBoundArtist
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
I love my Inspiron 17R. It was well worth the cost. The battery life is great (I purchased a 9-cell battery rather than a 6-cell) and the computer runs quickly and efficiently. I haven't had problems with freezing or unresponsive programs. I also love the ability to switch out the cover and change up the look of my laptop if I want to.
Cons:
The 17" is definitely bulky enough to be a bit of a hassle to transport. The biggest problem I've found with it is that the touch pad on it is poorly placed. Whenever I went to type something, I would accidentally bump the pad with my hand and wind up elsewhere on the page. Luckily, the issue was easily addressed with the purchase of a wireless mouse.
Pros:streaming video, school assignments, browsing the internet, digital art
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mia670067
(los angeles ca.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bouht this computer becouse I owne a mini XP
I love it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellAlumni
(Cincinnati)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Big bang for your buck

PostedApril 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my 3rd Dell laptop and 4th Dell overall. I considered a tablet, instead, purchased a fire red Inspiron 14z as a backup to my XPS Studio 1640 laptop for travel. Turns out, this little sibling is up to the task and more. Impressed with it's incredibly long battery life, I5 Intel core, 8gb memory & 750gb hard drive, I'm finding it difficult to put it down to use the XPS Studio! Why settle for less when you can get it all with this (big on the inside - small on the outside) laptop. Kudos to Dell... well done.
Pros:Travel, on the road word processing & spreadsheeting, media streaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bgraham28
(OHIO)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron N7110

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
Great graphics
Very Fast
Easy to set up
Plenty of USB ports
Great Price and fully Loaded
Interchangeable lid is awesome
Cons:
Battery Life IS NO GOOD
Sound is poor. Speakers are on the bottom of the laptop.
Summary:
This is a great laptop for the money. I would recommend this laptop to my family and friends.
Pros:Gaming, video, 3d design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:C69smokey
(Sacramento,ca)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

New HD PC

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Wow, I was amased at the HD screen and how fast my new PC is. I like that it changes the mghz all buy it's self. Love it.
Pros:everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17R N7110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:prayercanhelp
(Colmar Manor, Maryland, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great looks and operation!

PostedApril 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Really enjoying this system, great look great feel, excellent for personal and professional use. I would deffinetly recomend this system to others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2