Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R SE 7520

Inspiron 15R SE 7520

Inspiron 15R SE 7520
3.93 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 257 reviews
5 Stars
116
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
16
1 Star
26
3.9
 / 
5
(257 reviews) 255
199 out of 25777%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Nat20
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Not Recommended

PostedJuly 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only had this laptop for a year an the performance had deteriorated significantly. I can rarely play games on it without it freezing.
Recently the laptop could not connect to any internet source, and after trying to get help from Dell, they refused to help because my warranty expired (out-of-warranty service only runs Mon-Fri, and this problem occurred on a Saturday).
Initially it was good an stylish, but not worth the investment and am considering having to already buy a new laptop.
Definitely would not recommend to anyone. Certain everyone can get a better laptop and for a better price!
Pros:appearance
Cons:performance, durability
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cartel
(chip)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Hardcore Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great laptop

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I honestly wanted a PC. however, i knew i would be moving around a lot and decided upon a laptop. I looked around for a long time- i had about £650 to spend, however would prefer not to spend it all. The PC i built online cost almost all of the money and of course was not portable.
Onto the laptop:
pros
Pros:
Great backlit keyboard
responsive touchpad
4 USB ports and
good speakers
fast interface
amazing graphics card
strong inbuilt wireless card
i use two monitors, a mouse and headset which uses a lot of the ports, however the computer is always extremely quiet and cool, even when playing games such as medieval total war 2 and watching various videos/streams at the same time
light
good screen
probably the best laptop for the price
Cons:
Doesnt look great, i dont like the rounded side and it doesnt look modern
the graphics card inside(this is AMD's fault, not dell's) needs updating regularly, meaning if you dont install the latest drivers every program is automatically run on the integrated card, which is terrible.
battery life isnt brilliant- but i always have it plugged in and so isnt an issue for me
can take a long time to start up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jfl88
(Calgary, AB, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Casual Gaming
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

I would return it if i could.

PostedJune 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The dual graphics cards do not work. Dells support on the latest drivers that are compatible with each other is terrible. Intel and AMD graphics conflict and any update windows recommends turns into a re-installation of dells old drivers. And playing a game don't even think about it. If your drivers do work you have to tell the program to use the AMD card. My advice DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT unless you want to constantly be fighting with drivers and conflicting software.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Scottvfx
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Nothing but problems

PostedMay 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
The specs are very misleading, i had previously owned a computer that had the same specs that was also a dell. It just simply doesn't have the power it should for the hardware that it has. The graphics driver is constantly crashing and causing glitches. I have owned it for a year now and it kind of works, it requires restarting because of freezes a few times a day. I am extremely disappointed and i will never be buying from dell again. I do not recommend even considering this for anyone.
Pros:great doorstopper, decent paperweight but too large
Cons:everything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:srockyjs
(Lynbrook, NY, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Dissappointed

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned 3 different desktops and laptops from Dell. Each one went at least 4 years before any problems arose! I was very happy with them. Then I purchased this Inspiron 15R and have already called for service twice, replaced the hard drive once and had to reload the whole system with a flash drive that was sent me once. I've only had this 11 months at this time! For all the time I had to spend to get it back to working and the frustration I went thru, to say I was disappointed is an understatement. This has made me think 3 times before purchasing another Dell pc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Gsmart04
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Some Initial Bumps But All Excellent Now

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Bought this back in June near the end of the month. It worked fine except the AMD 7700m video card gave me problems on the Civilization V game. It would crash that program and reboot the system every time I tried to use the game with the 'high-performance' (i.e., AMD ) setting. The game worked fine on the Intel Video but I was perplexed as to why it wouldn't run on the faster GPU.
After MANY phone calls with Dell Tech Support and many downloads of drivers, I became frustrated and wrote an email to AMD to see if they could offer a solution. Didn't hear from them for 3 weeks then got an email from AMD telling me that they had misrouted my request for help and they put me in touch by phone with an AMD Tech Rep.
He was great! In just 20 minutes he determined that my AMD GPU was simply not functioning. A call to Dell brought out a specialist to my house the next day who installed a new motherboard and everything has been great since.
All in all, it's great hardware for a great price.
Recommended!
Pros:great performance, good price for features
Cons:windows 8 is not so hot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Parker26
(Sparta, WI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

My first laptop

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this laptop to help me with high school homework, net surfing, and some gaming. So far its been very reliable and easy to use. It's the fourth Dell laptop we've purchased. The other three are still being used and fully functional. One of them is ten years old.
Pros:good for homework, good graphics card
Cons:youtube app doesn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JMFMagic
(Sacramento, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R Edition

PostedNovember 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a Dell laptop 17" screen years ago and have been very happy with it so I bought 15R Inspiron I have not been happy with this Dell purchase. When you are typing, cursor jumps all over, you can't tell what you hit. There are so many flukes that I would never recommend this product to anyone. Very unhappy.
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 26, 2013
Hello JMFMagic.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with your Inspiron 15R SE (7520). I am sorry to hear you are having issues with your touchpad. This can easily be rectified by opening the Dell Touchpad Control Center and adjusting the touch sensitivity. Make sure to hit apply after each settings change. It make take several tries to find the setting that is right for you. If you are having other concerns we can help with, reach out to our Dellcares team.

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://dell.to/14T7mnW)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/1cXzZdN)

They can help!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:unify11
(Everett, WA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Laptop with enough processing for video editing.

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Good price on this laptop that's capable of editing HD video.
I was looking for a laptop to replace my several year-old model. I decided to step up and get one that was able to edit HD video. When this one came up on sale I jumped at it.
The lighted keyboard makes it easy to work in dim light. It didn't come with near as much bloatware as I'm used to and what was on there was easy to uninstall.
Pros:lighted keyboard, high-quality keyboard
Cons:heavy for a laptop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Manoz9277
(Long Beach, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great machine for the money

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I needed a desktop replacement and this machine meets my word processing, surfing and gaming needs too!
THe device seems to be sturdy but a little on the heavier side, I dont mind that too much as its supposed to sit on a desk.
Pros:sturdy build quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:czcz
(Edison, NJ)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Good item!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop runs well and the speed is acceptable. The only problem is that it use windows 8 system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Yihua
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great deal

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased the Inspiron 15 5700 originally, that computer didn't work well, after about two months' fixing, the problem still exists, then the stuff exchanged a brand new Inspiron 15 7000 series for me. The Inspiron 15 7000 is a great computer, the outlook is amazing, and the performance is excellent. I would definitely recommend it to other friends
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jacque61
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R Special Edition Laptop

PostedNovember 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a few issues that my IT person has had to resolve. The one thing I've been surprised is how slow my service is. I've had my internet checked from my provider and it's not coming from that side. Plus, it was faster on my old Dell. This one is adequate, by honestly for the amount of money I paid for it, I am not blown away.
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsDecember 5, 2013
Hey Jacque61,

Sorry to hear that your Inspiron 15R SE laptop isn't as awesome as you hoped it would be.

If there is anything we can do to help you improve this experience, please use the information below to contact us. The team members below will get you taken care of.
Please reach out to our Dell Support Team at:

• Dell Community Forums – Laptops-
http://dell.to/1bGj9uO
• You can contact our Dell Cares Team on Twitter (@DellCares):
http://dell.to/16KU93m
• If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can also go to Dell’s Facebook Support Form:
http://bit.ly/15zzg95
A Facebook account is required to use this option. Please use the message button and provide your Name, service tag, email address and a brief description of the issue.”

Thank you. JGB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:bestmedicine
(Long Island, New York, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great value

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
For the money, the special edition boasts a core i7, high def monitor, video card, 1Tb HDD, 8Gb ram and most importantly windows 7. I also love the backlit keyboard. So far it runs flawlessly.
Pros:windows 7, core i7, high def
Cons:none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Snowman42
(Hinton, AB)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fine but a few glitches

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've had this computer almost a year. Overall I'm happy with it. I have been buying Dells for about 20 years now, and although I've heard they're not quite what they used to be for a similar price point product, I still prefer them over other brands I've tried. This one, for it's price range, has been serving me quite well. I had trouble with its wireless until I got support from customer service, after which it has been perfect. (Disclosure: I'm not a computer wiz so I rely on support to help with troubleshooting when something doesn't go right.)
Overall it's been fine - sounds good, ports are good, sturdy construction and clear camera - but as another poster said, it isn't as fast and furious as I would have expected from a new machine with an i7 processor. I tried running streaming video and it stops and buffers on some heavy sites where our other, older computer doesn't, despite being on the same Internet system.
I was also extremely disappointed with the short battery life. I only get less than an hour before the warning sign comes up. It is usually plugged in and so the battery has only been "used" a handful of times (i.e., used completely unplugged approximately 8 times in less than a year). Is this normal? I think I got a dud, but I'm sure there is no recourse for batteries in the warranty.
Pros:overall good value
Cons:getting really short battery life
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:MsChrissyG
(New York)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

First day thoughts

PostedNovember 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I only just received it this morning, but I've been on it almost non-stop getting it set up and transferring files and just taking it for a spin in general to test it out. At this point, it's okay. I was really excited to get it because I was under the impression that it was going to be really fast.
My experiences so far, it's taking longer than the computer I'm replacing to do just about anything from logging in to surfing the net to transferring files. When I chose this system, I saw the 3+ Ghz processing speed and thought this thing was going to literally fly. I never saw anything in the details that said it was only with the turbo boost so this was disappointing. I only noticed the real deal when I decided to check the properties of the system because it seemed to be running slower than it should be for being brand new and a good processor.
One thing you don't offer than I'm truly missing with my old computer is a fingerprint scanner. I valued it when I had it, but I had no idea how much it truly made things easier for me until I had to start functioning without one. My kids each have a user and each their own passwords. It's difficult to remember 4 different logins at any given moment, especially when they keep changing them because their siblings would find out their passwords. Solution... I simply scanned one of my prints on each of their users so I could just scan a finger and not even flinch. Now I have to start memorizing the entire family's logins again.
For whatever reason, I always find myself with power outlets on my right, but the cord plugs into the laptop on the left, so the cord is always bent sharply. With my last Dell computer a few years back, this was an issue as well and honestly, had I remember this when I was shopping around for a laptop, this might have actually been a deal breaker because we went through several cords because either the casing on the cord would start to crack and expose wires, the wires inside the cord would become damaged and you would have to place the cord 'just right' to maintain a connection, or both... and there is no coverage on cord damage if memory serves me right. I am deeply dreading having to start that process all over again :(
I'm not sure if it's possible to update these reviews or to do more than one review, but I felt compelled to write now before I forgot any of those first impression thoughts. I will return after I've had it for a longer period to give it a fair chance.
Pros:feels stury, backlight dims when idle, 4 usb ports
Cons:plug placement
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 7, 2013
Hi MsChrissyG,

I want to thank you for taking your time and posting here about your experiences with the powerful Inspiron 15R Special Edition laptop! I am glad that your initial impressions have been pleasurable overall. I recommend going to the "Uninstall a Program" section of the Control Panels and check to see if anything seems out of place and could be removed safely. Fingerprint scanners are available on our Latitude laptops and it does seem that most power supplies are on the left side! Currently, there is not a way to update/edit your posts but feel free to post more thoughts on a new post in the future. I recommend reaching out to our @DellCares team on Twitter or the Customer Care forums if you have any issues that need our assistance!

@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ
@DellCares on Facebook -
http://dell.to/1czSRP0
Dell Customer Care Forums -
http://dell.to/GHSc0p

Hope this helps!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Hippie22
(Boynton Beach, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Horrible Support...But a pretty decent computer

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
First off id like to say that this computer overall is very nice...once all the problem were fixed that is.
It all started with my BRAND NEW computer shutting down when it was supposed to sleep. Had to set up a Dell Connect session to remote in to my computer to try to fix the problem. Didnt work.
It ended up needing its motherboard replaced. I had to take 2 days off from work to get this fixed(the first day the onsite techs showed up with the wrong part!!).
Then after that was replaced the touch pad stopped working!!
All in all its taken close to a month to get my BRAND NEW computer in proper working order.
And im sorry, maybe its just me, but i dont think a BRAND NEW computer should have had any problems what so ever to begin with!!
(On top of it all i never received my 5% back e-gift card...just saying)
So in the end is this a good computer, yes. But the service/support leaves a LOT to be desired.
Pros:fast, easy to use, good price for what you get
Cons:horrible support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:violetblue5
(California, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I liked that this was very smooth, fast, and sleek, since I multitask a lot between windows. I love it. The one downside of this was that whenever I wrote on a interactive PDF, searched things up on the web for a little while, then went back to the PDF, it didn't save. But I think it has to do with the program. Overall, it was great and I love my computer. I have already bought a Dell, and I thought it was great as well so I went ahead and bought this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kidalex92
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Extremely Impressed pt 2

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Had to make another acc to continue my review.
Drivers and graphics card: YOU MUST UPDATE YOUR DRIVERS. Preferably I used a program called SlimDrivers which made things easy. If you want to make use of the graphics card you have to have the most recent driver update, then go to your devices and make sure there are no exclamation marks next to your pc. If there are there may be drivers that haven't been updated, not just for your graphics card but for other things as well. Once everything is updated and you have restarted right click on the front of your screen and click configure switchable graphics. This will allow you to select what runs on integrated and dedicated. You may also want to search and access your power settings from the start menu. This will allow you to optimize the power and performance on your laptop.
Sound: I have yet to really figure out how to make the sound better. I have played with the multiple sound settings but this laptop is not as loud as I think it could be. The quality is nice, the volume is just medium.
Touchpad: The touchpad reacts well and you can change the touch pad settings by typing dell touchpad in the start menu.
Resolution: The 1080p is just crisp and looks wonderful.
Connectivity: The laptop uses an Intel Centrino which gives you 300mbps of connectivity so no worries there.
Overall: This is an amazing dell product and at the right price can be the perfect buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R SE 7520
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:kidalex91
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Extremely Impressed

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
Looks: This laptop looks fantastic. Nice black hard cover on the front and inside. There is a nice aluminum outline around the black so it blends well. The black does show finger smudges but it's not that big a deal, it can be wiped. Keys look nice and the feature keys (F1-F12 except F7,mute and FN) have a nice orange accent. The LED lighting is very nice and noticeable. I also like when you press the Caps lock it lights on a little area on the key to let you know that caps are on.
Keys: The keys are very easy to the touch and react well. Every click goes through and comes down softly. The F1-12 keys all have features as stated before, for example one turns off the wifi while another toggles through the led lighting. There are 3 keys on the top right, each with a different purpose. The 1st one to the left opens the Windows Mobility Center which gives you options for display, volume, bluetooth and more. The 2nd key gives you 4 different sound options. The 3rd key just blacks out your monitor but everything still runs, sort of like the power button on computer monitors.
Value: I got this laptop for 500 off using an online coupon so it came out to about $850 with shipping and tax. Without the coupon you can already tell what the price would have been so this laptop is expensive, but if you search you may find a coupon to knock down the price a bit. This leads to my 4 star in value.
Performance: With a 4 core i7 all you can expect is fast. This laptop cruises, especially with the 8gb of ram and 750-1tb hard-drive. The intel turbo boost technology is especially cool as it changes the ghz of your laptop depending on how much you're doing, so for example if I'm playing a game my ghz may for go from 2.2 to 2.7 or 3.1. This does increase heating of course but I'll get to that after. The laptops startup time varies, as I have alot of programs and backround programs booting up on startup it takes me about 2 minutes to get fully running. After that everything is good to go and extremely fast.
Graphics: Not the best, but definitely not the worst. A nice medium graphics card gives this laptop great gaming performance. With the Intel integrated graphics you can change between graphics cards depending on what you're doing. There are issues you can run into with the graphics cards but that will be stated in my drivers section of this review.
Heating: I was so impressed by the cooling on this laptop that I had to give dell props. The fan exhausts air through a vent on the left of the laptop where the processor is located. This thing keeps the laptop cool-warm. It is nowhere near hot unless you begin playing a game. Now if you are playing a game using the Intel Integrated graphics then again heating is not an issue, however once the AMD card comes into play it does get a bit hot. However after playing for 2 hours without extra cooling I had no problems, and once I stopped gaming temps went right back to normal.
Have to make a part 2
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13