Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R 5721

Inspiron 17R 5721

Inspiron 17R 5721
3.808 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 104 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
7
1 Star
16
3.8
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
76 out of 10473%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17R 5721
Review 1 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jilecki
(Maricopa, AZ, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Inspiron 17R Laptop

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great computer. The only drawback is the fact that there are no program disks for it. What happens when it crashes????
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrooklynTaxMan
(Brooklyn, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Purchasing this system was a no-brainer!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
First of all, let me say that I am a hard-core Dell user. I buy ONLY Dell products for their superior quality and support. That being said, my new Inspiron 17R laptop is incredible. No one, and I mean no one, could match Dell's price on an Intel I7 based system with these specs. The system is lightning fast, has great graphics, is relatively light for its size/features and has excellent battery life. Typical of every Dell product I buy, I am pleased beyond belief. Want to save yourself a lot of grief if you are in the market for a laptop? Buy any of the Dell Intel I7 based systems.
Pros:speed, hard drive size/speed, 8gb of fast memory, long battery life, great graphics, excellent webcam
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:WDBonham
(Nine Mile Falls, WA 99026, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Inspiron 17R is a very nice machine

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really appreciate that It keeps up better with my typing speed than any HP has done before.
Pros:easy typing
Cons:needs bd player
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Karen1215
(St. Augustine, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Great PC

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great pc. Fast, quiet. My last pc was running vista I had no knowledge of windows 8 and have heard horror stories about it. I love it. So easy to navigate. Thanks again Dell for another great computer. This is my 4th pc from Dell and they have never let me down. I didn't have to deal with customer service this time but I still gave them an excellent because I have used them in the past and they're great. This pc will not disappoint you.
Pros:all around great computer
Cons:no cons for this computer
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steben
(Apple Valley, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This laptop has all the features we want.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We bought two of these to replace our aging laptops that were still working but were starting to have problems and show their age. The computers were easy to set up and the CORE i5 processors are fast and don't get overwhelmed by multiple operations. We wanted Windows 7 and the 17.3" screen and the 17R is perfect in every respect.
Pros:3rd gen core i5
Cons:no separate volume buttons
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hank4869
(Springfield, MO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Outstanding Computer

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is Great Looking, Fast and very easy to use. It is of great value while doing anything on the internet or while using MicroSoft Office. Just an Outstanding Machine all the way around.
Pros:looks great and very fast
Cons:none
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Manson09
(Katy, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Love this product,

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Everything about this product is excellent. The definition of the screen is amazing. Would recommend to all, this is the product to own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:brian82
(Carey, OH 43316, USA)
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

VERY NICE

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
loveit ttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DCustard67
(Eagan, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

I love computer except for Windows 8.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This Laptop has been great. It's fast, quiet, and very dependable. My only problem is with Windows 8. Very hard to use and not much instruction on how things work. I wish I had gotten Windows 7 instead.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bjorno
(North Carolina, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Wonderful Laptop

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great buy for the money and has features that are really not available a few other brands such as the backlit keyboard. I also like the fact that Dell still keeps the nbr/scroll/cap lock lights on the keys or on the keyboard. This is a really nice computer. Thanks. Looking forward to being able to use efficiently.
Pros:backlit keyboard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:fergus
(Seneca SC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron # 2

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I liked it so much...the first one ;that when I neede a new pc I ordered the second inspiron with Windows 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kennyscuda
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

my favorite laptop

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop! I had one just like it and the hard drive is failing. So I got this one to replace it. This new one has a larger hard drive 1TB so I am hopeful this one will last longer then 3 years like my old one. I use the laptop for work and I am very comfortable with it and I depend on it every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:aaandgo
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

17R is pretty awesome

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this for my daughter who will be going to college in the fall (she needed a replacement over her very old Dell) and she loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ladkins01
(Central Oregon)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Just what we wanted

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was purchased for my wife. We have always purchased desktops in the past so wanted to try out a laptop.
We have tried three different manufacturers of machines and have always came back to Dell. Dell has been our computer source for over 20 years.
After researching different Dell laptops, I settled on the 17R Inspiron. We love the big screen....I ordered it with Windows 7 and i5 cpu with 8gigs of RAM.
We are not disappointed in any way. Purchased a wireless mouse and keyboard locally..... the whole setup works great. My wife uses the wireless mouse but has elected to use the onboard keyboard.
When possible, my adult children come over to play computer games with me. While my wife's desktop is being used for game playing, she can serf and shop with her laptop.
Pros:if you are shopping for a laptop this is the one.
Cons:no con's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MAofNine
(Mora, MN 55051, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great value

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very much enjoying my computer, great features loaded Microsoft office 365 home edition. Great combination
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jessica82204
(Milwaukee, WI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good Purchase

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had this laptop for over a month now and have had no problems. Startup and performance is great. Picture is great. I have not experienced any problems that would cause me to give this product a bad review.
Pros:quick startup, great operating system
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DMMETALMAN
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent product at a great price

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop and a great deal. I love the larger monitor size and Windows 8 is OK after some getting used to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:deerxxing
(Salida, CO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

great deals on closeouts

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Seems like a solid machine. Everything works. Windows * takes some getting use to (7 was fine!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Kingfish16
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17R Laptop

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been very pleased with the Dell Inspiron 17R Laptop. Good battery life. Fast processing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17R 5721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rJM13
(Douglas, GA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Love my new Inspiron 17R Laptop!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered a Dell because last one I had has lasted over 7 yrs. This purchase is for home and work and the laptop has everything I need. I was apprehensive about Windows 8 but decided to go ahead with it and it has been simple and easy to learn. Thanks Dell for making a great product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6