Customer reviews for Inspiron 17

Inspiron 17

Inspiron 17
4.517 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 414 reviews
5 Stars
274
4 Stars
110
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
4.5
 / 
5
(414 reviews) 386
388 out of 41494%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17
Review 1 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:clairm
(US)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 17R

PostedNovember 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Pretty Lightweight for the size of a 17" screen. Screen is crisp and Clear. Number pad is off to the side.
Cons: Having troulbe with touch pad have contacted Dell on problem several times. Had pad and board replaced and still haveing trouble. If you are and american and have trouble understanding broken english Tech support is hard to understand. Asked to speak to an American and that cost extra. I have spent over 2 hours with techs on this matter. Key pad does not light up.
Pros:home use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kcman64
(CT)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Intergrated WebCam useless

PostedJuly 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall the Inspiron 1764 laptop is decent. The Wide screen is nice. The performance of the laptop seems a little slow.
The Integrated Webcam is really frustrating. Most of the time it doesn't work and I have to play around with drivers and software installation to resolve issues. Tech support was not help as they just instructed me to do what I was already doing by myself. I wish Dell would come up with a good working patch.
Hate the in laid touch pad, can't rest my hands anyway on the front of the keypad if I want to use the touch pad. This I believe was a major design flaw.
CTdarter
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:soco914
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not bad for a Dell...

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is our first laptop purchase, so we chose Dell. We have used this laptop for over a year now, and I'm starting to see in my opinion, more than average wear. The mouse pad has lost is coloring from use and the left mouse button has a "spongy" feel. I'm not sure if anyone else is experiencing this, but outside of the mouse I have no other issues. Great laptop that should last us for several years.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul68
(South Shore Mass.)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This was my first laptop purchase and it had to be a Dell. I have had 3 Dell desktops in my lifetime and have never had any problems with them. Dell’s reputation of building quality computers is well known and speaks for itself. I love the laptop and the freedom of going wireless. The 17” screen is huge and the picture quality is phenomenal. Dell really gives you a great product for an awesome price. Dell will always have my business!
Pros:email/web surfing, photo processing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:benfelix
(York, Pa)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Products outstanding/forget customer service

PostedJune 11, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Own many, many Dell products. All are outstanding. However, customer service, follow-up and any help from exective offices are rated with the worst you will find. For this reason only I myself have promised never to buy another Dell product. All products are entitled to more stars, but Dell after care is why only given 3.
Pros:everyday use
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:B7628
(Mississippi)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Absolutely wonderful laptop

PostedMay 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my second purchase and I would not buy from anywhere else. Other stores have Dell products but I love the support I get with Dell Techs. I love my N7110. I think of it as my baby so no one has access to it without my approval. I would definitely reccommend my friends and family to Dell.com. The products and customer support is awesome. I have been loyal to Dell since 2001 and still would not go anywhere else for my needs. Thank you Dell.
B Travis
Pros:games, email, music videos, pictures, business transaction, research
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:timfranko
(Spencer, IA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Perfect Choice

PostedMay 12, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Big, Sharp Screen makes this the perfect choice for my office. The price was excellent and I had NO trouble getting this up and ready to work.
Pros:office
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:johandrwil
(USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

17"

PostedMay 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
overall very satisfied with this model
Pros:everyday
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:EdwardG
Title:

INSPIRON 17R - Great Screen and Sound System

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I ordered this for my wife in Tomato Red as a Christmas present. What a hit! She loves the color but especially the screen and sound system. We take many pictures on our wordly travels - this year to Europe and the British Virgin Islands and when we download from our camera they are a joy to see. The ability to interface with a large screen TV is also a way to show a larger group of family members or friends.
Thank you Michael Dell and the DELL Team for bringing us a great product.
Pros:in house laptop
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:babci1
(bensalem pa)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

dissapointed

PostedMay 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
HELLO I PURCHASED A DELL LAPTOP AND PRINTER IN MARCH OF THIS YEAR AND AM HAVING PROBLEMS. I CALLED IN AND AM NOW BEING TOLD I NEED TO PAY ANOTHER 249.00 FOR SOFTWARE WARRINTY. YOU GOT ME I'M VERY DISSAPOINTED AND AFTER TALKING HIGHLY OF DELL I WILL BE GOIN TO WORK TOMORROW AND TELLING TWO OF MY COWORKERS NOT TO PURCHASE WITH DELL. WHY WOULD YOU NOT TELL SOMEONE BUYING THE COMPUTER TO PURCHASE A SOFTWARE WARRINTY UPFRONT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:awlful
(Cartersville Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Say No to Dell! They do not care about customers!

PostedApril 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dell does not care about their customers after the warranty runs out. I will never own another dell product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jTfromCO
(Littleton, CO)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell Outlet Purchases

PostedApril 20, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is the 2nd Inspiron 1750 I've purchased and probably the 4th or 5th PC I've purchased from the Dell Outlet (a couple of Dell Mini laptops, one desktop, one Laser printer). Each time, the product is delivered quickly and the 'to my door' price is outstanding. This 1750 is for home use, nothing too extraordinary, and it fits the bill just fine for that. With 17.3" screens, and the ability to connect an external monitor (or monitors), there's just not much of a reason for buying a desktop any longer, except for extreme gaming purposes. Overall - good product at a great price, delivered to my door in under a week each time.
jT
Pros:Travel, desktop replacement, light-duty gaming
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FBADDICT
(NEW YORK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedApril 17, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE! CAME LOADED WITH EVERYTHING I NEED AND MORE! CUSTOMER SERVICE IA EXCELLENT!
Pros:home use, keeping tracks of bills, internet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dncgkwn
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love my new laptop

PostedApril 16, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just got my new Dell Inspiron 17, as a baby-boomer I REALLY love the wider screen, it was incredibly easy to set up and use, Windows 7 is great too.
Pros:home use games email etc, will be using to work from home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DrTC
(Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great computer, sad battery...

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
We recently purchased an Inspiron 17R...great computer, the images are sharp, the speed is fast...unfortunately the 3-hour battery life is far from that. An hour, tops, just for typing and surfing the 'Net. Very discouraging in such an otherwise fine product.
Pros:seminars & presentations on the road
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Andei
(Canton, Georgia)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Bad Buy

PostedMarch 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
The price, the price was the only good thing about this computer.
Cons
The computer hard drive crashed 2 months before the warranty was up. I contacted Dell and they sent me a replacement that was refurbished and NOT the equivalent of the hard drive I had previously.
Review
I wish I could return this computer for the purchase price and go buy an Apple Laptop. I am very dissatisfied and disappointed with this laptop. The replacement hard drive is sub par to the original and does not perform well.
Pros:personal, business
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DonWith17R
(Flordia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

17R - Great value

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had the 17R about a month have not found any negatives about this computer. Bought as a replacement for a desktop and it has not disappointed in this area. I have not traveled with this computer yet. It may be a little big to easily tote very far but works great for roaming around the house.
Pros:web browsing, word/excel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BradK
(Toledo, Oh)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Bigger is better

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought the 17R and I love it. I design themes for smartphones and the large screen and fast processor make my job a lot easier.
This is the second laptop I have purchased from delloutlet.com. The first is a Inspiron 1420 that I gave to my wife. My next computer purchase will be from delloutlet.com for sure!
Pros:graphic design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:freebird30
(michigan)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Computer

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This coumpter was vary easy to use right from the box the battery needed to be charged but other then that i have put it to good use the dvd player.ran the battery till it went dead i have done everything i normaly would do on my xps 625.this is the 7 dell coumpter we have owned and so far so good
Pros:home, music, dvd, web caming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:laker2000
Title:

awesome screen, good performance

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am very impressed with my Inspiron 17R. The price is just right for the performance I get. Sure I could have spent $300-$400 to get more performance, but I am happy with this machine. The best part of this laptop is the screen, it is 17 inches of pure joy. The i3 is just enough for me. I really like the new brush metal look on the cover and on the hand rest, it's a nice touch.
I only have one complaint: the keyboard layout. Don't get me wrong the feel of the keys is very nice, they are not too hard and not too soft, just right. But the layout of the keys is goofy. The arrows keys are tiny as if they are for hobbit fingers. I wish it had full size arrow keys. The PageUp/Dn/Home/End are too far out of the way. They function keys default to the rare use case of special function: brightness, volume, etc. Fortunately you can switch that by pressing Windows/X. I would be willing to give Dell $50 more for a well done keyboard, maybe even $100 if it was lighted.
Overall, I am very happy with this beautiful laptop. It is one awesome internet surfing maching.
Pros:web surfing, light video watching, light java programming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20