Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537
3.595 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 168 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
21
1 Star
21
3.6
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 168
112 out of 16867%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

very bad

PostedAugust 23, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
very bad i am not satisfied
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

disappointed!

PostedAugust 10, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my Insiron 5537 for a week and a half, it's not any faster the my previous laptop. In fact it's much slower. I had an i3 processor before and was expecting this computer to be much faster as advertised. But it's not. It "pauses" a lot and when I use the touch pad I have to wait for the curser to "wake up".
Maybe it's me, I doubt it.
Starting to look like a return!
Disappointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Do not buy

PostedJuly 29, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard disk problem since the day i purchased the laptop. Spent 8000 bucks to get it replaced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

very bad

PostedJuly 29, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
This laptop working is very bed....This laptop work slower than intel core i3.To perches this laptop is the biggest misteck of mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Since you asked...

PostedJuly 29, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
My computer was always slow and crashed frequently. With the help of dell tech support on the phone we "fixed a bug", re-installed windows TWICE, new hard drive TWICE. Finally a year and a half later, after spending hours and hours of my time on the phone AND eventually having a techy friend work on installing my drivers etc I finally seem to have a computer that works. Thanks Dell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Computer speed

PostedJuly 19, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer is slower than the other coputers. This has some advantegres. The keyboad, display and touchpad is a little better than the others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Dell. What happend?

PostedJuly 7, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
The computer was working just fine. Then one day, I press the power button, and it just wouldn't turn on. After a half hour I see it's on, telling me I need to reboot the entire system. When the reboot is finished, all of my software including my virus protection is gone. My Microsoft Word, my FL Studio's Trial, my Symantech, everything. The reboot also required me to put in one of my flash drives. After the reboot, it my drive to the brim and I can't even use it anymore. What happened? Why did my computer do this? The windows telling me I needed to be rebooted were under your name. Was there some kind of update that I just had to download or else my heart drive would explode? I want to know and I want you to know, because right now I'm not impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Title:

Working

PostedJune 13, 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Actually the system crashed i had to revert the updates, bad pool header is always coming up and restarting in middle of work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Nottinghamshire, UK)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

It won't work.

PostedJune 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this laptop for four months now and it simply doesn't work. After max 30 mins of being turned on, it shuts down and some of the apps simply won't open or function. Dell refuses to help with these issues without charging me and this laptop is not cheap for what you get.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Santa Rosa, CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

If I could give it less than 1 star I would

PostedMay 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
This computer was the biggest mistake I have made when buying a computer. I've bought Dells in the past and never had a problem so I thought this would be no different. Boy was I wrong. It likes to update and then never stop forcing you to manually shut it off. Sometimes it comes back on, sometimes it doesn't. When turning it on it often does not load Windows properly and will tell you this with no way of getting it going back again without turning it on and off several times for it to start again. It has deleted my Windows Picture gallery for no reason and I've lost many photos because of this. I am trying to install software that the computer says is not there but the new program says is so I can't use something that I have purchased. The touch screen also works when it feels like it which is not all the time. All in all a nightmare computer.
Pros:none
Cons:everything
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Chicago, IL)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

worst choice ever to buy Dell Inspiron 15R 5520

PostedApril 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have Inspiron 5520 from March 2013, till date I have issues with this system.
1.Wifi doesn't work properly and got it replaced 3 times.. still disconnecting frequently.
2. OS is one of the major issue, windows 8.1 has lot of issues with this system.
3. HDD Issue: All of a sudden my HDD failed and I've lost complete data. Hdd has to be replaced.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

dissapointed

PostedMarch 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is the second 15r I purchased, the first didn't last past turning it on, the second one is the cursor seems to do what it wants, if it lands on a program it will open it up, again, again and again. there is hardly any software on it, just lots and lot of apps that lead you to there store , then you have to buy the darn thing. all the support is in India, a land of which they speak very little English or they will just hang up
Response from Dell.comBy JohnBforDellCustomer ReviewsMarch 17, 2014
Hello Jerked,

We want to thank you for taking some time to post about your experiences with your Inspiron 15R laptop. We apologize for the frustrations you have been experiencing. As a general rule when encountering issues, we always recommend updating the latest system’s drivers from Dell’s Support website. Updating the Touch Pad driver should help alleviate any issues you are currently having.

Dell Drivers – support.dell.com

Please enter your System Service Tag. When the application shows your system, click on the “Get Drivers and Downloads” tab which is located on the left of the page. When your system drivers are shown, page down to the “Mouse, Keyboard, and Input Devices”. Select the Version 16.3.13.5, A00.

Our engineers are always listening to our customers for feedback on our products. This allows us to be proactive in providing prompt solutions and updates to enhance the user’s experience.

Thank you for choosing Dell.

JGB
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Richmond, VA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Not what I expected for the price

PostedMarch 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this laptop because I needed one in a hurry for school. This laptop is uncomfortable to use. The edges on the laptop where your wrists would sit to use the keyboard are sharp. I could use an external keyboard but then what is the point of having a laptop. I will be returning this laptop.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Nashville, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:5-6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

faulty equipment

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this laptop and within 4 months Dell replaced a motherboard, the hard drive and now the mouse pad is not working. I am being offered a refurbished computer to replace this computer that in 4 months has been refurbished. I wish I could say good things as I did not buy a new computer to have a refurbished one in 4 short months. More than disappointing, and now after many hours of trying to get help, I am now being ignored. Sad.
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Ohio, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great if you like DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION crashes

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
or Critical Process crashes. Get DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION multiple times per day. The worse computer and operating system I have ever had or used.
Windows 8 stinks and Microsoft has a monopoly on the operating system. Microsoft doesn't know the difference between improvement and change. Windows 8 is a change but DOS has is beat for improvement.
Pros:still trying to find one
Cons:crashes all the time, windows 8 needs boycotted
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(India)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Entertainment
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Battery Discharges very fast

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
After six months of usage batter capacity has been reduce to 50%. And as per customer support, its normal behavior and they can't replace until it damages completely
+12points
18of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Temecula, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Expensive slow brick

PostedDecember 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this laptop as a gift for wife for Christmas to replace her 3 year old desktop. Computer is slow, worst problem is wireless connection speed is dismal at best. The desktop connects at twice the Mbps over its wireless connection and it is three years old. I have tried tech support. Hung up on twice, once told "well it is connecting to the internet" and fourth time over an hour without a single setting checked on wireless card. Only diagnostic tools run. I have no time to return this before Christmas. I will never buy or recommend Dell to anyone ever again.
Pros:shinny
Cons:overpriced, low performance, wireless a joke
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsJanuary 6, 2014
Hello LNJR,

Thank you for posting a review here about your new Inspiron 15R laptop. Wireless connectivity issues are often complex and can be quite frustrating, so henceforth I understand what you are going through. I assume that your desktop has a larger WiFi antenna than the internal one on the laptop. If your network is experiencing heavy interference from other networks or sources, it might make performance degraded, especially on computers with smaller antennas. Have you tried scanning the networks in your area and changing the router channel to avoid other networks? If you run 2.4GHz, channels 1, 6 and 12 are good to try and if your network is 5Ghz, try 149 or 157. I also recommend checking out the Dell Community Forums, it is like a crowd-sourced place to find non-traditional answers that our Dell technicians might have overlooked. Also, feel free to reach out to our SOS Response Team and see if they can help you achieve an amicable solution with your Dell experience.

Dell Community Forums -
http://dell.to/10t69Dh
Twitter @DellCares -
http://dell.to/Tgt5D8

Hope this helps!
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Operating System 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Terrible Performance and Support

PostedDecember 9, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the Special Edition of this machine and have had nothing but problems from day one. For what is designed to be a media mogul the performance and system features are the worst I have ever witnessed on a Dell machine. I have persevered for some time with so called attempts to fix it and lost a lot of time and days off work for failed support visits and system improvements.
This is my 4th dell and will be my last. I now have a laptop which has been in pieces and updated to no avail. I would have been better off sourcing a second hand/refurbished machine as this is ultimately what I am left with. Sorry Dell but simply not good enough.
Cons:terrible performance
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Pennsylvania, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Worst laptop ever

PostedNovember 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been a loyal Dell customer for several years purchasing several laptops, as well as a two desktops. When I first received this laptop it looked sleek and ran nice, overall I thought good buy. However, after two weeks, its become my worst nightmare. After only having it two weeks my screen no longer worked and the power button would not turn it on. If it did, it would only stay on for .5 seconds and then shut itself off. I called technical support and they in turn sent me out a new laptop. Again, first impression was "good" they took care of the issue. AGAIN, after two weeks it too, stopped turning on. AGAIN I called technical support and they told me that they never have complaints about this model. Hard to believe that out of all the people that have bought this particular model, that I happened to be the only one that got not one, but TWO defunct models? I asked technical support for an upgrade or my money back and they stated they would send me an upgrade to the 15Z model. However, after reading many of those reviews, I'm not sure this is an upgrade. I go from 4th generation to 3rd, and there are just as many complaints. I never speak to anyone in the US (poor decision Dell) and it takes three times as long for anyone to get back to me as promised. I specifically got this model because of the 10key option, yet the "upgraded" model doesn't feature that...how much of an upgrade am I getting? My trust in Dell has really diminished and I'm not at all convinced they are out for the customer. Very disappointed!!!!!! After getting the replacement laptop I received several pop ups with errors and technical support continuously told me that it had viruses..really???? On a new laptop that I'd only had for two days??
Response from Dell.comBy DonaldDforDellCustomer ReviewsNovember 8, 2013
Hello Terri43,

Thank you for being a repeat Dell customer. I am sorry to hear you are so displeased with the service. We find this information valuable when evaluating the training they receive and the quality of support we are providing. We still want this feedback while we do have multiple ways to contact Technical Support if you are unhappy.

For Tech Support Virtual Agent, Chat, Phone, Email:-

http://dell.to/1bPLG1Z

Social Support Team Contact:-
Twitter - @DellCares (
http://dell.to/14T7mnW)
Dell Community Forum (
http://dell.to/1cXzZdN)

I would reach out to Dellcares right away and see if there is something else they can do for you.

Thank you for sharing,
+24points
48of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:
(Montreal, QC, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This is the worst purchase we have ever made

PostedOctober 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife bought me a 15R non touch which ships with win 8. More than 50% of the time it is used at our country place where internet is not available.
No touch hardware, no internet and you're stuck with win 8. It sucks. Certainly not intuitive to anyone who has been using previous windows versions!
I have been using windows since the 3.1 days and have win 7 on my other machine .... no problems. But this purchase from Dell is the worst that we have ever made
Pros:nice hardware
Cons:very difficult to make hardware work with windows8
Response from Dell.comBy JonathanNforDellCustomer ReviewsOctober 22, 2013
Hello Chris48,

Thanks for taking time out of your day to post your experiences with the Inspiron 15R (5537) laptop. It seems that you have not been satisfied with running Windows 8 without a touchscreen interface. I personally feel that while the Windows 8 experience is enhanced by touch devices, I certainly can navigate around just as easily without a touch input. Luckily for you, Microsoft recently released the Windows 8.1 update. This update brings some familiar Windows features back, enhances other areas and best of all, is free to most existing 8 users (some restrictions apply). I recommend downloading this update from the Store tile and see if it might change your opinion on this Inspiron 15R!

Windows 8.1 (Dell FAQ) -
http://dell.to/1cUxXaX
Windows 8 (How-To Guides) -
http://dell.to/17DxRlG
@DellCares on Twitter -
http://dell.to/1f81nkZ

Hope this helps!
-38points
23of 84voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9