Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 3721

Inspiron 17 3721

Inspiron 17 3721
3.955 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 156 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
10
1 Star
17
4
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
121 out of 15678%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 3721
Review 1 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Confused07
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Thermal problem!

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this 2 years ago, now I can no longer set a high resolution of WOW and also get low FPS when playing, if I do that, the computer will shut down automatically. Even in a low resolution, the CPU or GPU's temp is very high.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Parent777
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Purchased because it came with Windows 7 loaded

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased this PC for my son who attends a university where Windows 7 is the standard operating system. The system is a little slow to boot up, but it will provide him the platform he needs for his studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Happyshock
(Seoul)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

First personal laptop PC

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased this product for my wife and kid at home. The size is 17inch LCD. The CPU is i5. Hard-disk size is 1T. It is enough for my family to use this laptop for the entertainment, education and on-line service. The OS is 8.1 as latest. It looks great. My laptop PC has no feature of the touch screen, but it is not necessary for my family because the PC might be more dirty after touching the screen often. Most of all, the price is very reasonable even though I should buy it on-line. It's some worrisome that we don't have see this product in the Dell store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Wy0Gal14
(Wyoming, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Basic Needs

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
After graduating from grad school, I needed to up date my much used Inspiron 1564. I was very pleased with that laptop so I decided to go with another Dell. Not a huge fan of Windows 8...maybe if I had purchased a touch screen I would be more jazzed about it. Over all the system meets my needs and I am satisfied with my new Dell. In the age of ultrabooks and iPads, this laptop is not nearly as stylish as my previous one but that's not a deal breaker for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ParsleySageRosemayUndThym
(Lancaster, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A good laptop

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The 17" display is plenty big -- at least for me.
I really like all the nifty tricks that the touch pad is capable of. I also have a 15" that's a few years old, and I find that the material that the touch pad is made of is super-slick and much more pleasant to use than my older unit. I also find the touch pad is quite sensitive, which is something that I can appreciate.
It boots up quickly and when used as a real laptop (e.g. sitting on my lap), it gets warm but not uncomfortably hot.
All in all, a good laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:heretoday
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

excellent

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great windows seven operating system. XP and Seven are the best. Do not ever send theory operating systems to the customer again.
Pros:windows 7
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:luigi73
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Not entirely what I expected

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
For someone coming from Windows 7 to Windows 8, it is kind of daunting. Everything seems to be moved all around and finding applications like Control Panel, printers, etc. is not easy. The volume of the sound is disappointing, not as high as my older inspriron. The picture quality is good and the browser is nice but takes getting used to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ILoveWin7
(Iowa, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Strictly OK Laptop

PostedMay 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main reason I purchased this laptop is because it had Win 7 on it. I was disappointed with the speed of this laptop. I have an old laptop (Core 2 Duo, T5800 @ 2:00GHz) which is surpiisingly much faster than this new dell laptop which has a much more advanced processor (i3). Both the systems have comparable RAM (4 Gig). Boot up time is very slow. Tons of unnecessary programs which bring down the performance. All in all, strictly OK laptop. I am returning this
Pros:win 7, i3 processor
Cons:slow, unnecessary softwares
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gaslo
(Michigan, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

inspirationless

PostedApril 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product crashed after 2 days. Only APP's loaded-
NORTON Anti-virus
NIKON View 2
Google Chrome
Pros:value
Cons:performance
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jake014
(Norwich)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good for everyday use

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop was bought for family use just over a year ago. It's a quick, efficient machine for everyday use, but for gaming more serious than Minecraft, I'd advise upgrading some of the components. It has great software features (although I easily bypassed parental time restrictions) and is perfect for kids under 15. The hardware is pretty good for value, and I'm happy with most of it. Unfortunately, it doesn't have two ports for headphones and speakers, just the one, for a headset. I recommend this laptop for home and work use.
Pros:easy to set up, nice screen, sturdy build, intuitive, durable, reasonable price
Cons:disk drive flimsy, gets hot when running intensive programs, windows 8 is hard to use, no vga port, no in-built security software, only a single headset socket
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:otisjnet
(Penhook, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Love my new Dell

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have not bought a Dell in quite a few years. Went to Gateway and HP. So happy, I made the decision to buy this laptop, for it is a great every day laptop. Does everything I need at home. Love it!!
Pros:17" screen, large keyboard, great price, fast delivery, impressed lots of computer for the price paid
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chargerfan11
(Ankeny, IA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Inspiron 17 Laptop

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent PC!!Great value. Surpasses my expectations. Does everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Skeith
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fabulous value

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first laptop and I am in love with it. This machine meets my needs for a home computer and I was blown away at the price. I have already recommended the Inspirion 17 to to a couple of friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DAlba96
(Long Island , NY)
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Value Laptop

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought as a replacement for another Dell 17" laptop. Great value for the price..
Pros:great computer for the price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:20james14
(Portland, OR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Windows 8 is terrible

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
dealing with the windows 8 software is burdensome and not user friendly ... I want windows 7 back
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Winojavaknitter
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Pretty happy!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My husband convinced me to go ahead and get a laptop that would be better for home and some light work. I love the big screen. I still use my old one and it seems so tiny now. It's fast and right out of the box it worked great! Seemed easy to set up ( although my husband did most of it). Great graphics too! Overall pretty happy with it. It's not too heavy either. Maybe thinner than my older one. Just have to find the right laptop bag to fit it into.
Thanks dell!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JGutierrez
(Durham, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

It worked great for 2 weeks.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I owned Dells for years and this last purchase was the worse experience ever. It lasted 2 weeks and now it turns on and turns off after 10 seconds.
It seems is a hardware malfunction.
Waiting to go back to the States to contact Dell at this point.
Pros:worked great while was working
Cons:it died 2 weeks from initial purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John822
(VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Would not buy or recommend

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The display is washed out and terrible. I wasted my money on this.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Becky2923
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

My Inspiron 17 laptop

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I get exactly what I need every time. Dell is very reliable & I only buy Dell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Colleen28
(New Haven, CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Enjoying my new laptop

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just recently purchased the Inspiron 17 laptop. Overall, I have really enjoyed the product. The customer service is amazing. About a week after I purchased the item the left mouse key became broken...within less than a week someone was at my house to fix the problem. The only major problem I have had was being able to download Windows 8.1.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8