Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 7737

Inspiron 17 7737

Inspiron 17 7737
3.299 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
8
1 Star
24
3.3
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
50 out of 8757%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 7737
Review 1 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MKBanister
(West Virginia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fast and I love it

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been purchasing Dells for a long time. This laptop is awesome, I don't have one complaint.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StevegotaDell
(Colorado, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Average At best

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hoped for more. It doesn't feel right and is not balanced. The back-lighting on the keyboard is hard to see at many angles. The keyboard and touch-pad don't fit in right on this design and the feel is off. Go touch it hands on and you will see what I mean. The screen has a lot glare and reflection. After owning for over six months I wish had went with another one and I will replace it soon.
Pros:non slip grip on bottom, low noise
Cons:glare, balance, feel, keyboard design, keyboard lighting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:timet
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

absolute piece of garbage, save your money

PostedAugust 29, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop looks nice on the outside but is still not ready to be sold. There are so many things wrong with it. I have had it replaced 2 times and this is the third one I have which also has screen problems, but now I'm tired of dealing with dell customer care. I feel like throwing it in the garbage. A waste of my $1400+. The touch screens had serious issues -
1st laptop -wifi not working, bluetooth kept disconnecting, mouse cursor clicking randomly all the time that you couldn't use the laptop at all - so they exchanged it.
2nd laptop - wifi died within a few days, screen had three large circular spots that shook everytime the laptop had any movement.
3rd laptop (current one) - screen is scratched on multiple places and display is terrible (not like the previous three). And I'm sure the wifi card will fail very soon.
Anyways, one of my friends was buying a dell inspiron. I warned her and she cancelled her order, and I will continue to warn others against these experimental laptops. A week ago, I had a call from DELL trying to sell extended warranty - so I'm thinking that they are making defective items to sell warranty to you.
Save your money and a whole lot of time and buy a product that is more established and not new to the market..
Pros:only looks nice and classy
Cons:everything about it overall very slow for an i7, screen is a disaster, wifi and bluetooth keep dying
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ian77
(Leicester, Leicester, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent product

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Having been looking for a new laptop for a long time and finding the 7000 series with specs I liked.
After turning off the Interl Rapid start software the system seems to perform a lot better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MattBlack
(Bath, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Current build eliminates common complaints

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a superb machine, gorgeous to look at and runs very smoothly. Windows 8.1 takes a little getting used to but it's really not as bad as many people claim. Most importantly, this machine has none of the issues that are commonly reported (audio hiss, keyboard flex). Whether that was a problem for a faulty batch of it has been addressed properly in the latest version I don't know, but I encountered none of those. Neither is the 'silver on silver' visibility of the keyboard an issue. The hard drive is very slow (I replaced with an SSD) and the wireless card is poor (I replaced with an AC alternative - but not easily - the back panel is a nightmare to remove to gain access to this), but wireless strength is speedy and consistent with the cheap replacement card. One thing this laptop should have come with is a blu-ray player by default (surely a necessity on a 1080p 17" machine) and finding a 9.5mm drive to replace the rather basic packaged DVD RW drive was tricky, but I found one. With those upgrades, this machine is a true beast. I haven't tested gaming yet.
Pros:gorgeous build, lovely screen (after colour tweaks)
Cons:no blu-ray, poor wireless card (n-7260), very tricky to remove back panel to access w-card, slow hard drive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Steve
(Kansas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

One awesome computer

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Have had my new laptop for a few days and I am impressed with it in so many ways! The fit and finish of it is impeccable, feels and performs like a premium product should. This is not a lightweight product, with the metal chassis and large screen it has some heft to it, but then I didn't select this as a portable PC, I bought it for it's performance and speed and it delivers in spades. Getting used to Windows 8.1, overall it works pretty well, just learning my way around the interface. Wish it had a numlock indicator as the Caps lock key has, a very minor complaint at best. The SATA drive performs well for a 5400 rpm drive, an SSD would be faster, but I have no real complaints. On the whole, this is one fast, high performance machine in a beautifully executed package, I would highly recommend it!
Pros:well built, excellent speed, beautiful display, backlit keyboard, solid battery life
Cons:no numlock indicator
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:lfoggy
(Birmingham, West Midlands, UK)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great machine

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this to replace my venerable but slow Dell Inspiron 9400. Customer service was good in helping me choose this model and delivery was within 24 hours. Price was good too. The laptop worked faultlessly out of the box and is running really well. Very fast and stable with no issues at all so far. Can easily run several applications simultaneously e.g. graphics intensive programme, spreadsheets, web browser and music all at once. Performance of a decent desktop computer but with portability although it’s heavy so you wouldn't want to carry it far. The trackpad isn't the best I’ve tried and is a bit jerky when scrolling but I prefer to use a mouse anyway.
Not 100% sure about Windows 8.1 but that's a different matter....
Pros:fast powerful and stable, good value
Cons:trackpad not the best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NArizona
(Tempe, AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very disappointing

PostedAugust 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was always a huge fan of Dell, both in business and personal computing. This laptop has changed my mind. Windows 8 makes system inoperable at times, and I'm not willing to purchase another OS after I was forced to buy Windows 8 -- would anyone voluntary purchase Windows 8?? Great touch screen, which is good because touch pad often does not respond to touch. Very disappointing. Unfortunately I purchased two; one for teenage son, and one for me. Wish I could send them both back!
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:americancuervo
(Albuquerque, NM, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome machine-- after I turned off Intel Rapid Start.

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Almost returned this laptop after I was having the same issue that many seem to have-- the display would not turn on after sleep.
I turned off Intel Rapid Start, and just like that, everything works perfectly and has worked perfectly since turned off.
LOVE IT!
Cons:intel rapid start-- should be disabled by dell.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sian1488
(Dublin, Ireland)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

High hopes dashed from day one

PostedJuly 21, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had problems with this laptop from the moment I took it out of the box. When I pugged in any type of earphones there was a very loud static buzz in the background, even when no audio/video files were playing.
I also found the laptop to be quite slow when opening and closing programs, compared to my four year old Inspiron 1750. The touch pad was very jumpy, even after changing the sensitivity.
There was also issues with the laptop not waking up from sleepmode and having the be restarted. I found the keyboard to be somewhat uncomfortable to type with as well
Contacted Tech Support, and while they were very helpful, I spent over an hour on the phone only to be told a part need to be replaced. I refused to have parts replaced on a one day old laptop and requested a refund.
This laptop seems to have high specs, but fails to deliver on nearly every front. This was my third Dell, and the first I've had a problem with, but I think I will either be going elsewhere for a new laptop or waiting for the next model to come out
Pros:all metal finish looks great, very light in weight, very thin
Cons:audio hardware failure, uncomfortable keyboard, os slow, jumpy touch pad
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Becky2255
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Keyboard

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The keyboard is VERY hard to see the letters...Its the silver instead of black. When you turn the keyboard light on, it doesn't help,, it actually makes it worse.
Pros:large screen
Cons:never wants to come on once it is alseep
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UnhappyInJersey
(New Jersey, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17 7000

PostedJuly 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Software problems right from the start and hard drive failure less than six months. Will not buy another Dell product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Makton
(AZ)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good "All Around" Laptop or MacBook replacement

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Well, the day my first order for this laptop was to arrive, the order was cancelled, which happened to be a Friday. You can bet my anger, but the following Monday I contacted the service department and they had another laptop on the way by the end of the day.
From what I can tell, the first laptop was cancelled due to them finally running out of the I7 4500U. The new order had the I7 4510U which is 100Mhz faster.
It's quiet, fast and mobile. I can play my games, do my development. Looked at reviews compared to other laptops, this thing is a jack of all traits and master of a couple. Best all around for the price.
I brought this to replace my aging 2009 15in MacBook Pro, and it does not disappoint. Best of all, I can remove and replace the battery! This is the major reason (minus their price) I would not replace the MacBook with another.
Pros:nvidia card, can remove/replace battery
Cons:missing wireless ac
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:YippieLongStocking
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Not thier greatest achievment

PostedJuly 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The key board looks nice but is impossible to see unless you are working in the dark. Not very functional at all. The screen does not come on when waking from sleep mode on the keyboard lights up. You have to turn the computer completely off the on to get the screen to turn on. Not sure why they included the sleep mode other than to show off the keyboard. The display continuously flips between screens while using the mouse and is very frustrating. Customer service is incompetent in the PM but seems to do well first thing in the morning, If they would allow a complete return I would gladly go elsewhere. Definitely will not make this mistake a second time.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Re55
(Virginia, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Do not buy this.

PostedJuly 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bad features:
scratchy, imprecise, stiff touch pad
goes into sleep mode forever and have to reset it
sound quality is really bad, makes pops like a fire crackling, sometimes suddenly refuses to play audio and videos/music continue silently, when you click another program, sound skips a beat
image quality is bad….over-saturated reddish color scheme, screen flickers from day one
the screen already had some kind of problem where a driver crashed but recovered itself
The laptop is big and heavy, powerful looking, but can’t even handle the basic features that any laptop should, like visual quality and sound.
I can’t believe how dysfunctional it was for the price.
My old laptop which was much less money was a million times higher quality than this one which cannot even handle basic sensory functions.
Seems like it was sent defective and never should have been released. Was this thing ever tested? Even once?
I returned it and will no longer be buying from Dell. This was just too much for me. This thing should be taken off the market.
Pros:it turns on
Cons:sound, sleep mode, visual, weight
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Laptopbuyersregret
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Most problematic laptop I have ever used.

PostedJuly 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have spent countless hours on Dell technical support with this laptop. It is not working properly with Windows 8.1 - it frequently will not come out of sleep mode and a reboot is required, or it reboots itself, losing the work I was doing. I cannot use sleep mode after this occurring so many times (sleep mode settings have been checked many times). There was an issue with the numlock key turning itself off (which was eventually fixed by a technician) and the F keys switching themselves from multimedia to F-key mode.
Now having issues with connecting to an external monitor and the touchscreen not working.
They keyboard is not as responsive as all the other laptops/computers I have used and the keys being silver makes the letters hard to see in specific light conditions. I have been asked to take the battery out several times but it is screwed shut.
System updates have been checked by multiple Dell technicians.
I highly regret buying this laptop and due to these issues taking so long with numerous Dell Technicians I cannot get my money back.
Cons:sleep issues, poor keyboard, numlock key issues, external monitor connection issues
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Marshall2211
(Spain ES)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Disappointing as a whole.

PostedJune 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this laptop for 7 months and am very disappointed as well as angry, so far it has failed twice the first time it was due to a faulty hard drive which is understandable as it is inevitable for time to time that something is faulty, I was just unlucky. However ever since the repair (which involved replacing the hard drive and was quick and easy, apart from the fact that I had to re install everything) it has been slow, programs failed to launch and various parts (CD Reader) have simply stopped working, also on occasion the WIFI systems seem to take a vacation day and simply vanish for a week or so. I have recently begun to believe that laptops in general are designed to fail at some point to force us to buy another, but I think this laptop is the very definition of designed to fail. Its flashy design seems to hide some serious flaws in my eyes. I am now talking to dell tech support yet again within the same 2 months to get it fixed, but given the choice id rather just have my money back and buy a differnet model to be honest.
On the other hand I may have just been REALLY unlucky so judge for yourself but don't let the shiny case and flashy touch screed entice you more than it should.....
Pros:customer service, ...pretty piece of tech...
Cons:fails repeatedly, parts stop working, fluctuation of components functionality
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisGD
(United Kingdom)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

An excellent product!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop was an excellent buy! - I ordered it last month and it came the next day. I am a Graphic Design student in college and I wanted something which gave me the edge on creating designs and finishing projects quickly - this laptop has done that! - the specs for this laptop are amazing, I was looking at a similar Macbook Pro worth over £2k, but I found this for only around £800 same specs and everything! This is an amazing product which is fast and can handle gaming.
Kinda annoyed there is no SSD but I am looking at removing the Optical Drive and replacing it with a SSD - really easy to do.
This product is fairly light, but not too heavy either - it lies within the two.
The screen quality is amazing and can play movies well.
Pros:fast and reliable, great pricing, good for graphic design students, good for casual gaming
Cons:no ssd
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Turbo1
(N.E.California, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

What a great computer.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
With all the power and features I want and need this computer has exceeded my expectations. I was concerned about the 5400 hard drive speed and the dual core I7 processor. I would have preferred the 7200 rpm and the quad core on these. But it performs very well indeed. Even processing 24 MPL raw photos. The screen is beautiful and even though new to Windows 8.1 that is a pleasant surprise too after learning my way around it. The video card is great too. It is used for work and pleasure and it is very effective and works flawlessly at both. I highly recommend this computer for hard work and play.
Pros:much better than i expected for a laptop.
Cons:a pop up tutorial on how to set up windows 8.1 for
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17 7737
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VinceChing14
(Maryland, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

High Quality materials, beautiful design excelente performance

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my best laptop so far, great screen display, I love the design and industrial style. My only complain is that I wanted to add an internal Blu ray writer/player and it is not possible. This laptop would be perfect with a Blu ray writer.
Just as a feedback: Dell should make the laptop/keyboard edges like the screen edge (I mean...avoid the bright edges/frame like the one you made for the keyboard). The laptop/keyboard edges are easy to scratch...it is a beautiful idea but this can be improved
Pros:design, screen, performance
Cons:no blu ray, an user removable battery would be a plus!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5