Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537

Inspiron 15R 5537
3.536 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 97 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
15
1 Star
13
3.5
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
64 out of 9766%of customers recommend this
Customer reviews for Inspiron 15R 5537
Review 1 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:joev14400
(Orland Park, IL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

One GREAT laptop

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This 15R 5537 has got almost everything you could ask for. The only thing that would be nice is if there was an option for a SSD and a back lite keyboard. Other that, this thing ROCKS. A wireless mouse is a must have. Also external speakers for home use, if you want great sound.
Pros:value, weight
Cons:no ssd option, no backlite keyboard option
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Lynwood
(Raleigh, NC, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Retired
Title:

This product is well designed

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
The laptop is more than I had expected. Since I have been using a desktop for many years, have found it fairly easy to adjust to.
So far have had limited use, but in process of converting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Oldgieser
(West Palm Beach, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Performes great for business or pleasure

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I got an Inspiron 15R as a replacement computer mainly for business. It performs very well with all my programs including QuickBooks. Everything was easy to load. The best thing I can mention is the ease of setting up on an existing private network. It did most of the work itself! The only negative I found might not even be the computer or chip's fault: It runs Excell noticeably slower than normal and I work a lot in that program (it is a newer version than I used before.)
What few games I play, both loaded and played fine and the graphics are all you would want. I was even able to load a game made for xp, while it would not load on windows 7. (I have windows 8.1 on this computer).
I recommend this computer!
Pros:network setup
Cons:excell runs a little slow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:agreatchoice
(New York, NY)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R - A Great Laptop - Solid Performance

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I have owned my Inspiron 15R for about a month and am very satisfied. Exterior case is very well done, the cover is secure when closed and opens solidly and no flimsy hinge issues. The wrist pad area is well thought out and the touch pad is responsive without being spotty or jerky - very fluid. I prefer to use a cordless mouse and there are ample of USB ports. I love the keyboard - perfect soft touch quiet keys with plenty of room - my medium to large hands are not cramped. The touch screen is very responsive and the screen doesn't show finger prints that badly. The screen brightness level could be a little brighter for my taste but is not a deal breaker. The OS is fast and can handle multiple programs at once. My only real con is a lack of a back lit keyboard especially in this price range. The over all weight of the 15R is hefty and feels solidly built but wish it did weight closer to three or three and.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:ThanujThilanka
(Colombo, Sri Lanka)
Duration of Product Use:Over 6 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Excellent in everything !!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this product 6 months ago,for hardcore programming stuff and gaming, and what you know !!! this machine is really does the things I've never expected !! for an example I've played Splinter cell blacklist, NFS rivals, COD ghosts .... like games with high end graphics in ULTRA setting without lagging !!! and I've played watch dogs in high settings :) :) .Sound performance are also pretty good. :)
but there are some minor problems like, display reflection problem (bad in outdoor using), and space key problems (sometimes i have to push it hard),
But this laptop is valuable for it's cost.
Pros:battery life, gaming performance, premium look
Cons:reflective display, drivers problem (minor)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:VRSS
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

great and ever seen until today with cheapest price

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Every option excellent and touch screen is great and worth
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Ivan01
(United States)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

An excellent laptop

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This laptop has great performance and nice features.
Pros:nice feature, heat dissipation, performance
Cons:windows 8
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:FlintDonnel
(Flint, MI, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Biased for a reason

PostedMay 17, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I am returning to school after being out for 10 years. I am slightly biased to Dell. Years ago, I asked one of the faculty at school and another at work why they purchased Dells and they both responded that the cost were all competitive but that the Dells were much easier to deal with when they had to get inside for something. Maintainence was just easier with the Dell machines. From that point, my experience is that the Dells are more robust and tend to last longer. I tend to buy a little better than average so that they can be used a little longer, and now we have 4 Dells working in our house and 2 other machines that have not survived over the same time period. The 5 year old machine that I replaced, my wife is using instead of the new one she got at Christmas(HP).
This unit is doing everything I ask. I am taking engineering courses and run Office everyday and also Creo CADD. It doesn't even hesitate. This guy goes with me to school and I do my work at school while sitting at a desktop station in class. it is just easier for me to do. The battery also last while I am on campus all day. I haven't had to look for a plug yet.
Pros:speed, graphics, usability, connectivity, durability, value
Cons:wasn't the cheapest
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:dellowner15
(Medina, TN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Very Good Computer

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I received this computer as a Christmas gift back in 2013. In the four months that I've owned it, it has been great. I use it primarily for school work, and it runs office and other products that I need exceptionally well. I would definitely recommend this laptop to a friend.
Pros:great ram, great hard drive, great battery life for my purposes
Cons:none to speak of yet
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:JimVaughn
(Arlington, TX, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Fantastic Laptop

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
This is a great laptop and a great value. Light weight and very well built. My configuration includes I7 Intel processor and is very fast with 8MB of memory. Windows 8.1 is very easy to use and touch screen on this laptop is perfect for Window 8.1. The keyboard has a great layout and the look of the laptop is very stylish.
The only negative is the lack of a back lit keyboard. Battery usually lasts 4 hours with moderate heavy usage Highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:LiveEternal
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Inspiron 15R Laptop with Touch Screen - Great Buy!

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Great hardware, great software, and awesome customer service make this laptop my best purchase of the year!
Specs:
- Inspiron 15R with Touch Screen
- Windows 8, 64 bit (upgraded to 8.1)
- 8GB Ram
- 1TB SATA Hard Drive
- 8X DVD+/-RW Drive
- Office 365 (2013)
Pros:
- Sturdy construction
- Touch screen has been accurate and easy to use with scrolling, swiping, etc..
- Keyboard has a light touch, is quite and comfortable
- Windows 8 works well with the touch screen and laptop in general, coming from Windows XP and 7, I've been enjoying 8's features (specifically search and the user interface)
- Customer service was stellar - I had an issue with configuring dual monitors, and the support rep worked with me to find a resolution
Cons:
- Mouse pad buttons are loud when clicked! I'm sure they could have made these quieter
- The current docking stations that work with this model have terrible reviews, an improved docking station would be appreciated
- The edges of the case are sharp, and could be sealed better to prevent dust from caking up in there
- I would have preferred having Windows 8.1 installed out of the box (rather than having to upgrade)
- Maybe I'm old school, but I didn't get a recovery CD or image (it seems you need to create one on your own with a dedicated external drive...)
Recommendations:
- Upgrade to Windows 8.1 right after you boot up - might as well get this out of the way because it might fix issues you have in Windows 8
- If you need dual monitors, purchase a USB to VGA/DVI/HDMI Adapter (I recommend the Sabrent UGA-2K-195)
It's been 4 or 5 years since I've purchased a home computer. Most of my computing time is spent at work, so I didn't have a need to upgrade my home computer until recently. I was torn between buying a desktop or a laptop. On one side, I've always purchased desktops because they were cheaper, had greater hardware capabilities, and were easy to upgrade. On the other hand, I hadn't upgraded my previous desktop the entire 5 years I owned it, and didn't have a need for a super-computer.
I was surprised to find laptops with 1TB drives, which is more than I will ever fill up (including backups). The specs for the Inspiron 15R were impressive, specifically with touch screen being the same price as non touch screen (via a great monthly deal).
My only concern was configuring 24" widescreen dual monitors I had professionally mounted to a wall in my home office. There is only 1 HDMI out on the laptop, and the reviews for the docking station were horrible. However, after further research and speaking with a Dell Sales Associate, I chose another docking stations that had positive reviews. It turns out I was given bad advice as the docking station wasn't compatible, although that's another story.
I decided to purchase the Inspiron 15R with touchscreen. I received my order within a few days (in retrospect, I should have sent it to my work address since it had to be signed for) and was excited to get the system setup.
I setup my accounts and installed a few applications within the first few hours. I ran into a huge problem with configuring dual monitors. At first I thought it was the HDMI to DVI converter I purchased (since my monitors are DVI), however, I discovered that when I disabled then enabled the video card adapter within device manager, the monitor would work properly (discovered this after in-depth search to uncover the cause).
I decided to Dell and get their advice. I was connected with a nice gentleman who took control of the laptop and went to work. After 1.5 hours, we determined that the issue was a DVI cable. What really impressed me was the length this guy went to get the issues resolved. Afterwhich, I was forwarded to a supervisor who asked we how the call went and verified the issue was resolved-brilliant customer service! 2 days later I get another follow up call asking me how my experience was...nice touch!
Turns out the cable wasn't bad, but there was an issue with the driver. I upgraded to Windows 8.1 and the issue seems to be resolved.
I use the laptop as a desktop (the lid stays shut) and have a wireless keyboard and mouse. I haven't used the touchscreen much as of yet, but can see this becoming the future of computing.
I'm happy with my purchase - the hardware is working well, I like Windows 8/8.1 (with a few caveats), and am deeply impressed with the customer service I received. I hope this laptop lasts me 4 or 5 years!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Rene727
(Port Charlotte, FL, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

GREAT LAptop GREAT VALUE

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It has most everthing you need! I really like it. Windows 8 was a breeze to get use to and organize.
FAST! I5 core... I like the option of having a touch screen, new and different is good!
It has all the ports and usb connections you need.
Pros:fast and nicely laid out, light weight
Cons:touch pad bar click loud like a toy clicker, fingerprints easily lid and touchpad
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:mac124
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Awesome performance at an affordable price!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I had bought another laptop with the same spec of 500 GB Harddrive space with 6 GB RAM through ebay. I eventually sold it and got this new one. I could say that the performance from this laptop is soo much better than my other one with the same specs.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Sowj111
(Minneapolis, MN, USA)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Parent
Title:

Good experience

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i loved this laptop and bought this for my personal use.
it can support Unix and windows and have a gr8t performance.
it has value for money.
Pros:very good at performance and good for personal use
Cons:it cannot support all the softwares
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Dapalencia
Duration of Product Use:3-4 months
Level of Expertise:Average
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Great Laptop

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I bought this laptop a few months ago hoping that the it was a great one. It is truely a great laptop it still works perfect. Except for the star key on the dial pad that kind of gets stuck(not that I use it). Aside from that it is a Great laptop
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Raptr117
(NJ)
Duration of Product Use:1-2 months
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

Good for most areas

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
It is a wonderful computer. I got it with Windows 7, 4th gen i5, 500 GB HDD, 6GB RAM. Good for most games (if they're a year or two old). Compatible with most applications. Only issues are that the WiFi card is sometimes a pain and stops working but is a quick and easy fix. Quite a pain when gaming online. But runs very quiet and cool when not gaming. Very nice, light. I really like this computer.
9.5/10 would recommend to friend
Pros:long lasting battery, fast, quiet and cool
Cons:sound quality is ehh, the wifi card is a pain sometimes
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:charles22
(texas)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:School
Your Lifestyle:Student
Title:

amazing

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Parts are better than what you pay. Quiet effcient. Computer is responsive and fast. Windows 8.1 is amazing.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:AVO2014
(Anaheim, CA, USA)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Amazing value!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
Fast, slim, sleek, and innovative laptop with great value. I purchased this 15 R Touch with i7 processor and I couldn't be any happier with the performance of the speed and features. The touch feature was designed to work with Windows 8 and the keyboard has the best feel of all the laptops I have used.
Pros:keyboard, touch, i7, 8gb ram, usb3 and 4 x usb2 ports, battery charging feature, beautify design, long battery life
Cons:it feels a little heavy, don't like how it connects to the docking station
-3points
8of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Operating System 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:TonyParrish
(North Carolina)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Good
I use my PC for:Everyday Computing
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

Very Nice!

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
I just love my new Inspiron15R. If you are looking at this laptop, you are looking at the right one. Its fast just like dells shipping. The touch screen is very nice to have and just down right fun. Thanks dell
Pros:its all good!
Cons:it does not have windows 8.1 update.
-10points
9of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Inspiron 15R 5537
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Operating System 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:toludee
(Dammam Saudi Arabia)
Duration of Product Use:Less than a month
Level of Expertise:Expert
I use my PC for:High Performance
Your Lifestyle:Professional
Title:

DELL 15R ...Fanstatic Poduct..

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I would recommend this product
i recently acquired the non touch edition of this system, about 3 weeks ago and i can say i have been very pleased with it. great , long battery life, fast and silent. my former laptop used to make a lots of noise, but this system is very silent. good value for money, also helped a colleague to buy this product. i do lots of simulations and research and definitely i am glad with this product
Pros:fast solid keyboard hd screen
Cons:upgrading to windows 8.1 is the only challenge
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5