Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 7737

Inspiron 17 7737

Inspiron 17 7737
3.351 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
8
1 Star
25
3.4
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
56 out of 9460%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 7737
Review 1 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:paulie67
(Rockaway Beach, Queens, NY 11693, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

best laptop ever

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i've purchased dell products in the past, but my new inspiron 7000 series is way more then i expected, and i'm loving it!!!.
Pros:fast smooth gorgeous
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VLizzle
(Medford, MA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Perfect Laptop for Me

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this laptop! I have worked in IT for over 25 years so I know my computers. This meets all of my needs. Boots quickly, runs smoothly, audio and video quality is great, love the touch screen option, love the backlight. I love the large size because I enjoy watching movies on it. I have had no problems with it so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JaviLondon
(London, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Poor quality control

PostedOctober 14, 2014
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a shame that a potentially great computer has this many issues... problems with the please wait blue screen, that took me a while to solve, and then the front protective glass of the touch screen is coming off! I hope DELL repairs or replaces it for me, but too many problems for less than a month
Pros:nice looking computer
Cons:poor quality control
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lesd
(Kent, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have now owned this laptop for about 3 weeks and so far I cannot fault it. I am very pleased with the product. It looks good, feels good and does what I want it to. The only very slight downside is the keyboard is not as responsive as I would like but that is being picky trying to find something wrong with the machine.
I have not rated the customer service so highly as I didn't have much experience of it. One thing I would say is I do wish companies had their customer service team in the UK.
Pros:beautiful looking aluminium design, great backlit keyboard, facial recognition sign-in, easy to use, very responsive touch screen
Cons:keyboard strokes a little clumsy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LisaC60
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

LOVE This Laptop!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've owned several Dell laptops and this is the absolute best in almost every respect--design (except for one thing), quality and function. Someone mentioned it was heavy, but it is much lighter and thinner than my previous 17" Inspiron and is very comfortable to have on your lap for an extended period. The only reason I subtracted one star is that after six months, it developed a motherboard issue that caused several problems. It started shutting down when unplugged, even though tests indicated the battery was in good condition and charged. The graphics card also stopped working properly, shutting the computer down without warning unless it was on the lowest graphics setting. Finally, it would not boot up at all. Despite the issues, I was impressed that Dell replaced the system board within two days and solved these problems. I'm still very happy and have had it long enough to recognize the quality and recommend this machine to anyone hands down! If I had one criticism, I'd say it needs to be more accessible when there is a problem. My previous Dell laptops had a sliding latch for the battery which made it easy to detach and replace if needed. This laptop has very small screws which must be removed and no easy way to take off the cover. The manual said to "pry" it off after taking out the screws. There is no obvious notch or place to do this and I'm guessing "prying" would cause scratching unless you had a plastic tool of some kind. Hope I won't need to replace the battery but otherwise, you won't be disappointed.
Pros:excellent quality, graphics great (when working), thin and lightweight, fast (16 gig)
Cons:very poor access to battery
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CNYTomB
(Syracuse, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Laptop does the basic job

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just use this laptop for basic needs - store files, access the internet, listen to music, etc. No gaming or need for any high end performance. It was easy to setup and once you get away from the Windows Metro or whatever they call the tablet interface, to the normal desktop, it is just the normal windows interface everyone knows. The one thing to note at least from my experience, is that the computer came with a Dell Wireless touch mouse (WM713) that just flat out does not work. Following all the instructions, it just cannot connect via Bluetooth. My wireless speaker connects so it is not the Bluetooth interface. Did some digging around on the net and found the same advice I had followed, deleting the device, reloading the drivers, etc. I could call Dell but really don't want to sit on the phone with them going through all the steps I have repeated several times. Bottom line is the mouse came free, so it will just go on the shelf and I will replace it with a usb one. If you get the mouse free, then maybe you will have better luck, but I would not pay for this device extra.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shane14
(Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Inspiron 17 7000 Series Laptop

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent Laptop . It is the best laptop i have ever had . Extremely fast and great graphics. Very sleek design :) Excellent customer service and very friendly . Easy known i will have dell laptops for ever because they are the best.
Pros:design performance and backlit keyboard
Cons:n/a
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StevegotaDell
(Colorado, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Average At best

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hoped for more. It doesn't feel right and is not balanced. The back-lighting on the keyboard is hard to see at many angles. The keyboard and touch-pad don't fit in right on this design and the feel is off. Go touch it hands on and you will see what I mean. The screen has a lot glare and reflection. After owning for over six months I wish had went with another one and I will replace it soon.
Pros:non slip grip on bottom, low noise
Cons:glare, balance, feel, keyboard design, keyboard lighting
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:timet
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

absolute piece of garbage, save your money

PostedAugust 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop looks nice on the outside but is still not ready to be sold. There are so many things wrong with it. I have had it replaced 2 times and this is the third one I have which also has screen problems, but now I'm tired of dealing with dell customer care. I feel like throwing it in the garbage. A waste of my $1400+. The touch screens had serious issues -
1st laptop -wifi not working, bluetooth kept disconnecting, mouse cursor clicking randomly all the time that you couldn't use the laptop at all - so they exchanged it.
2nd laptop - wifi died within a few days, screen had three large circular spots that shook everytime the laptop had any movement.
3rd laptop (current one) - screen is scratched on multiple places and display is terrible (not like the previous three). And I'm sure the wifi card will fail very soon.
Anyways, one of my friends was buying a dell inspiron. I warned her and she cancelled her order, and I will continue to warn others against these experimental laptops. A week ago, I had a call from DELL trying to sell extended warranty - so I'm thinking that they are making defective items to sell warranty to you.
Save your money and a whole lot of time and buy a product that is more established and not new to the market..
Pros:only looks nice and classy
Cons:everything about it overall very slow for an i7, screen is a disaster, wifi and bluetooth keep dying
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ian77
(Leicester, Leicester, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent product

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having been looking for a new laptop for a long time and finding the 7000 series with specs I liked.
After turning off the Interl Rapid start software the system seems to perform a lot better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MattBlack
(Bath, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Current build eliminates common complaints

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a superb machine, gorgeous to look at and runs very smoothly. Windows 8.1 takes a little getting used to but it's really not as bad as many people claim. Most importantly, this machine has none of the issues that are commonly reported (audio hiss, keyboard flex). Whether that was a problem for a faulty batch of it has been addressed properly in the latest version I don't know, but I encountered none of those. Neither is the 'silver on silver' visibility of the keyboard an issue. The hard drive is very slow (I replaced with an SSD) and the wireless card is poor (I replaced with an AC alternative - but not easily - the back panel is a nightmare to remove to gain access to this), but wireless strength is speedy and consistent with the cheap replacement card. One thing this laptop should have come with is a blu-ray player by default (surely a necessity on a 1080p 17" machine) and finding a 9.5mm drive to replace the rather basic packaged DVD RW drive was tricky, but I found one. With those upgrades, this machine is a true beast. I haven't tested gaming yet.
Pros:gorgeous build, lovely screen (after colour tweaks)
Cons:no blu-ray, poor wireless card (n-7260), very tricky to remove back panel to access w-card, slow hard drive
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steve
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

One awesome computer

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have had my new laptop for a few days and I am impressed with it in so many ways! The fit and finish of it is impeccable, feels and performs like a premium product should. This is not a lightweight product, with the metal chassis and large screen it has some heft to it, but then I didn't select this as a portable PC, I bought it for it's performance and speed and it delivers in spades. Getting used to Windows 8.1, overall it works pretty well, just learning my way around the interface. Wish it had a numlock indicator as the Caps lock key has, a very minor complaint at best. The SATA drive performs well for a 5400 rpm drive, an SSD would be faster, but I have no real complaints. On the whole, this is one fast, high performance machine in a beautifully executed package, I would highly recommend it!
Pros:well built, excellent speed, beautiful display, backlit keyboard, solid battery life
Cons:no numlock indicator
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lfoggy
(Birmingham, West Midlands, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great machine

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this to replace my venerable but slow Dell Inspiron 9400. Customer service was good in helping me choose this model and delivery was within 24 hours. Price was good too. The laptop worked faultlessly out of the box and is running really well. Very fast and stable with no issues at all so far. Can easily run several applications simultaneously e.g. graphics intensive programme, spreadsheets, web browser and music all at once. Performance of a decent desktop computer but with portability although it’s heavy so you wouldn't want to carry it far. The trackpad isn't the best I’ve tried and is a bit jerky when scrolling but I prefer to use a mouse anyway.
Not 100% sure about Windows 8.1 but that's a different matter....
Pros:fast powerful and stable, good value
Cons:trackpad not the best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NArizona
(Tempe, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very disappointing

PostedAugust 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was always a huge fan of Dell, both in business and personal computing. This laptop has changed my mind. Windows 8 makes system inoperable at times, and I'm not willing to purchase another OS after I was forced to buy Windows 8 -- would anyone voluntary purchase Windows 8?? Great touch screen, which is good because touch pad often does not respond to touch. Very disappointing. Unfortunately I purchased two; one for teenage son, and one for me. Wish I could send them both back!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:americancuervo
(Albuquerque, NM, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome machine-- after I turned off Intel Rapid Start.

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Almost returned this laptop after I was having the same issue that many seem to have-- the display would not turn on after sleep.
I turned off Intel Rapid Start, and just like that, everything works perfectly and has worked perfectly since turned off.
LOVE IT!
Cons:intel rapid start-- should be disabled by dell.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sian1488
(Dublin, Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

High hopes dashed from day one

PostedJuly 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had problems with this laptop from the moment I took it out of the box. When I pugged in any type of earphones there was a very loud static buzz in the background, even when no audio/video files were playing.
I also found the laptop to be quite slow when opening and closing programs, compared to my four year old Inspiron 1750. The touch pad was very jumpy, even after changing the sensitivity.
There was also issues with the laptop not waking up from sleepmode and having the be restarted. I found the keyboard to be somewhat uncomfortable to type with as well
Contacted Tech Support, and while they were very helpful, I spent over an hour on the phone only to be told a part need to be replaced. I refused to have parts replaced on a one day old laptop and requested a refund.
This laptop seems to have high specs, but fails to deliver on nearly every front. This was my third Dell, and the first I've had a problem with, but I think I will either be going elsewhere for a new laptop or waiting for the next model to come out
Pros:all metal finish looks great, very light in weight, very thin
Cons:audio hardware failure, uncomfortable keyboard, os slow, jumpy touch pad
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Becky2255
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Keyboard

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The keyboard is VERY hard to see the letters...Its the silver instead of black. When you turn the keyboard light on, it doesn't help,, it actually makes it worse.
Pros:large screen
Cons:never wants to come on once it is alseep
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UnhappyInJersey
(New Jersey, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17 7000

PostedJuly 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Software problems right from the start and hard drive failure less than six months. Will not buy another Dell product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MKBanister
(West Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fast and I love it

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been purchasing Dells for a long time. This laptop is awesome, I don't have one complaint.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Makton
(AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good "All Around" Laptop or MacBook replacement

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Well, the day my first order for this laptop was to arrive, the order was cancelled, which happened to be a Friday. You can bet my anger, but the following Monday I contacted the service department and they had another laptop on the way by the end of the day.
From what I can tell, the first laptop was cancelled due to them finally running out of the I7 4500U. The new order had the I7 4510U which is 100Mhz faster.
It's quiet, fast and mobile. I can play my games, do my development. Looked at reviews compared to other laptops, this thing is a jack of all traits and master of a couple. Best all around for the price.
I brought this to replace my aging 2009 15in MacBook Pro, and it does not disappoint. Best of all, I can remove and replace the battery! This is the major reason (minus their price) I would not replace the MacBook with another.
Pros:nvidia card, can remove/replace battery
Cons:missing wireless ac
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5