Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 3721

Inspiron 17 3721

Inspiron 17 3721
3.966 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 148 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
9
1 Star
17
4
 / 
5
(148 reviews) 148
114 out of 14877%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 17 3721
Review 1 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gaslo
(Michigan, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:On the go
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

inspirationless

PostedApril 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product crashed after 2 days. Only APP's loaded-
NORTON Anti-virus
NIKON View 2
Google Chrome
Pros:value
Cons:performance
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jake014
(Norwich)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good for everyday use

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop was bought for family use just over a year ago. It's a quick, efficient machine for everyday use, but for gaming more serious than Minecraft, I'd advise upgrading some of the components. It has great software features (although I easily bypassed parental time restrictions) and is perfect for kids under 15. The hardware is pretty good for value, and I'm happy with most of it. Unfortunately, it doesn't have two ports for headphones and speakers, just the one, for a headset. I recommend this laptop for home and work use.
Pros:easy to set up, nice screen, sturdy build, intuitive, durable, reasonable price
Cons:disk drive flimsy, gets hot when running intensive programs, windows 8 is hard to use, no vga port, no in-built security software, only a single headset socket
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:otisjnet
(Penhook, VA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Love my new Dell

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have not bought a Dell in quite a few years. Went to Gateway and HP. So happy, I made the decision to buy this laptop, for it is a great every day laptop. Does everything I need at home. Love it!!
Pros:17" screen, large keyboard, great price, fast delivery, impressed lots of computer for the price paid
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chargerfan11
(Ankeny, IA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Inspiron 17 Laptop

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Excellent PC!!Great value. Surpasses my expectations. Does everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Skeith
(Dallas, TX)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fabulous value

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my first laptop and I am in love with it. This machine meets my needs for a home computer and I was blown away at the price. I have already recommended the Inspirion 17 to to a couple of friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DAlba96
(Long Island , NY)
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Value Laptop

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought as a replacement for another Dell 17" laptop. Great value for the price..
Pros:great computer for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:20james14
(Portland, OR, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Windows 8 is terrible

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
dealing with the windows 8 software is burdensome and not user friendly ... I want windows 7 back
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Winojavaknitter
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Pretty happy!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
My husband convinced me to go ahead and get a laptop that would be better for home and some light work. I love the big screen. I still use my old one and it seems so tiny now. It's fast and right out of the box it worked great! Seemed easy to set up ( although my husband did most of it). Great graphics too! Overall pretty happy with it. It's not too heavy either. Maybe thinner than my older one. Just have to find the right laptop bag to fit it into.
Thanks dell!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JGutierrez
(Durham, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

It worked great for 2 weeks.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I owned Dells for years and this last purchase was the worse experience ever. It lasted 2 weeks and now it turns on and turns off after 10 seconds.
It seems is a hardware malfunction.
Waiting to go back to the States to contact Dell at this point.
Pros:worked great while was working
Cons:it died 2 weeks from initial purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:John822
(VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Would not buy or recommend

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The display is washed out and terrible. I wasted my money on this.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Becky2923
(Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

My Inspiron 17 laptop

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I get exactly what I need every time. Dell is very reliable & I only buy Dell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Colleen28
(New Haven, CT, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Enjoying my new laptop

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just recently purchased the Inspiron 17 laptop. Overall, I have really enjoyed the product. The customer service is amazing. About a week after I purchased the item the left mouse key became broken...within less than a week someone was at my house to fix the problem. The only major problem I have had was being able to download Windows 8.1.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Teddybearsluv
(Michigan, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 17

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really like the slim easy to carry design . The speed is excellent too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RexGreen
(Wichita, KS, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great value PC

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the Inspiron 17 3737 during the Black Friday sale for a great price. I would normally have ordered a laptop with a smaller screen, but the price was so good, I couldn't pass up "splurging" for a 17". The product shipped quickly (beating the estimated date) and arrived in good shape. Physically, the laptop seems really heavy, but I don't schlep around any other 17" units, so I can't really say if that's normal or not. The case is all plastic, but seems of good quality. The only fit & finish complaint I have is that there is a small gap between the wrist-rest and the bottom shell -- I can even see the status LEDs shining up thru the gap. That area also has an ergonomic downside: The bottom shell is slightly higher than the wrist-rest, so it feels a bit uncomfortable when I have the ball of my hand in just the wrong position, or if I slide my hand across the gap toward myself. The keyboard feels solid & responds well. Its keys are well-spaced and I have no problems typing. The big screen size makes room for the nice numeric keypad that I find very handy. The touchpad is pretty responsive, although the scroll area is a bit farther from the right edge than on other laptops I've used -- that makes one-finger vertical scrolling a bit hit & miss. However, I've started using the two-fingered scrolling gesture lately, which seems easier to "hit". The left & right touchpad buttons have a good tactile feel, but also seem to have an unusually loud "click", which can be a bother when I'm doing nighttime computing. The laptop's 17" non-touch screen opens & closes solidly -- feels well-built. The image is vivid and clear and seems to perform fine -- although I do very little gaming, so my graphics demands are low-end. The overall system performance is quite acceptable -- my needs center around email, web surfing, and Office apps, and the laptop handles those just fine. (I have a higher-powered Dell Latitude that I use for my much more demanding work-related performance needs.) This is my first Windows 8 machine, and I haven't gotten completely used to it yet -- not sure it lives up to all the hype, honestly. (But this is a review of the Dell system, not Windows 8, so I won't belabor that.) There are a couple of factory-installed bloatware items (e.g., CyberLink DVD trialware), but they are not at all obtrusive.
OVERALL, this is a great laptop for someone like me that has low-end home needs. The solid construction, large screen & keyboard, and good performance make it seem like an excellent value.
Pros:price (black friday discount), solidly built, large screen & keyboard, good performance
Cons:minor fit & finish issue, heavy, touchpad somewhat finicky
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JackieDL
(Maine, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Satisfied with product

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I'm enjoying my new Dell laptop, little tricky with the new windows 8, but have a friend to help me. Keyboard is much better then my old one. Very happy with my purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dabby52
(Vidor, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great BIG machine

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the 17" laptop and am impressed with the size and clarity of the screen. It is easy to type on and is a great value for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:eliseincolorado
(near Boulder, CO, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Good for basic family computing

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It was past time to replace the 10-year-old desktop, and we chose this Inspiron laptop to be the new family computer. The main user is my 8-year-old daughter, and she finds it easy to use. Processing speed is good enough for our needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Handymanguru
(Mid Coast Maine)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great customer service

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have ordered two laptops from Dell in the past year. One had a problem with network adapter and after trouble shooting with tech support the sent some over within two business days to fix it. Works great now!
Pros:ease of use, great tech support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AdreaS
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great PC for the price

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very fast and reliable. Love the number pad!
Not a huge fan of some of Windows 8's actions, but not bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 17 3721
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Billy55
(Canton mich)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Slow

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mcafee provided for an additional cost slows the system down Updates get in the way when I try and use the computer. I am not at all happy with this laptop. My old dell was much better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8