Customer reviews for Inspiron 1720

Inspiron 1720

Inspiron 1720
4.498 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 623 reviews
5 Stars
401
4 Stars
169
3 Stars
28
2 Stars
12
1 Star
13
4.5
 / 
5
(623 reviews) 559
579 out of 62093%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 1720
Review 1 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NuBatman
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Oldie, but still a goodie.

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
So far, the Dell Inspiron 1720 has been the best laptop I have used over the years. With an update from Vista to Windows 7 it ran flawlessly. When you add the media remote it just gets better.
Speed is pretty fair compared to newer systems. Ran my Skyrim game at medium settings with a few stutters, but was still playable.
Pros:dual drive slots., build is incredible.
Cons:batteries now are expensive., 4gig max memory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:grimer
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

6 years old and still going strong

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought my Dell 1720 in January 2008. I've upgraded the CPU, hard drives and RAM and my current specs are:
Windows 7 64-bit
2.5GHz dual core (£35 on ebay)
6GB of RAM (one slot will only recognise 2GB of RAM)
120GB SSD
500GB HDD
I originally paid extra for the 1920x1200 screen and it still gets compliments from colleagues.
This laptop has taken some serious punishment over the years and has never let me down. I recently fitted a SSD drive and the system is very nippy. I can't see any reason to upgrade to a newer model, when this does everything I need.
I'm not sure why people are complaining about a lack of 64-bit support. I installed Windows 7 64-bit and connected to the internet using a LAN cable. Windows found and downloaded all necessary drivers. Linux Mint did the same.
I'll definitely be buying Dell again in the future.
Pros:dell provide detailed guides on how to upgrade
Cons:a bit heavy but i knew that before i bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Agentl074
(Indiana, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great Computer!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
One thing that people need to understand is that the Dell Inspiron 17 series is a 'desktop replacement' computer. It is not a small 'laptop'. If you were like me and wanted something that could be transported easier than a full desktop computer, this is what you need. I wanted the power of a full size desktop, but with the portability of a laptop. I've had my Inspiron 1720 for many years now and I love it!
Pros:powerful, reliable, portable, great keyboard, large display
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 12, 2013
Hey Agentl074,

Thanks for the review and that's awesome that your 1720 is still working out well for you. Continue to enjoy!

Thanks again!! JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NotaHappyCamp
(NH)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not forward thinking on this product

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product refurbished from Dell, that was probably my first mistake. It has never functioned up to expectations and is a bit of a disappointment.
It locks up, reboots, and generally is not reliable. It is NOT Windows 7 32 or 64 bit compatible, drivers, updates an bios support stopped after Dell released the laptop. Very disappointing, will not return to Dell for any future laptop purchases. How can you build "High End" laptop that doesn't support an OS that runs on 15 year old desktop equipment?
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anomyous
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:4096MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:High Resolution, glossy widescreen 17.0 inch display (1920 x 1200)
Title:

The best laptop I've ever had

PostedJanuary 15, 2009
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Very very good laptop, probably the best laptop i've ever used.
Cons:None
+9points
21of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RonNC
(Wilmington, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5250 (1.50 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Inspiron 1720

PostedNovember 30, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Big screen, light weight for the size, regular size keyboard, excellent battery life
Cons:none so far
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Schmitty
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:AMD® Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL64
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:120GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Refurb 1721

PostedOctober 29, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the best desktop replacement one can find on the market for the price. I bought mine for $650 total including shipping/taxes. I looked and shopped around for the best deal. This was certainly it. It has a decent return time as well as a warranty which the mega-stores such as bestbuy or circuit city don't carry unless you pay extra. Great computer for the price.
Pros:I love the large clear screen, the ten key addition is great, hated using the keys on top of the keyboard. Like the media buttons on the front, five usbs a plus. AWESOME BATTERY LIFE up to SIX HOURS (9 cell). I like the scroll feature on the touchpad. I like the sidebar feature to vista, notes are great as well as the slideshow of pix.
Cons:I have had problems with the lid closing securely. It latches, but it sort of wiggles. My specific computer was bought as a refurb, and I have had issues with the speakers/sound system. It crackles towards the end of EVERY song. It seems to get worse as the computer encounters more "stress". I am personally not a big fan of Vista, but am getting more used to it and liking it. The biggest downfall of Vista is the installs that it chooses to do at 2 in the morning, I changed that thru the control panel. The AC adapter is also another concern. It doesn't have a strong connection to the laptop and gets pulled out constantly. It is also sort of heavy like 9 lbs, but partly because I upgraded the battery. Some of the programs I have tried to load onto it like photoshop and microsoft flight sim. X but they will NOT load/ install. I cannot figure out why and I am a really comp. smart person. I don't know if it is because I have it installed on two other computers (running XP) or what the problem is. Since I bought this as a refurb, it didn't come with any software trials or mainstream programs such as adobe acrobat reader or quicktime. I downloaded those additionally.
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:snapperdave
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2.00 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:320GB (5.400rpm) SATA Dual Hard Drive (2x 160GB)
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Inspiron 1720

PostedOctober 23, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:good build quality - great keyboard
Cons:no owners manual - not good if your a first time user
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hraeclark
Processor:AMD® Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL50
Title:

Wonderful Laptop!

PostedOctober 5, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:The screen is awesome! I love the fact that I have no problem seeing things! It's great to watch videos on as well! :) I also play some computer games on here and the display is wonderful because I can see fine details that I couldn't on my old laptop.
Cons:Although it is slightly larger than your average laptop --- this is no average laptop! This is great for anything home or work! :)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Babzycue
(Bartlett, Illinois)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5250 (1.50 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Memory:1024MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I love the large 17" screen so I can watch movies. The speed is incredible and it is easy to use.
Cons:I wish the battery would give me a longer charge.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:glamis4me
(Lehi, Utah)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7500 (2.20 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:4096MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:240GB (5.400rpm) SATA Dual Hard Drive (2x 120GB)
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Great for a stay home mom

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Very fast processing, very reliable, great to be able to move around the house with the kids while they play and still feel productive, nice large screen and keyboard which makes me forget I'm on a laptop. I was worried about replacing a desktop with this laptop, but this so much better, its large size is no problem since I use it at home mostly. I'm very pleased with this laptop and would buy it all over again and recommend it to others. It arrived 2 weeks or more before it was scheduled to!
Cons:Haven't found any yet
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:downforce
(State College, PA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5250 (1.50 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Memory:4096MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:320GB (5.400rpm) SATA Dual Hard Drive (2x 160GB)
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Great laptop!

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
It was time for me to upgrade my 7yr old desktop at home. I chose this laptop (with hard drive and RAM upgrades) for general use and some online gaming.
I couldn't be happier with it - the large screen is beautiful and the speed and power make me wish it was my work laptop.
Also, I was hesitant about Windows Vista but I have no complaints. I've kept the default user interface and I don't mind answering the security prompts now and then.
Two thumbs up!
Pros:- Great built-in features - No problem to get running out of the box
Cons:- Lid "clasps" are pretty chintzy
+55points
58of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Intruder
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2.00 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:4096MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Inspiron 1720

PostedSeptember 14, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Nice big clear display Great keyboard Fast Nice features
Cons:A little heavy with the optional longer life battery.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:budenich
(Slidell, La.)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5250 (1.50 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Memory:1024MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Glossy, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

I thought I had a good thing

PostedSeptember 10, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think I made a bad decision changing from a desk top to a laptop
Pros:I thought it was going to be good changing from a desk top to a laptop
Cons:I only had my laptop since August 20th and it is waiting to be shipped back to Dell because it went out and never came back on.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maitland
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7700 (2.40 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Title:

A Real Work Horse

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wish I would have gotten this a year or two ago.
Pros:Keyboard is fantastic. It was easy to setup and within five minutes of being out of the box I was off and running. It has lots of power and the ability to do all that I need for school and communication with friends.
Cons:It at times can seem heavy sitting on my lap.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DellUser9359
(Northwoods WI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2.00 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:500GB (5.400rpm) SATA Dual Hard Drive (2x 250GB)
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Inspiron 1720 Reveiew

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Nice clear screen, fast, good graphics card.
Cons:Doesn't fit well on Docking station
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RonP1943
(Ukiah Ca)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T5250 (1.50 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the third computer I have purchased from Dell. One XPS Desk top and two Inspirons a 1721 and this 1720. They have proved to be durable and dependable computers.
Pros:Accepted all the necessary software and drivers for the job
Cons:weight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:wolfmc
(San Diego, California)
Duration of Product Use:Months
Level of Expertise:Good
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7300 (2.00 GHz, 4 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:240GB (5.400rpm) SATA Dual Hard Drive (2x 120GB)
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

Great Investment

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:Thsis is the best laptop i have ever owned. It does everything i wnat it to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tiffanyisanisc
Processor:Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7100 (1.80 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Memory:4096MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:160GB (5.400rpm) SATA Hard Drive
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

some parts just don't work

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:17 inch screen great for viewing. Good integrated web cam.
Cons:DVD/Cd writer did not work and a replacement had to be mailed to me. It was an older refurbished rom Dell replaced my brand new one with. Other features were not active as wellbut a friend was able to fix those for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 1720
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kljames
(Shiprock, NM)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Processor:AMD® Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL64
Memory:2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
Hard Disk:320GB (5.400rpm) SATA Dual Hard Drive (2x 160GB)
Screen:Anti-glare, widescreen 17.0 inch display (1440 x 900)
Title:

My Opinion of my recent Dell Computer

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:I really like my new inspiron dell notebook; it fast and it has alot of great features. I am enjoying every bit of it.
Cons:Only problem or concern I have is that when I am at certain web page in the internet, the computer kicks me out or it closes the internet completely while I am in middle of typing or placing an order. This happens often and it's annoying because I spend alot a money, yet I am having this problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28