Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R SE 7520

Inspiron 15R SE 7520

Inspiron 15R SE 7520
3.961 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 253 reviews
5 Stars
115
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
16
1 Star
23
4
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 251
198 out of 25378%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:choohao
Title:

Insprion 15R

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The spec of are amazing!!!
I cant understand why dell will use AMD gpu.
Is this will make the laptop become hot faster?
-88points
34of 156voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Zigorat
(UAE)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Late but Good

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Finally Dell produced it Inspiron notebooks with 2 GB VGA card ! No more insist to get 2 GB VGA card on XPS series only
0points
18of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jo
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

It's pretty good

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Been using for about a week now.
pros
Runs most of the current games well at mid to high settings. Love the aluminium design. Speakers sound good for a laptop.
cons
Gets warm on the lap while surfing the internet. Personally feels that its heavy to lug around when travelling.
Pros:surfing the internet, Gaming
+38points
42of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:magare
Title:

Amazing specs and performance

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Latest specs and well put together.
Nice looking and not trying to copy apple.
Performs great and battery life is good.
Should have an option for SSD drive as the difference is outstanding.
A bit bulky but nothing major.
Overall - great value for money !!!
+33points
35of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:RossNZ
Title:

Great Performance and support.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great perfomance and looks good with the backlit keyboard and HD screen. The 7730m video card gets around 9600 in 3dmark06 and can play current games well with high detail. Startup is quick with the mSata drive - maybe just a little bit quicker than a Seagate hybrid drive.
The one I recevied had a hardware fault causing it to crash (BSOD on the experience index assessment) but the Dell technical support was excellent - they sent a technician out to replace the main board the next day after it was diagnosed via a couple of emails.
Can definitely reccommend, but if it's for a desktop replacement you should go for the 17r version instead with the better video card & larger screen.
Pros:Gaming, cad
+41points
44of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Crazy566
(Tasmania, Australia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Well priced & Featured

PostedJune 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop impressed me over what I found locally and was a reason I decided on buying it.
The specs on the laptop are pretty good so is the styling of it the aluminium gives it a nice look while staying fairly cool.
On the sound side of things this laptop performs very well both speaker wise and noise level.
If your going to expect magic 10hr battery length you would be better with a ultrabook but you wont have what your getting in this laptop, your looking at around 3-5hrs battery depending how you use it.
In my opinion a very good buy and would suit anyone looking at ether a gaming laptop/desktop unit/student laptop or even everyday use.
There is a latch on mine for those switch lids but they are possibly not compatable.
Pros: well featured and designed, very nice keyboard to type on with a pretty good backlight, great little speakers, not full of useless bloatware the included software is actually usable.
Cons: Odd place for the Windows CD key in my opinion It's under the battery but nothing to worry about and thats pretty much only issue I have with the laptop.
Pros:Gaming, internet, school / work, videos
+48points
57of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:BrookeC
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Title:

My new favourite toy

PostedJune 16, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The Inspiron 15R Special Edition is definitely a computer upgrade worth having.
The exterior is classy and attractive. The true to life screen is exceptional and I love having the mobility centre button in such a convenient position. With wifi, battery, brightness, volume, bluetooth and keyboard lighting adjustments just one touch away, it makes a great difference.
The keyboard features rounded island keys which are not only appealing, but easy to type with, other than some other island key boards I have used in the past. The touch pad is large and sensitive to touch which means it is very easy to use.
This laptop has very good specs, the main reason I bought it, for a very reasonable price. Having only had intel pentium and usb 2.0, the upgrade to Ivy Bridge and ub 3.0 has made a tremendous impression. An essential upgrade, really.
The laptop is a comfortable, decent size, and of reasonable weight. The design does look very slender compared to other laptops that are not ultrabooks.
I was also entertained by the preloaded content onto the laptop, featuring FastAccess facial recognition to log in and out of the accounts.
The webcam is fairly decent and the speakers are good quality for a laptop. Good battery life as far as I can tell, I have only had it off charge once as only received yesterday.
Overall I have yet to experience any problems with this laptop. I love it, and as my boyfriend said himself "I would so get this if I didn't already have a new laptop!"
Thanks!
Pros:personal use
+48points
54of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Harris
Title:

this is THE laptop

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
this is what i mean THE laptop.
Marvelous in the inside and on the outside, worth it.
-7points
11of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:StuartS
Title:

This is what I've been waiting for

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
This computer is really nice. It has the latest technology and the display is bright. I would like it more if the power cord was on the back or the right side of the laptop but that is a minor detail. I can play games on this computer.
Pros:games, internet
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Edward
(Penang,Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

value for money,but have little small defect

PostedJune 24, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Been using almost 1 month,i am satisfy with the CPU performance,battery,touch pad,keyboard and speaker.
but here the issue i am facing :
LCD death spot. It's very annoying especially when watching movie,gaming or whatever. I'm understand from Dell support they not replace the LCD because my screen only got 1 death spot!
Wireless adaptor. It's very poor to receiving the signal and sometimes the wifi connection will goes to "Limited access"?My other device like mobile phone,tablet,company laptop are working properly!
does any 15R SE users has same issue with me?
Pros:video, music, games
Response from Dell.comBy SaraTforDellCustomer ReviewsJune 27, 2012
Edward,

Thank you for submitting your review. It good to hear that you are satisfied with your computer overall. You can find information on Dell's pixel policy here:
http://dell.to/MA0zef

When it comes to the wireless adapter, I recommend trying to reinstall the network driver to see if that helps. To download the driver, click this link:
http://dell.to/L1JHic and you can select your system from a list or by your service tag. If you have concerns, you can You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares): http://bit.ly/Hhh2SQ or if you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form: http://bit.ly/HlJ9LZ . A Facebook account is not required to use this form. You will be asked to provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shubham Bansal
(India)
Title:

Nice laptop, but noisy!

PostedJune 24, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using this laptop for over a week now. this laptop is a powerful good looking companion but its a little noisy and heavy.
the processor fan is the noise maker and the place gets hot quickly.
Pros:Gaming, software developement, surfing
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Timmy2012
Title:

A breathe of fresh air.......

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I originally bought the Dell Inspiron 15R N5110 (last gen). I HATED IT. nothing but problems and over heating and frustration. Got this one 2 days ago, and its fast, stays cool, amazing SCREEN!!!!!!!, and great graphics (thanks to the AMD RADEON 7730M 2gb. dell should use more AMD products.)
Not a huge diffrence between 2nd gen intel core i5 and 3rd gen.
The design is amazing. I hate thing laptops, they get way to hot. This is perfect size, shape, & weight. This is a true Dell product. the last few dell laptops have been horrible in design and hardware. THIS is what Dell needs to go back to for customer to return. (now if they'd bring back north American support!) and more info on the screen, it's amazing and breathe taking I LOVE IT. the speakers are 8 / 10 for laptop speakers.
anyways if you're looking for a perfect all around laptop. this is it. and if you're not all about thin laptops and like the bigger (because they run colder) this is the best OPTION. THANK YOU DELL FOR A JOB WELL DONE.
(but seriously, North American support again? thats what made dell what it was back in 2006!, when i had my dell dimension C521)
Pros:music, movies, Gaming, web surfing / mega multi-tasking
+105points
110of 115voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:CodyL1250
(Sandy)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great Laptop but got a problem

PostedJune 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Just got this thing in yesterday to replace my Studio 1458 I got several years ago and I must say it's looking pretty good.
I'm still a student studying computer animation and video game programming so I'll be updating my computers quite frequently. (And being a hardcore PC Gamer on the side)
Haven't really been bothered by the heat as much because when I'm home it's usually on a cooling pad connected to an external monitor, mouse, and keyboard. the graphics are amazing and beautiful, this is my first 1080P monitor laptop so looking at the screen then back at my Studio is a relative Wow!
one bad thing I noticed is that my Optical Drive seems to not fit into the slot properly, it still reads discs and stuff but it hangs down and out by a few millimeters, enough to get snagged on things and get potentially damaged, and since I'm a full time student and will be moving around a lot with the lap top, I'm sure that this will quickly become a problem in both that it my get damaged and dust will get into the system and that's never a good thing.
Hope they can replace my optical drive with one that fits properly, it really is a major concern for me....
other then that Great Product, Solid buy!
Pros:animation, programing, Gaming, digital art
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hwdr
Title:

Sophisticated.. Just the right mixture.

PostedJune 30, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Perfectly balanced features, been one week using it.. Recent games were awesome in High and ultra settings.. Radeon hd 7730m remained cool most of the time.
Skullcandy and maxx 4 makes the machine one of the
best sounding laptops available.
Body is 8/10..Classy looks.. there should be more spacing between usb ports for using broader flash drives and data sticks.
Touch pad and keyboard are perfect..
Broad and ergonomic.. Backlit works nice.
Compact and tough frame. Hexagonal design is nice but catches dust and finger prints often.
Should be introduced with more colour options.
Battery backup is better than previous inspirons. Slightly heavy machine but that's nothing much to worry about.
Processor performed better than sandy bridge i5. 1TB is more than enough. DVD drive responded quick.. Webcam is above average. face recognition worked nice.
Overall.. Awesomly Balanced.. Must buy for Students.
Pros:Gaming, entertainment, studies
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lex
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Inspiron 15R special edition

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Review:
Jumping straight to facts.
If you are mainly going to use the laptop for multimedia purposes(movies+music) or studies(Microsoft office+Google chrome), this is a great laptop and please do upgrade to the full HD screen.
However, for gaming, please do expect:-
low-mid settings (1920x1080 pixels)
mid-high settings (1366x768 pixels)
Thus, for the best gaming experience, it is recommended to use the normal HD screen.
The hexagonal design on the laptop shell is wonderful and gives the laptop a sophisticated feel, however traps dirt easily and has to be regularly cleaned.
Overall a good product from Dell and worth considering for purchase.
Pros:
1. Decent speakers
2. Quick Startup(less than 25 seconds to login screen)
3. Beautiful screen
4. Mostly sturdy laptop chassis(base)
5. Responsive touch pad
6. Quiet laptop(when not gaming or rendering)
Cons:
1. Flimsy "power on" button
2. Fragile optical drive(feels like it will snap accidentally)
3. Soft keyboard(entire keyboard presses into the laptop up to ~2mm.) I suggest the designers add more support to the middle of the keyboard
Pros:videos, Gaming, basic software
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rockhard90s
(Malaysia)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Inspiron 15R SE 7520! Powerful!

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
-Runs well on recent games. MAX PAYNE 3 and Modern Warfare 3!!!
-High Performance! [Fast Rendering!!]
-Smooth multitasking.
-Amazing screen and in-built speaker!
-Elegant look!
-Nice back-lit keyboard.
-Friendly Dell's services.
Cons:
-Soft keyboard. [Worried about over pressing]
-Gets uncomfortable while running high performance due to the hot surface on the left [beside touch-pad, palm resting area], even though you put it on hard flat surface and with cooling pad.
-Drivers seem to be unstable. Poorly optimized. Slow Windows starting [Not Dell boot-up]. I had reformatted and reinstalled drivers, running clean install, and it's still the same. I'm hoping for the next updated drivers to be release as soon as possible.
The only thing i regretted is that i did not buy it later. I missed the rebate, ssd hard drive and upgrade offer to win 8. Disappointing! It was just a week!!!
Anyway, I love my machine so much and I'm very proud to own it! Highly Recommend!
Pros:graphics, internet, Gaming, video rendering, 3d rendering, music recording
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PrasadW
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Laptop Great Features Great Value

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Got this one last week .Delivered in exactly 10 days.Too many good features i just dont know where to start ...
Pros:
Performance is Simply Fast and I mean WAY fast.
Quick Startup(but still could be better).
You can do multitasking with heavy graphics applications and emulators with response as lightning fast.(Thats 3rd gen i7)
As for gaming too,I ran almost all games (like Crysis 2,Skyrim,BF3) with full on settings (including 2xAA) at around 30-35fps.(Thanks to AMD)
Display is crisp clear.
Less heating even with all day heavy duty.
Very Satisfied here.
Build & Design is Sophisticated & Sturdy.
Good.Perfect shape and size.
Good Dell Services too.
Cons:
A bit overweight.
Keyboard keys sometimes get stuck(really annoying .The ctrl key got stuck 7 times out of 10).
Low battery Life.
Overall:
I like this one despite some problems.I am very happy with the performance and for the same reason I would recommend it to anyone.Its a great laptop you shouldn't miss to buy.
Pros:development, Gaming, web designing
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KidA
(Surat, India)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

a certified badass !

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We had ordered 2 Inspiron 15R SE models after i checked out the demo piece in a dell exclusive showroom.
Obviously i was impatient to get it delivered to our doorsteps at earliest. And surprisingly i received both the laptops 3 days before EDD !!! Honestly dell.. it was a total surprise. Couldn't be more happy.
After using it for couple of days for almost all type of applications.. which includes gaming, post processing software, web surfing etc etc.. i have reached conclusion that we have hit a pot of gold for what we paid. Its not bulky, it has brilliant screen, audio is decent and graphics .. well with the little wonder HD7730m.. We are riding things with heavenly smoothness right now. And with keyboard with backlit adds a total charm to work with. And not to forget the honeycomb texture and stealth black colored body. Well we are enjoying being center of attraction for now.
Thank you Dell.
Hope you keep on providing even brighter products and services in future.
Pros:post processing, Gaming, editing, Travel
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:PeterY
(Massachusetts)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Poor build quality for the money spent.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received the 7520 model laptop yesterday and spent the whole day today testing it out. I really like the honeycomb surfaces. It adds a nice touch, but can be finger print heavy. The laptop can look a bit thick, but I already knew that when I bought it. I really enjoy the features that this model has to offer especially the switchable graphics. There are also three usb ports and one for power sharing. No problems with overheating or anything like loud fan noises.
The problems arise when I open the lid. The webcam has a square peice covering it that looks like it can be a cheap sticker. It was crooked and tilted to the left. I can use my nails to move it back in place, which makes me believe that the square peice is just a sticker.
Another problem is the power button. As someone else has mentioned, it is flimsy and mine was also crooked as well. The light around the border of the power button really shows how bad it is. It is not nice to look at every time you have to use it.
Now the worst part is the blu-ray drive. When it is closed, the tray wiggles about freely. When it is opened, there are so many moving parts (parts that aren't supposed to be moving). I feel like if I inserted a dvd, it would snap off the tray eventually.
Overall, the laptop perfoms well for my personal needs, but the build quality is definitely lacking.
Pros:school work, light gaming, video conversion, web browsing email etc.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsJuly 13, 2012
PeterY,

Glad to hear that overall the Inspiron 15R SE is performing well for your personal needs. Thanks for taking the time to tell us how it's working out for you.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mcfarljw
(Cincinnati)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

A laptop aimed at portable productivity

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
For the price this laptop is packed with some of the latest and greatest from the laptop computing world. 6-8gb of ram and a i5-7 processor depending on the package you select will keep your applications running smoothly. The 2gb AMD graphics card will even let you play games in between work.
I always try to buy a laptop that has decent speakers, but laptops often get a bad image in that department. This an my previous Dell always get commented on for the volume and sound quality by friends when comparing them to their laptops. The backlit keyboard and soft keys are so much nicer to deal with than past configurations.
If you're looking for an all around laptop that has power, then this is a great choice. I'm more than happy with it.
Pros:software development, web development
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13