Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R

Inspiron 15R

Inspiron 15R
4.392 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,297 reviews
5 Stars
742
4 Stars
427
3 Stars
65
2 Stars
21
1 Star
42
4.4
 / 
5
(1297 reviews) 1144
1,195 out of 1,29792%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jidnesh
(Mumbai, India)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Amazing Product

PostedApril 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
When I decided to bought new Laptop I had a search for various brands for my requirements.
As I had a good experience with my previous Dell laptop, I gone through various Dell Laptop's also. Finally I bought Dell's Inspiron 15R with some customization as per my requirements. I am using this product for around 2 months now and works really fine for me
Pros:
1. Good Performance
Core i5 M450 @2.4GHz 3MB Cache,4GB RAM)
2. Supports Virtualization
3. Supports Wireless Tech. Wi-fi, Bluetooth
4. Supports Hyper Threading and turbo Boost Technology
5. Onboard HD Graphics(Intel)
6. HDMI port and e-SATA port. (Sounds Amazing)
7. Inbuilt card Reader supports SD, MMC, MS Pro
8. 3 USB ports and 1 high Speed LAN port.
9. Windows 7 Home Premium.
Cons:
1. No Firewire Port.
2. HDD 640GB (Wish it could be 1TB)
Review:
If you are looking for complete package for your job, study and entertainment then this is the product. I dont think anybody could get disappointed.
Pros:research and development, entertainment, study, work, vitualization
+335points
360of 385voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Adrian
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

It's Good and Worthy of Getting It

PostedMay 13, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Hey I just got this New Dell Inspiron 15, trust me, with just RM 2299 (the purchase price i got on 30th March 2010), I think it's awesome as compared to the competitors.
Pros
First, its dazzling 15.6" bright screen really stands out of the crowd as compared to the common 14" screen in this price range. So, it's pretty good for viewing videos and applications which require wide screen such as spreadsheet.
Next, my laptop comes with Intel Core i-3 Processor which is perfoming well despite some lags (last about 3 seconds) when I open 4 applications at once. So, it's good enough for moderate users like me.
Then, it has a 3GB RAM which provides ample space for running the programs. Usually at this price, you can only get 2GB RAM, that's why I said it's so worth.
For entertaining purpose also, it's SRS Premium Sound speaker works very well. Although it's placed under the laptop but it's penetrating power is so intensive. Paired with a high-def screen, it's really an perfect match for viewing videos.
Last but not least, it has a NUMERIC KEYPAD!! This is so important for accounting students or those who needs to do data entry.
Cons
1. Mine doesn't come with graphic card, so please don't expect to play any high quality game.
2. The 6-cells battery only can stand for 2 hours 30 mins for maximum. If you need more than that, please head for a 9-cells battery.
Review
Strongly recommended for those students who are adhering to stringent budget. This is an ideal entry-level laptop for you to carry out daily tasks and school works.
Pros:Travel, surfing internet, watching videos, school works
+98points
101of 104voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:nis_388
(Mangalore)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Satisfying Package

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Looks- At start when i looked at the laptop it was first love. It looks like an expensive hardware. The looks are stunning.
The display Lid is gorgeous with the dell logo on it. The laptop looks and is well built. It looks like a performer.The below material of laptop is made of scratch proof plastic.The ventilation systems are brilliantly placed at correct positions. When opening the lid, your eyes gets hooked on to the chrome that surrounds the keyboard.The keys are large. The trackpad is large too. Again i must say, it looks gorgeous. The laptop feels Heavy.
Screen- The screen is stunning with low black value and good contrast of about 235:1, with good brightness . The viewing angles are not that good. but considering the price range it is acceptable. The colors look rich. Normally at this price range you dont get good screens on laptops fortunately this laptop is an exception.
Keyboard and Trackpad-
The keyboard is spacious with large keys. It is also equipped with a number pad for users crunching numbers now and then. But the keys feel unstable.There are multimedia keys coupled to the Fn keys which is great. The trackpad is the best i believe is till date on laptops. The feel of it and the youch of the lmb and rmb is great. The trackpad has optimum sensitivity.
Specification and Performance-
I must tell you the components put in it work in tandem. They are just great. The laptop is so speed. If you compare another laptop of different brand with the same processor and all, they wont be as fast as this. It is also a great gaming machine (ATI 550v). I can play gta 4 with ease.It als does not heat as much as other laptops. The Speakers are fine but not great, you can notice sound cracking at high volumes, but they are descent enough.
Extra Features-
The web cam in the notebook takes pictures to the tune of 1.3mp and 640x480 video. The great thing about it is it is coupled with a software called as Dell FastAccess which is a Facial recognition software. It can be used to login into your windows account by scanning your face front of the camera, it can also be configured to open other programs. This is a great value addition.It also has an eSATA port, hdmi, 7in1 card reader, dvd writer, 4 usb. which is great.I also took dell mouse extra, which is also great vfm.
Last Thoughts-
Everything is said, this is a great laptop for this price range ( i gave 42000). I ordered it online and to tell you till now my experience has been great, the customer care support is of high standards. The cc employees are so polite and helpful. Really i think my 6 months research for the best laptop in my budget has certainly paid of thanks to Dell.
Pros-
1) Fast
2) Can also support Mid range Gaming
3) Great Touchpad
4) Noiseless and cool
5) Stunning Looks
6) Great Build
7) Great Webcam and Facial Recognition
Cons-
1) Keyboard aint stable.
Pros:games, movies, songs
+117points
123of 129voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jiney
(Ajax, Ontario, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have been a Dell user for years and overall I am happy with the new laptop. However, I was unable to get Windows Media Player to work on the computer. I called Dell Support and they were able to help me but advised me that the problem was a software issue and that if I have any further software issues, I will be charged for any assistance. I was not happy about this as I would EXPECT that on a new computer the provided software would work without issue. After all I did not pay for a computer that does not work.
Pros:photos music internet etc.
+110points
116of 122voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ROHIT GUPTA
(DELHI)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

DELL INSPIRON 15R

PostedJune 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell's new inspiron series is excellent and better than the older version.Very cool looks,and thinner.Chrome finish looks excellent,superb webcam.The performance is excellent.I would give 5 star for graphics.You will not require to upgrade your graphics unless and until you are a extreme gaming freak.Sound is good.I chose lcd back cover as RED is looks awesome,better than blue/pink.
Battery backup dissapointed me.It gave me 2 hours 10 minutes on power saver mode.With speaker on for 20 minutes.You can go for 9 cell battery,but keep in mind that total notebook weight will increase by 300-400 gm.
Also the thing i didn't liked was the belkin simple backpack.It's fine for laptop and accessories,but you can hardly put 1-2 books in it.Belkin core backpack is better but dell doesn't provide that.
Overall i think this is a excellent machine for such a low price.However price have now been increased by Rs1500-2000.I got mine at 33,900 with backpack.
GO FOR IT.You will not get a better deal anywhere else.Dell is always the best.
Don't forget to ask for discount from your sales executive.He will surely get you some discount.Something is alwayz better than nothing..! :) :)
Pros:browsing, Gaming, home use
+86points
90of 94voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:maverick
Title:

Inspiron 15R 3GB ram

PostedMay 8, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got my laptop today. It's a new inspiron15R, 3GB ram machine.
It was supposed to be 320GB but adding up the figures in My computer it's 288GB. Pre-installed software takes out 49 GB. Have tinkered around for over 1 hour now. It is only a little bit warm at the bottom. It's got a metallic finish around the keyboard. So it should help to some extent to dissipate the heat from the top later on.
While buying, sales rep had said that Windows 7 will be pre-installed and no installation cd will be given. However, an iso image will be available on the C drive which can be used to burn on personal cd/dvd. I still cannot find the iso image.
It took 10 days from order to delivery. The status page still shows Manufacturing build complete. But I have to say that I got the laptop 2 days before the estimated date of delivery. So 15 out of 10 for delivery commitment!
The arrow keys are really small. It's smaller than my middle-finger-tip. So the up and down arrow keys sometimes get mixed up. Left and right are all right once you get the feel for it.
If you are used to pressing F1, F2,... directly, here you need to press 'Fn' and then press F1, F2,...
Bluetooth works good.
Slowly getting used to Windows 7. Have been a Xp user since ages.
If you are getting the leptop for your parents, make sure you are around when you start the lapttop for the first time unless your parents are computer literate.
Display resolution is awesome even though I do not have a graphics card. I am not into gaming.
If a 2GB RAM 15" version were available, i would have gone for it.
Ran into little trouble when connecting to internet. But I don't think that it has anything to do with the laptop.
So, overall, only disappointment for me are the arrow keys, indirect-function keys and the yet untraceable Windows7 Iso image.
Pros:soft dev, audio
+74points
76of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LongTimeDellGuy
(Elkhart, Indiana)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Not Happy

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only way to say it is this laptop is cheaply made. The keyboard feels like you will break it by typing on it. The battery rattles when you shift the laptop from one knee to the other. As yet I can't find a single tight fitting seem on this thing. I have an Inspiron 1525 that this was going to replace but even though it's nearly three years old it feels more solid than this new 15R. I'm an IT guy who has switched several large hospitals away from IBM and Lenovo hardware to Dell hardware. I have literally purchased thousands of Dell computers over the years as part of my job. I have purchased nearly two dozen Dell computers\laptops for my family over the years. This is the first time I have ever opened the box and been disappointed.
Pros:Travel, some development, remote system management
+81points
86of 91voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Finnoybu
(Northern Viriginia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Take two

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased two of these right before the holidays: one for my wife, one for a college student - neither of them are very tech-savvy.
As is typical with new machines, there was plenty of bloatware to sort through (I prefer my own choice of antivirus, thank you); however, much to my surprise, Dell didn't overdo it this time.
I created my restore discs, wiped the drive & installed a new o/s from scratch. Working with the provided Drivers & Utilities disc proved to be a pain - no details on what's included in the various folders, no any indication of what each installer actually did.
After about four hours of perusing information on the Dell support site & combining it with the info I had locally on the CD, I was able to complete a clean install of my preferred o/s, sans value added bloat, and the machines have been screaming fast ever since.
For those of you looking for an out-of-the-box experience, still highly recommended - but call Dell before you finalize your order & insist that they not install all the extra 3rd party freebies, add-ins and trialware. They'll only serve to slow the machine down & annoy you in the process!
Happy computing!
Pros:home use
+45points
45of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:santosh
(Chennai India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Ok But not good

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I expected a lot from dell.
I had my previous inspiron 1520, which i bought through website and in 2007 dell was delivering product from Malayshia.
My previous lappy was 2gb 160 gb core2duo but speed was OK.and this one is 3gb/320 gb i3 350.
With this lappy i liked the red color but it wasn't scratch proof like previous one
Battery backup worse 1 and 1/2 hr, my previous one with nine cell was giving 6 and 1/2 hours.
dell need to increase the no. of technical supports keeping 20 mins on wait.
Pros:
Excellent service
Display Brightness.
Overall Speed
Value for money
Cons
worse Battery backup(less than 2 hrs)
not scratch resistant
Build Quality not up to the mark
Pros:emailing, movie listining songs, office docs, little gaming
+61points
66of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:SMFire
(Bangalore)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Inspiron 15R with 512Mb Graphics

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've got the Inspiron 15R with 512MB graphics card, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD & Win7 Home Premium.
Its a super smooth system & I use it for transcoding video, streaming to my PS3 via DLNA, Android development etc. Pretty happy with it. Except that I tend to need an external mouse without which am not comfortable using it.
I guess Dell should offer Home premium as the standard Windows version with all their models. Basic is quite lame compared to it. Also, they should not override the Function keys by default. I needed to goto the bios settings and change that.
Overall, awesome product, got my Brother to buy one as well. Value for money.
Pros:software development, multi tab browsing, Gaming
+61points
65of 69voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bikemike2012
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Nice Job Folks...

PostedOctober 24, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I shopped around a bit before buying this computer. At one point I was even close to purchasing a Toshiba Satellite. But my prior experience with Dell and the durability of my previous Inspiron (purchased in 2006) convinced me to at least contact Dell before I made my final decision. In short order I was convinced that I needed to purchase the 15R. I have never looked back. My only gripes (minor at best) are the overall feel of the keypad (Dell opted for matted keys with somewhat sticky action for this computer) as well as a separate numeric keypad (the presence of which probably accounts for much of the degradation in overall keypad feel and quality due to spatial considerations). In any event, most of us could easily get by without it. Also, though I recognize that everyone seems to be doing it, why is it necessary to mount the touch pad off-center left? Centering it to the computer just makes sense on so many levels... Or perhaps as a concession, why not off-center right? In fairness I must mention that in keeping with Dells common sensical approach to innovation, the 15R has been equipped with a Synaptics pointing device that makes possible the expansion and reduction of size of view screen content with your thumb and forefinger. Much in the same way you can with current touchscreen technology. In light of economic considerations, I will concede that in order to provide all that this computer offers for the price, any perceived shortcomings could be considered not worthy of mention... You will not get more bang for the buck with any other manufacturer folks. Not to mention that Dell Support takes a back seat to no one... The defense rests...
Pros:international communication and information access
+44points
44of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Pankaj Rawat
(New Delhi)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

This is It....

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
As i already reviewed it when i got it. Now its full review. Mine is with CORE i5,4 GB RAM, 1gb ati radeon 550v,500gb hdd.
Now guys, i played crysis, medal of honor 3, transformers and nfs hot pursuit(2010).
It played all without a glitch. Butter smooth graphics guys. I previously thought that sound quality is low but was amazed when i used Vlc player. It just rocked guys:) XPS only wins with sound quality from subwoofer.
I got a ps3 controller for playing games which is great. Hd videos are played at awesom rate better than my friend's Lenovo laptop which has ati radeon 5470.
I highly recommend this to all of you guys:-)
Pros:Gaming, videos
+39points
39of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dhruveeldave
(Ahmedabad)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Best for all purpose

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
First of all thing we should consider its price.In compare of other laptops this is very budget friendly.an affordable price.
As first laptop this is also best because its very easy to use.
Very stylish look,I have black but red will be the best.
Light weight to carry,Stronger then the other laptops,if you have to travel so much than this is perfect for you and it also has scratch proof design.
Techniquely we can see a fast processer core i3,
8 gb expandable ram and harddisk upto 620 gb.
All latest games works very well on this laptop.
Typing on this laptop is different experience,really we can type for hours without getting tired,it comes with numpad which feature comes in only few laptops.so typing is quite comfortable.
Movie experience is also good with hd display and a good battery life.
Webcam clearaty is also quite good for video chat.
Internet is also good but I prefer Epic browser than the Internet explorer 9.
Windows 7 is a different experience.
With Photoshop you can enjoy photography.
With MS office you can also do your office work.
It has inbuilt 7 in 1card reader too.
And with dell customise option you can customise the laptop the way you want.
Only one thing in laptop I din like its sound.sound quality is good but very low volume.
If you want to work for hours put something under the laptop and then use it.
Don't store stuff(music,movies) in c drive,store all that stuff in d drive
After all everything you need is in this Inspiron 15r.
Pros:Gaming, projects & presentetions, internet
+37points
38of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:vlovah21
(Beaumont, TX)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

So far So GOOD... =D

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a college student in TX and my old Dell that I got in high school caught a virus. So I finally got the money to buy a new laptop and knew that for the most part I was going to go to Dell. But there were some other good brands I did think about. I chose the 15r because my company get a discount. I liked that it had a webcam and mic included to use for Skype or ooVoo. It also has a cd/dvd burner which is awesome. The battery is pretty good I will turn the laptop on at 7am and my day at school ends at like 2pm. It would still have battery life when I got home! So far its been pretty good and it hasn't been freezing up on me. Only maybe once or twice since i got it but thats about it. Overall its a good laptop for a student I just advise that you buy Microsoft Office software or download Openoffice to write papers and save documents.
Pros:school work, webcam talk, watch movies, save documents
+48points
54of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Karthik
Title:

Great performance but pathetic keyboard

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
PROS:
Using it for heavy software development with 3-4 web servers running, and on avg, about 2 200MB+ IDEs running.
So 4 GB RAM is a real boon.
500GB HD is also sweet (came with only 1 huge partition, but some tinkering around with diskmgmt.msc's shrink volume option, disk defragmenter and disabling system restore temporarily allowed me to partition non destructively from Windows itself).
Disabled some of the Dell bloatware and useless services to claim another 300MB of RAM for own use.
The baseline OS RAM usage hovers around 800MB-1GB for Windows 7 Home Premium.
CONS:
The only thing I didn't like at all is the keyboard layout.
Usually, the F1-F12 function keys should be accessible directly with a single key press and most apps use them heavily as shortcuts.
But this keyboard totally defeats the purpose by making F1-F12 as secondary functions and requiring use of the Fn key.
For example, if you want to rename, press F2 right? Well no! on this keyboard, you've to press Fn+F2!
And heaven help you if the pressure on Fn is not good enough, because the F2 key, pressed by itself, ends up disabling your wlan radio!!
And don't even get me started with Alt+F4...Alt with right hand, Fn with left hand thumb, F4 with left hand forefinger...It's a circus!!
The 4 arrow keys aren't good either...they're half the ideal height.
There really was no need to play around with the keyboard layout...Dell has screwed up in this area and it's a huge productivity problem.
Otherwise, performance wise it's great.
Pros:software development, web servers, image editing
+48points
54of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ajith
(india)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

cheap and best

PostedJune 26, 2010
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
i brought this model two weeks before. it is the best model available below 35k, the display is superb, it gives 3 hr + battery backup if using word or excel, built quality and finish good, the keyboard area comes with metallic finish.it comes with a face recognition feature. i3 processor in just amazing. i even run three or four software at a time , it never hanged up till now.graphics performance is also good . no need to go for a dedicated graphics, if u are not using for extreme gaming, it nicely plays HD movies and NFS carbon-most wanted-undercover etc,the intel website itself says no need of a septate graphic hardware for i3,i5and i7 the the ddr3 ram gives a fast data transfer, the touch pad have a mac (i phone)like feature to use zoom features. sound quality is gud...dell service is also good they will immediately send the order conformation as soon as they got the online fund, soon they send a estimated date of delivers, i got the laptop 4 days before the estimated date of delivery, but the online order status in not updated correctly,,,i do not come with a CD of windows 7....tks and rgrds to dell for such a nice model
Pros:students work entertainment
+43points
47of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NYAnj
(NY)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

A Great Laptop for Everyday Essentials

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have a Dell desktop and after my Toshiba Satellite of five years died on me, it was only natural to purchase a Dell laptop.
I upgraded my inspiron to the 4GB memory and I received it 2 weeks later. First off, in person, it's sexy. It has a sleek design and a glossy finish. It is light compared to my Toshiba. The "chrome" part around the keyboard looks nice, but it is a magnet for fingerprints. The keyboard itself feels cheap, but it is spacious. The mouse pad clicker is silent and doesn't feel durable. I really don't care for the numeric pad. By adding that keypad, the keys are shifted just a little bit to the left, so it takes just a bit of time to get used to the typing because it feels a bit off. I don't care for the way the mouse pad is situated either. It's a bit off centered.
Another thing with this laptop that people complain about is the sound. I read a lot of reviews on here and the main complaint is "the sound sounds muffled." The sound is muffled. The speakers should have been above the keyboard. However, the sound is fantastic with headphones on. If you guys are buying this laptop mainly for gaming and films, I suggest you buy yourself a surround sound headset and have fun with that bad boy. I think I read somewhere that if you adjust the sound settings in the control panel, the sound won't be muffled, so play around with that and see what happens.
The width of the screen is smaller than my previous laptop. The screen is widescreen and the picture quality is great. The colors are vivid and the screen is bright. The laptop does not get hot, and when the fans come on, they are very quiet. If you guys are concerned about overheating though, I suggest a laptop cooler. You can find one on ebay for $5 and it works like a charm.
The battery life is pretty standard. It lasted for about 2.5 hours. I suppose if you're watching a film, it will not last that long, but I'm not sure. I did notice that while I was watching bits and pieces of a film to test the battery life, the battery got depleted a bit. The battery charges very fast.
The wireless connection was no problem at all. As soon as I powered on the laptop, it connected right away to my network. I didn't have to configure anything to view files on my desktop. If you guys worked with Vista before and never touched Windows 7 (like me) it's the exact same thing. If you never used Vista, Windows 7 is easy to use. For a fast and pleasant internet experience, I suggest installing Google Chrome. The reboot time for this laptop isn't bad. It's a little over 1 minute. This machine came pre-installed with rubbish I didn't need, so I just uninstalled them. There is no "click" when you close the laptop lid,so be careful not to slam it down hard.
All in all, this is a great laptop for the price. This was my first shopping experience at dell.com and it was a breeze. The customer service people is knowledgeable, helpful, patient, and professional. I highly recommend this laptop. Enjoy yours!
Pros:internet and email, streaming videos, movies, downloads, chatting, School, network file sharing
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Abdullah
(Pune)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

An all-round performer!

PostedJuly 9, 2010
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
Dell Inspiron 15R Review
I recently purchased the Inspiron 15R laptop.(my first purchase from Dell). First things first, the concept of buying laptops online, I must confess is completely unique and one-of-a-kind in India at least! It offers customization options galore and you can design your machine from scratch - how cool is that!
Having placed the order, I had to wait for 4-5 days for it to process & then things moved forward rather quickly. I could track the order online & it was promptly shipped to me within 12 days. The no-hassle delivery part had me going gaga over Dell.
I had ordered a number of accessories along with it - Usb mouse, Bluetooth headset & carry case. I also got MS office & McAfee full versions so that there doesn't arise the question of purchasing pirated software - I recommend you do the same, saves you the trouble of having to find proper accessories in the outside market for your machine.
Next was the installation which was a breeze! It went so quickly. Apparently, you don't need Windows installation Cd or even for that matter MS-Office installation Cd. The system has a back-up of all this data even after you restore the laptop to the factory image.
Ah! How can I forget the physical description - the thing looks fabulous (preferably go for red/blue colours - looks mind-blowing), has a wide screen perfectly suited for multimedia. Let’s not get into the tech-specs much, as it’s already listed everywhere. The only thing worth mentioning again is that it has a 512mb graphics card from Radeon, which is good for gaming & stuff like that.
The keyboard is good too and the navigation pad surprises you with its amazing response. Having said that, if you're into hard-core gaming you may want to buy an external joystick/keyboard for gaming, as the default one isn't meant to be banged on every time you score that elusive goal in Fifa '10! (get the point?)
Installing new apps & transferring data from my old computer was also done in a jiffy.
The only minor problem I faced, was with the Bluetooth, which was hanging initially. I called the customer-care expecting one of the usual "we'll get back to you" responses, and let me tell you, I was so amazed at the efficiency of their customer-care that it left me speechless!! I was guided step-by-step on how to resolve the problem on the phone itself! They even have a remote-diagnosis tool which works wonders in letting the executive know what exactly is the problem, if any.
Moreover, it has all the frills you need- good webcam, card-reader, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, E-SATA port, HDMI output. Battery back-up, though not excellent, is ok for people who mainly work on the AC adaptor.
The price some may say is expensive as compared to other local brands, but trust me - if you're looking for a laptop, don't look beyond this one - Just close your eyes & buy it!!
Cheers.
Pros:multimedia, internet, documents, streaming video
+52points
61of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sumit chaudhary
(gujarat)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

excellent machine for nominal price

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just got my laptop 2weeks ago. Its configuration is corei3 2.26GHZ 3gb ram 320gb hdd and 1bg ati 5470 graphic card. And its pretty awsome. It is fast and can be used for almost anything like listening music , watching movies, gaming, surfing, downloading etc.A user said that games don't run in full screen , well this problem can be easliy solved. first lower ur screen resolution to 1360 by 768 by right clicking on screen and choose resolution. then go to ati catalyst , then go to desktop and displays by clicking on graphics on top left side. there u will find a computer image right click on it and choose configure then select full screen. then run the game again. It is able to run most games easliy, I ran burnout paradise, batman arkham asylum, nfs shift easily. hope this solves ur problem . this laptop is a sure bang for the buck.
+
+
Pros:music, internet, Gaming, watching movies
+50points
60of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Maven
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Good but beware the reduced screen fold-back angle

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great looking laptop but beware the following:
*** the screen does not fold-back anywhere close to 180 degrees making it unusable on a laptop stand.
- keyboard feels fairly cheap and the arrow keys are VERY small
- the dedicated numeric keypad results in a strange layout of keys if you're used to other Inspirons
some pros:
- casing feels as sturdy as previous models in the same line
- screen is nice and vibrant
+39points
44of 49voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 58