Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 7737

Inspiron 17 7737

Inspiron 17 7737
3.336 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 113 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
10
1 Star
29
3.3
 / 
5
(113 reviews) 113
66 out of 11358%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 7737
Review 1 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ianfromglasgow
(Scotland, UK)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent desktop replacement

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this about 8 weeks ago and am delighted with it. It is an ideal desktop replacement and looks great as well. It is quite heavy so wouldn't like to have to carry it about too much but then I always intended to leave it on my desk so it's not an issue for me.
The only downside is the operating system. Windows 8.1 just seems a bit slow and buggy to me. However there is a simple solution to this. I partitioned the hard drive and installed Linux Mint alongside Windows so I have the option at start up which system to use. 90% of the time it's Linux as it is so much nicer, faster and has more customization than Windows. I only really boot into Windows to for games.
Pros:design, large full backlit keyboard, display, decent amount of ram
Cons:windows
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Deltel159
(West Sussex, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Dell 17 7000

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this laptop 3 months ago and have been very pleased. great looking and did all I wanted it to do .However the screen has cracked for no reason and when I contacted Dell they said it was my fault I had opened it wrong or touched too hard. Googled this problem and it seems that a lot of people have this problem with Dell screens . Lovely computer but don't buy it unless your happy to pay out for repairs in the near future.
Cons:screen cracks for no reason
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VanTechie
(Vancouver, BC)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Overall experience

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance wise, the 1TB 5400 RPM is not justified. You are better off with a 1TB SSD to compliment the hardware and the OS overall. You may need to source other places for a 1TB SSD as Dell does not sell 1TB SSD for this laptop.
Pros:nice build quality material, graphics, ease of upgrading yourself
Cons:bad dell customer service and bad follow up, bad dell expert tech and bad follow up, 1tb 5400 rpm hdd is slow for windows 8.x os, no msata port for msata ssd
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Narayan257
(Illinois, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic machine with speed never seen before

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
My priority was a fast laptop for Video editing and mid level gaming. I was preferring 15 inch laptop earlier compared to 17 inch due to weight factor, however later I went for 17 inch due to extra screen size which will be convenient for video editing.
This Dell laptop is so fast, way better than unlike anything I have used before (Lenovo,HP or Toshiba laptops). I was earlier struggling to use Cyberlink powerdirector 13 on my other Lenovo laptop with same configuration. With this Dell I was able to use Cyberlink powerdirector 13 even with Intel HD graphics configured. Nvidia GT750M is decent enough to play recent games like Hitman absolution, Tomb raider, Plants and Zombies garden warfare on ULTRA settings.
Display on this laptop is breathtaking even though I was preferring IPS panel (this laptop as TN panel). Yet the laptop looks good from different angles without distortion. You need to download and view some ultra HD resolution wallpapers see the actual crispness of display. Sound is decent. Touch is sensitive. The inbuilt DVD drive works great. Only downside of the laptop is the weight which just above 7 pounds. If weight is not the constraint for you then this laptop is a clear winner.
Pros:crisp display, super fast, smooth gaming for mid to high settings
Cons:weight
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrianUK
(England, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product exceeded my expectations and is exceptional

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had to buy a Dell as I worked within a large company which provided Dell products (Towers & Laptops) to its employees for years and I saw how reliable they were. Employees were moved about the site regularly and their Dell computers went with them. Even though there was an IT Dept. that moved the computers, it was usually in vans. I've seen dents and scrapes on the Towers as they was bashed about in transit, but they always worked after - no faults. I knew IT people and we discussed it regularly how the Dells kept on working. I don't know of any issues to this day. I know a lot of people bought a Dell because of this.
I decided to buy a Dell Laptop and a family member called me while on the Dell website and we discussed the Laptop range. I instantly wanted the top model and he read out the details and they read out well. He ordered it for me. Delivered in days.
This Inspiron 17 7737 is truly a beautiful Laptop, well made and the finish is wonderful. I like the aluminium construction. The screen is excellent and sharp. The backlit keyboard is great and has a nice feel. The touchpad is sensitive and works nicely. The processor is very fast and more than my needs. The Laptop came with Windows 8.1 and I am just getting used to it. I purchased it with the full MS Office - Outlook included. Outlook configured itself automatically to my broadband web-based mail, I only needed to provide my e-mail address. I will use this Laptop as an all rounder but currently doing a lot of MS Office work and using the internet. I have owned it only for a few months but had no problems. I am very impressed with it. It's the third Dell purchased by my family.
Pros:the workmanship in the build., the backlit keyboard and it's feel.., the touch screen and it's clarity., the touchpad., just about everything.
Cons:n/a
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SailingHideAway
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A Hard Decision

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
I almost didn't buy this computer based on some of the reviews I read. I use the computer to make Sailing HideAway videos and for my Zazzle stores. Big memory and fast speed on a large screen were priorities. I've had good experiences with Dell in the past and this was the only supplier that offered a good deal on Sony Vegas video software. All the rest focused on gaming. So I took the plunge.
Some reviews complained about the touch pad being loose and hard to use. It is loose. That's because it incorporates right and left clicking. You don't need separate buttons. It's a great improvement. I find I use the touch pad more than a mouse. (still learning the touch screen) Other reviews mentioned non working or sticky keys. Mine are fine. No problems .
That being said I'm not impressed with the lighted key board. Its great if you are working in a darkened room but there is not enough contrast between the key letters and the keys in a normal environment. It hasn't been much of a problem because, like most users, I know where the keys are. I like the number pad but wish the delete key did not double as a period. So far, I've not found a lighted indicator for the Num Lock. This is an issue entering passwords.
My biggest problem so far is that none of the machines have a Fire Wire connection. My main video camera uses tapes. (My flash drive camera works with usb- no problem.) I have resorted to downloading my tapes into a memory card on the old machine then transferring it to my Dell. I wonder if my next machine will not have a way to download todays files...Anybody listening at Dell??
The touch screen, my first, is a bit of a mystery. Sometimes it will activate as my finger hovers and other times it does not respond. Not sure if it is a software or hardware issue or my fat fingers. My Venue does the same. I mostly use the touch screen to page through stuff and I find a mouse works best with the Sony Vegas movie software or other detailed work. It's more of a nit pick than an issue. The screen shows finger prints but a micro fiber cloth makes it easy to clean.
The machine is fast, the sound quality acceptable and I have yet to hear the fan come on, nor the machine get hot on my lap. I may have to calibrate the screen colors at some point. I consider it more of a desk top I can carry around. I would not try to take it on an airplane for instance.
A few words about customer service. During the ordering process I had the opportunity to get a discount if I joined a Dell "club" - for lack of a better word. So I did. When the order software would not accept the discount I went on chat with a rep. The rep had to rebuild my entire order, a process that took almost 2 hours. I don't think the rep had access to the same ordering page that I did, but we got it worked out. She asked me if I wanted to pay on line - the software would not work- so she had another rep call for the payment. I was getting a bit nervous at this point but the rep called and took payment while confirming the order. Only later did I find the email to confirm my application for the discount! That's why the software failed. The reps involved did a super job.
After the product shipped I realized FedEx would not deliver without a signature. My fault again. After several conversations with FedEx I called Dell. Once again the cs rep was great. It took a long time, as this sort of thing does, but the rep was able to redirect my shipment to a FedEx office where I could pick it up. Customer service gets a big thumbs up from me!
Over all I'm happy with my purchase and recommend it to anyone. Just don't get me started on Windows 8.1
Pros:big screen- love it, fast processor and memory, customer service
Cons:it's heavy and awkward to transport
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Geo53
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent Hardware, Faulty Windows Installation

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Extremely well built, high quality system let down by poor software build. This particular Windows 8.1 installation was faulty and did not allow the creation of additional user accounts. The support team took me through a number of hardware diagnostic routines including sending me a USB key to carry out a clean install. Sadly, the clean install consisted of re-installing the faulty build software. The hardware tests all passed of course. In order to get round the problem of not being able to create additional user accounts, I carried out a clean install of Windows 10 Tech Preview (rather than buy an additional copy of Windows 8.1). I now have a properly quick working system although I don't have the Dell utilities or McAfee...some might say this would be a bonus. I wasted a couple of days of my time dealing with this; I would not expect to have to fault find on a premium product. In summary: excellent hardware, extremely polite, helpful but ultimately ineffective help team, poor software build. If I didn't know what I was doing, I would have had to have sent this back...This product still gets a 4 star rating because the hardware is so good.
Pros:excellent hardware
Cons:poor software build
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pdm1999
(Pagosa Springs, CO)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Keyboard and touchpad are terrible

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased and used dozens of Dell laptops and desktops over the years but the Inspiron 17 7000 is hands down the absolute worst keyboard and touchpad I have ever seen Dell put on a laptop. I bought this to replace my wife's previous Dell Studio 17" laptop which had died. She hates it so much that I think I'm going to have to buy a different laptop for her and sell this one on eBay. I have to say that I've used it also and agree - it's really a poor keyboard and touchpad.
The keys have a brushed aluminum finish to them that make it hard to see the letters on them. If you turn the backlight on, it's even worse. Plus the backlight is not at all uniform. The keys around the outside of the keyboard are brighter than the ones on the inside but none of them are bright enough to make the letters on the keys visible. We have to turn off the backlight completely but it's still hard to see the letters on the keys.
There is so much room on the laptop keyboard area that could have been used for a more spacious layout but it's just wasted space. Instead they jammed the keys together pretty tight, have tiny arrow cursor keys, no space between the keys and the numeric keypad, and a huge touchpad area.
The touchpad buttons do not work well at all. If you use tapping instead of the buttons, that seems to be okay. But the buttons are hard to press and make work correctly. The touchpad is very large - presumably for multi-finger gestures. The laptop I purchased had a touch enabled screen so multi-finger gestures are best on the screen instead of the touchpad.
The rest of the laptop is fine. The screen is sharp. The CPU and RAM seem speedy. It's just unfortunately a horrible keyboard and touchpad that they put on this laptop.
I have to say this is very disappointing to see such an inferior laptop and touchpad on a Dell product. I would not recommend anyone purchase this unless they plan to connect an external keyboard and mouse.
Cons:keyboard, touchpad
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BobL66
(Slough, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Cracking Performance but still feel let down...

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
The build quality is what I would expect from a reputable branded and quality laptop.
The keyboard is responsive, but would prefer it to have a more conventional keyboard layout, but it is nice to have included a numeric keypad.
The touchpad is responsive, but I don't like the buttons - it does not always differentiate between a click and and swipe on the bottom section of the touchpad.
I think the quantity of external ports is sell equiped, but no VGA port (only HDMI).
I hate Windows 8, and trying to downgrade or dual-boot with Windows 7 is problematic to say the least - as it uses GPT booting
Pros:perfomance, screen and picture quality, build quality
Cons:keyboard layout, no vga port, windows 8
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Paillo
(Scottsville, VA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Hate, loathe and despise the touchpad and Windows 8.1

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I use only a touchpad, not a mouse, and cannot adapt to this touchpad no matter how I change the settings. The left button is extremely awkward to hit correctly, the click zone is set too far to the left.
Web pages display in an extremely large size, and I am tired of having to zoom down to a normal size.
On a large monitor fonts are blurry regardless of how I adjust ClearType.
I have loved every other Dell laptop I've used, but I really hate this one.
Cons:touchpad, operating system
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:doggymcnuggets
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Most Excellent

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
My new employer outfitted me with this laptop (the i7 8gb of ram model) and I am absolutely thrilled with it. I use my laptop all the time and do a lot of multitasking and the large screen on this computer makes it a great workstation. I have configured it to be as Windows 7-like as possible and don't use the touchscreen a lot but there are times it comes in quite handy. It is very responsive.
The batter life is equally impressive. I can work most of my workday without plugging in if I need to, easily getting 6+ hours (haven't tested it for an official figure). I've owned numerous laptops over the past 15 years and this one lasts longer than any I've had by a large margin. Great for working on the go.
The build quality is high and the metal body engenders confidence. I like the sleek but solid look and feel. The keyboard is also responsive (and quiet) and the backlit option is helpful in low light situations. My one complaint, albeit minor, is the touchpad. It is responsive and works well, but it is large and offset a little too far the the left for me. As a right handed user, I find myself too often trying to left click but getting a right click instead because my right hand isn't far enough over. I wish the touchpad was placed a little farther to the right. Not a big deal, but on a computer this big spacing and placement become bigger issues than they might be on a smaller laptop.
Power is ample and I've yet to throw anything at this that it can't handle without lag, slowdown, hiccups, delay, etc. I don't game on it so I can't comment on gaming prowess. For work and multimedia applications, however, it is absolutely capable.
All in all, I love this machine!
Pros:powerful, great screen, long battery life, solid build
Cons:touchpad placement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mikew023
(Sutton, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Not bad, but could be better.

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Yes, I would recommend this product
Over the last 4 to 5 years I had a dell inspiron n5110 which was good but it was starting to die (lots of over heating and crashing). I been wanting a new laptop for some time and I thought this would be perfect and it is. It does all that I want so far; gaming, homework, movies, work for at home and on the go. The only BIG problems that I see that over the last week or so the mouse was not working at all so I though no big deal just had to restart the PC, now the touch screen now isn't starting to work and the newest thing is that the monitor wouldn't turn on in start-up and now when that happens just hold the power button for 10 sec. If this PC didn't have all of these it would be the best of the best in the world for what I need
Pros:fast, doesn't over heat, quality is excellent, good graphic
Cons:mouse could be alot better, touch screen could better, restarts and shutdown rough
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AA0727
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Wireless Bandwidth Issue

PostedDecember 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted to make this computer work for the family. Unfortunately the wireless bandwidth issue with the Intel 7260 was the last straw and I am going to return the laptop and wait for Dell to correct the wireless issue together with some of the other issues that I have listed in this review.
1- This computer should have come with the Intel AC7260 instead of just 7260. With the current wireless card I was only getting half of the bandwidth that I am getting with my other laptops and tablets. The support team did replace it with the Dell 1550 but it did not resolve the problem.Good Wireless is one the most important feature for a laptop because if you are not getting the full bandwidth then it will impact everything else that you usually do with your laptop, i.e. browse the internet, watch video or live TV.
These other issues were not the deal breaker but I feel that it is a must have with laptops in this price range:
1- The screen opening angle is very limited. The bottom of the screen come in contact withe laptop base if you try to open it more. I am not saying that the screen should fold up to 180 degrees but the current opening angle is too small.
2- There is no LED light on the speaker off button to indicate that the speaker is off. This is a common feature on all laptops
3- There is no light on the wireless button to indicate on/off. On most laptops there is a LED light with two different color to indicate on/off (white/orange)
4- The i7 processor is not the best for this price range
5- If you use the mouse pad and look at the CPU activity for the mouse pad process you will see that it uses 6 to 7 % CPU. This is way too much. Hopefully future mouse pad driver will fix this issue.
6- If you put your laptop to sleep, it takes a long time for the laptop to come out of the sleep and show the colored screen.
7- The laptop lacks some of the power management features that exist on other comparable laptops. For example it is not possible to wake up the laptop by just opening the lid or in case your laptop is connected to an external monitor, using the mouse movement or the power key on your keyboard. Currently the only way to wake up the computer is to open the laptop and press the power key on the laptop.
Pros:good industrial design
Cons:screen does not open more, no light on the speaker off button, no light on the wireless on/off button, no the fastest i7 processor, mouse pad activity uses too much cpu, take too long to come out of sleep mode, wireless card should be ac, lacks power management features, too heavy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DerRitter58
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell 7737

PostedDecember 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop about 4 months ago as a tool to play games, watch movies, and do homework. Once it arrived it ran perfectly with few issues. After about 2 weeks my hard drive crashed and Dell graciously supplied me with a brand new one for free. A few weeks later I went on a trip and tried to watch a movie. It was denied since there was no preloaded movie player on the new hard drive. I still have not found a movie player that works which takes one of the reasons why bought this laptop away. Other than that it has performed flawlessly for everything else that I use it for. The only thing I have found that slows this laptop down is Assassins Creed: Unity which takes a lot of processing power to run smoothly. That can easily be solved by doing some slight upgrades to the graphics card and the RAM. Overall this is a great laptop and the only real downside to this computer is Windows 8 itself which needs to be adapted more towards pc's instead of tablets. I love the touch screen and how you can actually use it to draw on OneNote and it actually looks really good. If you are looking for a laptop with an amazing chassis to add modifications to then this is the one for because it looks great and is thin but powerful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JOLLYBOYJOHN
(Greenock, Inverclyde, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

don't buy!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The design of this machine is really good they have made a good effort..back light on keyboard could be a bit brighter...image quality while on Web pages isn't great..sleep mode doesn't properly work sometimes completely turns the machine off..the touch/mouse pad is really jumpy and sticks..i think you would be better off buying the model below and saving a bit of money as theres no difference between them except for the ram size..overall it's an ok machine if u buy it when it's discounted. Will do a more in depth review once I've had it a little longer.
Pros:design, screen size
Cons:mouse pad, sleep mode, screen could be better
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Benie801
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Word of Warning

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
All round good product but as a noob of the laptop world I have to say this thing heats up so fast when using the nvidia graphics card, 5 minutes in playing a game that uses next to no processing power and it heats up to burning point, about 30-50 minutes in and the game shuts down.
My work around was simply forcing it to use the integrated graphics card by going nvidia control panel > select program to customize and then under select the preferred graphics card just setting it to the integrated one.
Theres next to no heating issue when using the integrated graphics card.
If you plan on using the nvidia graphics card be prepared to buy a cooling panel or similar equipment.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Robin0540
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

How disappointing

PostedNovember 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received my Inspiron 17 7000 on 11/12/14. There were several things I didn't like right from the start but I thought maybe I could get use to them. #1. The laptop has this weird metal type finish (forged aluminum construction) that reminds me of nails on a chalk board when I touch it. I thought I could get use to it but no. Reminds me of something you would work on in a metal shop. #2 Is the Windows 8.1, I just don't care for it. #3 The computer keeps locking up. I'm sorry but the whole reason I was buying a new computer was because I was having problems with my old laptop and now this week old computer is even worse. So disappointed. A lot of money and I expected so much more. I'm sending it back. I am writing this review on my old computer because I can't get my Dell laptop to work.
Pros:backlit keyboard, audio system, customer support was excellent
Cons:forged aluminum feels awful, locked up within days of first use, windows 8.1, price
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:southcoastCR
(Mobile, AL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

For This Price -- Look Elsewhere

PostedNovember 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Slow performance in "waking" and re-starting; terrible keyboard. Overall, it is an average laptop but NOT worth the price = not a good value.
Pros:great appearance and feel
Cons:performance for the cost
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Bowhunters
(Kansas, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Loving this Dell laptop

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my second Dell laptop, my previous was an E1705 that ran great for many years and this 7737 is even better, I have only had it for about a month but it is running great with zero issues so far. Very fast laptop and zero negative issues so what's not to like and I love the lighted keyboard.
I'll be back in a few years for my next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VLizzle
(Medford, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Perfect Laptop for Me

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop! I have worked in IT for over 25 years so I know my computers. This meets all of my needs. Boots quickly, runs smoothly, audio and video quality is great, love the touch screen option, love the backlight. I love the large size because I enjoy watching movies on it. I have had no problems with it so far.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6