Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537
3.55 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
10
1 Star
11
3.5
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
54 out of 8068%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rene727
(Port Charlotte, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

GREAT LAptop GREAT VALUE

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It has most everthing you need! I really like it. Windows 8 was a breeze to get use to and organize.
FAST! I5 core... I like the option of having a touch screen, new and different is good!
It has all the ports and usb connections you need.
Pros:fast and nicely laid out, light weight
Cons:touch pad bar click loud like a toy clicker, fingerprints easily lid and touchpad
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellowner15
(Medina, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very Good Computer

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received this computer as a Christmas gift back in 2013. In the four months that I've owned it, it has been great. I use it primarily for school work, and it runs office and other products that I need exceptionally well. I would definitely recommend this laptop to a friend.
Pros:great ram, great hard drive, great battery life for my purposes
Cons:none to speak of yet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimVaughn
(Arlington, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Laptop

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop and a great value. Light weight and very well built. My configuration includes I7 Intel processor and is very fast with 8MB of memory. Windows 8.1 is very easy to use and touch screen on this laptop is perfect for Window 8.1. The keyboard has a great layout and the look of the laptop is very stylish.
The only negative is the lack of a back lit keyboard. Battery usually lasts 4 hours with moderate heavy usage Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LiveEternal
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R Laptop with Touch Screen - Great Buy!

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great hardware, great software, and awesome customer service make this laptop my best purchase of the year!
Specs:
- Inspiron 15R with Touch Screen
- Windows 8, 64 bit (upgraded to 8.1)
- 8GB Ram
- 1TB SATA Hard Drive
- 8X DVD+/-RW Drive
- Office 365 (2013)
Pros:
- Sturdy construction
- Touch screen has been accurate and easy to use with scrolling, swiping, etc..
- Keyboard has a light touch, is quite and comfortable
- Windows 8 works well with the touch screen and laptop in general, coming from Windows XP and 7, I've been enjoying 8's features (specifically search and the user interface)
- Customer service was stellar - I had an issue with configuring dual monitors, and the support rep worked with me to find a resolution
Cons:
- Mouse pad buttons are loud when clicked! I'm sure they could have made these quieter
- The current docking stations that work with this model have terrible reviews, an improved docking station would be appreciated
- The edges of the case are sharp, and could be sealed better to prevent dust from caking up in there
- I would have preferred having Windows 8.1 installed out of the box (rather than having to upgrade)
- Maybe I'm old school, but I didn't get a recovery CD or image (it seems you need to create one on your own with a dedicated external drive...)
Recommendations:
- Upgrade to Windows 8.1 right after you boot up - might as well get this out of the way because it might fix issues you have in Windows 8
- If you need dual monitors, purchase a USB to VGA/DVI/HDMI Adapter (I recommend the Sabrent UGA-2K-195)
It's been 4 or 5 years since I've purchased a home computer. Most of my computing time is spent at work, so I didn't have a need to upgrade my home computer until recently. I was torn between buying a desktop or a laptop. On one side, I've always purchased desktops because they were cheaper, had greater hardware capabilities, and were easy to upgrade. On the other hand, I hadn't upgraded my previous desktop the entire 5 years I owned it, and didn't have a need for a super-computer.
I was surprised to find laptops with 1TB drives, which is more than I will ever fill up (including backups). The specs for the Inspiron 15R were impressive, specifically with touch screen being the same price as non touch screen (via a great monthly deal).
My only concern was configuring 24" widescreen dual monitors I had professionally mounted to a wall in my home office. There is only 1 HDMI out on the laptop, and the reviews for the docking station were horrible. However, after further research and speaking with a Dell Sales Associate, I chose another docking stations that had positive reviews. It turns out I was given bad advice as the docking station wasn't compatible, although that's another story.
I decided to purchase the Inspiron 15R with touchscreen. I received my order within a few days (in retrospect, I should have sent it to my work address since it had to be signed for) and was excited to get the system setup.
I setup my accounts and installed a few applications within the first few hours. I ran into a huge problem with configuring dual monitors. At first I thought it was the HDMI to DVI converter I purchased (since my monitors are DVI), however, I discovered that when I disabled then enabled the video card adapter within device manager, the monitor would work properly (discovered this after in-depth search to uncover the cause).
I decided to Dell and get their advice. I was connected with a nice gentleman who took control of the laptop and went to work. After 1.5 hours, we determined that the issue was a DVI cable. What really impressed me was the length this guy went to get the issues resolved. Afterwhich, I was forwarded to a supervisor who asked we how the call went and verified the issue was resolved-brilliant customer service! 2 days later I get another follow up call asking me how my experience was...nice touch!
Turns out the cable wasn't bad, but there was an issue with the driver. I upgraded to Windows 8.1 and the issue seems to be resolved.
I use the laptop as a desktop (the lid stays shut) and have a wireless keyboard and mouse. I haven't used the touchscreen much as of yet, but can see this becoming the future of computing.
I'm happy with my purchase - the hardware is working well, I like Windows 8/8.1 (with a few caveats), and am deeply impressed with the customer service I received. I hope this laptop lasts me 4 or 5 years!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mac124
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome performance at an affordable price!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had bought another laptop with the same spec of 500 GB Harddrive space with 6 GB RAM through ebay. I eventually sold it and got this new one. I could say that the performance from this laptop is soo much better than my other one with the same specs.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sowj111
(Minneapolis, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Good experience

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i loved this laptop and bought this for my personal use.
it can support Unix and windows and have a gr8t performance.
it has value for money.
Pros:very good at performance and good for personal use
Cons:it cannot support all the softwares
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dapalencia
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop a few months ago hoping that the it was a great one. It is truely a great laptop it still works perfect. Except for the star key on the dial pad that kind of gets stuck(not that I use it). Aside from that it is a Great laptop
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Raptr117
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good for most areas

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is a wonderful computer. I got it with Windows 7, 4th gen i5, 500 GB HDD, 6GB RAM. Good for most games (if they're a year or two old). Compatible with most applications. Only issues are that the WiFi card is sometimes a pain and stops working but is a quick and easy fix. Quite a pain when gaming online. But runs very quiet and cool when not gaming. Very nice, light. I really like this computer.
9.5/10 would recommend to friend
Pros:long lasting battery, fast, quiet and cool
Cons:sound quality is ehh, the wifi card is a pain sometimes
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:charles22
(texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

amazing

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Parts are better than what you pay. Quiet effcient. Computer is responsive and fast. Windows 8.1 is amazing.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AVO2014
(Anaheim, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Amazing value!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Fast, slim, sleek, and innovative laptop with great value. I purchased this 15 R Touch with i7 processor and I couldn't be any happier with the performance of the speed and features. The touch feature was designed to work with Windows 8 and the keyboard has the best feel of all the laptops I have used.
Pros:keyboard, touch, i7, 8gb ram, usb3 and 4 x usb2 ports, battery charging feature, beautify design, long battery life
Cons:it feels a little heavy, don't like how it connects to the docking station
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TonyParrish
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Nice!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just love my new Inspiron15R. If you are looking at this laptop, you are looking at the right one. Its fast just like dells shipping. The touch screen is very nice to have and just down right fun. Thanks dell
Pros:its all good!
Cons:it does not have windows 8.1 update.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:toludee
(Dammam Saudi Arabia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DELL 15R ...Fanstatic Poduct..

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i recently acquired the non touch edition of this system, about 3 weeks ago and i can say i have been very pleased with it. great , long battery life, fast and silent. my former laptop used to make a lots of noise, but this system is very silent. good value for money, also helped a colleague to buy this product. i do lots of simulations and research and definitely i am glad with this product
Pros:fast solid keyboard hd screen
Cons:upgrading to windows 8.1 is the only challenge
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:leisa
(Hamilton, ON, Canada)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

Great laptop

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got this just before Christmas, and have been quite happy with it. No issues with Win 8 either as had already used it on an acer laptop. I am one of those lucky people who adapt quickly to each new OS. I have to say I find pcs easier than macs to use. I also got external hard drive to back up my various files such as pics and videos, documents and music so am very happy.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:KPhani
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Excellent laptop product

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The purchase of this laptop from DELL has been extremely satisfactory. I am overwhelmed by design and quite astonished by the its performance.
I really like the battery support for this laptop. It lasts very long as of my experience. Also, the sleek design looks appealing for me. This is one laptop which I can trust to the core. I use it both for my programming and entertainment; and what have been observed is the performance is quite good. As I can switch between the apps and development environment at ease.
My overall experience has been really nice and my one word for this laptop is - "PERFECT"
Pros:battery, performance, sleek design, touch screen, price
-5points
12of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:tatiger
(Tennessee)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Awesome Laptop

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Until now, my only laptop was a "hand-me-down" so this is my first laptop purchase. This system includes beautiful HD and is so light and durable. I love the touch screen. Still learning Windows 8, but so far, it is the most user friendly interface that I have dealt with.
Pros:thin and light but tough, touch screen, hd, windows 8
-13points
9of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Damin69
(Muscoda, WI 53573, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Design/graphics
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Would be 5 star all they way down the board if SSD option available

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I would recommend this product
I upgraded the Hard Drive that came with to a Solid State Drive. This by far was a huge performance boost for this computer. If this computer had the SSD as a upgrade option would make this a 5 Star across the board review. Performance has been top notch. Went from 1 min 15 second boot ups with the Stock HD to 15 Second boot ups with the SSD upgrade. Overall this is has been a great little laptop so far.
Had one little issue when I got it with the Wireless card dropping connection to router but after getting hold of tech support did find out that the latest driver on the Dell site was not the most current driver for the wireless adapter. So with that I did mark off one star on the support category. Other than that I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Also I got with WIN 7 Have tried Win 8 and HATE it. So I would recommend to anyone getting this laptop pay the extra and get Windows 7..
Pros:nice clear screen, great battery life, light weight
Cons:no solid state option when ordering, dell site not haveing most current driver on site, upcharge to get windows 7
+8points
32of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Markman06
(Chesterton, IN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

A great Buy

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Purchased computer on Cyber Monday - exceptional deal on product and extended warranty. Works like a champ!!!
-25points
13of 51voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Mehrshad
(London)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I purchased my laptop online and I received it right on time. I bought this laptop for my university work and a bit of gaming. This laptop is not designated for gaming because of it's graphics card which is Intel 4400, but it is able to run most of the modern games that require high performance. It also contains enough ports and has a decent keyboard and a very smooth mouse. I am totally satisfied with my purchase from Dell company and I would to it again in the future.
Pros:high performance, very stylish, good value
Cons:heavy weight
-19points
21of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Josecarranza01
(San Jose, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Dell does it again for me!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had three inspiron laptops and all of them are great products for the value paid. Easy to use and setup. Windows 8 took a little to get use to but like anything new....after working with it and customizing to my preferences, its a great product! The laptop works fine for my school/work/home tasks. Another great product for the money paid.
-40points
15of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Shopper958
(CA)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Great laptop

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop but don’t purchase the laptop from Costco based on the free 2nd Year Warranty because it’s worthless. I would rather pay Dell $$$ and get the second year warranty extension from them than from Costco concierge. After the first year warranty from Dell expired, the AC Adapter Connector became loose and Costco asked me to ship my laptop to them in order to replace the AC Adapter Connector. When I received the laptop back it wasn't the same, it had a problem of going to sleep and never waking up unless I reboot. I wasted hours of my time trying to solve the problem over the phone with Costco concierge and had to ship it back for repairs three times and as of today the laptop is still not working and they haven’t offered to replace it. This was one of the best laptops I had before I shipped it to Costco Concierge; a very big disappointment.
Pros:works great
+15points
46of 77voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4