Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 7737

Inspiron 17 7737

Inspiron 17 7737
3.409 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
11
1 Star
29
3.4
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
77 out of 12761%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 7737
Review 1 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

problems

PostedAugust 10, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
i had a lot of problems with my system. My system is very slow and the battery timing is not good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

dell inspiron

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
yeah its very good the performance is working better than my older laptop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Battery Backup, Cannot beat Inspiron15 series

PostedJuly 19, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I placed my inspiron 15 series laptop to compare with new 17 series.
The video was played and completed in 15 while 17 is still streaming. Very slow. Most of the times the browser get's hang and doesn't respond at all.
Battery backup is poo donsen't last for even 3 complete hours my 1 year lod laptop lasts 4.5 hrs or more still.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

never stuck

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
it never gets stuck during work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Nice

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
It's a pretty dang good laptop, a bit larger than i expected but I was used to that quickly. It's fast and the keyboard is nice, the way the buttons click and the backlit bit. I use it for school and general enteratinment and it works great. The sound quality is nice, but it does like almsot vibrate the laptop when played loudly. My main complaint are the edges of the laptop, they're hard and make the laptop bulky, but it's easy to look past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

imcompatible hardware

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Driver of Nvidia does not compatible with Intel HD graphic 4000
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

good one

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
one of the bulkiest and sexiest builts of dell ..strong enough to do anything and stand out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Good machine with bad wifi product

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very good machine in quality build and performance but intel dualband n-7260 wifi card is worst in performance in both wifi bands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Best laptop I've had.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I can do all my work stuff, and get a lot of gaming done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

quite awesome

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
this laptop has good entertaining features.
the built quality is great.
I love the looks of this one.
had problem with the OS after a few months which was resolved.
the dell customer care is really great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Mr

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great quality, nice design
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:

PostedJune 26, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great specs; lot of bloat.

PostedMay 6, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first Dell purchase and i'm really impressed by the build quality compared to other laptops I've had in the past.
It is one of the most attractive looking laptops on the market in my opinion. The solid alumnium casing is a joy to behold and gives a very premium feel to the product.
Personally, I never thought a touch screen would be useful, but it is quite handy for scrolling down webpages, when reading the news for example. As some other reviews have stated, the screen is by no means the sharpest on the market, but I don't think it is as bad as some have made out; I definitely cannot see any pink hue.
The touch pad is awful, I cannot defend it to be honest; easily the worst that I've ever used. Thankfully the backlit keyboard is fantastic and a pleasure to use.
Listening to music and watching videos on the laptop is also a nice experience. The built in speakers pack a punch and I'm genuinely impressed at how good the sound quality is.
Performance wise I'm a little dissapointed in some areas. For instance booting up takes about a minute which is a bit ridiculous these days; I've been used to SSD performance previously though so may just be bitter.
There is a LOT of bloatware installed on the laptop. Why would i want McAfee installed when Windows 8 has an anti-virus, firewall and anti-spyware already built in? It speeded up performance hugely when I uninstalled it.
I'm going to have to do a clean install of Windows 8.1 Pro to meet my needs. The laptop came loaded with the Home Edition of Windows 8.1, which is no good if you need to use Hyper-V virtualization.
Battery life is very decent, I get between 4 and 5 hours of use. Typically my usage whilst on battery involves typing documents, browsing web pages, listening to music and reading emails.
Overall I'm very happy with my purchase, I'm a bit dissapointed with the bloatware and the edition of Windows installed, but apart from that it is a solid laptop with great specs and handles everything thrown at it.
Pros:fast, solid build alluminium, battery, keyboard, touch screen
Cons:non--pro edition of windows 8.1, bloatware, touchpad
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Auckland, New Zealand)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Random Shut Downs!

PostedMay 5, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product would be excellent if it did not randomly shut down all the time in the middle of laptop activities.
Pros:great product
Cons:random shut downs
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Scotland, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent desktop replacement

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this about 8 weeks ago and am delighted with it. It is an ideal desktop replacement and looks great as well. It is quite heavy so wouldn't like to have to carry it about too much but then I always intended to leave it on my desk so it's not an issue for me.
The only downside is the operating system. Windows 8.1 just seems a bit slow and buggy to me. However there is a simple solution to this. I partitioned the hard drive and installed Linux Mint alongside Windows so I have the option at start up which system to use. 90% of the time it's Linux as it is so much nicer, faster and has more customization than Windows. I only really boot into Windows to for games.
Pros:design, large full backlit keyboard, display, decent amount of ram
Cons:windows
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(West Sussex, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell 17 7000

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this laptop 3 months ago and have been very pleased. great looking and did all I wanted it to do .However the screen has cracked for no reason and when I contacted Dell they said it was my fault I had opened it wrong or touched too hard. Googled this problem and it seems that a lot of people have this problem with Dell screens . Lovely computer but don't buy it unless your happy to pay out for repairs in the near future.
Cons:screen cracks for no reason
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Vancouver, BC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Overall experience

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance wise, the 1TB 5400 RPM is not justified. You are better off with a 1TB SSD to compliment the hardware and the OS overall. You may need to source other places for a 1TB SSD as Dell does not sell 1TB SSD for this laptop.
Pros:nice build quality material, graphics, ease of upgrading yourself
Cons:bad dell customer service and bad follow up, bad dell expert tech and bad follow up, 1tb 5400 rpm hdd is slow for windows 8.x os, no msata port for msata ssd
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Illinois, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic machine with speed never seen before

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
My priority was a fast laptop for Video editing and mid level gaming. I was preferring 15 inch laptop earlier compared to 17 inch due to weight factor, however later I went for 17 inch due to extra screen size which will be convenient for video editing.
This Dell laptop is so fast, way better than unlike anything I have used before (Lenovo,HP or Toshiba laptops). I was earlier struggling to use Cyberlink powerdirector 13 on my other Lenovo laptop with same configuration. With this Dell I was able to use Cyberlink powerdirector 13 even with Intel HD graphics configured. Nvidia GT750M is decent enough to play recent games like Hitman absolution, Tomb raider, Plants and Zombies garden warfare on ULTRA settings.
Display on this laptop is breathtaking even though I was preferring IPS panel (this laptop as TN panel). Yet the laptop looks good from different angles without distortion. You need to download and view some ultra HD resolution wallpapers see the actual crispness of display. Sound is decent. Touch is sensitive. The inbuilt DVD drive works great. Only downside of the laptop is the weight which just above 7 pounds. If weight is not the constraint for you then this laptop is a clear winner.
Pros:crisp display, super fast, smooth gaming for mid to high settings
Cons:weight
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(England, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product exceeded my expectations and is exceptional

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had to buy a Dell as I worked within a large company which provided Dell products (Towers & Laptops) to its employees for years and I saw how reliable they were. Employees were moved about the site regularly and their Dell computers went with them. Even though there was an IT Dept. that moved the computers, it was usually in vans. I've seen dents and scrapes on the Towers as they was bashed about in transit, but they always worked after - no faults. I knew IT people and we discussed it regularly how the Dells kept on working. I don't know of any issues to this day. I know a lot of people bought a Dell because of this.
I decided to buy a Dell Laptop and a family member called me while on the Dell website and we discussed the Laptop range. I instantly wanted the top model and he read out the details and they read out well. He ordered it for me. Delivered in days.
This Inspiron 17 7737 is truly a beautiful Laptop, well made and the finish is wonderful. I like the aluminium construction. The screen is excellent and sharp. The backlit keyboard is great and has a nice feel. The touchpad is sensitive and works nicely. The processor is very fast and more than my needs. The Laptop came with Windows 8.1 and I am just getting used to it. I purchased it with the full MS Office - Outlook included. Outlook configured itself automatically to my broadband web-based mail, I only needed to provide my e-mail address. I will use this Laptop as an all rounder but currently doing a lot of MS Office work and using the internet. I have owned it only for a few months but had no problems. I am very impressed with it. It's the third Dell purchased by my family.
Pros:the workmanship in the build., the backlit keyboard and it's feel.., the touch screen and it's clarity., the touchpad., just about everything.
Cons:n/a
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A Hard Decision

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I almost didn't buy this computer based on some of the reviews I read. I use the computer to make Sailing HideAway videos and for my Zazzle stores. Big memory and fast speed on a large screen were priorities. I've had good experiences with Dell in the past and this was the only supplier that offered a good deal on Sony Vegas video software. All the rest focused on gaming. So I took the plunge.
Some reviews complained about the touch pad being loose and hard to use. It is loose. That's because it incorporates right and left clicking. You don't need separate buttons. It's a great improvement. I find I use the touch pad more than a mouse. (still learning the touch screen) Other reviews mentioned non working or sticky keys. Mine are fine. No problems .
That being said I'm not impressed with the lighted key board. Its great if you are working in a darkened room but there is not enough contrast between the key letters and the keys in a normal environment. It hasn't been much of a problem because, like most users, I know where the keys are. I like the number pad but wish the delete key did not double as a period. So far, I've not found a lighted indicator for the Num Lock. This is an issue entering passwords.
My biggest problem so far is that none of the machines have a Fire Wire connection. My main video camera uses tapes. (My flash drive camera works with usb- no problem.) I have resorted to downloading my tapes into a memory card on the old machine then transferring it to my Dell. I wonder if my next machine will not have a way to download todays files...Anybody listening at Dell??
The touch screen, my first, is a bit of a mystery. Sometimes it will activate as my finger hovers and other times it does not respond. Not sure if it is a software or hardware issue or my fat fingers. My Venue does the same. I mostly use the touch screen to page through stuff and I find a mouse works best with the Sony Vegas movie software or other detailed work. It's more of a nit pick than an issue. The screen shows finger prints but a micro fiber cloth makes it easy to clean.
The machine is fast, the sound quality acceptable and I have yet to hear the fan come on, nor the machine get hot on my lap. I may have to calibrate the screen colors at some point. I consider it more of a desk top I can carry around. I would not try to take it on an airplane for instance.
A few words about customer service. During the ordering process I had the opportunity to get a discount if I joined a Dell "club" - for lack of a better word. So I did. When the order software would not accept the discount I went on chat with a rep. The rep had to rebuild my entire order, a process that took almost 2 hours. I don't think the rep had access to the same ordering page that I did, but we got it worked out. She asked me if I wanted to pay on line - the software would not work- so she had another rep call for the payment. I was getting a bit nervous at this point but the rep called and took payment while confirming the order. Only later did I find the email to confirm my application for the discount! That's why the software failed. The reps involved did a super job.
After the product shipped I realized FedEx would not deliver without a signature. My fault again. After several conversations with FedEx I called Dell. Once again the cs rep was great. It took a long time, as this sort of thing does, but the rep was able to redirect my shipment to a FedEx office where I could pick it up. Customer service gets a big thumbs up from me!
Over all I'm happy with my purchase and recommend it to anyone. Just don't get me started on Windows 8.1
Pros:big screen- love it, fast processor and memory, customer service
Cons:it's heavy and awkward to transport
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7