Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R

Inspiron 15R

Inspiron 15R
4.392 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,297 reviews
5 Stars
742
4 Stars
427
3 Stars
65
2 Stars
21
1 Star
42
4.4
 / 
5
(1297 reviews) 1144
1,195 out of 1,29792%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:petexxx
Title:

Pre crashed when first powered up

PostedDecember 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased an Inspiron 15R (N5110). Was supposed to be "scratch and dent", turned out to be "refurbished" (apparently by Fred Flintstone). Powered on machine for the first time to an "incorrect shutdown" warning, crashed within the first 30 minutes of use. The touchpad is ABSOLUTELY UNUSEABLE!!!! No driver update would fix it. After using Dell equipment for 12 years, this was just an incredibly dissapointing experience. Spent 6 hours trying to get this bucket of bolts running correctly, not a chance.
I administer 10 machines at work, and 4 at home, so I'm far from being a rookie.
Pros:personal laptop
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LenPreslar
(Winston Salem, NC, 27106)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Personal Laptop replacement

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is my second Dell laptop, both Inspiron models. The first developed problems relating to a contracted virus and with its age I elected a newer replacement model. I found the Dell Online service rep' quite helpful and have been very satisfied with my new Inspiron N5110. I am a satisfied Dell consumer. I am still getting used to the new keyboard but expect the adjustment to be fine over time. I do recommend Dell for its reliability, good value, and excellent service.
Pros:e-mail, website searches for job, business records, job related documents
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ZeusBT
(Yoakum, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

I am very satisfied!

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros
I really love my Inspiron! It works awesome on my wi-fi connection and offers great speed and versatility. I've had my laptop for about one month now and I haven't run into any problems with it. The affordability was definitely a PLUS, also.
Cons
None so far :)
Review
I am pleased that I was able to find an affordable laptop that is also reliable. I think I am a Dell "lifer"!
Pros:Travel, email, internet, photos and video
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gamer
Title:

Not Bad

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop is good.. Except when using battery,i did a combination key it will lag..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:2Dogs
(Springhill, Nova Scotia)
Title:

Stepd's 15R

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased this for my step daughter who was starting post secondary studies. So far it has perfomed extremely well aside from an accidental juice spill. Dell quickly repaired this unit (our fault so we paid for it) and it was returned in brand new condition. I found the service was better than many reviews have indicated and the Tech to whom I spoke was pleasant and extremely knowledgable. Dell did everything they could to help!!! I have NO complaints.
Pros:student education
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Burhan
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good experience, fast delivery.
Delivered as promised
Pros:personal stuff, teach my child
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:smtp
Title:

stp

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
it works great for school work.
Pros:School
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(uae)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have my Dell for only a week now, I'm surprised by it's capability, Setting it up makes my life so easy, im seeing it to be a very useful tool for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Nashville, TN)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Daily Driver

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this computer to use as an everyday basic usage computer. It is exactly what I wanted for checking email, using internet, and streaming video online.
The new i3 processor is very zippy and I love the design. I have owned a Dell desktop for several years and I must say that this is another great product from Dell.
I highly recommend this product for students or anyone needing a cost effective laptop. This computer is not a gaming machine but works wonderfully for most everyday tasks.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DaDarkJoker
(Lousisana)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not as good for Gamers

PostedOctober 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a fellow gamer and this was my first computer, Its good for playing most games but not good for recording the games...
Pros:Gaming, recording games
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:GrantR
(Dallas, Texas)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Improved in some ways, deteriorated in others

PostedOctober 15, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought my first Inspiron in 2006. My laptop lasted four years with minimal problems. I reformatted it several times, and the product kept working. I dropped it, and it kept working. My parents still use that laptop for basic computing. My first Inspiron made me love Dell products.
I bought my second Inspiron last year in 2010. It's been one year, and I am already considering getting a new laptop - and I'm strongly reconsidering buying from Dell again. Why? Well, three major problems have come up in the past month after my warranty already expired.
First, the laptop has chipped and I can see the inside of the screen. I carry it around in my backpack. After one year of use, the edge began to chip. After one piece fell off, more started chipping. I attached a picture showing how my laptop now needs duct tape. Unlike my last laptop, this one broke quickly, and I am afraid that I may have to buy a new case to protect the insides.
Second, my laptop frequently has problems coming out of hibernation. I hibernate my laptop 3-5 times per day. Once a day, my laptop will not come out of hibernation. Instead, it will need to be re-started. Again, this problem did not happen with my old laptop; I hibernate them in exactly the same way.
Finally, I need to re-start my wireless network adapter 2-3 times per week. My internet connection will be working fine, and then suddenly it will stop working. Other people using the same connection do not have problems with their wireless connection.
All of these problems have started to occur after my warranty expired. So beware: the warranty might be one-year because Dell assumes that their products will start to fail after one year.
There are pros to my laptop though which make me want to stay a Dell customer. My battery recharges faster than my old laptop. Except for the three problems that I have had, my laptop is functioning great. Its quality seems to greatly surpass my old Inspiron in many ways. And I have not had problems installing or un-installing most of my programs.
But I am wary of buying another Dell product because I am not sure if I can trust the product for more than a year.
Pros:personal use, Travel, streaming video, document production
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ricker
Title:

Very Satisfied

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very satisfied with our new Inspiron Laptop. Received it quickly from Dell and had it up and running in minutes. Love the crispness of the display.
Pros:web surfing, email
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JfTL
(Fort Lauderdale)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop and Refurbished

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop was a wonderful upgrade and easy get up and running for our family computer. beautiful sleek design, unexpectedly light for its size, and surprising results with my first refurbished purchase.
Pros:personal/family use
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ALLIWANTFORXMASISMYCPU
(Newtown Connecticut)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Quality is not there anymore.

PostedOctober 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop has a "cheap" feel to it, the plastic case feels like it could break with little effort, slower performance than its peers, battery life is dismal. The display is crisp and bright however the display "scrambles" for a moment when it comes out of sleep. I had to download and install missing drivers for bluetooth. Cheap laptop for those on a very tight budget.
Pros:editing surfing for research
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ChiragG
Title:

Low quality parts, not recommended

PostedOctober 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Within a year and a half of purchasing my Inspiron 15, I have had the motherboard, processor, graphics card and HDD changed.
Since I had purchased 2 years accidental insurance all of it was covered and changed without charge. However, it meant a lot of inconvenience.
Also, I faced a lot of issues getting service in France, in spite of having international warranty and had to go without use of my laptop for almost a month.
Succintly put, bad quality parts and service not upto the mark.
Pros:education, personal
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:rbuko
Title:

A good mid-level computer for the price

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Overall performance is good, but I haven't installed much more than MS Office 2007 and a few others. Startup time is fast with Windows 7 and battery is slightly above average. With some many other things, it comes down to how you use the laptop. If simply do web surfing, emails and keep the display dimmed a bit, you can get 4 hours of battery time.
Pros: Price, Processor, Windows 7, Display, battery life
Cons: Too many Windows 7 updates to install, can only hear sound from headphones with some apps.
Pros:web email basic games
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bestrada
(Doral)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Very good product ++++
Pros:streaming video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Matt9881
Title:

Good Laptop at a great price

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:college, home/personal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Larry67
(Texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Love my Dell. Hate the online support.

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have had 3 Dell laptops now and I am really happy with the laptop. It is easy to use and has all the features I could expect. If I had it to do over again I might have gotten 8G of RAM instead of 4 just for added speed, but really 4 is usually quite fast enough.
I am terribly disappointed that Dell has all their sales and technical support overseas. They just cannot understand a problem when stated online or on the phone, and I cannot understand their heavy accents when I talk with them. Very hard to communicate and therefore answer a relatively easy question. For this reason I will probably look at something else when I purchase a new laptop and desktop in a few years.
Pros:email, picture storeing and viewing, accounting
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:jwwalczak
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great performance business laptop!

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I would recommend this product
This machine shipped with a Core i5-430M and 6GB RAM at 1033Mhz. Totally capable machine for handling any number crunching. Everything looks good and your get a 10-key keyboard. The downsides are only that the maximum resolution is only 1366 x 768, and that it only had Intel HD integrated graphics, so powerful enough for gaming without any graphics considerations. However, the reason I bought this model was the price point for the Core i5 platform so that I could easily run heavy-duty 3D vector modeling AutoCAD-like applications, which it handles like a champ!
Pros:autocad
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 58