Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R N5110

Inspiron 15R N5110

Inspiron 15R N5110
3.342 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
11
3.3
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
23 out of 3861%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R N5110
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:arjaywall
(San Diego, California)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Dell - Always a Good Buy!

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I've been purchasing Dell products for the past 9 years...I've had several laptops, a couple of desktops, and I have always been pleased with the products, the service, and the performance of each computer.
My latest purchase of an Inspiron 15R laptop is no different. Being new to Windows 7, I was a bit hesitant about jumping into a new Operating System that was different that XP, but I have found that it is very easy to use and a lot faster than my XP machine. The design of the laptop is very sleek and lightweight, the graphics are very clear, and the keyboard very responsive.
Overall, I would highly recommend a Dell product to any of my friends and family, I've never been disappointed!
Pros:Travel, college, mmorpg gaming, other entertainment
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JNIC
(Estes Park, CO)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Nothing but trouble from almost day one

PostedMarch 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros
Nice feel and keyboard with good speed.
Cons
After two days computer would not boot up to anything but the Drive C cursor. Dell sent me 3 or th 4 disks to a complete reinstall of Windows 7. A tech did the reinstall but now I have lost all the buttons and whistles that came with the computer. Things worked OK until I started getting "autocheck program not found". A tech resolved this problem. A few days later the Display On/Off Button stopped working. A tech run 5 programs and fixed this but as I started using programs determined 7 of my programs had been disabled which I fixed. The Dell Support Button does not work and if you want to connect a monitor or projector forget it, there is NO way to keep it in place. The slightest movement of the laptop or monitor cable and the monitor connection is broken. I am sitting here with a laptop that is not fully functional. All of this has happened within 6 weeks of getting the computer, I think I got a lemon and this computer should be replaced. I have 2 Dell desktops and another Dell laptop that have never given me any problems but I will never buy anothr Dell computer.
Pros:home and small business
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TMad
(Houston)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Total waist of money

PostedJuly 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased two of these end of May 2012. By mid June they started having problems booting and shutting down. Contacted technical support and they informed me that one needs a new hard drive and the second needs a new hard drive and a new motherboard. I have been using computers for 20 years never have I had to change a motherboard or hard drive.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Henderson, Nevada)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Not all that I dreamed it would be

PostedJune 4, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this laptop shortly before leaving for College last July and in short it is just not cut out for college.
It just squeaked by my first year before the hard drive failed, I sent it in to get it serviced and recently got it back. Not sure how long this hard drive will last.
I would probably recommend a more powerful computer to my friends and future college goers.
If you do decide to buy it, be sure to get the extended warranty unless you can replace the parts yourself after the warranty runs out.
Pros:college, personal use
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mshillin1
(Pennsylvania, PA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Changable lids for laptops

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop is not bad for the price. However, I would NOT recommend the changing covers to anyone. It does not stay on the laptop and basically, was a waste of money. And I also had to wait 4 weeks for the cover to come in.
The chaning lid was an extra $100 for something that does NOT stay on the computer!!!!!!!
Pros:personal use
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:marytexas
(texas)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

love my laptop

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
i LOVE this laptop. it works very effectiently. i have had no problems or issues with the machine and it is easy for my kids and hubby to use.
Pros:School, Gaming
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:hasbeen
Title:

inspiron 15 n5110

PostedMarch 23, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I despise this computer. If it wasn't so much money, I would take a shotgun to it in the desert! Jumps around, shuts down, closes pages, loses typing, etc. Total waste of money. I've tried tech support in past and wasn't able to understand the broken English - waste of time.
On the other hand, my 10 year old dell desktop is still great. Love it.
Pros:home
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:brotheryang
(A decaying midwestern city)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great value and performance

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
No real complaints here with this computer. The performance is great, I have no problem surfing the web, playing music and running a couple of apps. The keys feel good and are responsive. CD burner is quiet and smooth when it's being used. My only criticism would be to put the usb ports closer together and to have them on the right side, but that may just be a personal preference thing. All in all a great machine!
Pros:work, music, surfing, personal
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:valants
(Iowa)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Keyboard is awful.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so disappointed with the keyboard on this laptop, I have constant errors when typing because the touch pad is so sensitive. Find my cursor jumping all over the place when I'm typing and whole sentences are deleted. I have to be practically on top of the keyboard to get accurate results. Power cord is not in a good place. The computer itself works fine, it just needs a complete overhaul of the keyboard
Pros:home
+11points
26of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mpowers
Title:

Not what I expected

PostedAugust 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I previously bought a Dell Inspiron 530 desktop and loved it so much that I ordered this one for the cottage.
It had driver conflicts and stopped working on day 3.
Dell support got it working again but all of the 3rd Party software (that you buy extra) that comes with it (like Nero) keeps interfering with the computer operation.
Will I buy another Dell - Probably not
Pros:home use and internet
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:chikchat29
(Lexington, Ky)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Dell Lover!!

PostedApril 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am a Dell lover all the way. Having several teenagers in my home, and returning to college myself, we love our Dell laptops! Notice, I say laptopsssssss. Yes, we have more than one. Three to be exact. One purple, one black, and one grassy green. We have also bought a Sony Viao, HP, and Gateway. I will never recommend any of those computer systems. I wish I had bought Dell the very first time, I woldn't have wasted so much money on the other three systems. My Dell laptops are so user friendly, that even my five and nine year olds do their homework and play games on them. The only problem we've run into is finding a laptop that is available to use! I cannot think of cons to purchasing my Dell's. Technical support is great and very helpful. I've only called once and it turned out to be a problem with my HP printer, not the laptop. So, I guess next on my list will be to purchase a Dell printer! Thanks Dell!
Pros:personal use, school use, home buisness use
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:couurtneyf
(Reynoldsburg Ohio)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Great!

PostedApril 11, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Pros:
I am just in love with this product. I love the switchable lids because you can put your own little style in it. I also love the fact that the weather has an icon on the desktop. It makes it so easy to see the weather. I love how fast the computer is and how it's very strict on backing up your information if something were to happen. I got the laptop as a graduation present, even though I knew I was getting it cause I picked it out myself. I think it will be a perfect laptop for college and help me with everything I need. I also recommend buying the microsoft office program! it's always helpful even if you arnt a student
Cons:
I don't have any really
Review:
Thanks so much dell, I recommend you too all my friends and family!
Pros:college, home use
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
(Marion, NC)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

I finally got it!

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
I really love my computer. I am so glad that I chose Dell. The picture is so clear and the key pad is so easy to use. The battery has lasted me about a week for my own use. I have bought this computer for the purpose of online classes. I would strongly recommend this computer!
Pros:online classes
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:NCFAM
(NC)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

Does It All

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Ease of use
Fast processor
Good for teaching/powerpoint/etc.
Great for college students
Good sound
Pros:teaching, college classes, streaming movies/tv, work projects
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ctcraw1297
(Vero Beach Florida)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
Title:

fast and clear

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
Computer with I5 processor is fast and screen clarity is exceptional. Performs all tasks with speed. Agreat performer that I would purchase again.
Pros:emails, work, research, stream video40643
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:UsedDellForAnYear
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
Title:

Worst brand of lappy's

PostedOctober 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just hated my one year of dell experience.. soo many issues in a single year, problem on hard drive, lcd screen, sound system, crashed twice,
Pros:software development, entertainment
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:sadproduct
Title:

Poor Quality

PostedJuly 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Dell laptop in 2005 and it was a great product for years. Finally, it was time to upgrade and I bought the Dell 15R. 4 weeks later it completely crashed and wiped my hard drive. I use my computer for school purposes so this was incredibly frustrating. Besides the system failure, this computer is assembled with poor quality. It overheats very quickly and the fans constantly run. The disc drive is very flimsy and feels like it is going to break every time I open it. The entire keyboard shakes when I type. Even for being a brand new system, it runs very slow, and I'm used to an eight year old laptop. Overall, I would not purchase this computer again, and certainly would not recommend it to anyone, and am even questioning buying another Dell product in the future.
Pros:School, email, presentations
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Jbuchphoto
Title:

Awesome Laptop !!

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
We got my laptop as a second computer for my wife at our studio . It is quick and works perfect for her needs ! I would highly recommend this computer for anyone who wants a Good Laptop .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:DanTruby
(GA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
Title:

Great Buy and awesome service

PostedMay 23, 2012
Yes, I would recommend this product
After much research and looking into every laptop manufacturer out there, I went ahead and ordered this computer. I can say now that after about a month of owning it, I don't think I could have purchased a better computer for my needs. everything about this works very smoothly and is very user friendly.
When I had a question about hardware, the service department was very knowledgeable and helpful.
Pros: The push to TV, the large Hard Drive, the USB 3.0, the size, the number pad for working in excel.
Con: some of the Dell proprietary software-- was pretty easy to remove and replace with my own though.
Pros:surfing the internet, watching movies, streaming movies to tv, office work
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R N5110
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Cam9
(California)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Awful product

PostedMarch 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop is a lemon. The following problems have occurred repeatedly over the last nine months and many of the same components have been replaced several times.
Motherboard failure - resulted in complete failure of laptop. Has been replaced twice in the last month.
Battery and A/C adapter failed - the battery would not hold a charge and/or the A/C adapter was not working. Both were replaced at least twice.
Wireless network adapter failed - no network adapter found, unable to load drivers for the device, etc. This occurred several times. The adapter has been replaced several times, including with a different model.
Keyboard - keys popping off, occurred several times. It has been replaced two or three times (twice within the last month).
Touchpad - unresponsive and/or behaving strangely. The cursor flies around the screen while typing and places itself in another area; must watch carefully to make sure text is still going where desired. The touchpad buttons don't work well and are mushy. The touchpad panel has been replaced two or three times (twice within the last month).
Above was only a short synopsis of the problems with this laptop. I can't even think of the good things about it at this point. I am afraid to store any information on it for fear it will be lost. Basically I can surf the web, that is IF the WiFi works. Although that said, lately it has trouble rendering web pages resulting in many error messages.
To summarize, it is a lemon. Simple as that. Rather than telling its customers to "call the next time it breaks", Dell should stand behind their product. If it is a failure, replace it. This was my first experience with Dell and most likely my last.
Cons:service and promises of replacement never happen.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2