Customer reviews for Inspiron 15z

Inspiron 15z

Inspiron 15z
4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 48
41 out of 5180%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15z
Review 1 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Southernglo
(South Carolina, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Broken Screen

PostedNovember 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Over the screen shattered.all a great computer. After two months When opening the computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ameliageist
(Sacramento, CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good computer.

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just a good solid computer that has all the options that are necessary for a basic computer. Definitely a little faster and lighter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:guanghua
(VA)
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good performance in entertainment

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I love this 15.6 inch laptop for its touchscreen with windows 8, good experience in games, and its excellent audio performance. This is a valuable system with a fair price. It also has a beautiful color and back lit keyboard. The only problem that I met was the short life-time battery, only last about 3 hours. I strongly advise Dell to update the battery for this system, even though it would cause the laptop became heavier, it is still acceptable for a 15.6 inch laptop, and it would let the system works much better with a advanced i7-3317U CPU.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:pcglobal
(Pennsylvania)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome laptop

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Compact, light, and runs smooth as silk! Use it for work and for home use and have never had one problem. Lightning fast wireless and more than enough features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:amilford
(La Follette, Tn.)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Laptop.

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought for my daughter, a student at a university. she loves it. much faster startup than her old laptop. everything has worked perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Thusara
(Los Angeles CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

what an experiance

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I wanted an upgrade to my laptop and got the new dell 15z ultrabook. I have been a dell customer since 2008 and was expecting a quality product. Right out of the box, the exhaust fan was making a noise as it was hitting something, so had to return it. Exchange product came fast. Guess what. It had couple of dead pixels on the screen. I sent it back too. Now the one that I have is performing good so far. But I have lost faith in the quality of dell products.
Pros:great design, good performance
Cons:overall product quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MostlyImpressed
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great, but could use some work.

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Inspiron 15z notebook is a great resource for a college student who wants a very portable laptop that packs a punch. The i3 processor provides for a smooth operation of the system, and the 6 GB of RAM isn't too bad either. the 15.6 inch screen is beautiful, and the SSD has me averaging 12 seconds [8 seconds is the record] to fully boot.
This isn't to say, however, that this laptop is perfect. The battery life of the laptop is a little too short for my tastes [averaging about 3-4 hrs of juice-- 5 if I run it barebones with airplane mode and screen brightness at its lowest]. The charms work great for windows 8, but I find that in some apps, using the mousepad to scroll can result in the application to shake on screen without any input.
Possibly my biggest gripe, and the reason I gave this laptop 4 stars is the wireless card has this weird habit of trying to reset its IP address while I'm using the laptop. This usually results in me continually having to troubleshoot my connection or reset my wireless card [I would highly recommend that Dell look into the matter]. This can get to be very frustrating, and in today's internet-centered world, cause a myriad of troubles for professionals and casual users alike.
Overall, the Inspiron 15z is a very fast machine that deserves bragging rights, but the relatively low battery life and issues with the wireless card make it fall behind the pack.
Pros:schoolwork, checking email, streaming video, general networking
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DoctorAwesome
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Excellent Experience

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had to make a quick decision about a new laptop because my old Dell died after many years of great service. I was sad to say goodbye to my Dell laptop, but knew that I was getting another great product in the Inspiron 15z.
As per my previous experience, I got the Inspiron 15z out of the box and found that Dell had put it's always-helpful touches all over it. A friend of mine purchased a non-Dell laptop (gasp!) from a retail store at the same time I purchased my 15z and we had VASTLY different experiences. He was frustrated with the lack of tutorials available for the Windows 8 OS, but I was glad with my Dell because I had awesome tutorials at my fingertips.
He already has problems with his other-brand laptop, and my Dell--I know from experience--will last me a VERY long time.
I'm so glad that my quick Inspiron 15z purchase has worked out well. I'm in graduate school and currently working on my dissertation, so I don't have time to mess with a product that delivers a performance less than a Dell. With my Inspiron 15z, I know I have a great product that will see me through until the world can call me Doctor! I even named my new 15z "Dr. Awesome." :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sylviaj
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Newbie
Title:

Great Computer

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love the touch screen! I am really having a hard time with Windows 8 but believe that in time I will be able to work this computer with ease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JeffD
(Anywhere)
Title:

Inspiron 15z i7

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had my Inspiron 15z i7 for about a month now. I love the touch screen, but do not really use it that much. I really like the illuminated keyboard. The speed is decent. The hard drive is a little slow. I don't understand why they don't offer a larger/faster hard drive. There was no option. The other issue is the ultrabook does not have access panels in it to change out the drive. The speed is adequate, not blazing, but not slow. This was the fastest touchscreen laptop I could find on the market. The i7 is the lower end of i7, it is only dual core and the speed is not the faster i7. I wished it had the higher end i7. I tried the Sony first, but I hated the keyboard and the touchpad. The keyboard on this Ultrabook is great except for the context menu button next to the left arrow key. I always hit it instead of the control key because it is where the control key is on every other keyboard that I use. So this is a little annoying. Hopefully I will get used to it... Overall I like the laptop. I wished it was a little faster and had a faster hard drive. The battery lasts about 3.5 hours, this was disappointing because other ultrabooks are getting 7 hours.
Pros:sorftware development, office products, photo editing, sql server
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rookie58
Title:

love my new Inspiron

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Love the touch screen on my Inspiron Z. Backlit keyboard is great too. Laptop is very fast and boots up very quickly. Many cool Apps. Definitely recommend this ultrabook.
Pros:home use, work usage, entertainment (photos video)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RHodel
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is excellent. It works very well. The only problem I have ever had is with the Wifi; it tends to say my wifi is limited frequently. Troubleshoot fixes the problem in 1 minute 99% of the time, but it is still frustrating. Overall, I would recommend this computer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:blackfiction
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Very Good and Quick!!!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:School, work, Gaming
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FrankTheTank13
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A Powerful Computer in a Small Package

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been looking at the ultrabooks, gaming laptops, regular inspirons, and finally decided upon the Inspiron 15Z. I chose the model that includes a dedicated graphics card, and a decent CPU. The innards of this computer are powerful enough to run games at surprisingly decent rates, and without the risk of over heating (which my old laptop this one replaced had). Some of the games I've been running include Skyrim, Guild Wars 2, Fable 3, SWTOR, Spore, and a few more.
Beyond my satisfaction with its performance with gaming, the computer runs laps around my old version. The interface of Windows 8 (albeit took getting used to) is much easier and quicker than Windows 7 in my opinion. Perhaps this is because I am more technologically savvy than the average user, so I picked it up in a lot less time than others may. The computer manages heat very well, and handles itself when running many demanding processes at once.
The computer itself is amazingly light, and is a lot more aesthetically pleasing than previous Dell laptops in my opinion. It's very sleek, thin, and simple.
In Summary:
Pros: Powerful enough to run demanding games, as well as very demanding software. Great, simple, and thin design. Very light, and easily to travel with. Windows 8!
Cons: Since it's an ultrabook, your hardware choices are not quite as good as you may find in an Inspiron, or an XPS, in order to keep it so thin and light.
Pros:software development, casual gaming, mixing live music
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sopa77
Title:

Clay' Review

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got the best computer ever size is good and all the features are perfect
Thanks Dell
Pros:information security
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rackemall
(Alabama)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

In our House we use only DELL!

PostedJune 3, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
We have purchased computers, printers, cameras, ink, etc. from Dell since 2005. We do not even consider going to someone else when a purchase needs to be made or upgrade wanted on what we have. If I won the 1,000.00 Visa Gift Certificate the first thing we would do is upgrade our latest laptop. 2nd would be investing in a desktop for my husband as he's is several years old, apprx 4 and is outdated. I would so love the opportunity to purchase them & thank ya'll so very much for always tending to our needs in an expedient,courteous & professional manner.
Pros:socializing & games surfing the net & photos
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NMSMix
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Title:

Why So Critical?

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
You get what you purchase. A nice thin laptop with a beautiful display, good processor, and an awesome battery life.
Pros-
Battery
Display
Webcam
Pretty Fast
Amazing Multitasking
Pretty Good Sound
Ect.
Cons-
The shell is a fingerprint magnet, which is sort of annoying.
Sometimes hard to multitask with webcam running.
Final Thoughts-
Dell, why? You have barely spread the word about this wonderful laptop. Its better than the Inspiron 15 (Ive used both) with about the same price. Get this laptop, believe me, unless you have a technical error, this laptop wont disappoint.
Pros:around the house
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nissan
Title:

Inspiron 15Z

PostedOctober 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am disappointed in this product as my previous experiences with Dell have been quite good. The machine constantly fails to start correctly and freezes frequently. I was also frustrated that Dell have decided to save a few pennies by not including a recovery CD as used to be the norm.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SeattleEditor
Title:

Disappointed

PostedAugust 20, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been a loyal Dell customer for many years now, and have been impressed by their machines in the past. This laptop (the Inspiron 15z) has been one disappointment after the other, though: 1.) After two months, the hard drive failed and needed to be replaced (and the computer hasn't worked quite the way it's supposed to since). 2.) The plastic casing is cheap and flimsy compared to the material Dell used to use 3.) The mouse is poorly placed on the keyboard, so when you're typing, your wrist constantly hits it and moves the cursor. I thought I was signing up for another great Dell machine, but it's just been one frustration after the other. The only saving grace is the monitor, which is why I'm giving it 2 stars instead of 1.
Pros:editing, writing, reading
+27points
31of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15z
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:cssd619
(San Diego, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Looked great, but didn't work

PostedAugust 6, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the 15z, but upon delivery it did not start correctly when on battery power. Tech service tried to correct the problem, but in the end nothing could be done. Instead of sending out service, they sent me a new laptop. Unfortunately the 15z is at the end of it's life, so I was sent out a new Inspiron R...which is much better, faster and better looking the the Insprion z! Go for the R if you want an Insprion!
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
1 2 3